Frugal Friday 4.15.11

15 Apr

Happy Friday all! The sun is out and it’s finally getting warm here, it is a wonderful Frugal Friday indeed!

Some deals of the week for me:

 I received an email from Qdoba with an offer for free chips and queso or chips and guacamole on April 13 only

We have a Qdoba in our building at work so I took a break from my work to go down there and grab this freebie. Apparently, everyone else was also there to get their free food but I didn’t mind waiting. It gave me some time to get away from work and of course, see my forbidden fruit hot Qdoba boy, he is just too cute. I got a big bag of chips, side of queso and a large diet coke for only $2.06

 I love countering hot cheese and fried chips with a Diet Coke, it’s the little things that count right?

On Saturday, I used a Groupon for The Brow Bar at South Park Mall. I had some furry caterpillars above my eyes for some time so a threading was in order. I first tried threading six or seven years ago in some hood mall in Indianapolis and it was only $7. I could definitely be down for personal grooming  at a discount like that. But then I moved to Charlotte and saw all the places offered threading…..but for outrageous prices like $20 on average. Hell, I could take a course on threading, open up a salon and make a killing with prices like that! However, being the frugal girl I am, I refused to pay that much. I’ve heard about the Brow Bar through friends and they said it was pretty cheap-around $12 for a threading which isn’t horrible but more than I would like to pay. Groupon had a deal of the day for The Brow Bar a few weeks ago for a threading session for eyebrows for only $6 so I jumped on that.

I bought two so I could enjoy one right away then at another time. It’s located at a kiosk in the middle of the mall so there are people walking by as you get your brows done  but that didn’t bother me too much. It took less than 10 minutes to get them done and the woman didn’t even make a snarky remark about the horrible shape my brows were in so all in all, it was a super experience. Hooray shapeups!

I went to Harris Teeter shortly after to grab some milk and passed by this beauty of a sale

I don’t make chicken leg quarters on a regular basis but over five pounds of chicken for $2.69? Sign me up!

Dannon Greek Yogurts were on sale for $1 plus I have a coupon for $1 off of 3 containers so I got 3/$2

 

I found strawberries on sale for $1.25 as well so grabbed a container to eat throughout the week and add to my smoothies

To top it all off, the hippie fruit people are finally out again until September! I love their produce because their stuff is so cheap and I love supporting local farmers. I got all of this for only $7.30

Some savings for you:

Sign up for Bob Evans Be-Mail and get a coupon for buy one Bob Evans Side Dish, get one free coupon!

Get a $2 Baja Bowl at Baja Fresh!

Click here for a $1 off Kashi cereal or snack product

Gluten free? Click here to get $1 off any Udi’s product!

Last but not least, this is for next Friday 4.22—bring a reusable cup into Starbucks and get a coffee or tea for free!

Do you pluck, wax or thread your eyebrows?

Do you go to farmers markets to get your produce?

16 Responses to “Frugal Friday 4.15.11”

  1. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl April 16, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    You have some great deals today! I love going to farmer’s markets for produce! In my opinion, there is no better way to spend a Saturday morning than at a farmer’s market! I’m patiently waiting for mine to start again next month!!

  2. Diana@mymarblerye April 16, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    How the f! Is that chicken so cheap?! I thread my eyebrows but I’m like 5 months overdue!

  3. Carly April 16, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    I just got back from the Farmer’s Market! I love walking around and getting fresh, local fruits and veggies – for cheap! One of my favorite weekend activities.

  4. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) April 16, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    I love your frugal Friday posts! I also love produce from farmers markets!

  5. lookingupwhileslimmingdown April 16, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    I’m a plucker, i’m weirded out by the threading!
    My Harris Teeter never has deals like that! I feel like ours is expensive so rarely go there. Good deal on the chicken, though I never cook with meat on a bone. I’m weird, I know. The closest I get is buying a rotisserie chicken. Great deal on the veggies! Our Farmers Market opens up in a couple weeks. Can’t wait to check it out!

  6. thefitacademic April 16, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Wow some great deals! I was my eyebrows, but I’ve been doing it for a decade now so I rarely have to go because the hair has basically stopped growing! haha, i guess that’s what happens when you wax a lot as a teenager!

  7. According to Gus April 16, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    I pluck!

    I love all your Groupon posts…finally, someone as obsessed with Groupon as me! We’re using one tomorrow and I know what we’re getting as an app…queso!!!

  8. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 16, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    hehe between the two of us we’re saving blog land mucho monies! =) hooray!!!

    I totally want to get my eyebrows done with threading…. it sounds kind of cool! =)

  9. Suzy Eats April 16, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    sounds like some great deals! i thread my eyebrows. LOVE it.

  10. Lisa @ Fit in the Midwest April 16, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    I’ve never tried threading but have always wanted to. Lord only knows how badly my eyebrows need it right now too!

    Thanks for the tip about Starbucks on 4/22. I am looking forward to taking a walk there during work to get mine! 🙂

    I try to go to the farmer’s market as much as possible in the summer and fall to get our produce. I always feel so good about buying from there vs. the grocery store.

  11. bakebooks April 17, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    Money off Chips?! That’s as good as it gets 🙂

    Love the berries -so red and ripe! All the berries around here suck 😦 I bit into some very “prun-y” blueberries this evening – bah.

  12. Surrey gal April 17, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    I burnt nachos last night… :/

  13. Elin @andserenitytoo April 17, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    Frugal week indeed! (had to google eyebrow threading though, one beautificationally challenged girl here haha)
    I wish we had farmers market here… not that there’s much you can grow in Sweden except oats and potatoes though (*bitterness*)

  14. Ashleigh April 17, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    I have never done the threading thing- does it hurt?! I get my eyebrows waxed once a month… I hate it, it hurts sooo much!

    • simplyshaka April 18, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

      I don’t think it hurts, it’s definitely less painful than waxing. It’s like a tickling feeling going on and the only part that hurts for me is when they are doing the lower brow area closest to my eyelid.

  15. Monique April 19, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    i love hipsters!

    And threading here is cheap. I think the most i ever paid was $8.

Leave a Reply

