Sugargate

1 Jun

Oi vey, I am in desperate need of a sugar detox. I feel like all I’ve been doing is eating and  can feel the sugar floating through my veins and going straight to my hips and butt. Because I need to gain weight there. Why oh why can’t some doctor come up with a non profit organization to take fat from my body and pump it into the starving children of Africa? I would totally volunteer my butt for that.

I think it started on Saturday night when my niece had a friend over for a sleepover and they made brownies. Making brownies is their tradition whenever they have a sleepover at each others house. A tradition I am all for…..except when they brought me a brownie at midnight.

Usually this would be ok but I had one two brownies before so I was brownied out….so I thought. I didn’t want to hurt their feelings and not eat the brownie so brownie went a-bye-bye.

Other than there has been petit fours from Taylor’s Bakery

Fro Yo from Huddles

This was one of the funkiest creations I’ve made yet. Strawberry Lemonade and Tart fro yo with Fruity Pebbles, mini M&M’s and coconut. So yeah, pretty much every flavor imaginable. Huddles was a cute place but they really need to work on their feng shui.  When there is a line of people waiting to get their fro yo on, finally do, then have to wait for people to mosey along the toppings line and then for people to pay at the one cashier on duty (even though there are three other people working there), it does not jive well. Especially when you are looking for frozen yogurt, not soupy yogurt. Talk about a fro yo fail!

Many visits to the Bucks

And trips to local coffee shops such as my new love, Monon Coffee Company

When we went in I was overtaken with it’s modern and bright décor. Plus there were no hipsters which is always a plus since it looks like it could be a hipster haven. But then again, it was pretty early and I don’t think hipsters wake up until 10am. They have the same drinks you will find anywhere else but also had some obscure sounding ones such as the Mona Lisa and Con Panna.

  I asked the barista what the Mona Lisa was and once he told me, I was on it like white on rice. Turns out it is a latte with honey and cinnamon. Hmmm….I always put cinnamon in my coffee but honey? I’ve never had honey in coffee only tea so why not give it a shot?

 Sigh, I really need to stop getting my calories from drinks. Half and half has been creeping it’s way back into my life and that’s not good for anyone.Why have I never had the idea to combine cinnamon and honey before? Maybe if I did, I could have a drink named after me. However, if I did have a drink named after me I think it would have to have more ingredients or something snazzier than just cinnamon and honey. Maybe cinnamon, honey and tabasco because I am saucy? Anywho, this was a great place to stop by. There was only one barista working there and he took his time with making the drink but if you give me pleasant conversation and a drink made with love, I will definitely support your business!  

On Sunday, we went to the pool for a few hours. I worked on my tan plus made my way through The Girl Who Played With Fire (which I can’t put down!!)  so it was a win win situation.

I heart the peaceful time before the unruly children come out to play.Later we went to go see The Hangover 2, it was hilarious but basically the same plot as the first one. I actually found this one to be funnier though. I really don’t know what they would do without Zach G because he makes the movie (both times)

(source)

Then I started to think about last Memorial Day weekend and what I was doing. I couldn’t think of how I spent it last year but should have remembered because it was me against the mountain.

Thank God no bruises like that this year, only a blistering headache from my lovely niece. She is a terror and I can only hope she calms down in the years to come because if not, it’s going to be one hell of a bumpy ride.

Oh well, at least she is cute.

Sugar-love it or leave it? Do you actively watch your sugar intake or say screw it?

23 Responses to “Sugargate”

  1. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg June 1, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    Yeah, I love sugar, but I always feel pretty lousy after a long weekend where I overdo it. But you know– sometimes those weekends are worth it 🙂

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 1, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    I am obsessed with sugar. We all know this. But I work my butt off to make up for it… or so I can justify having more of it. Same difference…

    I really liked Hangover 2! You’re right about it being the same plot. And it was that much more over the top for sure. But I got some stupid laughs out of it. All that matters, right?

  3. leashieloo June 1, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    It’s a mixed bag. Sometimes, I tell myself not to eat something because I’ve had more than enough sugar for the day. And other times, I’m like whatever! Damn delicious sugar.

  4. vixter2010 June 1, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    I wish I didn’t crave bad foods either! Sigh 🙂 I want to see Hangover 2, glad to hear you liked it as it’s getting bad reviews, think I’ll wait for the DVD!

  5. Carly June 1, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I’m actually not a huge sugar person. I love it sometimes, but I generally prefer salty stuff. Both are bad though!

    • simplyshaka June 2, 2011 at 8:35 am #

      I hear ya–unfortunately I crave something salty then sweet so I can’t win.

  6. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident. June 1, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Oh, I love sugar. But I do try to keep it in check. Both sides of my family are loaded with diabetics and I refuse to go that route. Plus, if I overdo it on the sweet stuff, I just start feeling like crap; really moody & lethargic.

  7. OliePants June 1, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    I have a serious sweet tooth that I’m trying to break. OMG But one free cupcake and it’s over. I get your pain.

  8. Katie H June 1, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    I’m more of a savory girl myself, but I’ve been craving brownies lately! btw, is that a fruit by the foot in the first pic? I haven’t had one of those in years (probably since elementary school so I could get away with saying decades, but that makes me feel old). I used to love them!
    I can’t wait to see the Hangover 2! I agree, Zach G totally makes the movie!

  9. Alyssa June 1, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    gaaah, I just saw the Hangover Part II last night. and you’re so right. Zach totally makes the whole thing.

    “what is this, a PF Changs?”

  10. bigcitybabycarrots June 1, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Any post that starts with “oy vey” is going to be a good post. I like sugar, but in moderation. When I eat too much I just feel sticky, if that makes any sense. Chris gets intense sugar highs followed by fall outs when he eats too much sugar, so we both have to watch it.

    • simplyshaka June 2, 2011 at 8:33 am #

      I’m like Chris, I feel so great for a while then want to die. Yet another reason why I need to cut back!

  11. Jacqui June 1, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    I try to watch my sugar intake, but I am with you right now, I have to get it in check!

  12. adrianna June 1, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    i wish i could stop w/ a small fix, but once i start w/ sugar, i really cannot stop. and typically its a nighttime binge thing…like, i save up all my treats for night. this is a good idea why?! i dont like candy, but cookies, cakes, frosting, chocolate…look out. its ridiculous.

    • simplyshaka June 2, 2011 at 8:32 am #

      You are strong-I can’t keep frosting in my house.

  13. sophia June 1, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Everybody loves sugar. It’s in our human genes to love and crave it. The good thing is most of us have turn-off buttons built in our bodies…we start to feel sick if we ate too much of it. Our bodies are pretty awesome that way! But for me, restriction or messed up meal schedules can set off that trigger for abnormal sugar cravings.

    For me, it depends on what kind of sugar…I don’t like sugary drinks or desserts, but I do love ice-cream and gummies and white chocolate. 🙂

    • simplyshaka June 2, 2011 at 8:31 am #

      Mmmm white chocolate. Thank God for our bodies, mine definitely tells me when I’ve had too much. I just start to feel ill and can’t function.

  14. Natalie @ will jog for food June 2, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    I feel like the more I eat sugar the more I want it. I’ve been trying to cut down, but I still have cupcakes left, and I can’t let those go to waste 😉

    • simplyshaka June 2, 2011 at 8:28 am #

      Exactly, being wasteful is never a good thing….

  15. nic - the auspicious squirrel June 2, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Ouch, glad you didn’t get scrapped up this year.

    I don’t really keep up with my sugar intake (I probably should), but I do feel a desire to have chocolate at least once a day. Or I might have chocolate withdraw! 😉

    I gave up soda some years back when I gave up caffeine, I know, “Oh, the horror!”. But the withdraw throw-up-headache made it imperative that I give it up. So the green tea I drink throughout the day has less sugar than I used to consume. Although, I’ve recently found Virgil’s root beer and my soda intake has increased somewhat. 😛

    I don’t think I’ve had honey in coffee either, hmmmm.

  16. dianacheung June 3, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    jesus you know how much I love sugar…i’m still on this sugar kick…once you start eating bad/sugar/carbs you can’t stop…I CAN’T STOP!!!!

Leave a Reply

