31 & loving the Biebs

17 Apr

Can someone tell me why they moved me to the food cube at work? Seriously, we used to keep all the food in the cube I’m occupying for the next two weeks and there is even food art on the wall! I have some extra cushioning attached to bum so they probably know I like to eat but this is ridiculous.

I’ll admit, I do get a little hungry while glancing over to the white board of food, except for the spaghetti with flies hanging around it.

But at least there is some healthy foods like fruit

And there is even sushi on the wall!

Which led to me to go out for sushi on Friday night. I had a $40 Living Social deal for Akahana Asian Bistro which I went to for the first time last month. I wasn’t too impressed by their service when I went but their sushi was tasty and $40 can buy you alot of sushi! When we got there, we saw a special for $1 domestic beers and that was a sign we were supposed to be there. $1 anything wins my heart and when it comes in the form of Yuengling, game over. When our server came up, he told us that ALL rolls were Buy One, Get One free as opposed to Tuesdays and Thursdays like they used to do. I got overly excited because of the $40 we had to blow through then he told us we couldn’t get the BOGO rolls with the Living Social deal. Thank God I asked beforehand because I could have seen us ordering eight rolls then after our bellies were full finding out that the BOGO didn’t apply.

We started off with edamame

And naturally, $1 beers

Then the feast of sushi came out. Well not really. To stay around the $40 mark we ordered three rolls and sadly, it wasn’t enough food for the two of us. I love that I have friends who love food as much as I do.

On the left is the Florida Roll

This was my favorite roll because it was very spicy and loaded with spicy tuna.

In the middle is the Mt. Fuji Roll

This was my least favorite roll. In theory it sounded good but the mango and the sweet sauce was too much for me. It was more of a dessert sushi roll than anything.

On the right is the Sweet Romeo Roll (I got this last time and loved it!)

It was eel fest with the eel topping and eel sauce-so delicious, plus the tempura flakes gave it a nice crunch.

Afterwards, we went to Bistro La Bon to meet up with my friends friends for dessert. I got some strawberry thingamabob with fresh strawberries, phyllo dough, strawberry puree and whipped cream. Seriously, I am calling it the strawberry thingamabob because our somewhat snippy waitress didn’t give us a name for what it was.

Saturday was full of running errands and by 2P I was dragging. Then I remembered I had only had one coffee and that was around 8A. I usually have three coffees in the morning so I needed some Starbucks loving and my friend and I went and sat out on the patio and enjoyed a cool, java drink.

Yes, love.

 Thank God I got some coffee flowing in my veins because Saturday night was a friends 40th birthday party

Why hello though red velvet cake

There were tons of people there and one dog who was all dressed up for the party.

This is Buffy. I was trying to get her to commit to being Lincoln’s bitch but wasn’t sure if Lincoln would like her or not. He is into voluptuous girls but has a case of the jungle fever

And Bieber balloons!

I must find these for my own home!

But then again, being a single 31-year-old woman with a house full of Bieber balloons possibly treads the waters of being creepy. On the other hand, that could be my hook for landing my own tv show called “31 & Loving the Biebs” They could follow me around and I can profess my love for the Biebs and his talent. I would sing his songs and know every word (which is a lie, I know only two songs of his and some of the words), tell them every single fact there is to know about the Biebs (which I know nothing about him except he is from Canada and has good hair) and talk about my love for him (which is also a lie since I like him but there is no absolute, dying love for him). Maybe one day on the show I would be able to meet the Biebs and I can be one of those ultra emotional women who start crying when he starts singing. After typing all of this, I am going to start using this when I meet creepy men at the bar! No normal men wanna hear about the Biebs right??

No worries though, for now I will like the Bieber from afar for I am a sucker for a Canadian man with good hair.

(source)

I’m kinda tempted to roll into work on my last day donning this and pajama jeans

(source)

Back to the party though, it was fun but I get paranoid about driving home so I left early and called it a night. It was a good time indeed.

I woke up super early today because that’s how I roll on Sundays. I hate that I can never sleep in on Sunday mornings because nothing opens until noon or so. I got to the YMCA before the doors opened and found a Precor AMT right away. I thought there would be a mad rush of people there when they opened but it was on the empty side which is a huge change of pace.

 I kicked a$$ during my workout:

35 minutes on the Precor AMT with resistance ranging from 9 to 13

bicep curls (12.5 lbs 12 reps x 2 sets)

Tricep pushdowns (15 lbs 13 reps  x 4 sets)

Tricep extensions (15 lbs 13 reps x 3 sets)

Lateral raise (12.5 lbs 12 reps x 2 sets)

Side bends (25 lbs 25 reps x 2 sets)

Chest press (20 lbs 13 reps x 3 sets)

I did all of that within an hour and was instantly energized from it. I came home and made a smoothie with coconut milk, chia seeds, blackberries and Spirutein Blueberries & Cream protein powder then got ready to meet up with a friend for lunch.

We went to Tavern on The Tracks since I had a BOGO coupon and you know, the frugal thing with me. I love my friends who respect my couponing and don’t mind going to their first choice place in lieu of saving a few bucks. It was an absolutely gorgeous day in Charlotte so we found a seat on the patio which was bumping since there was only one table available. Then we figured out why that table was available….it was right next to the speakers with a dude about to start singing. Now, I am all for music. Especially on a gorgeous day but when the area is 25×25 feet, if that, do you really need two speakers? Answer:No. My friend and I barely spoke during our meal because we couldn’t hear anything and we were just in a rush to get out of there as soon as we were done so the ringing in our ears would stop. I got a fabulous black and bleu burger out of it though with homemade chips

Bad Catholic of me to ask but if you give something up for Lent, can you eat it again starting on Easter Sunday or the Monday after? I gave up french fries and could not want them more right now. Chips with a burger is not as fulfilling as a hot, salty order of french fries, just sayin’.

So that was my weekend in a nutshell. I feel like I did a lot but didn’t get alot done, go figure.

Biebs-Love him or hate him?

41 Responses to “31 & loving the Biebs”

  1. fitinthemidwest April 17, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Great job on the workout! Love when I feel energized from my workout like that.

    Your starbucks pic made me want a huge iced coffee so badly. I am craving them but because it’s flippin freezing here, I can’t justify iced coffee yet. Boo.

    Haven’t had sushi in ages and that also looked yummy.

    Have a great week–I am not looking forward to getting back to the office, but I just hope the week flies by quickly.

    • simplyshaka April 18, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      I have a good feeling about this wk, I think it’s gonna go fast. Let’s hope I’m right!

      I hope you get some warmer weather soon, it was 80 here this wknd and just what I needed.

  2. shelby April 17, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Your office-people drew all of that with white board pens? That’s pretty cool.

    • simplyshaka April 18, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      Yeah, apparently they don’t have a lot of work to do but I respect the work.

  3. Ashleigh April 17, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Looks like a fun weekend! I wouldn’t survive in the food cube! Is there still food in it? There are 2 people in my office who have candy bowls and I am sandwiched between the two of them… I hate it!!

    • simplyshaka April 18, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

      We used to have the candy bowl people but none in my new area. I kinda miss it! Thank God all the food is gone, it’s now adorned with fresh veggies and fruit I bring it, they hate it!

  4. Carly April 17, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    That sushi looks so good! Makes me hungry! And Biebs – I love. I listen to his latest album when I need a guilty pleasure!

    • simplyshaka April 18, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

      I havent heard it yet but I’m on the waiting list at the library for it.

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 17, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    We always say that as soon as it’s Easter, you’re allowed. Or when my mom gives up candy, it’s pretty much as soon as we get back from Easter vigil mass that saturday night… 😉

    I think the food cube is hilarious.

    • simplyshaka April 18, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

      Sweet, so I can go out Saturday night then get some drunk food involving french fries? Works for me!

  6. One Healthy Apple April 17, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    Um, why am I leaving your blog wanting sushi, iced coffee, and red velvet cake all at the same time?!

    Fabulous job on your workout- holy calorie burn, girl!

  7. genesis April 17, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    biebs – disgusting..lol, yet i sing along with his songs. so disturbing.

  8. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) April 18, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    That sushi and red velvet made my cake water. I don’t mind the biebs, he EARNED his fame. I like that.

  9. vixter2010 April 18, 2011 at 5:37 am #

    Biebs = no. Don’t get it – he’s a little boy and his songs aren’t great although I found the Glee episode on him hilarious. That burger has made me hungry 🙂

    • simplyshaka April 18, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

      WHAT??? There is a Glee episode centered around him?? I am soooo behind on the Glee!

  10. Elin @andserenitytoo April 18, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    No Beebs for me… (Beebs sr. seems nicer actually, haha)
    Fun pictures on the whiteboard, though I agree that the fly-spaghetti looks not so yummy!

    • simplyshaka April 18, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

      Ohhh, I’ve never seen Senor Biebs, I must google!!

  11. Natalie @ will jog for food April 18, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    Cheers to being 31, oh yeah!!!

    The red velvet looks so good! And the sushi….eel is one of my favs.

  12. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg April 18, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    Haha…any party with Bieber balloons and a dog in a party dress is automatically awesome.

    Fun weekend!

  13. dianacheung April 18, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    i like how we are getting punished at work by them giving us the left overs now that we are leaving…hahah the food cube? oh well 2 weeks left honey!! Glad you had a great weekend…too bad the restaurants all had something wrong with them! Either way I heart the Biebs but hope he doesn’t get involved with DRUGS when he gets older and washed up

    • simplyshaka April 18, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

      Me either, prayers going out to the Biebs. I just want a normal life for him!!

  14. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle April 18, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    I love him and I’m not afraid to admit it. I love teenager shows and listen to young pop music, I’m not afraid!

  15. According to Gus April 18, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    31 & Loving the Biebs.

    Greatest idea ever. 🙂

  16. Euniece[innerpeacehealthytreats&runningfeet] April 18, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    im loving your strawberry thingamabob!! and I AM IN LOVE WITH JUSTIN BIEBER! its true the doctor diagnosed me with having bieber fever!

  17. Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles April 18, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    LOVE Yuengling! 🙂

    As for the Biebs – I’m pretty neutral. I don’t ADORE him, but I don’t loathe him either!

    • simplyshaka April 18, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      Thats one of the beers I missed when I lived on the west coast! When I came back East I was stoked to be able to get it everywhere again!

  18. OliePants April 18, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Gah – I could go for one of those rolls right now! I love your love of sushi. 🙂

  19. janetha April 18, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    ahahah, strawberry thingamabob totally works! i love it. i am craving some sushi after seeing it left and right on blog posts today. i can’t stand justin bieber. i love that photo of you lovin’ up on your java!

  20. lowandbhold April 18, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    The strawberry thingamabob looks awesome. So does the sushi, as usual.

  21. Laury @thefitnessdish April 18, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    Fun week! you’re making me miss beer…and you’re cracking me up with the Bieber Fever 😉 I guess you gotta love the Biebs though, right?

    Sushi…so amazing….makes me so thirsty though

  22. Monique April 19, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    i love me some beiber…but dont tell anyone, k?

  23. Lisa (I'm an Okie) April 19, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Go see his movie, Never Say Never, and your love will only grow. I mean, it’s in 3d. He is practically TOUCHING you. ahh.

    Love him.

  24. adrianna April 19, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    mixed on the biebs…hes cute, catchy tunes, and yes, fantabulous hair. cant understand the complete and utter obsession from the youngins though.

    easter sunday you get to go crazy chic! fries galore! i was a bad catholic and gave up nothing. i knew i couldnt do it, which is uber weak.

  25. terri April 20, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    lol. dying on the justin bieber thing. i guess that makes you sort of a cougar or something??!!?? lol.
    i love that you use all your BOGO and other coupons! i dont like to go out to eat anywhere without a coupon!
    and lastly, you kick ass on your calorie burning! way to go!

  26. leashieloo April 22, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    OMG, that strawberry cake!!!! That is my favorite kind of cake, ughhh I would kill for a piece of that!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quick Fix « Simply Shaka - April 18, 2011

    […] it seems like we are equally divided on the Bieber. Some of us love, love, love him while others are not so fond of the Biebs. I’m secretly […]

Leave a comment