Lasagne

2 Apr

I got so much done today it wasn’t even funny! After proclaiming about how much I was going to get done after my last post, I got sucked into Regis and Kelly (which I love but never get to watch) but then, I got sucked into Dr. Phil.

I cannot stand Dr. Phil and just the sound of his voice makes me cringe. But seeing sometimes I am lazy and do not have a remote control, I sit there and watch him. Then I get in a Dr. Phil trance and soon I am cheering him on. Ugh.

I was then off to go to the grocery store but stopped at the Bucks first for a grande iced coffee with skim milk, one pump of Cherry syrup and two splendas.

I stopped and loaded up at Bi-Lo, Harris Teeter and Trader Joe’s. I go wherever the sales are for things I need and luckily, all are within a two-mile radius. And God forbid, I don’t stop at Trader Joe’s every other day.

I love that Trader Joe’s sells beer individually. One of my goals this month/quarter is to drink less beer but it is the opposite of when it comes to chocolate. If I have chocolate in the house, I eat it …..non stop. But sometimes I will get a hankering for beer and just want one or two. If I have it in the house that’s good but if I don’t I go out to the bar and end up drinking seven or eight of them and end up staying for a while.

I grabbed a bag of their  Flax Seed with Blueberries. I was telling one of my co-workers about it and we are going to keep it at work and split it. If you haven’t tried this—do so!!!

And Lincoln got some goodies also—all of this for $10—thanks coupons 🙂

When I was at The Teet, I got a 6 inch tuna sub on wheat with mustard, lettuce, tomato and pickles

As always, a fan was waiting for something to fall

The Barack was in town so it was all over the news……future running mates?

Has anyone seen this ad? Hilarious and so true.

I mentioned in my last point how I leave a path behind me since I am so unorganized and evidence right here :

It was a gorgeous day outside and couldn’t let it go to waste. I took some sinus medicine I had from my last sinus infection and suited up for the pool. I haven’t work my bathing suit since December when I went to the Bahamas but good news—less snug!!

I caught up with Gwen again

Beautiful day indeed

There were a few other people getting sun. Ummmm one dude who is ALWAYS there was talking to himself for a good 20 minutes. I walked past him to see if he had a Bluetooth but none so yeah, stay away from him. I got a good two hours of sunning in then went back in. It’s just not as fun when the pool isn’t available 😦

I saw an ad for H&M in In Style which reminded me of how much I love that store….and that we don’t have one near.

But have no fear—there a few in the DC area so I will be putting it up on the list of To Do next wknd!

I made granola bars afterwards since I am out of stock

The dry ingredients—I added vanilla whey and mini chocolate morsels for some umph!

The wet ingredients

The final product

Can’t wait to break into these!!

I haven’t made lasagne in a while and decided to break it out again! Just call me lasagna because I loooooooove lasagne

I made veggie lasagna with mushrooms, onions, baby spinach and Morningstar Veggie Crumbles

I use No Boil noodles since I really don’t have the patience to sit there and boil lasagne noodles

All layered up and ready to go

I just had to take a peek while it was cooking!

It turned out beautifully (I love burnt edges)

Not to toot my own horn but this is the best lasagne I have made to date. I love cheese but used only 2/3 of the ricotta it called for (the consistency turns me off) and less shredded cheese.

Lincoln always gets to lick the lasagne plate clean

Such a sucker for this dog.

I love and hate how much energy I have when I don’t have to work. I love it because I can get so much done in the day but hate it because my jobs the energy out of me and it kinda pays the bills. Note to self, buy lottery ticket tomorrow.

9 Responses to “Lasagne”

  1. genesis April 2, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    i think its about time they created something that allows us to speak out loud and our TV changes the channel on our command! how amazing right? they have it for gps and stuff, so why not tvs? ya dig? lol.

    that is a but-ton of lasagne, and i believe you when you say its delish!

  2. Erica @ Fashion meets Food April 2, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    wow all your food looks delish! I want to make my own granola bars! Maybe I will have to attempt to. The lasagna looks insanely good. You`ve made me so hungry!!!

    Enjoy the weekend and happy easter!!

    xo

  3. Mari April 3, 2010 at 12:09 am #

    YUMS that lasagna looks freaking good!

    OMG my sister and I were reenacting those commercials today!!!! they are too funny…”and then they show the blue liquid…ohhh that’s what is supposed to happen” hahaha

    dude our dogs need to get jobs! I spend soooo much $$$$ on Koko’s food and don’t get me started on his meds lol

  4. Karla April 3, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    Ugh can’t stand Dr. Phil either! Drives me nuts!!
    I’m not entirely sure how you resisted breaking into those bars!! I would have devoured about 5 instantly!

  5. Kelly April 3, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    That looks awesome! I agree that burnt cheese is best! 🙂 Hope you had a great day honey! 🙂

  6. coffeeismycarrot April 3, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    Flax seeds with blueberries?!! I eat flax everyday, but have never seen it with anything in it…just plain ole ground flax. Is it a TJ’s find? We don’t have one of those here 😦

  7. emily April 3, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    Burnt edges are my favorite part too! I’m also in agreement that the ad is hysterical.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hot Damn « Simply Shaka - May 12, 2010

    […] last of my leftover lasagne for […]

  2. Fat calves, lasagne, biscotti and Jack « Simply Shaka - October 18, 2010

    […] up a storm this weekend. First thing on the list was lasagne. I haven’t made lasagne since this spring and was long overdue. I am a fan of any meal I can make in bulk, freeze then enjoy at a later date. […]

Leave a Reply

