Tame and lame

13 Jun

Yep, that would describe my weekend. Friday night was exciting but the rest was pretty tame and lame.

Saturday morning was solely dedicated to packing and getting rid of junk. I had someone from Craigslist come over at 11am to look at my tv stand and they bought it—woo hoo! One item down, a whole lot left to go. I paid $100 for it last year and got $60 in return so I think that’s pretty good plus that can be a credit card payment for next month.

Of course, I put on Twitter about how if no one ever heard from me again, it was because I’d been killed. I never used to be weird about it but then this guy had to go ruin it for everyone.

(source)

The rest of the day was nothing to write about, errands, cleaning, gym. Fun.

I went through my freezer and saw that I had some shrimp that should be used soon so I decided to make shrimp, veggies and pasta. I cut up red peppers, onion, zucchini and shallots and seasoned with

I seasoned the shrimp with pepper and garlic then cooked with extra virgin olive oil on the stovetop until cooked thoroughly. I topped with parsley and grated parm. The best part was that this didn’t even need any kind of sauce since it was so flavorful and absorbed the extra virgin olive oil that I cooked the shrimp in.

I wanted to do something on Saturday night but nothing was going on. No one was around or responded to my texts if they wanted to do anything (nice) and no one asked me to do anything and I didn’t want to spend any money. Around 8pm, I got up and went to Freedom Park with Lincoln since there was still some light out. we walked around the lake, canoodled with other dogs and enjoyed the night. I t started to turn dark and the rain was coming in so we went home and hung out. The rest of the evening was spent with this guy

I’ve been trying to make Lincoln rock a faux-hawk but he isnt having any of that.

I woke up bright and early Sunday morning but not my choice. I didn’t get to bed until midnight and couldn’t take Lincoln out since it was down pouring. What does that mean? I woke up to him on my chest

I made an awesome bowl of oats—chocolate banana chia oats. These were bomb. I was just going to add the banana and chia seeds but had a little left of a bag of morsels to use up and most definitely didn’t want to be wasteful.

I went to Target to grab a battery and left with a battery and three tops. So typical

I also picked up my dad a Father’s Day card. I love my dad but I feel awkward picking out a card since they are too sappy for my taste like “You picked me up when I fell and now I pick up my kids when they fall” and other lame stuff like that. I just want a card that says “Happy Fathers Day, love you” but apparently Hallmark and the other big shots don’t want to produce stuff like that.

 

By the time I got back from Target, it was 9am and I was bored….again. So I got on my sneakers, grabbed Lincoln and we went for a mile and a half way and then to the park

Lincoln was chasing so much squirrel that his chain broke! His retractable chain went out 15 feet and now the string won’t go back in. So now we have to use his old leash which only goes six or seven feet out and when you have an energetic pup, that just doesn’t jive.

And something else broke apart but with the help of a wrench

Sing song the bed is dead!!!!!! That was my independence day and while everything didn’t break completely apart, it’s dismantled. Thanks Nic for the tool tips—I appreciate it!

Lunch was leftover mushroom flautas from Vida and kale chips. I believe in making the most of what you got and definitely when it comes to cooking, why use to sheets when I can use one?

I got creative with dinner on Sunday night. I had leftover spaghetti from Saturday night so I halved the leftover portion, added two tablespoons of cottage cheese, thawed frozen spinach, red pepper flakes, garlic, spaghetti sauce and mozzarella cheese

Took one portabella mushroom, cleaned it out, sprayed with extra virgin olive oil from my Misto then stuffed with the pasta mixture

Topped with more mozzarella

Bake for 15 minutes at 375 and then top with parsley and done!

This was a fun way to make spaghetti interesting as opposed to just the blah leftovers it sometimes can be! Plus if there’s an opportunity to get some mushrooms into my belly, I won’t pass it up.

Also this weekend I’ve been trying some new smoothie concoctions thanks to my friend, frozen mango

Berry, mango, coconut water, chia seeds and greek yogurt

Mango, coconut water, chia seeds and greek yogurt

I’m out of protein powder and in limbo regarding what flavor or brand I’m going to buy next step. So to get my protein in the meantime I’ve been adding greek yogurt along with coconut water instead of milk and I love the consistency, it’s still thick but not as heavy.

 

Does anyone else feel me on the wanting a non sappy Father’s Day card?

Do you sell stuff on Craigslist/Ebay/Amazon?

Random question-anyone familiar with Google Analyticals? I have the code to add it to my site but I’m not sure where exactly to enter it in since I do everything by posts. It keeps telling me to put it anyone on my site, please help if you know where I should put it!

25 Responses to “Tame and lame”

  1. Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles June 13, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Target can just suck you in, can’t it?! I swear I could roam the aisles there all day – and my wallet would definitely notice it!

  2. winky June 13, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Oh I soo hear you on the Father’s Day card thing. My Dad and I aren’t real close so that is tricky and then there is finding a card for my former alcoholic Grandfather. I have yet to find the card that says ” Grandpa, when I smell the breath of someone who has been drinking too much whiskey, I think of you. Happy Father’s Day ” Oh well 🙂

    • simplyshaka June 13, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      Good, I thought it was just me. I may have to start buying blank cards and just stenciling in my own message. I think you should do the same with your grandfather….

  3. vixter2010 June 13, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Aw at least you had Lincoln for company! I felt a bit liek that Sat night, shame we were in different countries! I had a curry to cheer myself up 🙂 I’ve never sold anything but buy a lot from Amazon, I don’t really get Ebay, which is prob good as it sounds addictive!

    • simplyshaka June 13, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

      It is very addictive! I only go on there to buy something when I need something specific and then get off asap!

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 13, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    I did a few Craigslist sales… always made sure to have a friend there when stuff was being picked up, though… :p

    And all I’ve been doing is throwing away junk. Annie just told me yesterday as she was helping me move that I should consider downsizing. I looked at her blankly and said “I have!”

    • simplyshaka June 13, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

      Seriously, what do all these other people have? A mattress, a top, pants, skirt and one pair of shoes? Am I missing something or do I just hoard everything?

  5. BikiniBy30 June 13, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Portabella stuffed with spaghetti?! Brilliant. I think that’s such an awesome way to portion control your pasta as well. I’m totally stealing this idea!

    • simplyshaka June 13, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

      Thanks, I loved it and it was just enough to keep me happy for the night.

  6. ah relaxing weekends are the best! especially when you got to cook all of those ridiculously delish looking meals!! oh yummy! and thanks so much for the advice on my last post : ) i appreciate it!

  7. Blonde Ponytail June 13, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    Tiff! Thank you for your sweet comment on my blog! I love Lincoln and he totally needs to rock the faux hawk. Um, you are talented/artistic in the kitchen!! Can I visit?! Holy delish!

    After a run, I gave myself the weekend off. Loved it!! So did Cooper as you could see! 🙂

  8. Monique June 13, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Dude Target always has the cutest stuff. And I’m glad you share my love of drinking smoothies out of bar/beer glasses 🙂 (Mine are typically all stolen, btw).

    • simplyshaka June 13, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      Oh yeah, I would never pay actually money for one….unless it’s at a thrift store of course!

  9. MelissaNibbles June 13, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Lincoln is too cute!
    You’ve had some yummy food. The shrimp dish looks pretty darn incredible.

  10. Natalie @ While I Breathe June 13, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    girl, do you know what i would give for a quiet night at home!!! gosh my weekends don’t even feel like weekends recently… minnie would probably like me to have a night at home too lol… that pasta looks awesome… i’m just venturing into mushrooms and this might have to be a dish i make… 🙂

  11. nic - the auspicious squirrel June 13, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    I’m glad I could be of some help with the bed dismantling.

    The spaghetti in the mushroom is a great idea! It looks so yummy!

    No idea what Google Analyticals is, but if you need a place to put stuff on your blog, going to dashboard -> appearance -> widgets there are all kinds of cool things to add. You can also add a ‘text’ widget and put just about anything you want in it, using HTML code. 🙂 Maybe that will work?

    • simplyshaka June 14, 2011 at 8:46 am #

      I tried that and it didn’t work 😦 but thanks anyways!

  12. Natalie @Will Jog For Food June 13, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    I love your dinner creation!

    I’m also not a huge fan of sappy cards, usually I give my dad a funny one then right something nice in it, haha.

    I used to sell stuff on Ebay alot! It’s pretty easy and I got decent money for my stuff.

  13. Laury@thefitnessdish June 13, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Your shrimp dish looks amazingg and I love Lincolns wanna be faux hawk! SO cute!!!

    I used to sell on Ebay all the time!

  14. Liz June 14, 2011 at 2:48 am #

    Target is my Disneyland. And the bane of my checking accounts existence. I go in for paper towels and come out 25 other things I didn’t know I needed but apparently could not live with out. Repeat every week.

    And ya…Father’s Day cards can be juuuust a little awk..

  15. diana@mymarblerye June 14, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    dude. i found my apt through craigslist. sounds shady but it worked out great..tons of options on there. Glad your packing along. Can’t believe you are leaving charlotte so soon!

  16. leashieloo June 14, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    I’ve totally had my eye on those mango chunks! *Runs off to add to the grocery list*

  17. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings June 14, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    I’m allergic to mango 😦 so weird! I swear, I am the odd bag lady that shuffles around Target for hours.

  18. Monique June 14, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    YOu shoulda came to NY i had unlimited amount of guests at some preview club party where we danced our booties off!
    (but then my feet were hurting) lol

  19. peacebeme June 16, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    That shrimp looks so good!

    I always buy a funny Father’s Day card! 🙂

Leave a comment