The Temp

10 Aug

I really need to take some pointers of my own of how to kill time in a cubicle. Only except not in a cubicle, how to kill time while working a temp job. One of my friends is a recruiter and after a desperate and sad plea telling her how I am desperate to get out of the house and make some dough, she hooked me up with a gig for the rest of this week and all next week at an office near me. It’s not ideal pay and waaaaay less than I was making at the bank but to have a job where I don’t have to worry about lenders personal finances or businesses, I will gladly take it. There is no worse feeling than taking your work home with you and stresses about it all night long and during the weekend, so much that it stresses you out completely and drives you into a depression which then in turn makes you gain 25 lbs (still bitter about that)

I started my day off and the girl who will be on vacation told me the basics of what I’ll be doing: answering the phone, doing purchase orders and…..well that’s about it. I counted the phone ringing eight or nine times the entire day and I only answered the phone four of those times since she got to the phone first. I did some purchase order work and got a chuckle out of a couple of items on the list.

Dads stripper or stripper dads totally sounds like a show that should be on after Toddlers & Tiaras.

I never know what to do the first day of work, if it’s customary for the co-workers to go out for lunch together or if everyone does their own thing. I found out quickly, it’s every man to themselves at this place since there was just me and the other girl there by ourselves all day with an occasional person passing through. My mom knows I’m on a budget and told me about the Kwik Stop convenience store near us. When she said I could get a lunch there for cheap, I looked at her like she was smoking the good stuff because cmon, good food at a convenience store? Unless it’s Sheetz, I think not. But mom was right because I looked at their menu and saw they had a lunch special of the day: chicken sandwich with fries and a soda for $4.99

I can definitely be down with that! When I got back there was nothing to do so I attempted to look like I was busy, which is a lot harder than it sounds.  I looked up at the wall and continued to laugh to myself because the dude on the right reminded me of Mr. Ernst from Hey Dude

I really hope I’m not the only one out there who remembers that show.

(source)

I remember Mr. Ernst playing the abductor in “I know my first name is Steven” and ever since then, he has creeped me out. Does anyone else remember that movie?

(source)

I wonder what ever happened to Danny and Brad from Hey Dude? I totally think Nickelodeon should do a reunion show from all the shows past to remind us of the actors who once kept us company after school. I must consult IMDB for that, unfortunately I couldn’t at work since there was no computer for me but the boss man told me he was working on getting me access. I need to follow up with him on that because I don’t think I can do 72 hours in an office with no computer. Thankfully, I remembered what temping was like from my experience six or seven years ago. Sometimes it can packed full of stuff to do like when I removed staples from insurance documents and then had to shred them in a basement in Arizona. Other times, not so much, like a majority of the temp gigs I did before I worked at the bank. So I brought some reading material with me and read half the book today.

I read this years ago and forgot how funny it was. I love you Sophie Kinsella!

By the end of the day, I had a little more to do and as soon as I knew it, it was time to go home. I said my goodbye’s grabbed my keys and I went home with nothing on my mind-such a nice feeling!

Have you done temp work before?

20 Responses to “The Temp”

  1. Kace August 10, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    My life is temp work. I actually did like the leaving work at work part of it; before I got a semi-permanent position I never had anything to think about once I got in the car to come home, and my weekends and free time were my own. That was pretty sweet.

  2. Abby August 10, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    I’ve never done temp work, but I totally remember “Hey Dude!” It was quite possibly one of the worst, cheesiest shows on Nickelodeon, but I still loved it.

  3. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg August 10, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    I think you can buy the Hey Dude dvds now!!! Sigh…it was my dream to be Melody when I was little 🙂

  4. lookingupwhileslimmingdown August 10, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    OMG….Hello My Name is Steven…i totally remember that! I wasn’t allowed to watch it when it first came on TV b/c my mom thought it would be too scary.

  5. Vix @ LittleMissEverything August 11, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    I did temp work after Uni and ended up in a full time job at one place and am still there 🙂 It can be boring though as they only need you to do the bare minimum stuff – hang in there and just think of the money!

  6. diana@mymarblerye August 11, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    i think you are doing exactly what I would be doing before I get my next real job: shit around and still get paid. Good for you. I’ve been meaning to read SK’s books…so they ARE good? I also wanna get into Jennifer Lancaster’s books…are they good? Anyways of course I remember hey dude. Brad was sooooo damn hott! And Melody ended up marry Ben Stiller! $$$$$

  7. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy August 11, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    A. I freaking LOVED Hey Dude! and watched it religiously among pretty much every other Nick show.
    B. I used to sell that stuff and I just had an awful flashback from my days working at a janitorial products salesgirl. I might need a drink after that. Or a stripper dad.

  8. Caitlin @ The Caitie Experiment August 11, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    I used to have THE BIGGEST crush on David Lascher — he’s no Paul Rudd, but I wasn’t nearly as upset to have a fake Josh for the tv version of Clueless once he was cast in the part! Obviously, I remember Hey Dude… and can possibly still sing the theme song (“Yippe-kai-yai-what?”).

    It’s a wonder that I have any friends at all.

  9. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss August 11, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I LOVE SOPHIE KINSELLA! and that book. I had the audio book for my long drives all last year.. and adored it.

    AND hey dude. classic.

    and didn’t you know that stripper dads is my favorite show? every wednesday night at 9pm EST.

  10. BikiniBy30 August 11, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    You can definitely get the DVDs of Hey Dude now. My friend was gifted the first season for her birthday and I am jealous.

  11. Erin August 11, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Ok, I loved Hey Dude and was jus thinking of that show the other day for some odd reason.

    Enjoy the mindless work!

  12. iarethefoodsnob August 11, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    truly a great book!
    and yay for new temp work…if only it were more enthralling – oh stripper daddy!

  13. Carly August 11, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    I LOVED Hey Dude!

  14. nic - the auspicious squirrel August 12, 2011 at 4:03 am #

    I’ve done tons of temp work, the thing that bugged me was that I was completely bored with the job in about 3 months. Plus you don’t get paid holidays or vacation time (or medical insurance).

    But it is definitely a way to make a few bucks and meet some people all while getting out of the house, so that’s good.

  15. leashieloo August 12, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    I actually got a temp job working IN a temp agency. Then they hired me full time and I ended up getting other temps jobs. It was stressy, let me tell you. Between people who are mad because they aren’t working to the clients who are mad because a temp flaked out, I could only handle that environment for a couple years before I dipped.

  16. Katie @ Legally Fit August 12, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    lol you are going to get lots of interesting searches to your blog with stripper dads. Too funny. I’m glad you can read and get paid for it- that’s fun!

  17. twobooswhoeat August 12, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Can you order me a stripper dad? PLEASE! ha!

    I’ve never read any Sophie Kinsella books. I need to

  18. Ashleigh August 15, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Congrats on the temp gig!
    I used to temp.. before I got my full time job and it wasn’t bad! Such low pressure 🙂

    • simplyshaka August 16, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      Thanks! There really isn’t that much to do and the phone isnt reading at all so I am getting a bunch of my stuff done while I can!

  19. adrianna August 20, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    i would die if nickelodeon could get it together and get those great gems of shows back…i loved hey dude! salute your shorts, clarissa explains it all, are you afraid of the dark, all that…so good. i even remember the theme song…
    “its a little wild and a little strange, when you make your home out on the range. start your horse and come along, cause you cant get a ride if you cant hold on…singin, yipee kiyiyaaa, til the break of day…”

Leave a Reply

