Archive | 10:59 pm

Clearly Fresh Bags

5 Aug

Last month, the kind people at Clearly Fresh Bags sent me some of their re-closeable zip up bags to try.

From their website : “Clearly Fresh® bags are large clear zip bags (12” X 14”), with a breathable 3 inch square membrane on one side. Each pack contains 10 bags. These bags enable you to keep your fruits and vegetables fresher longer for less waste and more savings. Its large size, allows you to store an entire bunch of bananas or a whole head of lettuce with room to spare. PLUS the bags are re-closeable and recyclable.”

(source)

Seeing that I buy produce on the weekly and try to keep it as long as possible, I was interested in trying these out. I tried them in my last few weeks in Charlotte and oddly enough bought a bunch of produce the day it came in the mail.

Lasts up to 50% longer? Count me in! I took them out of their package and they looked just like the gallon bags that you find in the supermarket

But still, would they really differ? How could a bag be different? At least they are not elusive, they let you know right on their packaging

The first thing that I tried was kale. I love how kale is so cheap yet so good for you not to mention versatile. I wish more produce was like this!

Oops, I overestimated how much it would hold

I separated the kale and put a bunch into the Clearly Fresh bags then another bunch into the bag from the supermarket

Because I was in the process of moving, separating from my dog for a month and everything in between, I don’t have pictures. However, I did take notes since I am good like that. I checked each bag after a week and they were both still crisp. After almost two weeks, the kale in the supermarket bag was beginning to wilt and go limp. However, as Clearly Fresh’s packaging states with it’s 50% longer, the kale was still crisp and fully green in color. Score!

I also tried this out with eggplant. I always seem to forgot about eggplant when I have it on hand which results in me wasting money which results in me getting pissed off because I loathe wasting money.

I ended up using both eggplants within the week but they were both fresh and not too tender. Another score!

You can buy these on their website for $3.99 for a 10 pack. After using them with the kale and eggplant, I would buy these again. The only thing I didn’t like was they were a bit difficult to close when the bags got wet after I put washed produce in them. Thanks Clearly Fresh for sending me these to try out on my own-I’m a fan!

Do you buy only what you need or do you have a specific list when shopping when it comes to produce? I like to frequent farmers markets in the summertime and often buy more than planned. My main problem is using all that I can in a short amount of time which sometimes gets redundant with salads, stir fry’s and such.