Back at it

24 May

Ever since I got back from Florida, I’ve been trying to get to back to some kind of normalcy. At first my cooking mojo was not there. Thankfully, I had a freezer stocked full of food waiting to be used

This pizza tasted so good but the weird thing is it tasted like sushi. I’m not joking. I could take a bite, be taken aback by the flavor, take a sip of water, take another bite and yep-sushi tasting. It was very weird but oddly enough, I would buy it again.

Instead of going to Starbucks and ordering a shaken iced green tea/lemonade, I’ve been making my own at home and it’s been surprisingly Buckies-like!

If you have a Publix near you and dig green tea, you must try this tea. I got two gallons before I left Florida and am kinda sad it will be gone soon. A trip to Greenville or Columbua, South Carolina may be in store.

I’ve gotten back into my cooking routine, as much as I didn’t want to. Having someone cook for you almost all the time is pretty nice. A girl could get used to that….note to self, troll culinary school for men who can cook. Thank God I have my standbys such as quesadillas

And pasta salad of course since that seems to be my latest obsession. I put a new spin on it by adding  Great Northern Beans, Parmesan & Peppercorn dressing and using Wacki Mac pasta.

I cooked the pasta then added chopped orange pepper, red onion, black olives and feta cheese then mixing in the dressing and a quick, creamy meal.

The point that it made four servings only helped since I’ve been a little lazy this week.

 

One thing I haven’t been able to get back into? Working out. I went to the gym on Saturday and Sunday and struggled to do just 30 minutes of cardio. When I was on the machine, time just dragged and I wanted to get off and do strength training, which I could do all day long.

I’m going back today and will conquer 30 minutes of some type of cardio! Maybe I just need to concentrate on what I am doing, challenge myself more or new music? And that will be right after I stop by Time Warner and cancel my cable. God help me…..

Are you cable-less?

Have you ever had a food that tasted good but like something else like my sushi tasting pizza?

24 Responses to “Back at it”

  1. Rach @ This Italian Family May 24, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    Sushi tasting pizza??? Weeeird, haha!

    We don’t have cable, but we do have Netflix and we utilize Hulu a lot. We’re never home when good stuff would be on anyway so watching it later on Hulu/Netflix works for us. 🙂

  2. christina May 24, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    That pizza looks awesome. WHY IS TARGET SO GOOD TO US?!?!

  3. According to Gus May 24, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    I oddly have the urge to try the sushi-like pizza. 😉

    We will be cable-less soon and it will be hard to go without. I work for TWC so am used to having every channel that’s offered!

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      I need to work for them for the free cable!!

  4. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg May 24, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    It’s SO hard to get back into the groove after a good vacation…ugh!

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      Especially after an international trip 🙂

  5. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle May 24, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    I think I would rather die than go without cable. That may be a little dramatic, I know, but not everything is available on Hulu and I can’t go a season behind for Netflix on many of my favorite shows (i.e True Blood).

    Girl, when are you coming to Boston? For reals.

  6. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident. May 24, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    We recently became cableless. It was tough at first, but we’re adjusting pretty well. Doug bought us a Roku box and signed up with Netflix. I also signed up for a Hulu Plus account which definitely helps to keep up current shows.

    I’d be lying if I said I didn’t miss Cartoon Network and Cooking Channel, but oh well.

    Overall, I think it was a good decision not only money-wise, but also time-wise; we spent probably more time that we should have glued to the tube when we had cable.

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

      Exactly I spend too much either getting sucked into mindless shows like RH or just keeping it on for background noise.

  7. Alyssa May 24, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    that’s so WERID… sushi-tasting mozzarella/tomato pizza? hey… sushi’s good. I guess it could taste like worse things, huh? 😉

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who has been totally lazy when it comes to cooking. I’ve been seeeriously slacking lately.

  8. sushi tasting pizza?!!? ahh that’s very .. interesting ha! hey but if its good, go with it! dont fight the feeling.

  9. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 24, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    The idea of being without cable really freaks me out. Even though I have watched maybe an hour of tv in the last 5 days… woah…

  10. Katherine: Unemployed May 24, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    I’ve had thai-sauce instead of marinara on pizza before and that was good!

  11. Erin May 24, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    I love eating out when on vacation but there is something magical about coming home to eat your “own” food.

    Sushi pizza?! I think so.

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

      Likewise I definitely don’t eat as much when I’m home.

  12. Lisa (Fit in the Midwest) May 24, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    We don’t have cable and I think it’s a good thing! 🙂 I already sit on my butt too much while blogging and at work all day! I just watch HGTV and other cable shows at the gym now.

    Eeew, that is gross that the pizza tasted like sushi. I have almost bought that flavor before too. Thanks for the review!

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

      I think it will be a good thing I definitely get more done when the tv is off!

  13. bigcitybabycarrots May 24, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Getting back into the swing of things after a vacation can be so hard. I’m still fighting to get back into the cooking swing of things, and I’ve been back 3 weeks. I think having a broken camera (ie no photo blogging) hasn’t been helping. I promised myself that next week I’ll become good again at cooking (this week is a loss as I’ve got lots of birthday meals schedules from various family and friends).

  14. Krista @ Journey to a Healthy Berg May 24, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    I saw those pizzas the other day and they looked really good! Kind of weird that it tasted like sushi though…haha

  15. Kelly May 24, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    LOL “troll culinary schools for men who can cook” – that cracked me up! I mean, it’s a really good idea and if I were single, I would probably be signing up for a class in between posting this comment. That pasta looks delicious, I love cold pasta straight from the fridge when it’s hot out!

  16. Diana@mymarblerye May 26, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Uh now I want that pizza! Try reading a gossip mag on the elliptical! Can u take classes at your gym?

Leave a Reply

