Playing with aubergine

11 Jan

 The rest of snow day turned out to be a nice, relaxing day-just what I needed! My manager called me around noon to let me know the entire office may be shut down today since we have more snow and freezing rain coming our way so I had to call in today to see if I would have to go in or not.

The verdict?

We are on a delay but supposed to go in at 10AM but that may change.

I have to stay up (since there’s no way I am going back to bed now) and call back at 8AM to see if that still holds true. I am watching the news and they are saying how the Department of Transportation is recommending everyone stay off the road but I guess the bank wants us to risk our lives and go in. Yay.

Blah.

As for yesterday–I was starting to get a little cabin fever around lunch time. I’ve stayed in the house for that long before it’s just when I feel confined that I start to go crazy and what to do something. What better to do than a strength training session to get some blood pumping?

Kettlebell-20 lbs

Upright Deltoid Rows (13 reps, 3 sets)

Shrugs (13 reps, 3 sets)

Bentover Row (13 reps, 3 sets)

Lateral Bench Press (13 reps, 3 sets)

One Armed Swings (12 reps, 3 sets)

Swings (13 reps, 4 sets)

Around the worlds (25 reps, 3 sets)

Dumbbell-15 lbs

Front Lateral Raise (13 reps, 3 sets)

Reverse Fly (13 reps, 3 sets)

Curls (13 reps, 3 sets)

Shoulder Press (13 reps, 3 sets)

Misc.

Push Ups (15 reps, 2 sets)

I haven’t used my heart rate monitor in awhile since it was acting funky on me this summer. But since I am started to track my calories again, I put it on and turns out I had a fabulous workout!

I refueled with leftover pad thai afterwards.

I could seriously eat pad thai every single day. And what is it about pad thai that makes it even better leftover?

The official plate cleaner was on hand to assist with little scraps that I didn’t get to.

Target was so kind as to send me this lovely gift card in the mail. I thought the Postal Service would’ve been shut down but they really hold up to their neither rain nor sleet nor snow creedo.

You’re so sweet Target. Even though I am in your demographic of people who should be having kids, the only way one’s popping out of me is if it’s an immaculate conception. If anyone is preggers or is planning on it in the near future -let me know, I’ll send this over to you. The mailman also brought me over the latest issue of Food Network to redeem themselves for the baby registry gift card

Then,  I baked. As many of you know, I am not a baker but felt the urge to bake with it being cold and snowy out. It just seemed right. I have a surplus of coconut on hand and went to Allrecipes.com to look up recipes. I love that they have a page that allows you to put in items you want or don’t want in your recipe and generates recipes for you! I came upon this recipe for Chewy Coconut Cookies and figured it seemed quick and easy and got to baking!

I halved the measurements since I only wanted a few cookies so I made six then froze the rest (thanks Mo for the tip!). I am sure they were supposed to look prettier but let’s be honest, I really don’t care what a cookie looks like–I only care about how they taste. These were soft, chewy and full of coconut. The only thing that would have made it better was if it was dipped in chocolate. Hooray for cookie success!

For dinner, I wanted to get my eggplant on.

(source)

When I get an eggplant, I usually make lasagne, mix in with pasta, use as a topping on pizza or eggplant parmesan but I wanted to try something different. I remembered a recipe for stuffed eggplant one of my former co-workers told me about some time ago. I didn’t write it down but made my own little creation of stuffed eggplant with mushrooms, onions, pepper and quinoa.

I gutted out the eggplant then chopped the inner into pieces

Then chopped 1/4 onion, one cup mushrooms and orange pepper, sprinkled Spike seasoning on the veggies then cooked with extra virgin olive oil until soft (had 1/2 cup quinoa cooking at the same time)

Once both were done, I mixed together then scooped into the eggplant pieces.

 I thought it looked a little lonely so I sprinkled  shredded mozzarella on top

Then placed in a casserole dish coated with extra virgin olive oil and bake for 30 minutes at 400 degrees

Up close and personal baby

Chowed that sucker down! A nice veggie alternative for another round of meatless Monday.

Hope everyone has a great Tuesday. At least I got yesterday after work, you can’t beat two four-day work weeks in ar ow! Any time I can not be off at work is a good time!

Ps–I  added a new page for Frugal Friday! Please check it out if you have missed my Frugal Friday posts in the past, it offers some tips and finds that I have found in the past month.

31 Responses to “Playing with aubergine”

  1. dianacheung January 11, 2011 at 7:50 am #

    how bad is the snow that you guys get snow days? CAH RAY ZEE. Either way looks like you used your time to make yumminess. BTW my cookies are always burnt and sh*t…I don’t care…it’s all about the taste!

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      Its not too bad about six to nine inches but it only snows once or twice a year so the city really isnt prepared for it.

  2. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 11, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    Yay for snow days!

    Your stuffed eggplant looks AWESOME!!!

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 11, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    That’s ridiculous that you have to just hang out and wait half the day to see if you have to go into work… how shitty!

    And cookies don’t have to be pretty like you said- soft and chewy is all that matters to me! They sound fab…

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

      Tell me about it! They ended up updating it at 830A to see we are closed so I could just rest on the couch after for the rest of the morning.

  4. Carly January 11, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    It’s not the healthiest – but I love fried eggplant! Last time I made it I used leftover fried green tomatoes mix and it was sooo good!

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      I am all for fried stuff–in moderaton of course! I am diggin the fried green tomato thing you do with it though, will have to give that a shot sometime!

  5. Monique January 11, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    i love love love quinoa!
    And LOL at the baby registry card. lol you are too funny. I need to get in on this kettlebell love…i saw it in action and i must say it looks AWESOME!

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

      It’s a fabulous workout, you should definitely give it a shot! Craigslist at the end of January is the perfect time to look for one 🙂

  6. christina January 11, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    i like the stuffed eggplant…i mean aubergine. 🙂

  7. happytalesblog January 11, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Giiirl that eggplant dish looks divine– good job!

    And I completely agree… taste trumps looks ALWAYS.

    PS. I am currently ICED IN! I am hoping the sun starts to melt the ice on the hill leading out of my complex.. because I have cabin fever too and It’s only 11AM in the morning (and I was able to get out yesterday!)

  8. OliePants January 11, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    I love eggplant and I like the stuffed version you did! I have yet to experiment/cook with quinoa!

    PS I don’t know about the gift card, but I’m always game for those cookies! 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      You need to try quinoa-I love it and it only takes 10-15 minutes to make. Plus, it’s good hot and cold!

  9. Kace January 11, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    I guess Target thinks your biological clock is ticking ha. Much like my best’s mom who cornered me one day about registering for catholicmatch.com so that I don’t get to a point in my life when I feel the need to settle because I’m out of time and options.

    True story…so funny hahaha. She meant well.

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

      Oh Jesus (literally). I don’t need to know about catholic match….and neither does my mom. She keeps suggesting that I join a Catholic singles group. However I don’t think they would appreciate my crass behavior and that I talk like I’m a truck driver.

  10. Ashleigh January 11, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    Those coconut cookies sound delish!

    I just bought an eggplant randomly the other day.. I think I’ll have to make something similar.

  11. Tina January 11, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    I like what you did with the quinoa! Great idea!

  12. Laury @thefitnessdish January 11, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    LOL, Target should of sent that to me 😉

    I hope you ended up not having to go into work!!! A snow emergency is serious. I think we are getting nothing now. Bummer

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

      No work but I’m still concerned about tomorrow. The road conditions haven’t changed at all and I can barely walk outside!

  13. Erin January 11, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    Mmm…stuffed eggplant! that is an stellar meal!

  14. This Italian Family January 11, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    Yay for snow days!!

    And if it makes you feel any better about the baby thing… when Christopher and I were engaged one of our WEDDING shower announcements was sent out as a “BABY shower”… yeah, we got some questions, lol.

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      WOW, thats horrible but kinda funny too 🙂

  15. Lisa @ Fit in the Midwest January 11, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    That eggplant creation looks so yummy! I’ll have to try that with eggplant or zucchini.

  16. Whitney January 11, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Oh loving the blog! Kettle bell is something I need to dedicate a serious chunk of time researching exercises. I use them at my gym to supplement my strength training. They are fun, I mean, who doesn’t love throwing weights around?

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

      Exactly, it’s my time to get all of my frustrations out!

  17. erica @ fashionmeetsfood January 11, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    What an awesome workout and your eats look absolutely divine! Thanks so much for sharing. Yum!

    xo

  18. adventuresofpretendcook January 11, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    I feel you on the cabin fever. Luckily, my boss has been pretty understanding and says she doesn’t want anyone taking any chances.

  19. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 11, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    Your Target mail reminds me of when I got a Camel cigarettes coupon in he mail not too long ago. So strange. I’ve never smoked.

    I love the idea of stuffed eggplant. I stuff squashes all the time, but I’d never thought about doing it with eggplant.

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      Isn’t it weird? I want to know who they get their info from.

      I’m the opposite, never made stuffed squash before but will have to try it sometime-what do you stuff with?

  20. janetha January 12, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    holy crud, that is a great cal burn. i need to get up on some kettlebellin!

Leave a Reply

