Frugal Friday: I got your couponing right here

6 May

Happy Friday all! This week’s Frugal Friday is going to be on my couponing habits….pronounced couponing not q-poning, drives me BANANAS when people call it q-pons! Anyways, you all know I am forever on the prowl (rawr) for a good deal and saving money wherever I can.

Step 1: Getting the coupons

My mom used to work for a newspaper and would send me extra coupons they had sitting around there. But now, I have to be like everyone else and pay for my Sunday paper. It’s all good though, I don’t mind shelling out $1.50 in exchange for major savings. I love the Sunday newspaper because on the front page they tell you the amount of savings with the coupons enclosed.

Besides newspapers, I print coupons online. I primarily use Coupon Mom and Coupon Suzy to get them and print them off. I like a lot of brands on Facebook because many of them offer an introductory coupon for liking them so check out your favorite brands on there!

Step 2: Organizing the coupons

I’ve had my fruitalicious coupon organizer for six years and carry it wherever I go.

I organize in groups by brand name A-D, E-I, J-N, O-S, T-Z.

Now, the big issue with my coupons used to be making sure I used them in time. Sometimes once you clip the coupons and store them, the expiration date could pass right by you and you’re out of savings. We don’t like that. I go through my coupon organizer every week and when I do, I pull out the ones that are going to expire in less than a month and highlight them in the upper right hand corner.

By doing this, it stands out when you are looking through your coupons instead of hiding away with the others.

Step 3: Finding the Deals

Every week, I take the supermarket circulars that I get in the mail, lay them out on the floor and pull out my coupons to see if I have any coupons for the items that are on sale.

This past week was Super Double Coupons  up to $1.98 at Harris Teeter and I wanted to take advantage of the savings. I went to  Our Coupon Home and found a thread noting many of the items on sale and coupons that are currently valid for those items. On the site, they show how much the item is, what coupons are out there (a link to printable ones) then how much you will pay for the item. If you go to Our Coupon Home’s main page, you can select a supermarket near you to find the specials of the week! It’s a great website to use if you are looking to get the most bang for your buck!

 

Step 4 : Using the Coupons

Once I went to Our Coupon Home and looked at the specials for the week and checked if I had any coupons or could print them out online, I was ready to go. I made a list of all the items I needed to get. Some items weren’t on my original list but Our Coupon Home mentioned some items that I could get for free or under $1. No, I didn’t need some of those items right at the moment but there is a 98% chance I will use them in the next two months so I would stock up. That being said, I went to Harris Teeter on Saturday morning and had my eye on the prize. I had my sneakers on, two cups of coffee in my system and was moving at record speeds throughout the store. I organize my list by section of the grocery store: Produce, Deli, Middle Rows, Meat, Dairy, Frozen, etc. so I just make my way from front to back and collect my items.

Step 5: Show off the deals you find

I now present you with what I got on Saturday April 30 at Harris Teeter (please don’t skip the photos to see how much I got all of this for!) :

A lot of items right?

Total of all the items above? $58

But after my coupons? Are you ready for this??

$15.12!!!!

 

When the cashier told me the total, I seriously broke out into a happy dance at the check out stand (you’re welcome for shaking my booty towards you, bagboy) I couldn’t believe that my coupons saved me that much money! I got a number of items for free—the hummus, half and half, guacamole, chocolate bar, Luna Bar, So Delicious Coconut Milk, Tyson Chicken and Chef Michaels dog food. I got many other items for under $1—Tony’s Pizza—not the healthiest but for $.17 a piece? Yeah, I am buying it and will eat as drunk food! The Smart Balance milk was around $.60, Newman’s Own Salsa $.89 and  Yoplait Greek Yogurt $.44/each.

So if someone tells me coupons aren’t worth it or take too much time to look for/clip/organize, I will say come look at this post. You just have to dedicate a little time each week to doing so but there are sooooo many sources out there, you would be a fool not to use coupons.

What are your coupon tips?

Any good deals this week?

 

28 Responses to “Frugal Friday: I got your couponing right here”

  1. According to Gus May 6, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    OMG – amazing! I do happy dances at the check out line too. I heart saving money!

    I’ve used a coupon (pronounced the same as you) for years – but I organize by sections of the grocery store: dairy, grains, frozen, etc…

    I love browsing and clipping the Sunday paper coupons!

    Enjoy your time in FL. I have a feeling Lincoln will be a champ during the car ride. 🙂

    • simplyshaka May 7, 2011 at 5:14 am #

      I like that idea of organizing my area of the store, that would definitely help me alot with some of the obscure brands that I get coupons for!

  2. vixter2010 May 6, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    Wow that is impressive work hun, well done!!

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 6, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Nicely done! This week, I got $25 worth of stuff for $6.25… yay! (mostly thanks to Kraft and Foodbuzz on that one, but still!)

  4. Carly May 6, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Woo you are good!

    I think my problem is I need to start getting the newspaper. Last week I tried to use SouthernSavers.com and I got a few printable coupons, but I missed out on the majority of manufacturer coupons. Are coupons generally in the Sunday or Saturday paper?

    • simplyshaka May 7, 2011 at 5:13 am #

      Always on Sundays, the only time they may not be in there is on holiday wknds but other than that they will always be in there!

  5. Elin @andserenitytoo May 6, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    Wow, you are really organized in your frugality, girl! And you find really good coupons too – So impressed! 🙂 I hate when I get coupons for stuff that will still end up more expensive than a lot of other comparable products. But I am not nearly as good at finding coupons as you, I am going to use you as an inspiration! 🙂

    • simplyshaka May 7, 2011 at 5:17 am #

      You’re sweet 🙂 I can’t stand when even with the coupon, a product is still more than the generic brand!

  6. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings May 6, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    WOAH! I am so unorganized! I need to start clipping more often. I will clip some then I’ll forget about them & when I find them, it’s too late 😦 I’m gonna be on my A game this week.

  7. Erin May 6, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    I love this! I’m fascinated by coupons but I get a little overwhelemed sometimes.

  8. nic - the auspicious squirrel May 6, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Thanks so much for this post, I’m always curious how couponers organize and save so much! My neighbor, who has started giving me coupons, told me that she gets upset if she doesn’t save at least 40% at the grocery store.

    Whereas, I’m excited when I remember to use $1.00 worth of coupons… Haha!

    • simplyshaka May 7, 2011 at 5:07 am #

      Anytime, hope it helped! I like her way of thinking, I will have to go in with the mind set of wanting to save 40% off my original bill from now on.

  9. Monique May 6, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    i totally loved this but i have to say that doubling coupons is something that i have never heard of before… i dont think many stores do that in NY… sad too. I have tried to play the coupon game but i think its more difficult to play here. But i love a challenge

  10. Suzy Eats May 6, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    wow…what a great deal!!! i gotta start clipping coupons again. this was motivating.

  11. Karla May 6, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    I’m impressed with your couponing skills. I’m taking notes.
    I can’t wait to return to the land of coupons!

  12. Miriam May 6, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Pleeease tell me you’ve seen Extreme Couponing? This is pretty epic – and admirable! – especially considering all that fancy stuff.
    Also: q-pon pronunciation is a HUGE no in my book too 🙂
    Happy Friday!

    • simplyshaka May 7, 2011 at 5:04 am #

      I haven’t seen it yet. Everyone keeps telling me I need to watch it but damn it to hell, I don’t have a DVR!

  13. Margie May 6, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    Since Florida doesn’t double coupons, I never get low grocery bills like that. Publix does B1G1, but majority of the stuff on sale is what I don’t eat and they’re becoming more expensive everyday. I’ve been shopping more and more at Costco and using their coupons.

    • simplyshaka May 7, 2011 at 5:03 am #

      I am originally from South FL and love Publix so just not the prices. Anytime I go back I’m shocked at how much things are there compared to Wal-Mart. I never knew that FL didnt do doubles though.

  14. Krista @ Journey to a Healthy Berg May 6, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    OMG. I cannot BELIEVE that you got all of that stuff for 15 bucks!! You have some mad couponing skills girl. Oh, and I’m sorry to say that I definately pronounce it “q-pon”…don’t hate me.

    • simplyshaka May 7, 2011 at 5:02 am #

      It’s all good, just make a conscious effort to start saying coupon 🙂

  15. Heather (All Sizzle) May 6, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    WOW! Seriously awesome post. Great tips for someone (me) new to couponing!

  16. terri May 8, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    i [[[heart]]]that you are such a good little couponing princess! i wish i could be that dedicated. i always cut them out, but rarely use them…..
    hope your visit with the fam is going well….oh wait you might not even be there yet! oh well, whereever you are on your journey, i hope you have a fantabulous time! xo

  17. Ashleigh May 9, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Damn!!! You did a great job! I suck at couponing because I dont get the paper and I dont have a printer! I love to save money so I wish I could get into it.

  18. bigcitybabycarrots May 16, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I bow to you and your couponing skills.

Leave a Reply

