Fat calves, lasagne, biscotti and Jack

18 Oct

 Hi all–hope everyone had a fantastic weekend! The past few days haven’t been too exciting—-recooperating from my icky state of being I’ve been in (I am blaming it on the weather changing from 40 to 80 within the day), tying up all the loose ends with my old job and trying to mentally prepare for the new one that I started today. Some regular eats

A good book

I’ve been in such a reading rut lately I welcomed a good book with wide open arms. I stayed up two nights in a row until 2A reading this and loved every bit of it. I recommend!

My last day at my hellhole job

But they brought me cupcakes for my last day and took me to lunch so I guess that somewhat made up for the four years spent in hell

This weekend? Well, it was spent relaxing and cooking. I did a little shopping for clothes and shoes for my new position but it didn’t end too well. I picked up some cute tops but then when I went to shop for boots, all hell broke loose. Thanks to me and my fat calves, nothing would zip up. I don’t have cankles or anything but they are thicker towards the knee. I would try on boots they proclaimed they fit “Wide Calves” AKA Fat Calves like mine and no go. So I got frustrated. And then I tried on some more and got even more frustrated. One of the employees saw I was having a difficult time and led me around the store in search of boots that would fit be and no good came out of that. Soon, I was that girl at DSW crying because of my fat calves and she tried to soothe me by saying “You don’t have fat calves-they are wide calves” and that made me cry even more saying “No, they aren’t wide or voluptuous, they are plain fat, thick calves” Oi. So, I left DSW with no boots and on a mission to find boots. I figured Lane Bryant would have boots for girls with fat calves like me and no go. They were all sold out. I finally found some at Avenue and bought a beautiful pair of knee-high suede boots they are way comfortable. Then, I saw that shoes were buy one, get one 50% off so I picked up a pair of ankle cut boots walking out of there spending $62-score! DSW girl-wherever you are–I’m truly sorry for my behavior. Like Daniel Powder, I had a bad day.

Another thing that took up a good chunk of my weekend was cooking. I am going to break this down into today and tomorrow’s post but the  first thing on the list was lasagne. I haven’t made lasagne since this spring and was long overdue. I am a fan of any meal I can make in bulk, freeze then enjoy at a later date. I really don’t have a set lasange recipe so this time I made it with eggplant, shrooms and Morningstar crumbles

A perfect meal! I haven’t bought Morningstar crumbles in a long time so it was nice to get to cook with it again and I have some leftover for other meals.

I tried this recipe for Fig and Walnut Biscotti I love biscotti but when I think about it, buying one for $1.50 at Starbucks is just not financially smart on my behalf so why not try making my own? When I was at the supermarket, I looked, looked and looked for figs but I couldn’t. I decided to throw mini chocolate chip morsels in the mix for fun because nothing spells fun like nuts and chocolate.

They actually turned out well. They aren’t stale yet so not totally like biscotti but I had one with my morning coffee and it was yummy. I was so pre-occupied with getting ready for my first day on the new job I forgot to make breakfast but luckily I brought a banana and apple with me. My new group seems really cool and they even talk! I’m not used to having co-workers who talk and are friendly so this is a nice surprise. A lot of them are younger (I am almost 31 but like to think I am 24 still) and seem nice. We went for lunch today at Qdoba, which again, so nice since my former team never wanted to go to lunch. I think I am going to like this position a lot more and it seems really challenging. Many of you know, I hated my old job. I was constantly working my butt off, never taking lunch breaks and just didn’t enjoy it…..at all. I was working in closing secondary assignments for the syndicated loan market (it sounds like fun, I know) and I was in a numbers driven environment and went above and beyond my goals each month but was never rewarded. I am still at the same company but in a different role working with smaller loans so it will be something completely different for me to learn but I am excited about it. I will rock this.

And for those who haven’t seen my Twitter (why aren’t you following me by the way?), Lincoln has a Howl-o-week outfit!

I now pronounce……

Captain Jack Sparrow!

Ah, I love that little bugger.

17 Responses to “Fat calves, lasagne, biscotti and Jack”

  1. spabettie October 18, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    I LOOOOOVE Lincoln’s costume !! SO cute !! 😀

    those eggs look PERFECT !

  2. Monique October 18, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    omg omg omg omg omg lincolns costume is sooooo cute!
    i totally forgot everything i wanted to say becuase he is so stinkin cute!
    i wanna squish him.

    the lasagna looks really good. and nice cupcakes! 🙂

  3. Ashleigh October 18, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    Ugh I feel your pain! I have “wide calves” too and can never find cute boots. I went to DSW looking as well. I tried on the wide calf boots and they were tighter than a lot of the non-wide boots. Lame! I didn’t end up finding a pair 😦

    Lincoln’s outfit is adorable! I want him!

    Glad the first day went well!

  4. Jessica@tastyandtrim October 18, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Those biscotti sound SO good. I have to try that recipe out! Your dog is just the cutest thing 🙂 Love the costume!

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness October 18, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    I am a firm believer that fitted boots like that really only fit 4, maybe 5, people. The rest will just have to deal with shitty fitting boots.

    That’s why I’m a huge fan of the slouchy ones. :p

    Love that they got you cupcakes. But um… if the job was as hellish as it sometimes sounded, they may have owed you a whole truck of cupcakes. Just sayin’.

  6. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad October 18, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    LOL, Lincoln!! Cuter than Johnny Depp 🙂

    I hope your new job continues to be better than the old one!

    Sorry about your boot debaucle. I need some new boots too, and I can’t believe you got two pairs for 60 dollars!

  7. twobooswhoeat October 18, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    ooh Chateau Marmont is semi-close to me! I’ll check that book out.

    I have the same issue with my calves. WTF is up with that? I have been that girl crying at DSW too. I feel your pain.

    Lincoln is way too freaking cute. LOVE IT!

  8. dianacheung October 19, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    you win…cause I am LOVING lincoln in these photos..hahah so cute. Is your outfit gonna match? Anywyas I’m so happy you are loving your new position…maybe it’s time for me to look for a new one too..miserable working conditions affects everything! not fun. And now I want freaking lasgana..you know I’m still obsessed with that damn giada’s tomato meatloaf right? BTW I have “big”/”wide” calves for my size too…I end up getting the wider ones that people stuff think pants into or I just get booties…you are beautiful girl!! Did I mention I showed my mom pics from charlotte trip and she pointed YOU out and said “she pretty”…in an asian accent but she really did. I SWEAR.

    • simplyshaka October 19, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

      You’re too funny and so if your mom, thats so sweet 🙂

      I’ve passed that recipe onto everyone and they love it—I may have to make it again soon!

  9. Laury @thefitnessdish October 19, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Congrats on your last day at work!

    The puppys costume is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO adorable! OMG! I want to eat him up!!! Aghhhhhhhh!!!

  10. genesis October 19, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    and as daniel says…you turned it around! im glad the shopping trip at least ended on a positive note.

    have fun at the new job and im so glad youre out of the old one 🙂

    lincoln is so adorable!

  11. christina October 19, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    dang, what a boot story! at least you finally found some! and great price! 🙂 lincoln’s costume is AWESOME!!!

  12. nic - the auspicious squirrel October 19, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Lincoln is absolutely adorable!

    I can never find boots to fit over my calves either! I bought a pair a few years back that were just a bit snug thinking I’d surely loose the weight in my calves with all the working out I was doing… um, no. If I wore the boots too long, my feet started to tingle (like they were about to fall asleep). So I ended up giving them away. I haven’t had the courage or gumption to attempt to find boots since. I’m so glad you were able to find some that fit you. 😀

  13. Monique October 19, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    hahaha I saw this on Twitter but for some reason neglected to comment!! That costume is SO FRICKIN CUTE!!!!!!

  14. April October 19, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    Lincoln looks so cute!

    My mouth waters when I see your food pics! Mmm..lasagna 🙂

  15. Brittney October 21, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    Lincoln’s costume is awesome!! Are you going to Barktoberfest this weekend? I think we’re going to go and bring Clyde.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Playing with aubergine « Simply Shaka - January 11, 2011

    […] I get an eggplant, I usually make lasagne, mix in with pasta, use as a topping on pizza or eggplant parmesan but I wanted to try something […]

Leave a Reply

