Another day, you know the rest

11 Aug

It was quite lonely today. Really the only people in the office are the owner (who is on vaca) and receptionist who is “training” me and goes on vaca tomorrow. I use the term training very loosely since there isn’t a lot to learn. I answer the phone and take messages. Easy enough right? Not when they stick me in an office with no phone. That’s right no phone computer or even chair, good times. They finally brought me a chair and with that they gave  me some work. I was so excited to use this little brain o’ mine and was ready to give my all to the filing, stamping and places labels on files chores they gave me. Too bad that only took 15 mins to get through. At least I wasn’t alone, I had a rubber duck to keep me company.

Because every office should have a rubber duck yes? Don’t worry I haven’t gone Castaway-mad yet and started talking to him. But there is six more days left on this assignment so let’s not rule it out.

Hmmmm…what could I do next? I needed to me challenged and think a little so I contemplated if my shoes were really black like I thought they were to match my skirt or brown like the sole is.

After much debate (umm with myself) I decided they were black. Hope I’m right because I’ve been rocking them with black capris and skirts! Lunch was another lonely one….in my car. I don’t believe they have a lunch room here (or they haven’t shown me) and I wanted to get out of the office and possibly see the sun but not be in it so it was me and a salad.

Things didn’t get steamy between us however I added grated parmesan to the salad which made a world of difference. Who knew?

When I got back, I read  my latest issue of Ray Ray  in hopes of some inspiration for meals because my cooking been pretty much non existent this week.

It worked however it left me wanting to eat my own hand since I was starving.
And can we just say holy airbrushing skills batman? She is one of those people I can’t watch on tv but I love her recipe books, magazine, etc. Like Giada, she has become too animated and a wee bit obnoxious over the years and as her fame has risen.

(source)

When I got home, I was ready to chow down but remembered the whole lack of cooking thing going on. So with that, I had nothing prepared except chopped veggies and salad mix and today is not a day I wanted to double down on salad. My parents said they would go out for me if I wanted to eat out and I am not one to turn down a free meal so we got in the car and went to Pei Wei. I ordered my standard tofu pad thai and the portion size seemed a lot bigger compared to the one in Charlotte.

But something didn’t taste right. I am all about the peanut sauce but there was too much on this and the environment was throwing me off. This Pei Wei was one of the loudest I’ve ever been to. We were sitting a table in the middle and I couldn’t even hear my parents talking across the table from me. I kept saying “Huh? I can’t hear you” and tried to have a few bites before taking the rest to go. I thought I was going to drop by the time we got home, I was tired, cranky and had a headache but powered through and went for a 5.2mile bike ride.

Who’s your favorite celebrity chef? Rocco DiSpirito all the way!

Anyone have some fun, work appropriate websites I can go to? I finally got a computer but am trying to not overdue it with the websites.

17 Responses to “Another day, you know the rest”

  1. twobooswhoeat August 11, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    Food Network humor is way too good! I feel the exact same way about Ray Ray.She drives me insane on TV!

    Good websites? Are you on pinterest? I can spend a lot of time on that site!

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness August 11, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I love Paula Deen. I want her to be my mother-in-law. However, that would mean I’d have to marry one of her creeper sons… so maybe I’ll just adore her from afar.

  3. Eunice August 11, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Ugh Giada. I can’t watch her because the way she overpronounces things is ridiculous. I haven’t been in an office setting in a while, but the last time I was, I started a blog. Haha

  4. getfitwithjuju August 11, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    I didn’t know that you got a job?! I need to start reading your back posts, pronto!! My favorite celebrity chef is Bobby Flay/ Robert Irvine! I love them both, equally, and can sit for 24 hours watching these bad boys, cook their asses off! I heart, chef Symon, too!
    Best websites for work…. http://www.bored.com
    haha, joking, I don’t know, since I don’t have internet access to the computer in my office. That thing is purely for W-O-R-K! which is super boring… I usually just go on sites on my phone, to kill time =]

  5. MelissaNibbles August 12, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    Oh Giada. She’s got to be in on the joke right? Your day sounds much like mine. I usually just stare at the wall though.

  6. Abby August 12, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    My guilty pleasure is any Gordon Ramsey show.

    Ugh. I’m the same way with “Ray Ray.” I used to love “$40 A Day,” but now any time I see her face on TV, I pull a muscle rolling my eyes and jumping to change the channel. I used to like her magazine, but even that got weird the past year or so.

    But speaking of Food Network, go to foodnetworkhumor.com. You probably already know about it, but it’s quite amusing.

  7. Natalie @Will Jog For Food August 12, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    I used to watch cooking shows SO much, but haven’t in a while. I need to get back on the bandwagon. I love watching Paula Deen…I love my buttah 🙂

  8. Vix @ LittleMissEverything August 12, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Hope it gets a bit more exciting for you! I’m a sucker for celeb gossip websites or online shopping 🙂

  9. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg August 12, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    Aw, I’m sorry your office is lonely 😦 Just think, you’ll be in Italy before you know it!

    Ahhhh, Rachael Ray…hahaha. I used to love her show, but now I can’t stand her. I’m a big Ina fan, myself 🙂

  10. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy August 12, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    She is damn annoying but man her recipes never disappoint!
    And I think I have to say Bobby Flay, who I have a slight ginger-crush on. Who would have thought?

  11. diana@mymarblerye August 12, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    dude. rocco is hott. and wtf is up with loud restaurants? If I see a table with kids I go the other way…I’m evil. Anyways it sucks that it’s boring but at least you get paid! Can you read books? Check out gawker and jezebel…although I”m sure you already go to those sites. 🙂

  12. leashieloo August 12, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    OMG, I feel the exact same way about Rachael and Giada. Can’t stand them, though I like everything else about their food and wares. It’s so conflicting that it hurts. My fave celebrity chef is Nigella, LOVE her.

  13. Kace August 12, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    HATE rachel, but LOVE giada! She’s my go-to favorite.

  14. Katie @ Legally Fit August 12, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    I second pinterest- it is so addicting! Let me know if you need an invite, I can email you one! I used to check damn you auto correct at work, though some of the entries could be NSFW. I agree with you- your shoes are black! Also, glad you haven’t gone castaway yet 🙂

  15. The T August 12, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I love Gordon Ramsey….but Michael Symon is amazing and have been to a number of his places…I’m a massive food junkie…I’m pretty sure you already knew that …

    T.

  16. Carly August 12, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Love that emotion chart – cracking me up!!

  17. lookingupwhileslimmingdown August 13, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    There’s always TheOatmeal.com and bored.com. 🙂 Nice duck. And yes, the shoes look black to me.

Leave a Reply

