Babies breath

19 Mar

 Today I went south of the border to South Carolina for my friends baby shower in Columbia at The Riverbanks Zoo & Botanical Garden. The shower was at the Botanical Garden but it also covered admission to the zoo afterwards.

I was trying to think of the last time I went to a baby shower and couldn’t even remember. Babies kinda freak me out. I think they are cute and adorable….in pictures. When I see them in person, yeah, they are still cute but I prefer babies to come with a mute button. That being said, I wasn’t too keen on a baby shower however she is one of my best friends, is moving to Colorado next month and this would be the last time I saw her pre-mommy.

 Peep my new purse!

Ah, I wish!!! One of these though! I saw her purse and demanded that I pose with it so I can put it on my vision board.

I had planned on dropping by Cupcake after the shower since it was a few miles away and I’ve read reviews about their goods. Lucky for me, I didn’t even have to go there–they had cupcakes from Cupcake!

Who doesn’t love a cupcake topped off with a Teddy Graham??

I opted for the Almond cupcake because almonds have many nutritional benefits so eating an entire one would help me, right? Right.

I was especially pleased with how the  frosting was bigger than the actual cake portion.  Never would I have imagined an almond cupcake but they did it right –almond cake along with almond cream cheese icing and garnished with an almond. I was in almond heaven!

We played a few baby games and thank God they weren’t lame ones! We did a celebrity baby name match up, fill in the nursery rhyme game and the string game where you try to guess the area around her tummy. Unfortunately, yours truly didn’t win any of them which is sad because one of the prizes was a Starbucks gift card. Boo!

Soon we headed out to the Botanical Gardens where we soon said our goodbyes. I got a little emotional since it would be the last time I saw her before she was a mommy and no clue when I would see her again. And I was stoked I finally got to meet her husband, he is Shaka approved! The good thing is that her and her husband are going to be stationed in Colorado so I have a free place to stay! I even offered my services to her if she let’s me crash….watching the baby and cooking. Mind you, I don’t even know how to change a diaper but it can’t be that hard right?

I walked through the Botanical Garden while making my way back to my car and it was absolutely gorgeous

My inner hippie smiled when I saw this

What’s your favorite flower?

What kind of baby shower would you want-traditional or non traditional?  If I were to ever be expecting, I would request fried chicken at my shower like Miranda on SATC!

47 Responses to “Babies breath”

  1. Valerie Furnas March 20, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    I know what you mean about getting emotional at baby showers. Me too. Loved the pictures of the gardens. Very nice indeed.

    • simplyshaka March 20, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks, I could have stayed there all day long. It was so beautiful and serene.

  2. christina March 20, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    mmm cupcakes. we have that store in my town. i think they’re kinda dry though! the teddy graham is adorable. babies freak me out too. beautiful to look at but not to listen to hahaha.

  3. Katherine: Unemployed March 20, 2011 at 5:48 am #

    haha LV on the vision board. baby smells freak me out- I don’t get why people love “the smell of a baby”

  4. dianacheung March 20, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    slow.your.roll…she’s moving to colorado? me too!! that means you have TWO places to stay at…seriously…visit me.

    Anyways, it’s crazy how our friends are popping out kids…makes me kinda sad cause I know they are entering a “second” stage of their lives…oh well..more cupcakes for us. Glad you had a beautiful time…
    When I have a baby shower I want it to be a PARTAYYY think bachelorette party but without the alcohol

    • simplyshaka March 20, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

      OMG will you have a stripper dressed as a baby??? DO IT!!

  5. TheSceneFromMe March 20, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    I would want something non-traditional.
    I am with you on the babies with mute buttons!
    I recently went to my cousins baby shower and I got so sick of hearing “Ooo” and “Ahh, so cute!”
    I guess that’s why I don’t have babies yet…

    • simplyshaka March 20, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

      Hey at least you know it though. Everyone asks why I don’t have kids and I tell them why. I would rather know what I want than have something that I didn’t want in the first place (hopefully that makes sense?)

  6. Natalie @ will jog for food March 20, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    The cupcakes look amazing! They have so much frosting, oh yeah.

    I played the string around the belly game at my friends shower and totally overshot! hahaha…she was not happy with my guess. I would definitely want a non-traditional one, the 2 hours looking at opening gifts does not appeal to me at all.

    • simplyshaka March 20, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      Yeah, thank God they didn’t do the whole opening the gift thing. That just seems awkward with everyone sitting around watching, right? I totally overguessed on the belly–oops!

  7. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg March 20, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Haha…baby showers freak me out too…but those cupcakes might make one worth it.

  8. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 20, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    I can’t wait to have kids.

    That being said, I’m soooo not a baby person right now. Even my friend Jaime who’s preggers knows it and called me out on it when I was all “oooohhhhhhh” over hottie mchotterson pulling out pics of his new nephew last time he stopped by.

    I’m pathetic.

    • simplyshaka March 20, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

      You’re not pathetic….you’re passionate!

  9. Lily's Health Pad March 20, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    You were in Cola?? I wish I would’ve known! Alas, I had to go to a conference for work, so I wouldn’t have been able to hang out anyway. I was just at the Riverbank zoo the other week.

    • simplyshaka March 20, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      Yep just for the day, I always get so lost when I go there and this time was no exception.

  10. tinkerbelle86 March 20, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    wow, im jealous of those cupcakes hun! they look amazing, and you are right, an almond is super nutritional. kinda like a chocolate orange is one portion of fruit and veg for the day (let no one argue with me on this one!)

  11. Amanda March 20, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    I love Miranda’s baby shower on SATC. I just want donuts and milkshakes when I’m pregnant. Mostly because I never have either but always want to!

    • simplyshaka March 20, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

      Exactly, if that ever happens I am going buckwild. With my luck, everything woul probably make me sick.

  12. terri March 20, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    gerbera daisies! or hydrangeas…..love both, but i think gerbera wins!! i would want a non traditional baby shower if by some miracle i would fall pregos!
    i was at a baby shower today as well. :o)

  13. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl March 20, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Looks like a you had a great day! I get emotional at baby showers…and weddings. And wedding showers. And graduations. And just about every other occasion that has to deal with some sort of life change!

    And you look adorable! Where did you get your dress!?!? I love it!

    • simplyshaka March 20, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      Me too, it’s kind of embarrasing but oh well–sue me for caring!

      I got the dress at Ross, it was only $10–thanks 🙂

  14. erica@fashionmeetsfood March 20, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Everything looks so cute! Loving the diaper cake and seriously how cute are those cupcakes!!!

    So when I saw your comment about you being in Pittsburgh Wednesday-Sunday out loud I said nooooo not this week!!! haha I am actually going to be going home to Michigan… just my luck hey? I’m so bummed!!!!

    xo

    • simplyshaka March 20, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      Bummer! Maybe some other time, I may be back up there at the end of May.

  15. Katie @ peacebeme March 20, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    Those cupcakes look awesome, and I LOVE botanic gardens!!!

    My favorite flowers are roses and calla lilies. They go really well together when you have red roses. 🙂

    I also love tulips and daffodils because they mean winter is over. 🙂

    • simplyshaka March 20, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      Tulips are my favorite! We have a bunch planted in downtown and Charlotte and I keep waiting for them to bloom!

  16. Kelly Olexa March 20, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    I am so clueless, I don’t know the names of flowers, other than roses, so I’ll say roses. Haha. Dozens of them, sent to me by some dark Italian man that looks like Huge Jackman.

    • simplyshaka March 20, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

      I’m the same way-I know my basics like roses, sunflowers and tulips but besides that I have no idea what they are. I just say pretty or not pretty. Sigh, Hugh. Double sigh for an Italian Hugh.

  17. Ashleigh March 20, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Oooh, looks like a really nice place for a shower!

    Love her bag, and LOVE that you are going to add that to your vision board, haha!

  18. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun March 20, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    How cool that the shower was at the gardens. AND that it included such stellar cupcakes. I now want one. Love when the icing is more than the cake too. Best way to do it!

  19. Erin @ A Girl & Her Mutt March 20, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    I feel ya on the babies thing. I think babies are adorable but I’m not comfortable with them until they can feed and change themselves. 😉

    Beautiful gardens! Loving that dress too!

  20. thefitacademic March 20, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    awww, looks like such a fun weekend! Those cupcakes look YUM!

  21. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 20, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    awwwww it looks like you had so much fun! the almond cupcake sounds AMAZING!!!! ohmygosh!

    and the garden shots are gorge. duh. you know that =)

  22. Shanna, like Banana March 20, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    I like babies with a mute button..haha! 😉

    An almond cupcake would be dang tasty!

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      Amen sister! The quieter the better 🙂

  23. One Healthy Apple March 20, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    I thought about Samantha’s baby shower right away. I never thought about it, but I would want one with cupcakes, zero baby games (although the celebrity one sounds kinda cool) and for it to be co-ed so all our friends could come. There could be beer and stuff too, I just wouldn’t drink it.

    I love your dress- such a cute pattern. And I’m also a bit jealous of your sunshine and dress weather.

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 I would attend a baby shower like that!

  24. leashieloo March 21, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    I wish we were having dress weather in my neck of the woods! You look fab and all of the glorious flower photos are getting me excited. There are some green things shooting up in my front yard!

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

      Thanks! I’m happy spring is here I just hate that it leads to summer. Boo to too hot of weather!

  25. Katie H March 21, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Gorgeous photos! It looks so pretty. I really love that you took a photo with the bag for an inspiration board 😀

    For a shower, I guess I would want a mixture of both? There is this tea place in my area that has british type afternoon tea- I would love to do something like that! Shower or no shower!

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      That sounds like fun, I’ve never done tea.

  26. Monique March 21, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    I should let it be known. I am a charlotte. to the max. A city girl but a country stay at home mom at heart. My friend came to visit with her 3 year old daughter and we had a blast. I used to volunteer in nurseries since I was 12 years old. And i taught sunday school to pre schoolers. I love kids. And when my friend was leaving she totally broke my heart by asking if i ever thought about having kids because i am so good with them. I sarcastically replied NO why on earth would you think i have? Becuase my non existent husband and i have been trying to conceive forever.
    she felt bad…
    then i felt bad. lol. Oh well.
    I am queen of baby showers. I got games, I got great gifts and even great party themes! I love being different. And wowing guests. When my time comes i might just throw my own shower. lol.
    You look amazing in that dress!

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

      This cracked me up. You will be a great momma one of these days!

  27. Emma March 23, 2011 at 5:40 am #

    I’ve never been to a baby shower! Would love to go to one though. And I love what that building says too!

    • simplyshaka March 24, 2011 at 7:03 am #

      It’s so weird, I feel like I should have been to more of them in my life by now!

Leave a comment