Cursing the Swedes

6 Feb

Greetings from Panera!

I’ve currently loafing off their free Wi-Fi they offer here….one of the many reasons I love Panera so.

Blarg-why am I up so early??

 I woke up at 5A this morning for no reason whatsoever. And when you live in Charlotte, that blows because nothing is open and seeing that it’s Sunday, a majority of businesses don’t open until after noon. Seeing that I am not a churchie, this doesn’t fare well for me but god bless Panera for opening at 7A! I got the Breakfast Power Sandwich to start off with. I’ve never had this before and was pleased with it for the most part. It seemed to be a little soggy on the bottom but it comes in at 330 calories so I can deal with that.

I also got a free coffee thanks to MyPanera rewards club. If you haven’t joined–what are you waiting for? Not only have I gotten free coffees, lattes and teas but I’ve always received free pastries and bagels. Sign up now!

Check out the swag I got! You can’t take me anywhere…..

 I’m really stoked to try that mayo. I don’t ever buy mayo since I’m not addicted to it or anything but if I have to use it, I have tons of packets on hand.

Yesterday was interesting day so let’s just start with that. I woke up at 6A on a Saturday-completely meh worthy. I didn’t have any plans for the day and the Y doesn’t open until 7 or 8 so that wasn’t an option. And it was miserable outside. I don’t mind the rain that much but when you had a skiddish dog who dislikes the rain, it can be a bit difficult to deal with. Especially if it’s more than a steady drizzle out there because once we get back in, I have to towel dry him since he doesn’t reek of wet dog.

But he is pretty damn cute so I guess I can deal with it.

 I remembered a Groupon for Luna’s Living Kitchen I bought a couple of weeks ago. Luna’s is not only a vegetarian/vegan restaurant, they also offer raw options as well. I’ve heard good things about this place and switching it up with something vegan or raw could be an interesting switch up from the normal eggs or oats I have for breakfast on the weekend. Plus cold, rainy, dreary weather is totally an ideal let’s-go-get- hot- breakfast setting. 

I ordered the Bombin Buckwheat Blaster (with fresh kiwi, apple, banana, blueberry and raspberries) and a cup of coffee. About $11 for that…..breakfast for one person. But Groupon was paying $10 for that so only $1 and some change out-of-pocket. If I didn’t have a Groupon, I would definitely not pay that much for a bowl of buckwheat. Free refills on the coffee so at least I had that working to my advantage. 

Isn’t it absolutely gorgeous?  There were so many bright, colors in front of me, I felt like I had to wear sunglasses. It was a big, hearty portion with hints of cinnamon and nutmeg and a  wonderful breakfast to start a cold, rainy morning off on. One of the employees dropped by, asked how everything was and if I’ve been before. They are so dang friendly….and dare I say natural….there, I love it and wish more places employed people like this. I really like how they have fresh fruit sitting out by the window in the front and the staff will walk back and forth from there and the kitchen picking what they are about to use in a dish, that’s just cool seeing what’s going into your food. All in all, a great experience however I will only be going back to Luna’s if I a have coupon (lucky for me, I bought two Groupons) or want to splurge. Their prices are just too high for my budget with eating out but I really love their concept.
I got back home and it was Bob Vila time

Which naturally, I sang to “It’s peanut butter jelly time”. Whatever happened to him by the way?

I wasn’t doing major home renovations or anything, just fixing my bed frame. Which that itself is a huge project since I am really not a home improvement kind of girl. It took me about 15 minutes just to find my hammer and screw drivers so yeah, this was going to be interesting.

Basically, what happened was Ikea sucks.

No, just kidding that’s not what happened but they do kinda suck.

My bed frame broke…..and not because of anything fun. It broke because it was $90 and I had to put it together at home instead of ahem, a professional bed frame put together-er doing it.

So I’ve been ghetto-fab taping it up with duct tape

Classy I know. So naturally, my thought is “Ok, the duct tape and rockiness are ok for me but what if I meet a gentleman caller soon?” Not like I will meet one soon because this is one of the slowest seasons I’ve had and haven’t even been on a date since August-meh! But still what we to happen, things get saucy, then hi-come to my broken Ikea bed because that doesn’t make me look like a whore or anything.

So I lifted up the mattress to see what exactly was going on with this stinky bed frame and found the root of the problem

Hmmmm…..pretty sure that it shouldn’t look like that. I removed the ladder thing from the bed and found that the actually frame was really shaky. So I grabbed my screwdriver to see if I could tighten things up a bit. Then I remembered that Ikea has their own little do-hickeys to use when putting together their furniture so a regular screw driver was going to be of no help to me.

So I started to curse everything Swedish….

Ikea

Meatballs

(source)

My ex boyfriend who was Swedish

I cursed everything Swedish….. except Abba of course

(source)

Dear ABBA: I love you and owe so many mornings to you since your Pandora station is always there to properly wake me up!

Soon enough, I got everything in check. Turns out the middle partician was wobbly so I taped that bad boy up and then taped up the corners as well.

I got the mattress on and it was Lincoln approved!

Afterwards, I made the mistake of turning on WE, then getting sucked into the Joan and Melissa Rivers reality show then Ghost Whisperer. I’ve never seen GH but I actually enjoyed it–besides the fact that I was crying every other minute. Hello emotions–it’s nice to see you come out and play while I try to kick back and watch tv! One of my friends texted me asking me if I wanted to meet her at the Y for a workout so I jumped at the chance since I needed to get away from the couch and crying.

I met up with her at the Y, I’m not used to working out with someone so I wasn’t sure what to expect. We got machines next to each other-she ran, I ellipticalled for 35 minutes (is that even a verb? If not, I’m making it one), then I rowed for 10 minutes. When we were both finished with cardio, we did some leg presses and leg extensions then I did some side bends with a 25 lb weight. And you know what? Had such a good time! Working out with someone made the time fly by and it was fun to catch up, gossip, talk about boys, etc. I can’t wait to meet up with her again for a buddy-workout!

I had plans to meet up with some friends at Big Daddy’s for dinner and was stoked to go. I am always down for a burger and fries and Big Daddy’s is one of the best in town. I walked over there because I figured the walking would cancel out maybe a slice of cheese I was going to devour on the burger and every little bit helps right? When I was about a block away, my friend told me they weren’t going to make it since they were fighting. Hooray for less awkwardness come dinner time but boo for cancellation at the last-minute. I wasn’t so gung-ho about it that I had to have a burger so I ended up turning around and going back home. I toyed for a few ideas of places I could carry out from but really didn’t want to spend the money. I would’ve made something  but was feeling too lazy.

Enter in the solution:

Times like these are why I buy frozen pizzas!

Holy cheesy yum! It was difficult to have only three slices and be satisfied, I could’ve downed the whole pizza. Instead while cutting up my slices for dinner, I sliced the rest of the pizza and put in the fridge asap so it wasn’t as accessible to be.

I had the last of my pumpkin ale.

LOVE THIS STUFF! I need to re-stock asap.

A good day all in all……I’m a little less hateful towards the Swedes than I was at the beginning of the day.

Ikea-Love it, hate it or *gasp* never been??

44 Responses to “Cursing the Swedes”

  1. divasrun February 6, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    I LOVE THAT HAT!! I love wearing hats. Hmm, saw one at Ross the other day I may go back and get now. =)
    I swear your dog is smiling in that pic on the bed.

    I LOVE IKEA! When IKEA came to the ATL, I said, all we need now is to have an H&M store (I go crazy shopping there) since it’s also Swedish and WHOOP! THERE IT IS! We have them both!

    I have a few pieces from IKEA (chest of drawers, barstools, and TV console), but ex-arsehole fiance put them all together for me. At least he was good for something. =)

    • simplyshaka February 6, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      Say whaaaaa? You all have H&M? I am going to the ATL in April and must visit there–will research!

      That is one of my favorite hats, I wear it allll the time. I got it at KMart 🙂 They have awesome winter accessories-who knew?

      I love your way of thinking towards the ex! One of my a-hole exes just sucked but he introduced me to the raspberry soy mocha drink at Starbucks so a little good came out of the relationship 🙂

  2. Natalie @ While I Breathe February 6, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    lol i hate ikea…. my bed from there broke after a few months and the other things i bought there broke not long after… i go to “real” furniture store now and suck up the price… its nice for decorations though…

    i laughed at the bob villa picture, i was just asking my bf’s dad why he wasn’t on tv anymore and we got into a big debate about him lol…

    hope you are able to stay up for the game tonight!!!!

    • simplyshaka February 6, 2011 at 11:54 am #

      Thats too funny about Bob Vila–I guess he is a hot topic this week! Seriously, I want to know what he’s doing….and if he’s still rockin the plaid.

      I remember the cluster f*** that the Ikea in Pittsburgh was. I stopped there once b/c I was at the mall right near there and thought I was going to crazy on people there since it was so packed!

  3. Jessica February 6, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    I love the idea of IKEA but the closest one is 1hr 30mins away and when I have gone they end up not having most things in stock. The measurements are all kinds of crazy too : /

    I just joined the Panera rewards club – I am so excited about it!!!! I love panera!!!

    Your puppy is too cute!

    • simplyshaka February 6, 2011 at 11:52 am #

      Yes, the measurements are odd, so you can’t buy anything else to go with it somewhere else, it all has to be Ikea!!

      Panera rewards is bomb, they hook you up with free goodies–hooray!

  4. mapollard February 6, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    Looks like a great little place to eat at-that buckwheat breakfast looks amazing! I love Groupon!

    • simplyshaka February 6, 2011 at 11:48 am #

      I want to have Groupon’s baby, love it!!

  5. christina February 6, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    omg charlotte is so fun – maybe i should just come there!! my roommate has to go there for work for a day and i immediately thought of you and riding up with her, but i think she’s just there for the day. i’ll have to find out…. and “I don’t ever buy mayo since I’m not addicted to it or anything but if I have to use it” HAHA! you are like me with splenda and ketchup packets.

    • simplyshaka February 6, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      Do it- I can always play hookie!

      Totally that way with splendas too. I even have my parents swiping them for me. Out of control!

  6. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl February 6, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    OMG! You are too cute with that hat! I love it!

    Panera is one of my favorite places! I’m not so much a fan of their breakfasts, but I love, love, love their salads, sandwiches and soups!!

    I love Ikea! I say that but I haven’t bought major furniture from there…just some accessories, dishes, and smaller things!

    • simplyshaka February 6, 2011 at 11:10 am #

      Thanks! I love Ikeas accessories but their furniture sucks so be happy you don’t have any.

      I don’t know what Panera does to their soup but its bomb….all of them!

  7. Neyal Ammary-Risch February 6, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Agree with the others. The hat is super cute! You are def. an accessory girl. But you totally lied b/c you did have that sandwich from panera before. I remember specifically when we all went to Panera for breakfast that weekend of homecoming before the game and everyone was a little hung over and we got that sandwich and we were complaining b/c it was like the size of a cracker. Maybe WV paneras skimp out.

    That buckwheat bowl was so pretty! For a quick second it felt like you were eating breakfast on the beach in Hawaii. 🙂

    GO STEELERS!!! And oh yah, Erin is coming over. I’ll get to meet her hubby too.

    • simplyshaka February 6, 2011 at 11:31 am #

      Yes Neyal, I lied on purpose. Why do you always call me out on my blog??! I totally forgot about getting that at Motown Panera! It looked so big in the picture then meh when we got it. But then again, I couldnt really move my neck that day so I guess I had other things on my mind.

      Have fun tonight–is her hubby in Italy now and just visiting or are they moving there later this year? I can’t keep up.

  8. Katherine: Unemployed February 6, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    lol I totally stock up on swag when I go to restuarants and places too. this is a great post; I’d love to know more about the pumpkin beer! I’ve seen it but am too un-adventuresome to try it lol

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      It’s wonderful–try it out! I couldn’t drink it all night long but one or two is mighty fine. I believe the 6 pack only cost $7 so pretty cheap too!

  9. Lisa @ I'm an Okie February 6, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    I love your hat!! And secondly–I LOVE ikea. Cute stuff thats cheap—perfect for my 20 something self!

  10. TheSceneFromMe February 6, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    I love your hat in that first photo! I’m a hat girl too.

    I have that mayo with olive oil in my fridge and used a bit of it last week when I made chickpea salad, its good.

    I want that breakfast bowl you had at Luna. It looks friggin fantastic, no joke! More restaurants should serve stuff like that, including Panera!

    Sorry bout your bed frame. I do think Ikea has some pieces that are of quality, but alot of their stuff is not high quality, thin and cheap wood, etc.
    Atleast your bed is fixed!

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      Thanks girl, I wish I could hats every day. It’s a perfect fix when I don’t want to do my hair.

      I agree more places should serve fresh meals like that. I am starting to see more and more places doing so–it’s a start right??

  11. Elin @andserenitytoo February 6, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Seeing as I live in the country of Ikea I should say that I love it… But I like second hand furniture better – more soul…or something:) Good to be able to buy some cheap furniture or accessories though – if you dont mind it getting suicidal at any time… (Good fixing there by the way) But ABBA I do lovel 😉

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

      I agree, I love my thrift store furniture like my love seat, ottoman and night stand. I like to think each piece has a story but then I want to know the story of why people are giving it away!

  12. Amy @ Second City Randomness February 6, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Duct tape. My first solution to any problem…

    I like Ikea ok. I was just telling my friend how I find it extremely overwhelming when searching for anything but smaller knick-knacky stuff. And I stay out of it for jsut that reason- I’ll buy a million little things that I have no real need for! And no one likes a hoarder…

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      I’m the same way. I go with a list and then 20 more items than planned later, I roll out….with a hot dog in hand of course!

  13. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 6, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I always reach for tape when anything breaks too! My ikea bed has not only busted my shin more times than I can count — but it broke twice (it is super similar to yours) and omggggg soooooo annoying!!!!!

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

      Ok so its not just me?? I run into it allll the time!

  14. Angela (the diet book junkie) February 6, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    boo on Ikea. they must have a warranty or something that can help you….right??

    p.s. that Luna looks most excellent. jealous of your breakfast. 🙂

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      I dont know, that would be the logical thing to check out but then again, I’m not that logical!

  15. dianacheung February 7, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    love ikea for decorations but I won’t buy their furniture cause I know it doesn’t last…sorry. Either way yeahhh for trying luna!! Too bad you got their breakfast…you should have saved it for dinner! BAHHHH. Either way I would pick pizza over a burger any day so consider yourself lucky that drama occurred!

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      Oh no way in hell I am going for dinner–their wraps are $12. Yes, $12 for a wrap-wtf?? I have one more to burn through so I will be getting a salad + smoothie next time around.

  16. Carly February 7, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    I had a frozen Freschetta on Friday night and it was so so good. Perfect for a lazy Friday. 🙂

    Glad to see you got your bed fixed!

  17. Ashleigh February 7, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    I would be so pissed if my friends bailed on me like that!! Especially because you were practically there. Pizza and beer sounds good though!!

    I have mixed feelings about ikea… It’s SO overwhelming, but is good for decorations, like vases, plants, etc. I don’t do well putting things together so I wouldn’t buy anything like that.

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      Yeah, I was a bit miffed with them. I sat on the patio of Starbucks for 15 minutes wondering what to do-go out or go home. ugh.

  18. bigcitybabycarrots February 7, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    I had a similar issue with my bedframe last year. The bed just collapsed one night (also not from anything fun) and it was pretty darn sturdy wood, too. Thankfully, Hadley wasn’t underneath because he likes to hang out there. Good job fixing it on your own – I would be a mess.

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      Oh my god, I cannot imagine a dog being under there? That just breaks my heart thinking of it but good for Hadley, I his doggie intuition must have known something was up.

  19. Monique February 7, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    i love ikea. My roommate has the same bed as you… and i discovered he shared that same bed with his girlfriend and her 8year old daughter. ewwww.

    But you can totes use that red tape to decorate the bed! lol. make it fancy. red is fierce and fiery. roar!

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      Thats really creepy.

      Um, LOVIN the decoration tip! Pimp my bed!!

  20. leashieloo February 7, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    Panera is my favorite, why didn’t I know about the rewards?! I so want freebies, off to sign up!

  21. BikiniBy30 February 11, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    I love that you went to a vegan friendly restaurant. The raw aspect makes things so expensive. One day you shall come to Chicago and we shall go to Chicago Diner and you will be wowed without damage to your wallet!

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

      Bring it on! It’s been way too long since I’ve been to Chicago, I love that city so much. Plus it may be a contender for cities I’m looking to move too 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The little Frugal Friday that could « Simply Shaka - February 11, 2011

    […] I was at Panera on Sunday, I got my coffee for free thanks to My Panera rewards. So I got my fill and had about two cups […]

  2. Creamy « Simply Shaka - February 13, 2011

    […] for this morning was to find a new bed frame. I thought all the bed frame drama was done with after last weekend but it broke again. And I really don’t feel like fixing it every week because that is going to […]

  3. I ride solo « Simply Shaka - June 28, 2011

    […] had a Groupon for Luna’s Living Kitchen to burn through. I’ve only been there once before and that was for breakfast so I was interested to see if their lunch would be […]

Leave a comment