Gringos falling from the sky

5 May

Happy Cinco de Mayo! Or should I say Feliz Cinco de Mayo? No clue, I would have hoped that four years of Spanish would help me out with this but apparently not.

As you all know, I love Mexican food. I could exist on a diet of chips, salsa, nachos and tacos if possible.  To celebrate Cinco de Mayo, I whipped up a batch of homemade salsa!

Ingredients:

1 can diced tomatoes

1/2 cup frozen corn (thawed)

1/2 cup green onions, chopped

1/3 cup cilantro, finely chopped

2 tbsp jalapeno flakes

2 tbsp lime juice

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 tbsp red pepper flakes

1 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp garlic

Directions: Simple-mix everything together!

Let chill for a few hours then pair up with your favorite Mexican dish! For Cinco de Mayo Eve, I made chicken quesadillas with red onions and red peppers

Served along side my salsa and a Wholly Guacamole Spicy style

I’ve only tried Wholly Guacamole Original version before and the spicy was a nice change. It definitely had me reaching for a glass of water!

For breakfast today, I started my day off with a big cup of coffee before anything. It was 39 degrees overnight…..in Charlotte….in May! That is completely unheard of and I believe it’s a new all time low for this time of year. As soon as I thawed out I made scrambled eggs topped with cheese, guacamole and salsa

For lunch today, I went to Moe’s for their $3 Burrito special in lieu of Cinco de Mayo

I love Moe’s because they yell at you when you walk in and you get free chips and salsa!

And soon–off to drink some margaritas and who knows, maybe meet some hot men. Maybe I will find a real El Guapo.

And if you don’t know who El Guapo (above) is, I weep for you.

Are you celebrating Cinco de Mayo?

Have you ever been to Mexico?

17 Responses to “Gringos falling from the sky”

  1. terri May 5, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    your quesadillas look AMAZING! sooo delish!
    yes, i have been to mexico~i was on a cruise~COZUMEL!
    and no~not celebrating. i am going to a FREE preview tonight for BRIDESMAIDS! whoop! whoop!
    good luck with the hot men search!! i hope you find LOTS!

  2. Jen@jensdaily May 5, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Good grief. That burrito is calling my name!!!

  3. Carly May 5, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Happy Cinco de Mayo! I’m excited to get some mexican food later. and margaritas of course!

  4. Erin May 5, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    We have similar diets in our fantasy worlds. Tortilla, cheese, and guac. Mmm… It all looks delish!

  5. TheSceneFromMe May 5, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    Avacado on eggs is so good!
    For lunch I ate avacado hummus. Now that is tasty!

  6. Monique May 5, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    the THREE Amigos!!!!
    yesss!
    i had a taco salad!

  7. Vixter2010 May 5, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    You go chica! That’s a lot of Mexican 🙂 I like faitas and nachos best yum!

  8. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 5, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    I really wish there were a Moe’s closer to me. They’re around… but out of the way for sure.

    Hooray for salsa! And guac! And burritos! If I didn’t know better, I’d think this holiday was created for me. 🙂

  9. Kace May 5, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Love mexican food! The best is in Mexico though; I cruised the riveira three years ago, it was nice but cruising it is the way to go because it just seems safer.

  10. Katie H. May 5, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    No cinco de mayo celebrations for me! I had a conference today at work that had me up at 4:30 AM so I’m ass tired. Plus, non-alcoholic margaritas just aren’t the same. Have a real one for me!

    I went to Cancun for spring break my senior yeat in college. Looking back, my friends and I were idiots. I sure as heck won’t be doing that again!

  11. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl May 5, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    I need that burrito! Looks amazing!

  12. Heather (All Sizzle) May 5, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Your salsa looks soooo good! I totally forgot it was cinco de mayo. I should go whip up some queso asap!

  13. According to Gus May 6, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    I am so with you on Mexican food – I think I could survivive off chips, salsa and guacamole!

    We celebrated yesterday – but we call it Cinco de Gus. It was his gotcha day!

  14. Krista @ Journey to a Healthy Berg May 6, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    I’ve never been to Moe’s but this makes me want a burrito from Qdoba really bad!!

  15. BikiniBy30 May 16, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    I LOVE THREE AMIGOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love poor Jefe (aka Ugly Betty’s Dad). “I’m still here El Guapo!” (bang!)

    • simplyshaka May 16, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

      Omg I always knew Bettys dad looked familiar but I didn’t know why!

Leave a Reply

