Jammin’

24 Jun

I just wasn’t feeling the coffee this morning but craving something cold with this crazy, hot weather and opted for a Mango Green Monster. Look at how green it was! This was one of the best ever! I made with baby spinach, Chobani Plain Greek Yogurt, Frozen Mango’s, flax-seed and one packet of Splenda

I had a diet coke on the bus so got some caffeine in my system but this green monster? Yum.

We had a Just Fresh open today and they were offering free coffee for a month to the first 100 customers. I completely forgot about this but one of my coworkers who doesn’t drink coffee went and got a breakfast pastry and had the coupon. He asked if I wanted it and I responded with “Is the pope Catholic?” Free coffee for a month?!? That’s like a dream come true! I fear that I will become like Kramer on Seinfeld when he gets free coffee for a lifetime and starts getting all jittery, has the shakes, etc.

Beautiful. I will be there every day instead of Starbucks now. I have no loyalty whatsoever when it comes to free stuff.

My coffee buddy came in late and I told him about the free coffee deal but by at that point they stopped giving out the free cards. I lent him mine to go get some free coffee since I am nice like that. He came back to my desk sans card. I asked him where it was and he just shrugged his shoulders. I had a knife at my desk for cutting my fruit (I’m all about the love) and pulled it out and was like “I don’t mess around when it comes to free or coffee, give it up!” and then I continued to recite lines from the Princess Bride such as “My name is Inigo Montoya, you killed my father, prepare to die!” accent and all and he looked at me like I was from outer space.

“Hello? Princess Bride?” and again, he shrugged his shoulders and said “Never seen it” What? How has someone never seen that movie? It’s a cult classic and personally, I’ve probably seen it over 50 times since I used to love it so as a kid. He then told me he has never see Forrest Gump, Star Wars, Shawshank Redemption, etc. I haven’t seen the latter two of the three so I can relate there.

For breakfast, I kept it simple: Half of a sweet potato and egg whites with a packet of ketchup

For lunch, I had leftover Chicken Fried Rice.


A fresh, sliced peach. I love how it looks all psychedelic with the swirls.

I walked to Reid’s in the afternoon despite it being 93 degrees out. When I am out for a good deal, nothing stands in my way. I am all about the saying “Neither rain, nor sleet nor snow….will keep me from a sale!” I ended up getting goodies there, they are closing this Saturday and the entire store is still 40% off. All of this for $15!

Goya Recaito Cilantro Sauce—I cannot wait to cook with this!

Grandma Gibble’s Old Fashioned Homestyle Popcorn

A variety of Hearth Strings Foods granola bars—Blueberry Muffin, Gingersnap Cookie, Cherry Vanilla

Baby spinach and bananas

A Coconut Crème cupcake


I wanted to dive right into this beauty of yummy, sugary goodness but was good and only had half 🙂

After work, it was time for RiverJam @ the National Whitewater Center. During the summer, the center has a free concert series every Thursday and Saturday night. It’s a beautiful venue with great live music, dog friendly and beautiful sights

They have the River’s Edge Bar and Grill and we got a table right in the sun, which was killer, but thankfully had an umbrella-ella-ella so that helped a bit. But when it is 7P on a summer night in North Carolina, it doesn’t help that much! We kept fanning ourselves off and waiting for the sun to go down. There was a funk band playing but we were there for a little over two hours but they may have played four or five songs. It seemed like they were taking a break more than they were playing.

Blue Moon made a much-needed appearance (not only because I had a rough day at work but because it’s summertime!)

Appetizer of fried pickles with ranch dipping sauce

It did not disappoint, as fried pickles usually don’t. I never tried fried pickles until I moved to NC and wish I would have never tried them because they are slices of heaven

I had the Apple Walnut Chicken Salad –Marinated grilled chicken atop spring mix with apples, crumbled bleu cheese and candied walnuts with Balsamic Vinegarette

Fantastic salad! It was very refreshing and the candied walnuts added a nice sweet touch to contrast the apples. And I am all for any kind of crumbled cheese! I was looking at the hummus plate but needed something cool and refreshing and this hit the spot!

Seriously, why has Lincoln been glaring at me lately? Dislike.

I’m curious now—what’s a popular movie that everyone has seen but you haven’t?

 I’ll be announcing the winner of my giveaway in tomorrow’s post, you still got a few more hours to enter if you haven’t!

17 Responses to “Jammin’”

  1. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl June 24, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    Free coffee?!?! For a month!?!? I’m jealous. Oh, so very jealous!

    I’m loving he pics of Lincoln. He’s so darned cute.

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 24, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    Any salad with basalmic vinagarette is a win in my book. Seriously…

    I’ve never seen all of Pulp Fiction. Ok fine, I’ve seen maybe 5 minutes… that’s crazy, right?

  3. Angela @ A Healthy Fit June 25, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    Never seen the princess bride!!?!?! That is blasphemy!!! One of the best movies of all time. We have the following quote on our fridge, “Never go against a sicilian when death is on the line”.

  4. Diana@mymarblerye June 25, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    Um never seem star wars, godfathers, and braveheart.. But I’ve seen mean girls 12x.. I’m weird. Btw good quick breakfast idea! And send me one of those granola bars! I’m intrigued

  5. April June 25, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    Silly Lincoln 🙂

    I’ve seen bits and pieces but never really watched Sleepless in Seattle.

  6. kace @ no guts no glory June 25, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    PRINCESS BRIDE IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER! So many of my girl friends have never seen it and I have no idea how or why…yet I feel like watching it as an adult for the first time it won’t be as life-changing as when you’re a kid.

    And I’ve never seen Star Wars and have no desire to.

  7. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident. June 25, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    I’m sorry, but Star Wars is a total yawn-fest, in my opinion. But do get around to seeing The ‘Shank- awesome, awesome movie.

    I’ve never seen The Exorcist or Texas Chainsaw Massacre and not sure that I ever will. I’m a complete wuss when it comes to scary movies.

    And your self-control with that cupcake is insane! Good for you.

  8. Meagan June 25, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Just found you blog as of today, and I love it!

  9. BikiniBy30 June 25, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    YAY Recaito!!! I am excited to hear about how much you love it!!

    I heart Mandy Patinkin. I am auditioning for a play directed by his brother soon. In my dream world I will be cast in it and then Mandy will cocme see it and be my friend and I can ask him all about his time on Criminal Minds.

    I have never seen The Usual Suspects. Someone ruined the end for me.

  10. Monique June 25, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    dude my slogan: If its FREE its for MEEE! I wouldn’t discriminate either! you will be racking in soem serious savigns.
    Listen I didnt want to say it but Link has been emailing me telling me how badly he wants to move to NYC and be a city dog with Mickey. hes so sad because he doesnt have the heart to tell you and now im the evil bitch for breaking your heart. Its okay though I will take good care of him. i promise.

    I have never had a fried pickle.

    I love the princess bride.
    i have never seen the LORD OF THE RINGS…no, im serious. for real stop laughing.

  11. Karla June 25, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Free Coffee!!! Sooo jealous!!

    Ha! I started writing this comment last night but I guess I never finished/submitted it! I’m a nut!

  12. thehungryscholar June 25, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    I haven’t seen any of the Star Wars or Lord of the Rings…I have no desire to.

  13. Mari June 25, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    Hey Love!!!!! I hsve never seen avatar and have 0 urge to see it….

    I can’t wait to see you!!!!

  14. nic - the auspicious squirrel June 25, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    Love the princess bride! While we were packing up the PODS container I was making comments like “bring me the ROUSes”… but I meant ‘random of unusual size’ (instead of rodents of unusual size) because I was playing tetras with our stuff to get it all to fit. 😉

    Movie I haven’t seen but everyone else has… Broke-back Mountain… not because I don’t want to, I just forget when I’m at the rental store… we finally saw Avatar very recently… I think everyone had seen that one months before we had.

    Shawshank Redemption… that’s a good movie… love Morgan Freeman.

  15. nic - the auspicious squirrel June 25, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Oh, forgot to ask… did he give you your free coffee coupon back?

    • simplyshaka June 29, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

      Oh yes but I am letting him borrow it this next wk when I will be in NYC. I will hurt him if he loses it!

  16. Can You Stay for Dinner June 25, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    Oh dear- the free coffee sounded like the best thing in the whole world, but to lose it all….total drain of emotion.
    Looks like you’ve had some great meals/ fun times with friends! I want to try the fried pickles and that delicious cupcake!
    I have never seen Star Wars. Can’t even believe it myself!

Leave a comment