I don’t wanna wait

8 Jul

 

I have a confession.

I’m 31 years old and wish Dawson’s Creek was still on.

(source)

Dawson’s Creek came on my earlier years of college but I never watched it. Then my second senior year I had one class left and when I came home each day from that one class, it was on for two hours on TBS. And that’s when I got hooked. At first I would just sit at home, watching it by myself, making fun of it. But then I really started to like it and couldn’t wait to get home from class so I could zone out and see what was going on in the town of Capeside.

So when I found out we would be going to Wilmington, where Dawson’s Creek was filmed, I was super excited.  I started searching for Dawson’s Creek stuff in Wilmington and found this picture of a mural

(source)

But unfortunately couldn’t find it or really any other things when I went to Wilmington the other day. I saw Hell’s Kitchen but that was about it since it was dark outside and I didn’t want to get out of the car and ask strangers about Dawson’s Creek. I was looking forward to seeing the city but I think it would have been better during the day instead of night time. Oh well, perhaps another time.

So instead of searching for Dawson’s Creek memorabilia, we went to Carolina Ale House since it was $2.50 pint night and oh yeah, that little thing called food

This place was total sausage fest…..and men without wedding bands who were over the age of 24 not wearing pastels, it was great! So, $2.50 beers plus nice scenery, definitely a good place to go. I had a Stella and a Carolina Blonde and by the time we got out food, I was a bit full. I got the Greek Pizza topped with pesto alfredo, feta, kalamata olives, spinach and tomatoes.

Party on Creekers

(source)

Did you watch Dawson’s Creek?

Team Dawson or Pacey?

(source)

Team Pacey all the way!

22 Responses to “I don’t wanna wait”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 8, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    Oh man… I got hooked when they started playing it on TBS. The summers after the end of high school and early college were spent getting my Dawson’s Creek fix for two hours every single morning. Amazing. I would have def taken pics on the docks and pretended that I was Joey. Yep.

    I was team Pacey- he was just so lovable.

  2. Vix @ LittleMissEverything July 8, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    OMG I love DC and always will! Def Team Pacey, he was my first celeb crush and I still love him (check out Fringe, great show!)

  3. Abby July 8, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    No shame in loving Dawson’s Creek, my friend (said the girl who used to love Dawson’s Creek.) It got kind of weird when Dawson started to look entirely too old for the situation, but I still loved it. Team Pacey all the way–I like the “bad” boy 😉

  4. diana@mymarblerye July 8, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    my friends made a pact that we would go there together for the season finale…alas, we realized we were poor. I use to watch that sh*t RELIGIOUSLY. They did this thing where they showed 4 episodes a DAY on TBS (in a row) and I would record them and watch them EVERY SINGLE DAY…do the math…it was like 16 hours a week just for that damn show. It was an attempt to play all the seasons before the finale. I was so into it. Team Pace btw.

  5. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle July 8, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    Is that even a legitimate question? Team Pacey for sure. I still swoon over Joshua Jackson, I certainly wouldn’t kick him out of bed.

  6. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy July 8, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    Oh hello, nice to meet you, I am president of both the Team Pacey and Dawson’s Creek fan club. Have I rewatched the entire series multiple times? Sure have.
    PS- why is Katie Holmes wearing like just a bra in that one picture? So weird.

  7. Stephanie July 8, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    I never watched them air originally. Thank goodness because when they came on one episode after another on TBS I was HOOKED. Team Pacey all.the.way. I still can’t look at Vanderbeek’s eyebrows without shuddering. I would have stalked down the Dawsons stuff in Wilmington. !!

  8. Kace July 8, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    I LOVED Dawsons! It started during 8th grade and was all the rage around here. My friends and I all obsessed over it. Even if Katie Holmes ruined most scenes with that stupid face she always made with the half smile. Then again, I hearted her wardrobe and wanted all that plaid and argyle for myself. Then my fresh. year of college it was on TBS (it orignally aired for FOUR hours a day, leading up the finale). My roomie and I missed quite a few classes during that time…

    Looks like I know what I’m getting from Netflix next.

  9. BikiniBy30 July 8, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    I am a total Dawson’s Creek lover. Can’t help it. I was torn between Dawson and Pacey but I lean on the side of Team Dawson. I was also on Team Noel from Felicity. Mr. BB30 IS basically Noel and Fred Savage in a blender so there you go.

  10. Caitlin @ The Caitie Experiment July 8, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    I’m dying here — I keep a running list of topics that I plan to write future “Friday Confessions” about, and the next one on it is Dawson’s Creek! I’ll just pass that one over for now…. hahaha! Needless to say, I’m a Creeker for life — and Team Pacey FOR-EV-ER! (Josh Jackson has been at the top of my, “ideal physical specimen” list for the last 15 years, back since his Charlie Conway days!).

    • adrianna July 10, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

      DITTO on josh jackson!

  11. leashieloo July 8, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    I was Team Pacey, Dawson annoyed the hell out of me. And aaaah, I LOVED this show. It ran when I was a freshman in high school and I feel like they were capturing my angst about the boy next door and being a teenager in general. Except they talked way fancier, of course.

  12. actorsdiet July 8, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    i started watching in college with my friends. i still remember the shame we had getting together those nights but i don’t regret it!

  13. Erin July 8, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    I have a confession…I have never even seen ONE episode of Dawson’s Creek. Or Buffy. I just threw in Buffy because I felt the need to come clean.

  14. Katie H July 8, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    Ha that mural is out of control. Hooray for men over the age of 24 in non-pastels! I wasn’t a huge Dawson’s Creek fan. Not that I scorned it or anything- just not my thing! I hope you are enjoying NC!

  15. MelissaNibbles July 9, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    Team Pacy! I love him so much. Dawson was too sensitive for me. Any One Tree Hill stuff down there?

  16. Juju July 9, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    I was so addicted to Dawsons creek and Pacey was my fave from the beginning. My hubby and I have a thing where he sings ” I don’t wanna wait…” and I sing ” for our lives to be over…” it’s so weird, but hilarious! I never got to finish watching the show. Maybe I should put that on my agenda for the week! Thanks!!
    That greek pizza looks delicious! =]

  17. Alex July 10, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    Pacey all the way. And Katie Holmes before she became Tom Cruise’s beard.

    • simplyshaka July 12, 2011 at 12:12 am #

      But he jumped on the couch on Oprah proclaiming how much he loved her-you’re telling me that’s not real??

      I hope you are detecting the sarcasm…..

  18. adrianna July 10, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    i didnt start watching until a few seasons in…and then when they started showing them on tbs when i was in college i’d watch all morning long to catch up on the early years…so addicting! i LOVED that show. i wish they still replayed it! i mean, wtf? total classic.
    TEAM PACEY for sure.
    i did one of my internships in wilmington one summer, and when i went downtown for the first time, i snapped a bunch of photos of places i recognized from the show. great day! if only i was there when they were still filming…i wouldve been arrested; sure of it.

    • simplyshaka July 12, 2011 at 12:05 am #

      EXACTLY! I was in Motown in the winter when I had one class and what else is there to do? Answer-Nothing, just watch Dawsons Creek and get hooked.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In plain view « Simply Shaka - July 12, 2011

    […] guess others don’t hold Dawson’s Creek in such high regards as I […]

Leave a Reply

