How to kill time in a cubicle

26 Apr

I always wanted to have some free time at work. But now that they gave away my accounts, I have all the time in the world. So here is a little glimpse into my world and how I killed eight hours yesterday.

*Read about funny grammatical errors

*Then read that Jon Bon Jovi is opening up a community restaurant with “low-cost or no-cost meals to diners in exchange for volunteer work at the restaurant”?? Very cool I would definitely go there! But then I read about a restaurant in which Danielle Staub, Jake Pavelka, Heidi Montag and others are working at.  Yeah, no thank you.

*Walked around carrying files to trick other into thinking I was busy

*While walking around, got mad compliments on my new headband that I scored for $1.50 at CVS this weekend.

*Painted my nails

*Wondered if I went around to people who are making phone calls and give them manicures if I could make a profit?

*Then wondered, when did I become so pink obsessed?

Ok not exactly pink but in the same family

*And how I felt so old because I am having major arch problems in my feet and had to make a podiatrist appointment before my insurance ends on Saturday.

*Started to make a list of boys I kissed in college but get stumped after the first month of college

*Wondered if I can find Today’s Special on DVD

Does anyone else remember this show?

*Read magazines

* Thought about  Tyler Florence and how he  bears a striking resemblance to  Ewan McGregor, only more voluptuous (nothing wrong with that Tyler!!)

(source) 

(source)

*Cleaned out my wallet and checked balance on various gift cards hanging out in my wallet

*Cleaned out my purse and found random coupons that are still valid

*Wondered how a piece of cheese can taste so damn good

*Caught up on blogs

*Invaded my co-workers cubes to chit chat

*Soon realized that they still had work to do and didn’t have time to talk to me

*Took a lunch break

I haven’t been able to take a lunch break in awhile so I am enjoying this during my last week. I had a BOGO coupon for Rock Bottom that I wanted to use since I don’t know when I will be in the Uptown area of Charlotte after Friday. I grabbed one of my co-workers who I haven’t seen in awhile  and we sat outside and  talked about my plans and future adventures. I kind of blindsided her with the news of my last day but I didn’t want to tell her via im or email and wanted to see her before my last day.

Servers kept walking by and I would just stare at them as they passed by with plates of French fries. My friend would ask me if the guy was hot and I said “I have no clue, I’m just staring at the french fries” I gave up french fries for Lent and have been longing for them so all I wanted was to see some french fries in front of me. What seemed like forever, we finally got out food. I got the California Chicken Sandwich and half a plate of fries—mission accomplished!

It was great to catch up with her and she even picked up lunch since as she said “I probably won’t ever see you again” which ended up bringing me down since that’s probably a true statement. I told her I would give her my blog info though so she can keep track of my adventures!

*Visited my hippies and got produce for the week

All this for only $5.30! Which after work, I turned into a gorgeous Greek Salad topped with cooked tofu, onions and mushrooms with Athenos Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

*Went to Chick-Fil-A to redeem my coupon from the Chick-Fil-A calendar for the month of April

*Showed a little skin to score some fat free honey mustard and buffalo sauce

*Watched and listened to a serene waterfall in the heart of Uptown Charlotte while trying to find my chi

Then scooted out at 430pm to I could get home, a girl can only fit so much into a day!

How do you kill time on a slow day at work?

22 Responses to “How to kill time in a cubicle”

  1. Vixter2010 April 27, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    Hehe great time killng chick love it! Your lunch looked amazing you can’t beat chicken sandwich and chips 🙂 not long to go now, hang in there!

  2. Morgan April 27, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    I actually began reading blogs and blogging when I used to have slow days at work. They always thought I had so much to do, and though I would beg for more, I never got it. What they thought would take me all day I would fly through in an hour-I was soooo bored!
    I miss Rock Bottom. It used to be across the street from my law school, we had so much fun there!

  3. Lisa @ Fit in the Midwest April 27, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    Love this recap! Sounds like me–dreaming of doing other things while at work and wishing my days were only four hours long there.

    I love that headband!

    I remember being scared of that guy with the mustache on Today’s Special.

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 27, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    ahahaha… I love that you painted your nails.

    I get all my online stuff done. Bills… reading… shopping… shhhhh….

  5. dianacheung April 27, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    i read blogs and browse bananarepublic.com hahahaha. Anyways, french fries are dangerous..that and chips…those are the things I try not to take a bite of cause once I start, I can’t stop! Anyways glad you are having an ADHD week at work!! We need to twitter party it up during the royal wedding!

  6. dianacheung April 27, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    ps. that damn mannequin was my first crush!!!! And remember how little the mouse’s house was?

  7. According to Gus April 27, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Loved this post – that will soon be me and I CAN’T WAIT!!!

    For being not busy – you sure had a full day!

  8. christina April 27, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    hahah i love this. love all the chickfila crap. you know you can use those coupons whenever right? it doesn’t have to be the designated month. 🙂

  9. leashieloo April 27, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    I am so glad to know that I am not the only one painting her nails at her desk! My job is either a flurry of activity or a lot of downtime, so coming up with ways to occupy myself is a skill in itself. I also play random games like, “can I make it to the restroom so stealthily, that no one sees me?” Yes, I am an adult.

  10. Rach @ This Italian Family April 27, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    :O! You got that headband for $1.50 at CVS?? It is SO cute! Looks like I need to stop by my local CVS soon. 😉

    Mmm… Chick Fil A… delish!

  11. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle April 27, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    Oh I just swooned over that picture of Ewan McGregor. The dirty things I would do to him. He is def in my 5 (you know, 5 celebrities you could bang without repercussion when you’re in a relationship).

  12. Carly April 27, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    I love reading blogs and finding new recipes! Gah, now you have me craving some Chick-Fil-A!

  13. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg April 27, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Haha…I am so watching the Jake/Heidi reality show if it happens.

  14. Monique April 27, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    considering that i have been told my internet access at work is borderlining excessive i have been counting tiles on the walls.
    and actually doing work.

    still interviewing roommies UGH!

    miss you

  15. Karla April 27, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Lady, you are styling! Cute all over!

    You have no idea how much I wish I had ketchup packets! I might have to sneak into a McDonald’s to steal some because the work cafeteria only give you ketchup if you order fries and I’m not about to fall for that.

  16. MelissaNibbles April 27, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    I love Ewan and I paint my nails at work too!

  17. Elin @andserenitytoo April 27, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    waaa your last week!!! 🙂 So exciting!! Looks like you managed to be really productive though 😉
    The chicken sandwich looks so delicious…

  18. Laury April 27, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    You are TOO funny. I work on the road so I am not at a desk all day but this waiting for the baby to come thing hs me SO bored! I will need to use some of your time passing tricks 🙂

  19. janetha April 27, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Dude, cubicle manicures could be a legit job! Or pedicures. I would pay good money for that while I was at work!

  20. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl April 27, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Love this! And I need that headband! OMG! So cute!

    If I ever get a bit of free time, I always check out people.com and check blogs! 🙂

  21. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 27, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    YOU ROCK! I just hunted down that ulta coupon and printed it! I had no idea it existed!!!! =) LOVE LOVE LOVE your headband and necklace! can i borrow it ? 😉 hehe

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Temp « Simply Shaka - August 10, 2011

    […] really need to take some pointers of my own of how to kill time in a cubicle. Only except not in a cubicle, how to kill time while working a temp job. One of my friends is a […]

Leave a Reply

