Whipping it out

8 Jun

Coming back from being out of town sucks. It sucks normally but sucks even more when you only have three weeks left in your home. I’ve been trying to separate things to give to charity and pack the rest of my stuff up but it’s hard. I will look at a piece of clothing I haven’t worn in awhile and remember the day I bought it or first wore it and have a hard time parting from it. So my new rule is that if I haven’t worn it in the past year, it’s going to the thrift store (old college shirts don’t apply to this rule as one of these days I’m going to get a quilt made out of them)

Along with that comes going through my kitchen, trying to use as much as I can without throwing it out before moving day.

So until my lease runs out, I’m trying not to buy anything except for produce, milk and yogurt.  I bought a bunch of produce on Monday and it should be enough to get me through the week.

However, going through all the food in my cupboard sometimes leads to mundane meals such as breakfast on Tuesday.

I know you all haven’t seen a bowl of oats in a long time. Mostly because I find it so drab that I don’t feel the need to post the oats I eat since they never look magical. Besides, who wants to stare at pictures of oats? Actually, scratch that. This bowl was quite tasty and it was my first time adding chia seeds to oatmeal. I added it with the oats and water when it was in the microwave instead of soaking them in water like I normally do. Banana and agave nectar were the other add ins for a simple, filling breakfast.

I met up with friends for lunch at Savor Café on Tuesday afternoon. I’ve only been to Savor once before for lunch and was quite pleased so I was stoked to check it out again.  I love going out to eat and trying different places but don’t have many places I frequent all the time so when I find one I dig, I go with it.

Let’s talk weird/annoying stuff.

This table.

Ok, I don’t like posting pictures of strangers on the Internet b/c I wouldn’t want someone to do that of me. But this table was driving me bananas-they all sat down, whipped out their phones, looked at the menu, whipped out their phones, the guy in the black ordered a salad, got the salad and yep, you guessed it, whipped out his phone while eating the salad!! I could not stop staring at them because what is the point of going out with others if you’re going to be staring at your phone the entire time? I will break out my phone when I’m with others but not the entire time or even a majority unless someone is going to be meeting us and I need my phone or  am expecting a call/text/email that I need to take.

I’ve even had friends who would text me when we were out….right across the table from each other. For real? Drives me bananas. I know I would not do well without my cell phone but sometimes I need a break from it and turn it out. I don’t like being connected all the time. Don’t even get me started on when a guy pulls out his cell phone on a date…..

I finally peeled my eyes off of the iPhone table and saw that my friend had a gift for Linky!

He is going to be bling blinging all over Charlotte! Bitches will definitely be up on his sack….if he had one.

I ordered the Farmers Market sandwich

I love that they allow you to order any side item you want with a sandwich. They have the standard fries, cold slaw, pasta salad, fruit and side salad and they also have a casserole of the day. The one for Tuesday was cauliflower casserole which sounded delicious but I wasn’t in the mood for anything too heavy. The side salad is the perfect portion and it’s loaded with toppings. Hooray for garbanzo beans!

The salad was good but the sandwich? HEAVENLY! I can’t remember the last time I ordered a tomato/mozzarella/basil concoction. Maybe because I don’t think I ever have? It just never appealed to me but it was so hot out and sounded fresh, light and zesty. The combination along with the balsamic vinegar hit the spot but the superstar of the sandwich was the bread. Look at how fluffy it is! And the grated cheese, good lord, the grated cheese.

We went to Central Coffee afterwards and chatted outside. In the shade and with an iced coffee in hand, it wasn’t too bad out but I can tell this summer is going to be a scorcher.

Lincoln was feeling a little neglected when I got home

But neglect soon turned into love when I whipped out part of my friends leftover turkey burger she gave me to give to Lincoln

Where do you stand on the cell phone issue?

Whipping the phone out at the dinner table or out with friends: Yay or nay?

26 Responses to “Whipping it out”

  1. Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles June 8, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    I am not a fan of whipping out cell phones in restaurants/cafes. I just find rude – especially for the waiters/servers that have to deal with that!

  2. christinaorso June 8, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    that sandwich! good heavens. those people are funny. i try not to use my phone while out with someone bc i think it’s kinda rude. i have texted someone at the same table as me but only bc we were trying to talk about a hot guy that was nearby, haha! lincoln is going to look so fab in that collar.

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 8, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    The cell phone issue is a tricky one. Because yeah- tables like that are silly. You’d save more money and your time by eating at home.

    Usually I’m one to keep mine on the table, but I’m not gonna sit there surfing the ‘net and checking my emails while in good company…

  4. terri June 8, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    i would be lost w/o my phone….as would prolly everyone these days! but taking out when you are out to lunch / dinner….once or twice is ok…but continually….um, RUDE! ok. sorry….just sayin..have a great night. good luck using all your staples!! that oatmeal looked amazing, btw!

  5. Amanda June 8, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    I’d be so offended if I went to dinner with someone and they were texting like that. Dude.

  6. Alex June 8, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    Please Tweet Liz your feelings on the cell phone issue…we’ve had this conversation before. Unfortunately, I had to text my responses to her.

    I’ve missed out on a couple posts I see….where are you moving to T?

  7. janetha @ meals & moves June 9, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    OH MY GOSH THAT NEGLECT PHOTO IS THE CUTEST THING I HAVE SEEN ALL WEEK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. MelissaNibbles June 9, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    I keep my phone out, but I would never sit there like those douchenozzles. Wow.

    Thank you for having a messy fridge like me. I feel like the only blogger that doesn’t organize her fridge like a psycho.

  9. vixter2010 June 9, 2011 at 6:33 am #

    That photo is hilarious! I think it’s really rude to be on your phone when out with someone, unless there’s an emergency or something. Your dog looks so sad bless him!

  10. diana@mymarblerye June 9, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    omg. Glenn does that sometimes to look up what to order on yelp but after that I tell him to hide that thing. It’s so rude and makes everyone look pathetic! Like there is nothing to talk about or something! I’m also always paranoid that G and I will turn into that old couple that STARES at each other over dinner and doesn’t talk

  11. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle June 9, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    Texting is ok a few times AT MOST…but to sit there constantly with it, um no. I would be pissed. I used to be friends with a girl who did that. Needless to say, I dropped her ass. She was a stuck up bitch anyway.

  12. leashieloo June 9, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    I only do this to certain people, like my boyfriend. But if I’m out with someone, I think it’s rude to constantly play on your phone. If someone texts or calls, I don’t mind if they glance at it.

  13. Carly June 9, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    I try not to pull my cell phone out when I’m eating. Sometimes I’ll slip a quick text, but only if I’m with a good friend. Ha, is that bad that I’m more rude in front of good friends than acquaintances?

  14. Monique June 9, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    I am guilty of whipping it out! lol to check in though!
    I used to have sooo much food in my apartment and would waste so much of it. When i started menu planning, i only bought what i needed for that week. If it wasnt an ingredient in my meal i would not buy it. I wont have an excess of anything (besides frozen leftovers) Because its all consumed in one week.

  15. According to Gus June 9, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    Such a CUTE photo of sweet, little Lincoln!

    I am only okay with whipping out my phone if it’s really quick and really important. Otherwise, I like to focus on my company…and my food!

  16. Katie H June 9, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    That photo is hilarious. And sad. I feel the same way as you about cell phones- though I was guilty of texting my brother while eating with Brian in Vegas last weekend. It’s his “favorite place in the world” (weirdo) so I think it was justified, haha.

    Linc will look adorable in his new collar! Bailey doesn’t have a sack either and sometimes I wonder if he knows that he is missing something. I’m a weirdo.

  17. Erin June 9, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    That sandwich looks amazing! Drool worthy.

    I have a couple of phone friends that can’t put it away. Drives me nuts!

  18. 40daykedge June 9, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    Definitely not a fan of it, if there’s a call you MUST pick up fine. But if I am somewhere with you that means I want to be with YOU!

    On another note, duh, why have I never put chia seeds in my oatmeal, especially on days on run? I’m def going to steel this idea from you.

  19. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl June 9, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    That sandwich looks amazing!

    I usually have my phone on the table, but I’m not on it constantly.

  20. Ashleigh June 9, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    That picture of those ppl at the table is hilarious! I do check my phone when out with others but Im not on it the whole time.

  21. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic June 9, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I want that sandwich! I try not to use my phone when I’m at dinner, but don’t mind if other people do (as long as it’s not excessive). Oh and oatmeal isn’t always boring! Check out my Oatmeal 7 ways post 😉 http://www.confessionsofachocoholic.com/healthy/oatmeal-7-ways

  22. Alyssa June 9, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    UM. know how I always say Chloe and Lincoln need to be (at the very least) best friends?

    the stars are aligned. that is the same collar Chloe has worn since the day I picked her out at the breeder. 🙂

    LOOK… http://lifeofblyss.wordpress.com/2011/02/01/a-letter-to-my-pup/

  23. Rach @ This Italian Family June 9, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    I hear you! I get so frustrated when I see people on their phones all the time instead of actually talking to the people they are sitting with. I mean, I get it if you need to check a text or excuse yourself to take a call, but txting all through a meal? Ridiculous.

  24. nic - the auspicious squirrel June 11, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I was at a restaurant a few months back, sitting next to a couple who were both staring at their phones (before, during, and after their meal came). It was the weirdest thing. Every once in a while one would comment about what they were looking at to the other. I think they were getting the news, checking emails, and then looking up movie reviews. It was so distracting.

Leave a Reply

