Around Lakeview

3 Jun

Thursday was a free day for me since my friend who I stayed with had to work. I slept on their ultra comfy couch and played with their cute pup before making my way around Lakeview.

Seriously, how adorable is he? If I move to Chicago, him and Lincoln are going to be besties.

They had a french press but I’ve never operated one of those before and I’m always afraid that if I mull around other peoples homes, I’ll break something or something will catch on fire.so I got dolled up and made my way to stop #1 of the day.

Do I even have to say where that was?

If there was a Buckies, yo I’ll find it. Ok, not really difficult since there are everywhere but I used my Buckies Sense to find it.  I sat outside, people watched and tried to warm up since it was a bit chilly out. The view of Wrigley Field didn’t hurt either. I imagine there’s a lot more going on there during a game day but it was fun to see everything up close.

Even the field, it was right there.

Just me, the pigeon and Wrigley

 

I consulted Yelp to find somewhere for lunch and found a place with cheap lunch specials-Asian Mix Cafe.

 

 

 

 

 

When I read they had lunch specials, I was a bit skeptical. But turns out they do have cheap lunch specials. And I’m talking cheap—not only for my budget in Charlotte…..but also in Chicago! $6.50 gets you soup or salad, a mini appetizer portion and lunch entrée. I went with my safety dish of chicken pad thai along with soup and vegetable pot stickers.

I was the only person in this place and everything came out quickly. So quickly, the soup, vegetable pot stickers and pad thai all came out together.

Seriously, all that food for $6.50 and tax? Sign me up! Also sign me up to start reading signs by the cashier register that say you need to make a $10 purchase to pay with a card (which I later learned establishments aren’t allowed to do that hmmmm)  I had to bring my tab up so I got something completely new to me- a strawberry bubble tea smoothie

It was good but I was confused about the little dark things floating in it. I asked the lady and she said that they were tapioca pearls. Interesting. I chewed on a few and did not like it. I’ve never chewed on flesh but I imagine that is what flesh would chew like. If you have chewed on flesh, please do not comment, I really don’t wanna know.

I made my way around the area, taking it all in. I love the Lakeview area and with the El being right near me, it reminded me of a mini NYC.

Soon, I found my next stop at-Emerald City Coffee

No munchkins, sigh. I sat, enjoyed their somewhat slow Wi-fi, drank my coffee and watched the people go by. Breath of fresh air is the best term that I can think of. I absolutely adore the diversity of people here. No one looks the same, I haven’t seen one man in khakis, there’s handfuls of crazies, languages I’ve never heard before, people of all ages, nice people, not so nice people, etc.

And the men? GOOD LORD the men! I haven’t seen this many hotties in awhile and again-breath of fresh air.

Yes, Lakeview, I think we will be seeing each other very soon……

When on vacation, do you go out and explore on your own or like to have a set plan of things you want to see? I’m not one who abides by a schedule, I love to go out on my own and explore!

Have you tried bubble tea?

36 Responses to “Around Lakeview”

  1. Jen@jensdaily June 3, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    Awesome lunch deal!!!! Looks delicious!

  2. vixter2010 June 3, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    Great lunch deal and I think it’s greta you head out on your own like that, I’d prob be a bit nervous but it’s the best way to get to know the area!

  3. Abby June 3, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    I’m jealous for the following reasons:
    1) You were by Wrigley, as that’s on my bucket list–if I had a bucket list
    2) The men you describe, as finding a hot one of those is on my bucket list–if I had a bucket list
    3) The food and your adventures. You know I’m not big on traveling, but I think I would have a riot going with you. The food looks fun, you take the time to explore great cafes and restaurants, etc. I love just wandering around–and good, cheap food–so I’m pretty sure we would hit it off. And Lincoln, of course. Oh, and the hot guys.

    • simplyshaka June 4, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

      Hot guys, Lincoln, local joints and exploring-thats my bag baby! If we are ever in the same place we are totally exploring.

  4. TheSceneFromMe June 3, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    I do love bubble tea, but of course I love tapioca. I make a lot of tapioca pudding and cherry tapioca (did a post on cherry tapioca).
    It’s weird, something you have to get used to.

    • simplyshaka June 4, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      I remember that post and may have to try it sometime.

  5. Lori June 3, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    Tried bubble tea for the first time in Hanoi, Vietnam. I agree that it’s really weird, texture-wise, at first. Give it another go, though. I love it now after having it again. It’s very Asian so I run into bubble tea everywhere I travel over here.

    • simplyshaka June 4, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      I am definitely not turned off my it, I will be trying it again!

  6. leashieloo June 3, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    When I’m somewhere new, I love to wander around to find those pockets of randomness you wouldn’t find otherwise. But at the same time, I research beforehand to find all of the “must sees,” so it’s a healthy mix of randomness and planning.

  7. SandySays1 June 3, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    Chicago, Chicago, it’s my kind of town. Love the pics. Be careful if you wander down to Rush Street.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  8. dianacheung June 3, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    bubble tea is my culture b*tch so chew up those black balls!! hahaha! I love exploring by myself! That’s what I did in nyc and charlotte when glenn was busy..makes me try to “fit in” like a local. Anyways…MENver is awaiting you..tons of hotties. Also I love chicago! It’s like a smaller cleaner NYC for sure!

  9. Monique June 3, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    i absolutely ADORE Chicago! If i had to leave NY i would pick up and move to Chi-town!
    If you are still there, please go to Kitchen Roscoe. They have a lobster pot pie that is insane! like, insane!
    If you dont like tapioca pearls in your bubble tea, try the lychee jelly beads, they DO NOT have the same texture as tapioca. They are like fruitty pieces of tofu. 🙂

    • simplyshaka June 4, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

      Ohhhh lychee!!! Kitchen Roscoe is on the list for next visit!

  10. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 3, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    I’m so glad you found that thai place. Because I will be frequenting that spot. Pad thai is one of my newest take out obsessions!

    Still shitty about the car getting keyed. Boooo…. 😦

    • simplyshaka June 4, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

      Boo indeed friend. At least my sisters boyfriend does paint work so he will be able to tell me how much it should cost instead of getting screwed!

  11. Erin June 3, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    I love bubble tea and the tapioca pearls are called boba. I LOVE them. I like chewing on them and I definitely haven’t had flesh. Thank goodness. I have a few friends that aren’t into it either though. I steal their boba.

  12. Megan June 3, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    Glad you had a good time in Wrigleyville! Did the front of that restaurant say Cozy noodles? Don’t go there after a Cubs game- it gets filled with drunk fans looking for noooodles. Actually, DO go there- it’s pretty fun. Sorry I couldn’t make it to dinner last night, hope it was fun!

    • simplyshaka June 4, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

      Cozy noodles? I have no clue but now I’m curious. Next time I am in town, you will have to come out with us!

  13. Alyssa June 3, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    I love your wandering. I honestly NEVER do that alone, and I think it’d be good for me. 😉

    And those tapioca pearls look like bluebs! Weeeeird

  14. MelissaNibbles June 3, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Great pics of Wrigley. I love wandering too 🙂

  15. Jessica @ Stylish Stealthy and Healthy June 3, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    I am so weird about going anywhere on my own, I always feel so awkward, but at the same time I long to be one of those girls! I’ve gone to bookstores and had coffee and read magazines alone, but that’s about all.
    Baby steps… 🙂

    • simplyshaka June 4, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

      Baby steps indeed. I love exploring myself if I have to, I’m not anti social or anything but if I’m alone I don’t mind going out where I think some people dont like to do that.

  16. Krista @ Journey to a Healthy Berg June 4, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    I have this horrible image of little flesh balls floating around in my smoothie right now…ew.

  17. Kelly June 4, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    I’ve had bubble tea, mine was Chai flavored. It tasted like a Christmas tree. I wasn’t a big fan!

  18. Laury June 4, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    LOOOOOOVE WRIGLEY FIELD!

    Michael and I LOVE going to cities with old baseball stadiums. We went to Chicago on vacation just to visit and hit up all the tourist spots…and went to a baseball game of course. We have been to Fenway too when we visited a friend in Boston. SO fun!

  19. lookingupwhileslimmingdown June 4, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    I’ve never had bubble tea, but I had to laugh at your flesh comment. Ew. That lunch looks yummy! I do a mix of things when I go to new places. Part planning, part exploring.

    • simplyshaka June 4, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

      Haha, you need to try it, you will think the same thing. I like how I’m telling you what you need to do….

  20. Monique June 4, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    OMG WHAT?!?!?! Maybe because I grew up in an area where everyone is Asian (hello SF!!!) I freaking LOVE bobba!!! I’ve even bought the black tapioca from an Asian market in CA and made pearl smoothies myself. You should try it again, they’re good. Those suckers got me through college 🙂 I prefer the flavored milk teas and coffees to the smoothies, those are much more filling.

    And I can’t help but think the view you had of Wrigley is a lot like Fenway. You can eat at a restaurant that basically is the batting cages and you can see onto the field. So fun 🙂

    • simplyshaka June 4, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

      I only went to Fenway once and that was when I was 11 or 12 so I need to go back! I will have to try one of those milk teas sometime, milk and tea kinda freaks me out, eeks;

  21. Amanda June 4, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    I gagged at “chewed on flesh.” YUCK!!!!

    I love going out and exploring new cities. Chicago is one of my favorites. I love the El! I wish California had more public transportation.

Leave a Reply

