Archive | 9:05 pm

What gives?

2 Jul

I’m staying with one of my friends until tomorrow and I am in love her house. Houses like these make me want to settle down someone and buy something that I can call my own but we all know that’s not happening any time soon. My old place was right outside the city and her place is the opposite-in the country. Ok, not really, but country to me. It’s in civilization but there is tons of land, trees and nature all around me. And you know what, I kinda dig it!

Bonus points because I get to play with her cute pup (Lincoln’s girlfriend Monet)

I met up with some of my sorority sisters for dinner on Friday night. We went to Chili’s and I honestly can’t tell you the last time I’ve been to a Chili’s since I’m not a huge chain food person. However, while perusing their menu ahead of time, I saw they have a 2 for $20 deal where you can get an appetizer and two entrees for only $20. Works for me! We got the guacamole and I ordered the Grilled Margarita Chicken with beans and rice

After a few bites, I was done. I had a margarita (house margaritas only $3.49—wha what???!) and was full from the chips, salsa and guacamole.

 

I’m gonna miss my friends but I know this isn’t goodbye.

This morning I woke up semi early and found the nearest YMCA to go to. I did 35 minutes of HIIT on the Precor Crossramp. I went in not wanting to do a damn thing but I hadn’t been to the gym in a few days and wanted to do something to up my heart rate. The ones where I plan on doing nothing usually turn out to be the best ones for me. This time after 20 minutes on the elliptical, I didn’t want to stop. Then the 30 minute mark hit which gave me a five minute cool down and then I had to stop since there’s a 30 minutes time limit when people are waiting.

The Y facility I went to was really nice but I wasn’t quite sure about the whole wiping of the machine system there. A few of the machines had a spray bottle on them but with no towels. The Y I normally go to has machines and towels on all the machines so you know that’s what you’re supposed to wipe with. I tried to watch people as I was working out to see what I was supposed to do but some of them wiped with a paper towel while others with their own towels-what gives?

After reading Stephanie’s post on Dunkin Donuts coffee  (which you should totally go over to her site a wish her an early happy birthday!), I was in the mood for an iced coffee from the DD.

I went to a DD location I’ve never been to before and it was pretty gross inside. It was early but crawling with unruly ankle biters. When I got to the cashier to order, the girl looked at me like I was an alien. I looked at her for a few seconds then I said “Hi” and again, she just looked at me. I followed up “How are you??” and then she finally caught on to the whole let’s have a conversation and get my order concept.  To quote Principal Rooney in Ferris Buellers Day Off “I weep for the future” What gives?

Once I was clean and looking like a lady again, my friend and I went out to run errands and go to lunch. Of course I had a Groupon because that’s how I roll. I am not leaving this town without going through every single one I can! It was for Topz , dubbed “The Healthier Burger Grill”

My pet peeve with going to new places is if I don’t know the deal is. Meaning, is it sit down, waiter service, do you get a number or just wait around for your food? What gives?  At Topz you order but my friend and I didn’t know if we should just stand there or what so we sat and hoped that someone would bring us out our food. Our magic worked and we soon got our food. I got their turkey burger with a side salad.

Nothing like a burger hot off the grill! This was so juicy and the grilled onions added even more flavor to it. They offer all of their burgers with pickles, lettuce, tomatoes, grilled onions and 1000 Island dressing but I went without the the dressing because that just sounded nasty. Plus, on their condiment bar they had garlic ketchup—I’ve never heard of such thing! So I grabbed a mini cup of that and topped my burger with that and it was delicious. I love how they offer turkey burgers, veggie burgers and a few salad options in addition to angus burgers, hot dogs and fries.

We some errands afterwards and I finally picked up a reusable cup for my cold bevvies I enjoy in the summertime

We all know a Saturday afternoon isn’t complete without a trip to Target!

Um, when did these books come out??? I MUST FIND!!

As I’m a firm believer in “no coupon left behind”, we had one last stop to make

Free cupcake? Why the hell not?? SAS Cupcakes is right across the street from Target and absolutely adorable inside

It was like a magical. sugar laced candy land full of cupcakes and other goodies! I was torn between the Cookies N Cream and Chocolate S’more cupcake but once the employee told me that the S’more was filled with marshmallow crème, game was on!

Well, until they made a major cupcake faux pas….a cupcake to go served in a bag? Really SAS-what gives?

I handled the cupcake with extra care on the right home so it would be almost pristine condition when I got to enjoy it but one side was a little smushed.

The frosting was a graham cracker crust frosting and absolutely delightful. The actual cupcake, even though filled with marshmallow crème, fell flat. It was dry with not a lot of taste to it. After eating one half of it, I gave up for someone else to enjoy it.

Sigh, at least it was free.

Have you had any “What gives?” lately?