What I need to do and stop doing

14 Jun

To do

*Keep tracking my food intake on the daily

I used to use Livestrong to track my food and exercise. It’s free to join and it tells you the amount of calories, carbs, fats, cholesterol. etc that you take in on the daily.  You can enter in your current age, weight and height and then control your settings like if you want to lose a pound or two a weight, gain weight or even maintain your weight. They have just about every food to enter in for the day and you can manually enter in your exercise or search their database. I used it for so long but then stopped because I felt like I was becoming obsessive over it with tracking every single morsel that went in my mouth.

Well apparently, being obsessive is how I roll.

Many of you know about my former job situation and the effect it took on my health-mental and physical. I was in a deep depression and gained 25 (yes, 25) pounds. With a seven month period—it’s never good to gain that much weight, especially in that short of a time frame (and on a short girl) Now that I’ve quit my job, I’m dealing with the repercussions of gaining that weight. And tracking is what works for me. I can’t do the guesstimation at this time of what I eat every day, I need to enter in everything to hold me accountable for what’s going in my body. I lost two pounds last week which is a small win on the road to a larger victory.

*Plan my meals

This is only going to get more difficult in the next few months since I will be living as a gypsy. I have planned out my meals for this week by using what I got along with some produce that’s on sale this week.

*Find gyms while out of town

Finding and going to the YMCA while in Florida and Indiana was such a success, I can’t wait to find other locations wherever my next stops will be.

*Cutting down on the hooch

I’m a drinker, there’s no question about that.  And it’s fine in moderation but my problem is that I heart beer. In the summertime there is nothing as a refreshing as a cold, beer (those who say lemonade is the ultimate summertime refreshment are lame and in denial) But those empty calories are not my friends and I’ve been drinking more and more lately. Two summers ago, I barely drank. I would go out once or twice a month with friends for a night and drink and that was it. Unfortunately, it’s the main thing to do when I get together with friends so I need to find a way to cut down or limit it to just once a week for the time being.

*Mix up my playlist

I’m horrible about changing my playlist. It only happens a few times a year and I don’t know why I don’t change it more often. I think it has something to do with laziness. I can proudly say I have quite a variety on my playlist though:

Stop Doing

*Freaking out over the numbers on my heart rate monitor

I thought I forgot my heart rate monitor band in Indianapolis. I went a week with working out without it and it was nice. I felt naked at first since I couldn’t see how many calories I had burned or what my heart rate was. But instead, I was listening to my body and concentrating more on the movements instead of the numbers in front of me. Sometimes my heart rate monitor will read my heart rate as 0 while working out (I guess I have died a few times?) and other times, I wonder if it is an accurate read of how many calories I’m burning. I tend to focus solely on the number and that’s and will get disappointed if I don’t have a good burn. So I am going to continue to use my heart rate monitor since I think it’s a good gage but at the same time, I’m going to listen more to my body.

*Letting other people distract me

Airports are one of my favorite places to go to for the people watching alone. And the gym is similar to the airport, well except for the planes and travel aspects of it. The people watching at the gym is spectacular especially since the location I go to is on the outskirts of Uptown Charlotte. You got yuppies, gays, urbanites, college kids, elderly folk-the whole shebang. And sometimes I just can’t help staring at people and wondering what their situation is or why they are freak. If I could have one semi-superhero power, it would be the power to know what people are listening to on their ipod. I’m always intrigued by this for some reason like “Oh, she looks like she’s listening to Gloria Gaynor” or “Yep, he’s Def Leppard all the way” But other times, I let the people around me distract me. Such as the guy working out next to me who sang Rod Stewart the entire duration of my workout (um, I don’t like Rod Stewart so kindly shut up) or the mini’s AKA the yuppie moms of four children whose sole purpose in life is to compete in marathons, go to bookclub and Starbucks. I start to get into comparisons and feel like I should be doing more.

*Going in with a plan

You read that right. While most people swear on a workout plan before they go into the gym, I don’t. I don’t like committing to something (#29 why I’m not in a relationship) and if my plan doesn’t follow through, I tend to just leave saying I’ll come back tomorrow to do it. So, I keep it broad just saying “Today I’m going to do x minutes of cardio and strength training concentrating on my lower or upper body” if I keep it vague like this, I am more likely to succeed. I think it’s about knowing what works for you as opposed to what works for the general public.

*Being emo

I get down on myself about my weight and get all emo. It sucks and it needs to stop. I’ve come a long way and while I’ve gained some weight back, I’m not at my original weight. I need to keep thinking positively and move in the right direction.

What do you need to do and stop doing in regards to your health?

30 Responses to “What I need to do and stop doing”

  1. Jenn @ Peas and Crayons June 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    noooooooooooo don’t be emo i love you! =) stay in NC and head towards the coast. there’s a gym here…. ❤

    I used to get obsessive with the meal tracking too! Now I keep it light and track only 1 day a week. Maybe that would be a good starter plan for you? worth a try! ❤

    now I need to make myself one of these lists stat! I feel like I could fill pages and pages with my to dos and to stop doing! really!

    xoxo

  2. Abby June 14, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Very insightful list. My health needs are a bit on the opposite end of the scale–pun intended–in that I need to gain weight, but many of the same things apply. I also have to plan my meals and make sure my portions are right (enough) and mix things up. More often than not I need to NOT plan so much and instead try and listen to my body and not my head. The same goes for exercise–listen to my body and not my head.

    Regardless of whether it’s a case of losing or gaining, I think it’s good to keep perspective and remember that a) no one can make us feel inferior without our consent and b) it’s up to us to take control of our health and happiness. 🙂

    P.S. You’re beautiful as it is, so you don’t have far to go…

  3. BikiniBy30 June 14, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    Alcohol can get me too. I totally agree that nothing is more refreshing in the summer than a super ice cold (almost a little slushy) beer. I don’t mind MGD 64 (with lots of added lime) so if I really need to I’ll go that route. For coktail replacements I’ll mix a shot or two of tequila in low-cal Minute Maid limeade and have a “Faux-garita” to save on calories or I’ll use rum and mint for a “faux-jito.” It all still packs calories of course, but it helps. I wish I had a beer this minute.

  4. runeatdatesleep June 14, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    I’m obsessive too with all of this stuff, but I figure it’s what I need. Otherwise, I fall off the wagon, gained back more weight than I lost, and get all emo 🙂

    I need to stop letting “friends” drag me to restaurants where my trigger foods live. I can’t help myself when someone asks me to go get pizza. Maybe I need to stop having friends… I have no discipline!

  5. MelissaNibbles June 14, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    I’m obsessive with numbers. I track calories in my head for no reason. I think every woman does. I love your playlist!

  6. Monique June 14, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    great and practical list
    I need to stop staying up late thinking im missing something!
    word.

  7. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 14, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    I desperately need to mix up my playlist. Long story short, Itunes cleared itself out and I haven’t taken the time to re-import everything and make a new one. Laziness at it’s finest…

  8. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy June 14, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    I also am in major need of a playlist revamp.
    Also- I was kind of emo in high school. Not with like weird Adam Lambert hair and dark eyeliner, but super baggy jeans and lots of “wahhh poor me” music. All that to say- that poster is amazeballs.

  9. miriam June 14, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Everything is temporary – this too shall pass and when you start making choices that make you more comfortable will help you think more positively…which will put everything back on track. I’m totally the same way and tend to forget that everything changes, so while the good can’t stay good forever, it also means the bad stuff will slide on by eventually too 🙂

    In regards to my health…I think I need to learn how to relax! And go with the flow. I’m pretty crappy at taking my own advice 😉 That should change too.

  10. lookingupwhileslimmingdown June 14, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    I love that you have Barry Manilow on your playlist. 🙂 I already found 2 YMCAs for you when you’re here. I feel naked without my heart rate monitor, too. But I do find myself obsessing over the numbers a little, too. What I’ve finally stopped doing is weighing myself every morning.

  11. Katie H June 14, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Cold beer in the summer is definitely the best, though I am currently limited to lemonade. I’m not a huge beer drinker- I love me some wine and I think if I cut it out completely (well, not now obvs but pre-preg) it would just make me want it more. So I think a once/twice weekly beer or two is a good idea.

    Your to-do is great. It is hard to stay healthy while being gypsy like but I know you can do it!

  12. Krista @ Journey to a Healthy Berg June 14, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    While I agree with you that beer makes an excellent summer drink, I have to say that I prefer pina colodas and margaritas more 🙂 Of course, they’re also even higher on the calories than beer. Lame.

  13. Laury@thefitnessdish June 14, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    Beer is a killer. My sisters best friend was just telling me the other day she wishes she did not love the heavy beers as much!!! I love Blue Moon, but lucky for me it takes a half a beer to get buzzed and I’m dunzo.

  14. Rach @ This Italian Family June 14, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    I’m really bad about updating my playlist and mixing it up. I need to do that!

  15. Karla June 14, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Ah! I can relate to so many of these! I think we are in similar boats. We can do it!!
    Making a list of things to do/stop doing is a great idea!
    If you need moral support, I’m here! Best of luck!

  16. tinkerbelle86 June 15, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Ah I used to use one of those livestrong type things that counts your exercise and your calorie intake etc and o got obsessive. You document everything and feel guilty if you eat something bad. eek! I stopped. Apparently im too obsessive for stuff like that. and the playlist… im the same, my housemates go insane at me listening to the same ten songs until they want to throw me and all my music out of the house and change the locks!

  17. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings June 15, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    I use fitday.com and I too used to obsess. OBSESS. I have it in check now. It shows you a pie graph of where your calories are coming from (fats, carbs, proteins, & alcohol). I am a visual person. Plus, the site has fat loss calculators that tell you how many calories to eat to reach your goal weight. It also tracks your weight, which is nice to see.

    Tracking every morsel is good. It keeps you very aware of mindless snacking. I was shocked at how fast a handful of m&ms, a couple of bites of mac & cheese, and an extra beer add up calorie wise. It just keeps you more aware. Good luck!

  18. diana@mymarblerye June 15, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    you know what is probably hindering your sexy self? Those groupons…honestly eating out is DANGEROUS (TWSS) cause you really do not know what you are eating…calories wise. Don’t be down. I’ve been eating crazy shit for a few months but we just gotta snap out of it and eat healthy and get moving again. It’s hard also cause you’ve been traveling.

  19. Alyssa June 15, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Oh, come oooonnnnnnnnnnnn. Don’t limit the booze intake.. it just makes life so much better/more interesting. 😉

    Wait.. did I just say that? I mean…

  20. Erin June 15, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Taking a step back and really taking note of the things you need to start/stop doing is so important in life. It helps evaluate if you are really reaching the goals you are setting for yourself. I’m with ya on the boozing. Its so hard to say no! Nothing wrong with enjoying. Also nothing wrong with enjoying a little less! 😉

  21. leashieloo June 15, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    I just need to get off my ass. I’m doing a pedometer challenge and meeting my daily goal, but I really need to ramp it up. Last night, my boyfriend suggested going for a quick jog and I immediately made excuses not to. It’s horrible.

  22. Alex June 15, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    Wow. Tiff. Cutting down on the hooch? Half of the fun I get from reading your blog is what booze you are going to pair up with you food. One of my personal faves was the Chuck Shaw wine…always a go-to for me. On the other hand, I have no problems with boxed wine either.
    I’m attempting to stick with vodka, but sometimes I don’t want to be on the floor, and I’ve never said No to a cold beer. Let me know how it works out for you.

  23. nic - the auspicious squirrel June 15, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    It’s always good to take a step back and refresh your goals. I think your list of dos and don’ts is great for your mental health… getting back on track, kind of thing.

    I’ve been reassessing my goals as well. I’ve gained some weight since Little-bit passed away (don’t know how much, but my clothes don’t fit as well, and I had to buy a pair of jeans a size larger). Haven’t really been cooking like I used to, nor have I been exercising. It’s been three months, so I’m slowly finding myself again. Going back to school and being around people has helped me not continue on that downward spiral.

    Good luck with your goals. The first step to change is awareness. 🙂

  24. Joanna B. June 15, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    You go girl! Any way I can support you in reaching your goals, please let me know. Different things work for different people and knowing what works for you is the best place to start. The second step for long term success is having your community support you, I promise there is no better way than having your friends and family help keep you accountable to yourself.

    Eating well and traveling present their own challenges, but it can be done!

    Finally, as a non-drinker there are plenty of things to do for fun without consuming the empty calories. Next time you’re in Chicago we can do some cool things that are active and tons of fun!

  25. Cat June 15, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Sometimes if your heart rate monitor is reading “0” it’s not getting a good connection, so you want to make sure the strap is snug, REALLY snug and as high as possible. I know the “girls” can get in the way of this! Happens to me sometimes too, but tightening it always works!

  26. Ashleigh June 15, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Dont you hate how you can literally gain like 5 LBS in a weekend, but it takes a whole month to lose it?1 UGH!! Anyways, congrats on the loss so far and keep going girl! I totally agree with you on most of these. For me, one thing I do that I need to NOT do is lately I haven’t been eating much during the day to “save calories” for going out to dinner or having drinks and it ALWAYS screws me over. I know I need to stop doing this ASAP!

  27. getfitwithjuju June 15, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Did I mention, that I love your blog?! You really make me smile, with your honesty, humor, and just everything freaking thing!!
    Look, just do you. Everything that you have planned out are all awesome, and I know that you can do it, but if you don’t then just let it be, and move on to the next day!
    I’m in a similar boat, where I gained 20 lbs from my last job. I basically sat on my butt all day, and yep! my butt gained it all! I have a million accounts with the free diet plans, so let me know if you ever need a buddy!! 🙂
    Have you ever tried Amstel light? I’m in love with that, coors light, and stella! I’m with you,- when it gets nice outside, I like to go out to the deck and have a nice cold beer! Just thinking about it, gets me thirsty!

  28. Natalie @ Will Jog For Food June 16, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Love the EMO pic! hahaha

    I used to use livestrong too, and now I’m using sparkpeople. I like it a little better I think. I’ve been tracking the past 2 weeks and I also drink WAYYY too much. Almost 1,000 cals in alcohol last weekend. UGH

    • simplyshaka June 16, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

      I’ve heard good things about sparkpeople, I may need to check it out! I’ve only drank once this week which is great for me. I’m trying to limit it to once a week for now.

  29. adrianna June 18, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    the blurb about ”letting people distract me’ is so me in the gym…i always wonder what people are rockin out to, especially if they are wearing questionable gear. and those perfect-body women…its so hard for me not to compare to them and think i should be doing more, wonder what they eat, how they have time, etc. need to stop that crap.
    i could certainly stop worrying about my indulgences at night. its such a problem…i allow myself the treats at night, but sometimes its out of control. then i mildly freak out, staring at my stomach in the mirror and beating myself up for it…bad mental games.
    proud of you chic! you’ll get back on track and love it 🙂 youre gorgy no matter what though!

Leave a Reply

