Archive | 7:10 pm

Almost a free day

11 Jun

I’ve been getting into my normal routine of running around with entering crisis mode from moving.

On Thursday I went to Dilworth Coffee since I had a $15 Groupon to blow through. However, there was a catch, the Dilworth Coffee location was in Concord whereas I thought it was the one a few blocks away from me. Since Concord is about a 20 minute drive, I decided to make a day trip out of it (can you tell I don’t like to travel too far when I am in Charlotte?)

I started there and ordered 12 oz of their cinnamon hazelnut coffee. I Usually get their Morehead Estate ground coffee but wanted to try something different since it would be super cheap to. The barista there was awesome and took the time to ask me what I like and what the difference is between the different roasts they have. Since I was mixing it up already, I followed with my drink. I got an iced skim chai latte and it was delish and dare I say, the best I’ve ever had?

I brought my laptop so I could work on some internship stuff and parked it for about two hours. It was just the right level of volume since it was mid morning and no kids or hipsters were there, yay.

What I liked about this location was that it had a true coffeehouse feel to it. What is a true coffeehouse you ask? I’m not sure but if I were to think of one in my mind, it would be spacious with comfy seats, eclectic décor, local artwork, chill music with a variety of brews. And that was indeed Dilworth Coffee in Concord.

I saw some interesting sights on the road shortly after while heading to the next stop of the day:

What the hell is this, the Bob Marley Express?

And I love that the Charlotte Fire Department digs Shrek but what about Donkey?

The next stop was The Last Word, a used book/cd/dvd store that’s opened this past year. I have a bunch of books that I am giving away to the thrift stores but I thought I would check with them first to see if they would buy any back.

If someone could tell me why there is a Christmas tree in the bathroom,I  would love to know the story.

After what seemed like forever, my name finally appeared on the monitor. They put it on the screen when your order is ready instead of the traditional calling your name over the loudspeaker. I was about to reach my boiling point because the guy told me it would be about 30 minutes and when mine was finally ready it was over an hour. I’m very impatient, it’s one of my “flaws” (who are we kidding, it’s the only flaw I have!) however if you give me a realistic time frame, I can schedule accordingly and go somewhere else or go grab lunch. I went back to the counter and they only bought a few dvd’s and books from me which came to $19 in store credit or $9 cash. I found a couple of cd’s and a book so I took the credit and I still had some leftover for my next visit.

When that was settled, I went to Thai House for lunch. They have lunch specials for $7-$10 and I am always down for some chicken pad thai.

It was a huge portion for only $7 and with that you get a spring roll and soup. However it helps when the server greets you on their own free will and remembers the soup. Definitely not the best pad thai I’ve had in Charlotte but it did the job.

Do you go to used bookstores to sell or buy books? Do you have a Kindle/Nook or prefer old school books? 

I like to go to used bookstores to sell my books (and cd’s and dvds if they buy them) because most of the time they are locally owned businesses. I am old school all the way, I don’t think I could do the whole electronic book thing…or could I?