South Side Shenanigans

27 Mar

I spent a good deal in South Side Pittsburgh on Friday and Saturday. On Friday night, we went to the Hofbrauhaus.

 I’ve never been to a German restaurant before so I was looking forward to both the beer and the grub. When you walk in there is a main dining hall that has long tables set up in the middle, booths along the sides, an outdoor patio and stage in the front for the house band.

We started off with the soft pretzels with homemade  bier cheese.

I was a bit full from the appetizers and beer so I got the potato pancakes for dinner since I wanted something more in my tummy to soak up more beer for the evening.

I wasn’t sure how to eat these, do you put both the apple sauce and sour cream on them or just one? I had no idea so I just double downed and went with both. And you know what? I now love potato pancakes! I need to make them sometime at home.

The cool thing about this place is once the band starts playing, people get up and stand up on the chairs and sing, dance and drink along!

It was so much fun watching everyone and singing along to the songs. Any establishment that plays Neil Diamond is a wonderful one in my book. Plus it was total sausage fest, men everywhere, mama like. The Penguins game was also playing and the whole place went wild when they scored a goal. And I mean wild, I’ve never seen anything like it before since Charlotte is very transient and there isn’t a lot of team loyalty. At first I wasn’t sure why everyone was going crazy but then looked overhead to see the game and I thought it was awesome that a sport could bring people together like that.

Then enter the creepers.

We were getting ready to leave and the men at the table next to us offered to buy us a drink. We all pondered the idea for a minute since on one hand they were older men who we would have to then talk to but on the other hand, free beer! So yeah, we stayed. One of the older men took a liking to me and kept rubbing on me with his booty. I kept yelling out “No butt rubs!” then I started yelling out “No dancing, no babies” since apparently I thought our dancing would soon lead to Lambada, which  in turn with me getting impregnated.

 

Then I started crying because I was laughing so hard. I think I was crying for real though because dude would not leave me alone. He put his hands on my shoulders from behind then stroked my hair *shivers* Oh, have I mentioned he was old? Yes. Oh, have I mentioned he had a wedding ring on? Gross.

On Saturday, we heade back to South Side for  a Pittsburgh blogger meet up. You know I’m not going to visit a city without meeting some local bloggers and I was stoked to meet Whitney and Natalie! We went to Fat Heads in the South Side along Carson Street.

Me & Natalie

Whitney & my friend

I ordered the Mo Betta Beef & Chedda with potato chips on the side.

So Whitney warned me that the sandwiches were the size of your head and she wasn’t kidding! Enter Tiffany vs. Food

 And I failed because I could only finish half of the sandwich but took the rest home with me!

Natalie, me & Whitney

We were all near food coma after that and headed to the Beehive to get some java goodness.

OMG can I say how happy this place made my inner hippie? All the funky, eclectic decor was just what I needed to see tucked away in Pittsburgh, I loved this place! I ordered a large skim latte and they serve it to you in large mugs (probably bought from a thrift store, which made me love it even more)

I had such a fun time in the South Side, it was my favorite area of Pittsburgh! We really don’t have any areas in Charlotte where you can walk to restaurants, bars and shops on end so this was a pleasant 180 from Charlotte. There was a mix of people from young to old and no one looked the same like how they do in Charlotte.

South Side Pittsburgh-you had me at hello.

Any good creeper stories out there??

52 Responses to “South Side Shenanigans”

  1. peacebeme March 27, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    I love your emerald green shirt!

    Also love soft pretzels!!! I am craving one now.

  2. Alicia@ eco friendly homemaking March 27, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Looks like you had an awesome time. Great pictures!!

  3. Valerie Furnas March 27, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Now I want a potato cake!

  4. Sara @ Running In Pink Project March 27, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    See you totally ended up paying for that free beer after all. 🙂 Ugh. Guys can go from ok to creepy in a hot second. They like to flip the switch.

    • simplyshaka March 27, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

      Oh he was never normal but frugal me was speaking to me and I was like “we should be able to lose them after a few minutes” No such luck but hy at least it’s a story!

  5. april March 27, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    The creepers HA!

    Looks like a good time!

  6. bakebooks March 27, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Green looks so pretty on you!!! Oh many many creeper stories…I try to forget about them 😉

    Oh God – that pretzel YUM!

    What’s happening when you finish your job now? Do you have another lined up? What’s your plan? I am so with you…work makes me physically sick…

    • simplyshaka March 27, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      Me too, girl. I swear, I could write a book about creeper stories alone but unfortunately I drink so that I forget them.

      I have nothing planned yet but am going to be doing an unpaid internship to get me some experience in the marketing world. Other than that, I am taking a few months off from life so I can regroup and figure out what my plan is going to be.

  7. Natalie @ While I Breathe March 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I had so much fun!!! and the creeper stories were fantastic I’m glad you made it out safe and sound hahaha… no lie i’m pretty sure I put on 4 lbs from my sandwich… can’t wait til you come visit again!!!

    • simplyshaka March 28, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      Me too but it was totally worth it….love Fat Heads! Great meeting you as well 🙂

  8. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 27, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    I had another run in with the “hot sexy boots” guy. Sadly, I was wearing boots again. Luckily, I can walk really really fast in said boots.

    • simplyshaka March 28, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      Maybe he has a boot fetish and wants to buy you boots and you can model them for him. Eww.

  9. lookingupwhileslimmingdown March 27, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Your hair is so long!! Looks very cute! Hahaha about the creepers. You forgot to tell me about that…or maybe you were trying to block it out. The things we do for free beer. 🙂

    I so want food from Fatheads right now.

    • simplyshaka March 28, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

      I think I was trying to block it out. Ugh creepers, they love me so.

      I want Fatheads again but want to try that spinach dip!

  10. thefitacademic March 27, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Wow – south side Pitts looks a lot like england! (Or maybe it was just that bar looked like a pub…)

  11. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 27, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    looks like a blasty blast! so much yummy food!!!! ahhh save me a pretzel! =)

  12. leashieloo March 27, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    Ohh creepers. I’ve honestly quit accepting drinks from guys because it seems to make them think that you’re fair game. Lmao at the photos, I’m glad someone captured that moment for you (and us) 😉

    • simplyshaka March 28, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      You’re welcome. My friend took the camera and started snapping, need to have evidence of a fun night. At least I didn’t spend any money on drinks!

  13. dianacheung March 28, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    omg!! fun blogger meet up!! tiffany, I think you are a man magnet…both at your crazy ass gym and in the pub/bar world!! hahaha. No creeper stories except one time my gfs and I were leaving an adult movie store to get bachelorette party stuff and a guy followed us from the store and onto the highway flagging us down!! I’m like UHHH WE AREN’T GONNA BLOW YOU!

    • simplyshaka March 28, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      Hahaha that is great! I can’t believe he followed you even in the car, how creeperific.

  14. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl March 28, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    Sounds like you had a great time…except for the creeper! EW!!! Potato pancakes are amazing! Yum!

    I love your green shirt! Super cute!

  15. Carly March 28, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    I love Hofbrahaus! We have one in Cincinnati, so whenever I go home to visit I have to make a stop by. Nothing like dancing on tables to German polka. So fun!

    • simplyshaka March 28, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

      I heard they had one there and was curious if they have a big German population in Cincinnati?

  16. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings March 28, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    I love potato anything. I’ve never eaten a potato pancake, but I’m daydreaming about making a sweet potato pancake! Hmmmm…..

    • simplyshaka March 28, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

      OMG you HAVE to now! MMmm you can drizzle with syrup and mix cinnamon into the batter…..

  17. Stephanie@MyThornshaveRoses March 28, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    There’s a lot of delicious looking food in this post. And one crazy creepster. I swear every time I go out there’s at least one creepster in the midst that goes from funny to effing annoying in about 5 minutes flat. 🙂

  18. Monique March 28, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    ok i will move to pittsburgh. for a week. tahts it then im going back to my man NY. lol

    • simplyshaka March 28, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

      The neighborhood I went to on Thursday reminded me of the Kew!

  19. Krista @ Journey to a Healthy Berg March 28, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Hahaha “men everywhere, mama like.” You crack me up!

    One time at the bar this creepy Mexican guy wouldn’t leave me alone so my friend Eric had to play boyfriend and keep saving me! Gotta love creepers. lol

  20. According to Gus March 28, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Yay for free beer! Boo for the price you had to pay to drink said beer. Creepers suck. 😦

    Those pretzels looks ah-mazing!

  21. Natalie @ Will Jog For Food March 28, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    The hofbrahaus looks SO cool! I love cheese & soft pretzels, OH yeah. Pittsburgh actually seems pretty fun 🙂

  22. Katherine: Unemployed March 28, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    your shenanigans look like such a party! I wish I was creeping the entire time haha sorry that is so weird to say.It just looks like a good time

  23. This Italian Family March 28, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    Looks like you had such a great time!!

    The only time I’ve had German food was when I was in China… odd… haha!

  24. OliePants March 28, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    What a fun time – and a delicious looking sandwich!!!

  25. Kace March 28, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Creepers are the worst. I had one who wouldn’t leave me alone and kept asking me really personal questions, like my last relationship, etc. I finally just made up a boyfriend….and he still didnt get the hint. Bonus: he was shorter than me, and I was looking down at him the whole time.

    Glad you’re having fun! I love the city of Pitt, just not the sports teams/fans : )

  26. Laury @thefitnessdish March 28, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    haha, I am laughing right now because Michael is over my shoulder asking me a million questions about this post. where was it…then he’s like does she show what she ate. Made me read him the entire post and food. just thought you would get a kick out of that

  27. Suzy Eats March 28, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Looks like you had a great time!!
    -www.suzyeats.com

  28. Monique March 28, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    UGH creepy haha. I looooove German food ever since I went to the HB in Munich with my German friend. I look for it all the time in the states now 🙂 I even went to the HB in Las Vegas, and it was very similar to the original, the one in Pittsburgh looks a lot like the other two too!

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      Thats awesome, my friend who was with us went to the one in Munich. She said they play the same songs at the one in Pittsburgh as they do in Munich so I thought that was fun–how do I get to be in the band there? They look like they have tons of fun!

  29. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) March 28, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Love the mug! My favourite diner where I live has eclectic thrift store mugs too! Love it!

  30. Amanda March 29, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    Oh man I love a good creeper story. (And potato pancakes. Dude!)

    So when I worked at the bank, this dude used to sit on his truck and wait for me to get off work. I told him I wasn’t interested but he’d wait for me daily and talk to me in Spanish and sometimes sing. SO AWKWARD! He finally got the hint a few weeks later.

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

      YES!!!!!! I love that story! Did he serenade you en espanol as well??

  31. Euniece@innerpeacehealthytreats&runningfeet March 29, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    oh wow i have been to southside many time and have never even noticed that ridiculously cute coffee shop! i am definately going to have to go there very soon! and i haven’t even been to fat heads! that is on my this sunday to do list for sure! glad to see you had a good time!

  32. Callie {rawxy} March 29, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    What’s up with creepy old mean!? They are everywhere! I swear, some of my best quotes have come from older men hitting on me and/or my friends at a bar… Constant entertainment.

    • simplyshaka March 29, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      I can believe it. As long as my dad isn’t the creepy old man, I’m a happy gal!

  33. terri March 31, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    i heart fat heads! we have one in cleveland now….and the blueberry beer is my favorite!!!! xo

    • simplyshaka March 31, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

      They had a cute map saying how far it was to the Cleveland Fat Heads, I thought of you!

Leave a Reply

