Rolling my balls

7 Feb

I have a sneaking suspicion that I’m the only person not hungover today. Maybe because I was sipping on some hardcore cranberry green tea. While others got buzzed, I got my antioxidant on-take that! At least my Sunday was productive yet relaxing.

I finally changed the lights in my living room. It’s been like a bat cave in there for the past month which each light bulb slowly fading out but I couldn’t reach up to change them. Duke Energy sent me some energy-saving lightbulbs…..for free! So I wanted to get those in so they wouldn’t collect dust and I could cut down on my energy bill over time. I finally found a ladder that I could use so it was on!

And now it’s too bright in here and I feel like I should wear sunglasses but I don’t want to be crazy-doglady-who-wears-sunglasses-at-night.

 I planned on taking a nap in the afternoon but stayed up to watch the Puppy Bowl instead and then as soon as I knew it–dinner time it was!

I was going to go out to one of the bars to watch the game but my throat was scratchy all day and the thought of staying at home in my pajama pants sounded better than dolling myself up for the randoms at the bar.

But, if I would dish out the money for pajama jeans, I wouldn’t have that problem would I?

(source)

I still haven’t heard of anyone buying them. I don’t know if that’s a good or a bad thing. Maybe everyone is like me and waiting to see if anyone will buy them then rave about how they will never go back to regular jeans.

I felt like connecting with my roots for dinner so Italian it was.

First thing on the agenda was meatballs. It’s been ages since I’ve made meatballs and felt like it was time to bring it back.

Some people use ground beef or ground turkey to make theirs but ground sausage is the only way I will make mine as I feel like I get the best results from using sausage. If I really feel like being saucy, I will use bacon drippings and mix in with the ground sausage but I wasn’t feeling saucy (and I haven’t been eating as much pork as I used to so no bacon on hand)

I take about half a bunch of parsley and 1/4 onion, chop finely or pulse in the magic blender.

My onions didn’t get chopped too well so they turned out bigger than I wanted.

I added one egg and 1/3 cup ground flax-seed then mixed together with the parsley/onion mix and seasoned with garlic and black pepper

Then crumble the sausage and mix in

My rule is the bigger the add ins, the bigger the ball so I tried to make these medium size for the most part. Roll the balls (giggity) until firm and round then I place on parchment paper

I had some extra mix so I rolled that into balls then popped them in the freezer so I can bake whenever I am craving meatballs.

Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. I flip them over half way through and then you have tasty goodness right at your disposal.

_________________________________________

I paired it up with Newman’s Own Vodka sauce

Can you say gone within 60 seconds?? Love these babies!!

Next on the list was pizza rolls. I love pizza rolls. I love them so much I only allow myself to have them every few months because I could eat them every single day but I guess processed meats and cheese on the regular aren’t too good for losing weight and cholesterol eh?

I cut up three slices of provolone cheese and hard salami into quarters

Since I seem to be putting Laughing Cow on everything as of late, I got one out to put into the rolls.

I cut whole wheat pizza dough into strips then dust with flour and roll them out.

After that, I spread and pressed Laughing Cow into then, topped with salami and cheese, rolled up then poured a mixture of extra virgin olive oil, oregano and garlic on them. I usually add grated parmesan and red pepper flakes but had neither on hand-boo.

Bake at 375 for 20 minutes and they’re done!

LOVE the baked cheese bits!

Love me some pizza rolls, they hit the spot each and every time!

Speaking of Italian food…..I want some lasagna cupcakes!! Has anyone heard of these?

On a completely unrelated note–20 inch nails, really? This chick pays $250/month to get her nails did and it takes five hours. You would have to pay me that and then some to maintain nails like that. Random-if you have google “20 inch” and forget to put in nails, you may get some *ahem* interesting results. Like a baby’s arm….

Day 8-A moment you felt most satisfied with your life

I would say when I got hired to work for my company and my first year with my current company. Yes, for as much smack as I talk about my company, I was actually happy with it at one time. My first real job after college was at Enterprise Rent-A-Car and it sucked hard balls. I was living in Phoenix at the time, had to wear a suit to work and was measured on my sales of the optional insurance (i.e. bullshit). Doesn’t sound too bad? Well, to make it worse, it was Phoenix in the summer time so imagine wearing a suit in 110 degree weather. Plus we were located at a Ford car dealership but also had a satellite office at the Dodge dealership two blocks away so we would have to run from dealership to dealership to “help” people who were only renting a car because something was wrong with their car. They didn’t want to pay for anything out-of-pocket and sure as hell didn’t want any kind of insurance. Plus, I knew the insurance was bullshit so I couldn’t sell something I didn’t believe in. So, I did the only logical thing to do since I was unhappy with my job.

I quit.

Ok, not the smartest move but mind you, I was 24 years old with the thought process “I have a college degree, any company would be lucky to have me!” Well unfortunately life doesn’t work out that way, especially if you don’t have any connections. So I did temp work for the next nine months ranging from a security systems company to insurance company to realty agency. I was pretty much doing menial work just so I could pay my rent so it wasn’t anything that I had to use my brain to do. Then one temp agency had a contract position open at Charles Schwab for tax season so I did that for three months assisting people with tax forms and interest. Then the agency told me about a direct hire position with a bank in a position that seemed really interesting–sales via instant messaging. I had sales experience but hated the face to face, had customer service experience and  was somewhat tech-savvy along with fast typing skills so I went for it. The summary of the position was this: people would come onto the banks website on the credit card section. A pop up instant message box would come up to see if they needed any assistance with selecting the right credit card for them and if so, we would help them through the process to get them into the correct product. If they filled out an application, we got credit.

Well, I got the job. And I rocked. I was top in sales almost every month, had 100% customer satisfaction. I was team player of the year and nominated for a bank-wide award in my first year there, which is pretty much unheard of. Less than a year later, I was team lead of the group I started with. Life was great! Everything goes south from there-literally. I made the stupid decision to move to Charlotte or what I like to call-the biggest mistake of my life. I don’t like this city and really regret moving here. I moved here since my company is headquartered here which in my head meant there would be more opportunities for me to grow within the company. Wrong.I’m trying to figure out how to get myself back on track because my most satisfied moment was five years ago and I really haven’t been happy since with my career.

Thoughts on pajama jeans?

If you make meatballs, what kind of meat do you use?

50 Responses to “Rolling my balls”

  1. Lisa @ I'm an Okie February 7, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    Oh man. You sound like me. The light in my bedroom has been out for about 2 weeks. I’m just too lazy though so I use my lamp. And yes, I want PJ jeans. Who is gonna take the plunge and buy them?!

    • April February 7, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

      I’m waiting for you to get them Lisa!

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

      I think you need to! 🙂

  2. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 7, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    at first I thought pajama jeans were when you accidentally fell asleep in your clothes.. but now I see the light! Ohmygosh! I’ll stick with my stretchy pants =) hehe

    you’re totally making me miss salami right now!!!! hardcore! I haven’t had it in 5 years and it’s so yummy!

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

      Hahah thats funny, I hate when I fall asleep in my jeans. It’s never comfortable.

      Sorry about the salami lovin!

  3. terri February 7, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    lol…on the pajama jeggings. i almost died when i saw this infomercial…..
    your meatballs look amazing! i could use some of those right about now for a lil morning pick me up!
    happy monday, tif!xo

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

      Ohhh meatballs for breakfast? I am diggin that idea!

  4. Monique February 7, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    DUde. Serious foodgasm with the meatballs. I would have replied sooner but i was distracted by imaging how a woman with 20 inch nails wipes her ass or does everyday things… weirdness

    Great story about your job. IM so sorry tht you are unhappy now. Thats not a good feeling. 😦 I hope you find something that truly makes you happy soon! xoxo

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      hahahahaha, I didn’t think about that. Um, eww. Just eww.

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness February 7, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    Oh balls…

    can’t help but love ’em… :p

    I actually kept it to one beer (hangover free and loving it!!!). But that was mostly because I had only a slight interest in the game. Meh…

  6. Ashleigh February 7, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    I have a feeling I would love pajama jeans considering I live in leggings. I own 2 pairs of jeans and I very rarely wear them, I just like to be comfy! I’m actually anti any types of pants… I don’t own a single pair of work pants.

  7. genesis February 7, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    im pretty sure those pajama jeans will popup in walmart soon both on the shelves and on their customers.

  8. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl February 7, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Those pizza rolls look amazing!

    And that sucks about the job! I always thought Charlotte seemed like a good option in terms of places to live…but I’ve never been there! You’ll have to do a Charlotte post sometime 🙂

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      I think it’s a good place if you’re conservative and have a family but for a liberal spinster for me, there’s not alot going on!

  9. Violet Monkey February 7, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    No hangover here, either. Though not from lack of desire for alcohol. (I’m currently on an antibiotic and alcohol is a no-no. Boo).

    I know how you feel about Charlotte. I don’t like living here either… but it’s home, at least for now.

    I love all things stretchy in the pants department, but I don’t know about those Pajama Jeans. I’m curious – but for $50, I don’t think I’m THAT curious. Let us know if you take the plunge!

    ~

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

      Glad to see that someone else feels the same way as me regarding the city.

      I was going to have a beer or two but my throat was killing me and hot tea seemed alot more appealing than a cold one!

  10. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings February 7, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    Those pizza rolls look great!!! Um, I think love your post titles as much as the posts themselves! LOL!

  11. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun February 7, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    I fear if I bought PJ jeans I would never wear anything else. LOL

  12. This Italian Family February 7, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Those sausage balls look seriously delish!

    As for the pj jeans… I have to admit, I’m pretty curious. I haven’t bought them, but I don’t know that I’d judge someone else for getting them. 😉

  13. Erin February 7, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Ha! I’ve discussed with my team wearing pajama jeans for a go-live event that we have going on at work in a few months. Jokes kids. 😉

    Oh! And I’m not hungover today! I sucked down as much water as I could!

  14. Katherine: Unemployed February 7, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    I don’t have faith in pajama jeans… I just don’t… I wish they would take off because who doesn’t love wearing pajamas, but …I just don’t have faith

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      I’m keeping the faith. I will have them one of these days!!

  15. April February 7, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Your balls look scrumptious!!

    I wear my pjs to Walmart so if they looked like jeans that’d be a bonus!

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

      Me too, we could be stylish and save money!!

  16. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle February 7, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    It usually takes me about 6 months to change a light bulb once it’s out.

    I am intrigued by pajama jeans. I would like to try a pair on.

  17. thefitacademic February 7, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    omg, both of your snackies look DELISH! It’s creeping up on dinner time here, so your pics have made my mouth water!!!

  18. Laury @TheFitnessDish February 7, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    A. You and me BOTH are not hungover today. Although I feel so exhausted that I might as well be.

    B. Pajama jeans are the most ridiculous things I have ever seen. I could not believe that commercial. Oh geesh.

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

      I am exhausted as well but at least you have the excuse of another human growing inside of you. I’m just tired and groggy.

  19. lookingupwhileslimmingdown February 7, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    How funny that i never even heard of pajama jeans until i read your blog today and then just a few minutes ago one of our sorority sisters just posted on FB that she bought a pair. Funny.

    Those pizza roll things look sooo good!

    Erin’s husband is moving to Italy on Wed. then she goes in August.

    No cheesehead on my desk today but my boss is bringing in cheese shipped in from WI and crackers for our staff meeting to celebrate. Boo.

    Ooooh WI at the KA house…heehee.

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      Was it Elicia? I know she was eyeing them as well.

      So the question is-are you going to eat the cheese?

      I think Wisconsin was a TKE?

  20. TheSceneFromMe February 7, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    A lasagna cupcake sounds like da bomb. Is the bottom of it garlic bread?
    Check out these meatloaf cupcakes: http://www.themeatloafbakery.com/everyday-favorites/
    They look so awesome, I want to go to Chicago just so I can eat here!

    I too made pizza bites last night. Cut dough out with a little shot glass, just big enough to put a piece of pepperoni on top, a dollop of sauce and sprinkle with cheese!

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      Oh my God. I want—-no need the Loaf-o-Roma. I have added this to my list of out of town places I must visit!!

      Pizza bites rock, can’t wait to read about yours!

  21. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl February 7, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    I wish I knew someone who had pajama jeans so I could tell you if they loved them, but I don’t. I have a friend who always says she is going to buy them but never does! 🙂

    Your eats last night look awesome!

  22. Lily's Health Pad February 7, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I am so curious about those pajama jeans its not even funny. If there weren’t 30some bucks, I’d be tempted to by them.

    HOW did you get free lightbulbs??

    And, I was not hungover today either. But alas, I never am hungover. I live the life of an 80 year old grandma.

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      Duke Energy put out a mass email in our area saying they would send us free light bulbs if we wanted them. And they sent each home a crazy amount like 12 or 14. I love it!

      I’m right there with you. If I happen to be hungover these days, it’s a complete surprise.

  23. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 7, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    I’m commenting on your balls again…

    ahaha!

    Where in NC are you!? ohmygosh! I know like NOONE here!

    • simplyshaka February 7, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

      Everyone comments on my balls at allllllll hours of the day-boo ya! I’m in Charlotte-where are you?

      • Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 8, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

        J-vegas aka Jacksonville. Womp womp! its so boring here!

      • simplyshaka February 8, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

        Eek. Sorry, didn’t mean that negatively–I’ve just heard that it is super boring there. If you ever come to Charlotte, let me know! There’s a lot more going on here than Raleigh 🙂

  24. Diana@mymarblerye February 8, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Omg your homemade bar food always looks good!!! Anyways my friend worked for enterprise and hated his life!! Glad u are honest about Charlotte! And I don’t make meat balls at home…if I did I would use lamb or turkey meat!

    • simplyshaka February 8, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      It was so horrible there but I guess we all have bad first job stories right??

      Lamb in meatballs? I dont know why I’ve never tried that! Maybe because cooking with lamb kinda scares me??

  25. Laury @thefitnessdish February 11, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    Is it weird that I am 29 and I never saw any of the Star Wars movies? Maybe the first when I was like 8 but I don’t really remember.

    You need to move somewhere really, really, really fun after Charlotte. You owe it to yourself. Live Vegas or something.

    Your comment this morning had me laughing. I hope you got through your day after the coffee…haha. Have a great weekend!!!

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

      I know I know, I am sorry for the cracked out comment and calling you Michaela! I’m in the same boat as you with Star Wars movies….have a great wknd!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Green+Googling+Gaffigan=Great « Simply Shaka - February 8, 2011

    […] am going to put some into my travel savings account, put some aside to get my hair did and buy some pajama jeans!  I just had to share since it was a complete surprise to me and just what I neede given my attitude […]

  2. Negativity, happenings and goal checks « Simply Shaka - March 1, 2011

    […] still need to mix it up some but I made some good stuff in February like stuffed mushrooms, meatballs, tuna melts, tofu tacos and roasted chicken along with going out for sushi, Indian […]

Leave a Reply

