Coastin

6 Jul

Yesterday was spent in Whiteville, NC and beyond. I slept in until 1030am….again. Around noon we walked over to Sophie’s, which is located in an old pharmacy and serves sandwiches, wraps, salads and coffee.

I got the Lenie sandwich-turkey, cranberries, cheese and sprouts with a side of pasta salad.

The sandwich was good but I would have appreciated more than 12 penne pasta noodles as a side dish. Oh well, you can’t win at everything.

I was feeling a bit dead still so I went back to my friends place and knocked out a little workout with my kettlebell (20 lbs)

*Tricep extensions (13 reps, 3 sets)

*Upright Row (13 reps, 3 sets)

*Chest Press (13 reps, 3 sets)

*Side Bends (13 reps, 3 sets)

*Squats (13 reps, 3 sets)

*One Legged Deadlifts (13 reps, 3 sets)

*Deadlifts (13 reps, 3 sets)

*Halos (13 reps, 3 sets)

Resistance bands

*Bicep Curls (13 reps, 3 sets)

*Reverse Fly (13 reps, 3 sets)

*Front Lateral Lift (13 reps, 3 sets)

Definitely not the calorie burn I was hoping for but at least I did something and ache quite a bit today so it’s a win.

After my friend got back, we were on our way to Myrtle Beach. I’ve only been to Myrtle once and that was in the wintertime to see The Killers at House of Blues so I haven’t had the whole summertime experience. I went to my bff, Yelp to find a sushi place in Myrtle Beach and soon found Soho.

If you passed by Soho, you would never know it’s a sushi place given it’s outdoor patio with beach décor and that it’s nestled in between two beach food restaurants. But once you step inside, it’s dark, intimate.

One thing I love about South Carolina? Happy hour specials! We got there at 6:30pm, just enough time to partake in some $2 domestic beers.

I got a salad to start out with.’

It was good but would have been even better if it weren’t swimming in ginger dressing

We got a few rolls-Philly Roll, Kono Crunch Roll, Double Crunch Tempura Roll and Spring Breeze Roll

Double Crunch Tempura Roll and Spring Breeze Roll

The sushi was absolutely amazing. The Spring Breeze Roll was cold on the outside and hot and crunch on the inside, it just melted in my mouth. If you’re ever in Myrtle Beach and want some sushi, check this place out! It’s a two blocks away from the beach and a few blocks away from Broadway at The Beach, which was out next stop.

This place was out of control busy but I guess that’s what you get where you go to Myrtle Beach huh? People watching was absolutely amazing. I’m talking about guys wearing the shocker shirt, tweens dressed like hoochies and redneck children running amuck-something for everyone I tell you.

I was in some desperate need of coffee from the situation earlier that day so we made a stop at Kiss Coffeehouse.

When my friend told me about it, I lit up a little….even if I am a Starbucks girl. I absolutely love KISS and love to rock and roll all night! Ok, not really seeing I like to be in bed by midnight but give me some Detroit Rock City any day!

Heeeeeeeeeey-o!

I got an iced coffee, the only thing that didn’t rock was the $5 price tag that came along with it.

Third day of going au natural with my face. I am not diggin this no makeup look but refused to be that girl who wore makeup on the lake and didn’t find my makeup until late last night. That $26 Benefit Erase Paste is worth every single dollar because those bags under my eyes need to go bye bye.

Afterwards we met up with one of my friends friends who was celebrating his birthday at the bar at Logan’s. I was going to have a beer but my friend ordered some long island iced tea esque drink served in a mason jar. They had a ton of flavors to choose from-orange, mango, watermelon, cherry, etc. That sounded much better than a beer so I went with the cherry because who doesn’t love the sugar rush you get from grenadine?

It was funny that she ordered that because on the way to Logan’s I was thinking about long islands and the last time I had one. I used to down those baby’s in college and like to think that and my discovery of ranch dressing led to weight gain but soon stopped because I got absolutely trashed off of them. Then I thought the last time I had one couldn’t have been college could it? But then it came back to me. The last time I had one was a few years ago on a first date. Note: Don’t drink long island iced tea’s on a first date with a guy.

Second note: Don’t drink long island’ iced teas on a first date with a guy then challenge him to see how many you can drink in one night.

Third note: Don’t drink long island’ iced teas on a first date with a guy then challenge him to see how many you can drink in one night…..on a Tuesday night when you have a real job to go to the next day.

Fourth note: When you do this and he pulls up to your apartment complex, instead of stepping out of the car, you just slide right out…..of an SUV. Don’t do this.

Final note: If you do all of the above you will go into work still drunk the next day and wondering why your butt is completely bruised the next morning.

Do you have a vacation spot you go to in the summer?

Long Island Iced Teas-love em or hate em?

20 Responses to “Coastin”

  1. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss July 6, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    I WAAAANT THAT SUSHI! and nope, I’d rather have a margarita poured with a very heavy hand than slurp an LIT.

    p.s. I need to try working a kettelbell. I’ve never done it before, but I’ve always been intrigued…

  2. Tamara July 6, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Oh, yeah- Love the Long Island Iced Teas. They’re my “special occasion” drink though, for obvious reasons. After one, I turn into Tam 2.0, so I’m way funnier and friendly than usual.

    In fact, I plan on having one as soon as we land in Vegas this weekend- thanks for the reminder! Haha.

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 6, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    BWAHAHAHA to the long islands. I think we’ve had a similar convo about them- I used to drink them like WATER. And that’s how I ended up with my head in the toilet on various occasions… so sexy.

    It’s funny that my usual complaint at sushi spots is that I don’t get enough ginger dressing. But you’re right- that’s a freakin’ pool.

  4. Juju July 6, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    Hubby is more of the long island iced tea drinker, not for me. Maybe it’s because when I first had it, they made it too strong, and it tasted like butt! That KISS coffee/gift shop rocks! I’ve never been to Myrtle beach, but when I go, I’ll be checking out that sushi place and the KISS shop! woo hoo! =]

  5. Monique July 6, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    as a girl with massively sexy and fluffy thighs, i hate summer. My chub rub takes on a whole annoying thing.. so- i just wait till after 3 to leave the house. and usually its to the park.
    This year i want to be more brave in the sun…
    Dude. Long islands YES Tokyo iced teas- HELL NO. I’ve got a crazy story about that one.

  6. Tonyne @ Unlikely Success Story July 6, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    Um, you are vacationing in my backyard. 🙂

    I am going to have to go try that Soho sushi place, that looks AMAZING!!!

  7. bigcitybabycarrots July 6, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    I’ve always wanted to go to Mrytle Beach. I love living through your travels! Keep up with the pics.

  8. Katie H July 6, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    Damn you and your sushi pics that taunt me! 😀 I am definitely not a long island girl- I never liked the drink! In college I was more of a corona or boxed wine girl fo sho.

  9. Natalie @Will Jog For Food July 6, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    I love the cheesiness of Myrtle beach! hehe

    I haven’t had Long Islands since college…maybe that’s why I don’t remember much of those years 😉

  10. Sara@Runninginpinkproject July 6, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Out big family trip each year is to Myrtle Beach. Ill make sure I check out the sushi place next summer!! 🙂

  11. lookingupwhileslimmingdown July 6, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    Love the island ice teas and the black dress you’re wearing!

  12. Jayme @ Runner-n-Spice July 6, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    I’ve never been to Myrtle Beach – I recall people in my classes going when I was younger, but my family always just kept going back to Florida. Sigh.

    I hate when my salad is swimming in dressing too!

  13. Laury@thefitnessdish July 6, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    the last time I had a long island iced tea I was underage…..like 17ish?? I puked my brains out and never again could I look at one!

  14. Erin @ A Girl & Her Mutt July 7, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    Happy Hour specials are what makes the world happy. Fair warning…we don’t have them in Boston. BOOOO!

    I’ve only had one Long Island. It did not end well.

  15. MelissaNibbles July 7, 2011 at 5:01 am #

    We have to get sushi when you come to Boston!
    I want those lick me knickers.

  16. Vix @ LittleMissEverything July 7, 2011 at 6:15 am #

    That drink is immense! Ah long island ice teas are very dangerous indeed 🙂

  17. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings July 7, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    LIITs = Mindy drooling on herself while airdrumming. Not pretty. OMG that double crunch roll looked ridiculous!!! I’ve been craving sushi, I’m thinking today’s the day. I’m also super jealous that you saw The Killers live!

    I consider myself a makeup guru. I haven’t ever tried the Erase Paste. Does it work?

  18. diana@mymarblerye July 7, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    BAHAHAHHAAHAH. lessons learned through tiffany. Oh and don’t do yager bombs on a date…you might marry them. Anyways I haven’t been to the beach since my honeymoon…I’m too type A to deal with the sand in my crotch!

  19. adrianna July 7, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    my fam used to go to the beach every 2-3 years (could afford every year)…love me some ocean and sand! w/ my current job we arent allowed to take vacation in july or aug, so i havent been back for a few years now. i miss it!

    last long islands were in college…i’d have a few at happy hour, then be in bed by like 9 bc i was so wasted i couldnt do anything. fell asleep a few times while doing it, too. man those things are good…and hit ya like a rock.

  20. Megan (Braise The Roof) July 7, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    I haven’t been to Myrtle Beach since I was a kid, but now I’m thinking I need to visit it again as an adult- looks like so much fun! That coffee shop cracks me up…think the band gets a cut of the profits from that coffee shop?

Leave a Reply

