Road reflections

28 Mar

*Marvin Gaye puts Lincoln to sleep. I’m not exaggerating when I say we listened to Marvin for a good two hours so Lincoln would stay asleep

*And the Spice Girls perk him back up

*It’s very sad that Marvin Gaye’s own father killed him yet another artist to go too early.

*While driving through WV, I was trying to think of the governors name when I was in college. I kept thinking it was Cecil Fielder

Um, it was Cecil Underwood. No resemblance whatsoever.

*I wish there was some sort of contraption that would tell you where the other cars that are driving beside you are going, I’m always curious about that

* I stopped at three Sheetz on the drive back. I was three Sheetz to the wind! We don’t have any in Charlotte so I figured I might as well get my fill in and I scored some really good creamers.

You can’t take me anywhere

*I think cars should be offered two-way radios,  I wanna chat with my neighboring cars!

*Seeing the snow-covered hills of West Virginia really made me crave a Shamrock Shake since they were green with a hint of white

*I miss my SUV but not how much it cost to fill up my old Isuzu Rodeo, Moishe.

*Walmart has really cute  team apparel out there…..and cheap too!

*My stomach hates me for eating so much crap this weekend but it was worth it. Hence this post, I was sure you all would not want to see what I ate on Sunday ( a beautiful collection of sausage Biscuits, Sheetz subs and coffee and pretzels)….or would you?

*I like that Pittsburgh has so many different neighborhoods, it reminds me of some areas in NYC.

*I don’t like how most of the neighborhoods near the city don’t have set parking, it seemed to be all metered parking. What has two thumbs and doesn’t carry change on her? This girl!

*I’m too old to drive 8 hours straight, even with the company of a great co-pilot. I had a coffee, 32 oz diet coke, another coffee and a Mountain Dew to stay awake (a failed attempt) on the way back home and nothing worked

*I wish WV had more of a booming economy, I would move back there in a heartbeat

*If watching a Penguins game in Pittsburgh was crazy, I want to see real crazy and watch the Steelers play, even if it is just in a bar

*I feel like I’ve wasted five years of my life in Charlotte and am pissed off about that. I’m not a religious person but I like to think that God put me in my current position at the bank to really give me the push to leave this city.

*Zak Bagans is my new crush

For some more hotness, I highly encourage you all to see Kelly Olexa’s  Monday Manjoyment!!!

*I’m diggin’ The Strokes new cd more than I thought I would. It has some reggae and Brazilian sounds to it and it reminds me of late 70’s, early 80’s rock like The Ramones and The Cars

 *I smile when I hear people say Yinz, y’all not so much

What do you do to pass time on the road? My drive home seemed to drag even though there was no traffic but I like to listen to music, talk to Lincoln (you other pet owners there know you talk to your pets) and take breaks frequently to stretch my legs.

43 Responses to “Road reflections”

  1. Diana@mymarblerye March 28, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Candy…lots of candy… Girl Charlotte sucked the life out of you Now u know what u really wanna do in life! Hope jobs pop up for u in pitts!

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      Me too girl. Or perhaps Chicago or Denver?!

      • dianacheung March 30, 2011 at 7:32 am #

        DENVERRRRRRR slumber partyyyyy

  2. lookingupwhileslimmingdown March 28, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

    Love all the creamer…hahaha. And I love that plaid WVU hat!! Super cute and unique! I always think the same thing, too, on road trips…wondering where the other cars are driving to.

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      Isn’t it cute? At first I thought it was a little too Ashton Kutcher but it grew on me. And holy super nice Wal Mart in Motown now-have you been?

  3. peacebeme March 28, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    I hate road trips! I get so bored and antsy.

    I like what you said about God preparing you to move out of Charlotte by showing you that you want more.

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      Thanks, that’s the perspective I’m trying to keep. I complain about a lot of things especially this job but I want to believe there is a reason I’m in this role.

  4. vixter2010 March 29, 2011 at 3:11 am #

    Love your mind hopping! I always wonder where people are going to, would be fun to be able to talk to them especially if a hottie drives past 🙂 I think it’s fine to talk to your dog, I would if I had one! I think music always helps make time go faster. Hope you made it back okay!

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

      I boy watch all the time when I’m driving, totally unsafe but I’m a visual bird 🙂

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 29, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    For when I do the 8-hour drive home, I always go for the coffee/iced tea combo. It leaves me feeling very unsettled and jittery by the end of the drive…

  6. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl March 29, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    Lots of caffeine and candy gets me through a long drive!

    Glad that you made it home safely!

  7. emily (a nutritionist eats) March 29, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    That is a super long drive, you poor thing!
    When the Taster and I did long distance (4 hours apart) I would listen to musical soundtracks – my favorite – Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat and sing along with them!

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

      I will have to check that soundtrack out!

  8. leashieloo March 29, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    I listen to books on CD to help pass the time. Or play ridiculous games with myself, like find the entire alphabet from A-Z on license plates and signs.

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

      I do the same thing, even if its just me playing.

  9. Katie H March 29, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Dude. It would be so awesome to have two way radios for cars nearby. Then I could be like “why the F are you braking for no reason!”. That kills me.

    I love the Lincoln is so much like a child. What a cutie.

    I hear ya on the eight hours straight. My drive to VB is nine hours and when I did it straight through I needed books on tape and a fully charged phone. And coffee!!!

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

      Hahahah yes! I hate people who break for absolutely no reason. Lincoln said thanks for the compliment….too busy to type since he’s sleeping in my lap 🙂

      I don’t know how I drove before without a phone charger. Its a god send!

  10. This Italian Family March 29, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Oh man, I wish something would put Oreo to sleep. There was a storm the other night and the only thing that got him to calm down was when I finally let him sleep with me, haha!

    Long trips for me mean sleeping in the passenger side while Christopher drives. Yeah, I’m spoiled. 😉

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

      Awwww Oreo! I’m sure he was happy to sleep with his momma! Llncoln is in my lap as I type 🙂

  11. genesis March 29, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    sometimes i think god hates me even though i probably deserve it since i dont pray and all that stuff people do but im stuck in a podunk town and no prospects of leaving anytime soon. kill me now.

    ooooh marvin gaye would put me to sleep too.

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

      You’ll get outta there one day, I hope so at least.

  12. genesis March 29, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    oh i forgot to say that i drool over Zak every Friday night when their show is on. I only tolerate that stupi show because there is potential that he will take his shirt off. im waiting for a no-pants episode.

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

      Me too sister. Maybe he can catch more ghosts sans pants?

  13. bigcitybabycarrots March 29, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    I enjoy that Lincoln has such varied taste in music. When I’m traveling, I love to sing along with the radio. Driving is really the only time I listen to the radio, so it’s good to catch up with what is new out there.

    Also thanks for always writing such great posts. Check out my award blog post today for some love. 😉

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

      Thats awesome, thanks for tagging me 🙂

      I rarely listen to the radio so when I have a friend in the car, I’m the annoying one asking who sings each song and what the name of it is.

  14. OliePants March 29, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    I cannot get through a road trip without a good CD! If I don’t have music, I will die of boredom!! PS the pic of Lincoln sleeping is adorable!!

  15. christina March 29, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    creamer overload!! i love it. i also love marvin gaye. how about marvin gaye slathered in creamer?

  16. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings March 29, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Waaah! I love your doooog!!!!

  17. Alyssa March 29, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    there IS a sheets close to Elon! it used to be my traditional stop on the way to and from Virginia Beach from Catawba. 🙂

    I love your creamer swipe. that’s totally me with Splenda.

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

      I got a ton of Splendas at Starbucks today! I hate how we have Sheetz in Nc but they all seem to be so far away….sadface.

  18. terri March 29, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    girl! you crack me up!!! i am loving that ghost hunter guy TOO! glad youre home safe and sound!! xo

  19. Erin March 29, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    I can’t drive those long distances either. Its almost impossible for me!

    I love Pittsburgh. Its like my little home away from home.

    Yinz and Y’all all have a place in my heart!

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

      I definitely need to find a man friend to keep me company!

  20. Kace March 29, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Ahhh I miss sheetz!!!!! Going to school in central PA had it’s advantages; I was within walking distance. 2 am snack time was the best…

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

      I have fond memories of hitting Sheetz after the bars. And I wonder why I gained weight?

  21. mirseven March 29, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    LOVE the creamer steal! I do that with, um, every condiment on the planet. Bonus points for mustard/hot sauce!
    Keeping me going on the road? Music. And talking. Mostly music. Haven’t been loving the new Strokes so much – but I hear ya on Muse. I’ve been a fan forever!! Grabbed their first album when it came out in the UK.

  22. Amanda March 29, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    I love Marvin Gaye! Good choice Lincoln.

    I feel a little left out because I’ve never been to a sheetz in my life. Sad.

    I pass time on the road by singing really loudly to myself. I used to commute 2 hours a day and it helped!

  23. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) March 29, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    The drive back home always seems to drag! Sounds like you had an awesome time though.

  24. Natalie @ Will Jog For Food March 30, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    8 hours is SO long! You’re brave to do that all by yourself. I’ve never even heard of Sheetz, but it sounds good! What other cities are you looking at??

  25. adrianna March 30, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    my drive home is almost 7 hrs, and requires a shitton of caffeine and snacks. and, although old school, i make cds of jammin music and i sing my lungs out. sheetz is my savior.

    could not agree more on moving back to wv…its so unfortunate its such a dying economy. i can hear the mountains calling my name.

    oh girl, i’d love to show you a steelers game in a bar w/ fans…awesome time! me and my entire fam are huge fans; always have been, always will be. steeler nation baby! we’re a dedicated group.

    the strokes are certainly growing on me. 3 songs came on my ipod during the shuffle today, and with each one, i was thinking, what a cool song! i’m diggin this! i just needed some time i guess : ) plus i was obsessed with the past 2, and this one is just different. they can really do no wrong.

Leave a Reply

