it’s over already?

3 Apr

 Sigh, where did this weekend go? I feel like I barely even had a weekend and most definitely am not ready to go back to work tomorrow. I think I’m in good company though since I keep reading tweets from others in the same predicament. I wish I could say this weekend was exciting and a lot went on but not so much. This was a catch up weekend from last to get errands out-of-the-way  and most importantly, lounge.

I had some good workouts on both Saturday and Sunday so I feel like I accomplished something positive this weekend

On Saturday night, I made Janetha’s Brown Sugar Lemon Coated chicken. I have so many dishes I want to try from reading blogs on the daily and am finally starting to get organized with them. Thank God for Google Reader for helping me keep track of  recipes I want to try, I may have too many to keep track of at this point but at least I have them saved!

The chicken turned out great, I loved the flavor and it was a fun way to mix up a chicken dish. I forgot to dissolve the xanthan in water so the sauce turned out a little stickier  than expected and was more gel like than anything but still tasty. As she said in her post, it is a bit time-consuming but definitely a winner of a dinner.

I had a salad on the side with dressing I’ve never tried before–Annie’s Green Goddess.

Lincoln was all about this meal as well, he sat down and just stared at me like a good boy.

Please don’t judge me by how dirty my rug is–I don’t own a vacuum!

And about one minute after this picture was taken, I took him into the bedroom. Sometimes he will just sit there and watch me eat then inch his way closer to me, it’s a bit awkward.

I met with a friend for lunch today at Lucky Lou’s. It was perfect outside and I felt guilty about being inside on such a gorgeous day so we sat on their patio and enjoy $20 worth of food for $10

Amd she brought me homemade chocolate chip cookies–how sweet!

I’m going to try to have some portion control around these since three are already gone, they were so tasty!

My friend got the Fish & Chips. When the server brought hers out, I just stared at it since it seemed like one of the biggest pieces of fish I’ve ever seen.

Seriously, what kind of steroids was that fish on?

I got the Black & Bleu Steak Salad

This was just what I needed on a warm day! It’s been ages since I’ve had a steak salad so it was nice to welcome it back into my life. The candied pecans and bleu cheese were the stars of this salad. This place recently changed names and I only been to this place when it was previously Fairview Grill so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I love that they have a patio area and a variety of dishes on their menu– I will definitely be going here again!

Sunday dinner was yet another blogger dish–Heather’s Carrot Latkes. Pretty much every single recipe that she posts is starred on my Google Reader and I thought this one looked interesting and different. Would I really enjoy carrot cakes/latkes? I guess we would see.

I used Cloister Honey Arbol Pepper to top the latkes with

Wow, these were absolutely fantastic. I will admit, I was a bit skeptical since carrot was the main ingredient, I didn’t think they would satisfy me as much as they did.  They were crispy on the outside, soft on the inside and you can top or dip with any kind of sauce. Thanks Heather for posting this recipe!

And just a note, Lincoln was equally intrigued with this dish as I was, I swear the dog follows me everywhere.

Ok, so I’m literally yawning typing this out and reading how boring this post is. So, if you’ve made it this far–thanks for hanging in there. Sorry I couldn’t come through with something interesting but it was a pretty lame weekend.

Tell me something fun about your weekend!

Do you use Google Reader?

32 Responses to “it’s over already?”

  1. vixter2010 April 4, 2011 at 3:04 am #

    This weekend flew by I hate that! Why can’t we have 3 day weekends?!! That fish is immense and the cookies look amazing 🙂 your dog is hilarious he looks so big eyed watching you eat lol. I usually get posts emailed to me instead of Google reader I’m not sure how to use it 🙂

    • simplyshaka April 4, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      Girl, you must try it, it will change your blog reading experience 🙂 They have a nice little demo when you sign up, I highly recommend!

      I am all for a three day wknd, I would be so much more productive-both at work and personal.

  2. Karla April 4, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    My weekend flew by too! Boo no fun!! Sadly I was sick all day yesterday and didn’t leave my bed. I’m bummed I didn’t get to enjoy the sunshine!
    I am obsessed with google reader! I love that you can share things with friends and comment!

  3. Ally @ Sweet & Savory April 4, 2011 at 6:11 am #

    So did you like the Green Goddess dressing? I’ve heard a lot of good reviews about it…

    • simplyshaka April 4, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      Oh I forgot to mention it–oops! I liked it lots–it’s very refreshing. I’ve never tried Green Goddess dressing before but liked it because while the flabor wasn’t overwhelming it added a different flavor to the salad.

  4. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg April 4, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    I lurrrrrrve that dressing!!! So good!

    Ugh, can’t believe the weekend is over either. Too fast, for sure!

  5. dianacheung April 4, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    damn girl. those workouts are calorie burners!! Sounds like you had a relaxing weekend!! Lincoln just loves your attention!! hahaha. Mine was full or running errands!

  6. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 4, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    Ok… it must just be a diner/pub thing. Because never in my life do I see fish that size except for there. They must have a hookup. Probably get them on a discount outside of an area with nuclear testing… (too soon?)

    • simplyshaka April 4, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      LOL, I would have said the same thing 😉

  7. wow that piece of fish is ginormous!!!! and your carrot latkes look so so yummy!!! this weeekend did just fly by!!! this year is just flying by in general!

    • simplyshaka April 4, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      Amen sister, I can’t believe it’s almost summer time!!

  8. Krista @ Journey to a Healthy Berg April 4, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    I would go crazy without my Google Reader..how in the world would I keep track of like the 42 blogs that I read all the time?!

    Great job on the work-outs!

  9. Monique April 4, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    I love google reader! how would i keep up with the 100+ blogs! no joke.
    I shoo mickey away when im eating- its a bad habit of hers to just STARE at me as I eat.
    I had a crazy weekend as you can tell from my check ins. And today im going on a party bus with the Yelp Elite crew for Bar crawl… lord help me.

    • simplyshaka April 4, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      Hooray–I can’t wait to hear about the bus ride 🙂

  10. genesis April 4, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    ok so ill be honest but i seriously dislike annies dressings. i tried most of them and dont see what the hype is…but to each their own.

    i definitely use GR to read over the ones i dont really comment on, and as for those that are my faves (like yours) i open in a new window to read and comment.

    • simplyshaka April 4, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      I never tried any of them before mostly b/c they are too expensive but I got that bottle for $1.89 so I was willing to take a chance.

      You’re too sweet 🙂

  11. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle April 4, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    I love Google Reader! Discovering it changed my life and made everything so much easier. I “star” things all the time to make, otherwise I would completely forget about them.

    • simplyshaka April 4, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

      Your eggplant manicotti will be starred until I find a good eggplant or two!

  12. janetha @ meals & moves April 4, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    I am the same way and have like 800 posts starred in google reader with recipes I want to make!!! It is handy when searching for something since you can just type in some ingredient you have on hand.

    Glad you made and liked the chicken–YUM I need to make it again soon.

    Great job on the workouts! As always, love Linky.

  13. According to Gus April 4, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    I would go crazy without Google Reader!

  14. Jen April 4, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Great job on the workouts!!

  15. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl April 4, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    The chicken you made looks amazing! And those carrot latkes…I must try them soon! WOW! Sounds like you had a weekend full of great eats!

  16. Amanda April 4, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    I have a crap ton of carrots from our CSA this week so I’ll have to try making those pancakes. YUM!

    This weekend flew by for me too. All I did was type up my paper. I’m so over it!

  17. Katie @ peacebeme April 4, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    I don’t use a Google Reader. Most of the blogs I visit just using my memory. 🙂 But I want to try out the google reader so I don’t miss anybody. I don’t really know how to set it up yet though.

    I had a nice weekend with my fiance. We drove up into the mountains and it was so peaceful. 🙂

    • simplyshaka April 4, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      Google Reader will change your life! You just add the blogs to your subscription feed and it updates automatically of new blog posts, you must try it!

      I felt serene reading that you had a lovely drive, sounds like a nice way to spend some time during the wknd.

  18. Suzy Eats April 4, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    looks like you had great workouts. how do you like that watch?? pretty accurate??

    • simplyshaka April 4, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      I love it but my only gripe with it is that it doesn’t measure distance for walks/runs. But besides that it’s been spot on and I like how it keeps track of your workouts so you can look at the history for the past week to see how many calories you’ve burned and how much you’ve worked out.

  19. This Italian Family April 4, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I love fish ‘n chips so much and your friend’s looks amazing! It’s making me hungry, haha! 🙂

    Hehe… Lincoln is so cute! I love that he inches closer to you while you eat!

  20. what katie's baking April 5, 2011 at 12:41 am #

    weekends are WAY too short…sucks!!
    i looove google reader.. it’s the bomb!!
    awesome workouts and great food! those cookies look super tempting!

  21. MelissaNibbles April 5, 2011 at 4:43 am #

    The fish and chips are insane! I want them.
    I have a ton of carrots to use up. This recipe would be perfect. Thanks to you and Heather!

  22. Ashley @ the fit academic April 6, 2011 at 1:02 am #

    Wow! I would be ALL OVER those risotto balls, too! : )

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Occupying the night « Simply Shaka - April 7, 2011

    […] this week has been a long one, which is weird since this weekend went by so quickly. Days have been dragging on at work and I am getting everything finalized there. […]

Leave a Reply

