Can you smell the balls I’m cooking?

13 Apr

You all rock. Thanks so much for the words of encouragement on yesterday’s post. I cried when I read some since they were so sweet and I am very emotional as of late and I hate that some of you are going through the same thing or have but it’s nice to know I’m not the only one out there. Something funkalicious is in the air! Again, you all? Rock!

Mmmmm, the Rock. Tasty.

Today was a better day at work and it went by quickly. Mostly due to the fact I spent the morning moving desks. I have two more weeks at work and I had to move since some new chick is taking my spot next week, which really makes no sense. Oh well, that was a way for me to kill two hours without calling angry people. These people are just unpredictable. They either love me or hate! I had some guy go off on me today then the next call one guy asked me out for drinks. You know, if I am ever in Jersey and want to go out for martinis with a 60 something year old man. 

A good portion of my day was spent checking out this site—That Can Be My Next Tweet

I don’t even know what this means but I’m kinda addicted to the site!

I made a blogger recipe I’ve been eyeing for the past two months–Quinoa Pizza Balls! Such a perfect recipe to try in my attempt to go through my feedbag of quinoa and make something zesty! Anna posts the most interesting recipes that are veggie free however she is one of the blogs I have to read on a full stomach so I always have to time it right when I read her blog!

Plus, cmon, who doesn’t like saying “I cooked up a batch of balls tonight!?”

I didn’t have any fresh basil so I subbed some extra parsley and used red pepper flakes as well to get it some heat

I laid them over whole wheat thin spaghetti with sautéed mushrooms for a quick meal

The verdict? Ballerific! I love this as a substitute for heavy, fatty meatballs and they were better than I expected. I am not a huge kidney bean kind of girl but you really couldn’t take them and they took on the taste of the spices. Next time I will make these, I am going to make with basil as well since I think that would make the flavor pop a little more. If you want a meat free alternative, you need to make these. Thanks for sharing Anna!!

Maybe one of these I’ll finally make some cake balls.

But I think making cake balls would be the end of me.I go to Starbucks every day and the cake pops sit there and mock me.

I didn’t want to get off the couch tonight but peeled myself off the couch and went to the gym. I did 30 minutes on the Precor AMT along with leg press (240 lbs 13 reps x 3 sets) and leg extensions (80 lbs 13 reps x 3 sets). I’m happy I got off my butt for a quick workout and timed it just perfectly so I could catch some of the Real Housewives of New York and Orange County!

What are your favorite balls to make?

Watching tv while working out-yay or nay?

34 Responses to “Can you smell the balls I’m cooking?”

  1. Miriam April 13, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    You had me at Real Housewives. Fortunately, my gym has Bravo…not gonna lie, I schedule times on the elliptical when they’re showing repeats during the day 🙂

  2. Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles April 13, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    I’ve been meaning to make those pizza balls – I have it bookmarked. Yours turned out really well!

    • simplyshaka April 14, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      Thanks, they were delicious-you must try them soon!

  3. vixter2010 April 14, 2011 at 5:16 am #

    Mmm cake balls are tempting me!

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 14, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    Cake balls are definitely dangerous… they’re bite size- so I end up eating way more than I plan on. Happens every time… (oops)

    I really can’t watch tv when working out unless I’ve slowed it down to a walk. It’s a matter of concentration (it’s hard enough for me to concentrate as-is!).

    • simplyshaka April 14, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      I trip over my own feet….sober…so I know what you mean.

  5. dianacheung April 14, 2011 at 7:29 am #

    aren’t we weird? We can’t wait to leave our job but I’m getting all sorts of “DON’T INVADE MY TERRITORY B*TCH” to the new hire…I’m psycho. And HELL YEAH i watch tv when I work out…but actually I started this thing is probably super bad for my eyes: i read GOSSIP MAGS…by the time I’m through with an usweekly it’s 40 minutes already!

    • simplyshaka April 14, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      Exactly, isn’t it crazy?? I don’t wanna see who the skank taking my cube is. Because I call every girl invading my space a skank, she’s a total space skank!

      I wish I could reach and do that–are you running, biking or walking while reading? I used to do the stationary bike and read but walking and reading dont jive well in my world.

  6. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg April 14, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    Yay! Glad you liked them! Who *doesn’t* like cooking with balls?!? 🙂

  7. MelissaNibbles April 14, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Best title of a post EVER. I want those balls in my mouth.

  8. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle April 14, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Turkey meatballs! I just love balls in general. <— TWSS

    I like to watch TV when I'm on the treadmill only, I prefer to be outside otherwise or watching the instructor when I'm in spin class…but TV on the treadmill is a MUST.

  9. This Italian Family April 14, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Ooh those pizza balls look really yummy!

    And that next tweet website is addicting! Haha! I just got:

    Oh my 10K race on our kitchen counter to do recipe before I know how true this weekend! : Haha!

    What that means, I don’t know, but it’s funny! 🙂

  10. Monique April 14, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    I love making turkey sausage meat balls with sweet basil marinara. but those balls look mighty tasty!
    glad to hear you are feeling a little better! xoxoxx

  11. genesis April 14, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    your balls look amazing….LMAO. no seriously they do.

    because i dont do the gym and cant simultaneously watch tv and my exercise tv, ill have to say no on watching tv during a workout but my music is a MUST!

    • simplyshaka April 14, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      Agreed-I don’t know how people run without music, it’s the one thing that always keeps me going. I will usually watch tv with the subtitles on but listen to my music as well.

  12. Erin April 14, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    I have a huge thing of quinoa that I need to use. Perfect excuse for it now!

  13. bigcitybabycarrots April 14, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Happy you had a better day. If you make cake balls, post what you did – mine came out a mess.

    • simplyshaka April 14, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Thanks! I remember your experiment, they still looked tasty though, even if they weren’t traditional beautiful.

  14. OliePants April 14, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    I can smell the balls!!! 🙂 I’m glad you feel better today btw. I do want to try my hands at some cake balls. Yummy!

    • simplyshaka April 14, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Thanks girl, we should have a cake ball-a-thon!

  15. Monique April 14, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    oh my this post made me giggle… inappropriately of course. Reminds me of the Delightful Dish “show” on SNL with Alec Baldwin… I love how your balls glisten. I can’t help but notice one of your balls is misshapen.

    CLASSIC. Anyways, those do look pretty freakin tasty though! “I can’t wait to get my mouth around your balls.” Ok, I’m stopping now hahhaa. I think I’m going to have to go back and watch that skit 🙂

  16. Katie H. April 14, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    I’ve never made balls, sadly. I tried the tiramisu cake pop at sbux and it was eh. Not a fan. Also, thanks for the link to that site- hilarious!

    • simplyshaka April 14, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      Thanks very depressing, I would imagine it would be terrific!

  17. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl April 14, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Those balls look amazing!!! (That’s what she said! :))

    I love making cake pops…they are pretty easy and they always taste AMAZING!!!

    • simplyshaka April 14, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      I can imagine! I need to make a batch but I need to do it before I leave work so I can bring some in for my coworkers.

  18. BikiniBy30 April 15, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    I need those balls.

    That beautiful Dessert First chick was on The Nate Berkus show recently and made cookie dough ball truffles. She will be the death of me.

  19. Ashleigh April 17, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Quinoa pizza balls?!??! I need to make those ASAP!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So I smile « Simply Shaka - April 14, 2011

    […] we have some ball lovers up in this piece huh? I love it. As Monique commented, all I could think about while making the […]

Leave a Reply

