A tail of two sushi

15 Mar

On Friday, I was saucy and double downed.

On sushi…… not the sandwich

Has anyone tried that by the way or know of anyone who has had it? I remember all the hype about it when it came out but I haven’t heard anything about it in a long time.

Anyways, back to the sushi.

First, was for lunch at Enso Asian Bistro & Sushi Bar. Enso is everything I don’t like-trendy, swanky and expensive but I heard through the grapevine that they had lunch specials so I took a chance on it in hopes it wouldn’t break the bank. The decor was stunning -when you walk in, you feel like you’re walking into a classy establishment in another city….not at the Epicentre in Charlotte. Dark, dimly lit with modern fixtures plus they have a plush looking bar area complete with comfy chairs.

All lunches come with a salad or soup and I went with the Miso soup since it was especially chilly on Friday.

I got a sushi combination of one specialty roll with two pieces of nigiri. I got the Bobcats roll (crab, salmon, cucumber, tuna, and sweet chili sauce) with tuna nigiri on the side.

The sushi was fresh and popped with flavor but $15 for lunch? Um, no. Maybe if I get a gentleman to take me there I would return but otherwise I won’t be going back there again and don’t even want to see what their dinner prices are like if that’s how much their lunch costs.

I was a bit bummed out after lunch because I feel like I don’t get as much bang for my buck as I thought I would have. When I got home from work, I had plans on making tofu from dinner but wasn’t feeling it. I called up a friend to see if she wanted to go to Cyros Sushi and Sake Bar with me. I’ve been hearing rave reviews from friends and on Yelp and wanted to see if it was all that.

Cyros was a welcoming 180 from Enso. For some reason I was expecting to be a clubby atmosphere but I had it all wrong, it’s a small restaurant complete with tables, high tops and a sushi bar. I loved the modern theme they had going on. The art was gorgeous and it had an orgami/ textured style to it and you could buy the art there-very cool.  While waiting for my friend, I perused the menu and was in awe—the sushi was actually reasonably priced! Cyros is located near South Park mall, which has higher end restaurants that bring  hefty prices with it so I was expecting the sushi to be expensive.

We started off with green tea

I got the Futo Maki roll and Nobu Fire Roll

 Holy balls, it was amazing. Both were outstanding featuring fresh fish and a whole world of taste. The presentation of the sushi was beautiful. I like to think of sushi as art and when you slop it down on a plate, it’s not very inspiring. I like how their entire menu wasn’t fried sushi as most places seem to feature these days plus they don’t offer a Cheesecake Factory sized menu of sushi which is good since I am a flip flopper when it comes to deciding what to order. I say not one but two other Yelpers there and one of the girls is a regular at Cyros and she had the owner stop by and say hi to us. He was so kind and seemed genuinely concerned about our experience there, which you really don’t see alot of nowadays. I will be definitely be going back to Cyros soon. Enso? Not so much.

Do you like sushi? What’s your favorite roll? Where’s the best place you’ve ever had sushi?

I’ve had sushi all around the country but one of my favorite rolls ever has been at Kabuki in Tempe, AZ. Their Lotus on Fire roll was one of the top five rolls I’ve ever had.

30 Responses to “A tail of two sushi”

  1. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings March 15, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    Woah! Those rolls look faboosh! My favorite sushi roll is called a firecracker roll at this local spot named Kumo. The roll is made with brown rice, tuna, jalepenos & cucumbers. It’s topped with spicy tuna and caviar with tempura flakes sprinkled on top. OOOOH BABY!I want some now!
    xo
    Mindy

  2. Kace March 15, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    I’ve only had sushi once, it was a pretty fun experience. I probably wouldn’t pick it myself, but if someone else wanted to go there I’d be ok with that : )

  3. vixter2010 March 15, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    I’ve never had sushi, I think I’m too squeamish 🙂

  4. TheSceneFromMe March 15, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    About the only one I will eat is shrimp tempura roll. My husband loves it though!

  5. Carly March 15, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Oh my, all of that sushi looks delicious! The double down, however, I think I will avoid. Ha!

  6. OliePants March 15, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    I have never ever (and hope to never) try the double down! Don’t get me wrong – I like fried chicken but this is a no no to me!

    On the other hand – I love me some sushi!

  7. Stephanie March 15, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    I don’t know one single person that tried that Double Down. Interesting.

    I love sushi. I’ve only had it here in Iowa though so I’m going to go ahead and assume I’m missing out on the really good stuff but we do have a lot of amazing places. I really like most of it so I’m never very picky! Bring it all on I say! (especially crunchies and cute colorful eggies)

  8. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 15, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    I don’t “crave” sushi like a lot of people do. No idea why. And I’m sort of one for the more simple rolls when I actually do. Strange.

    But damns I love me some miso soup! I’d take it down with a straw all day if the sodium content wouldn’t make me explode out of my pants…

  9. Monique March 15, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    DUDE you love you some spicy food! whew!
    I have never had the doule down.. but i like my arteries unclogged LOL.
    I was starving when i got home last night and ordred sushi… not a good idea to order when you are starving. I might have oredere 5 rolls. (3 are in my fridge as we speak)

  10. leashieloo March 15, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    All those sushis look amazing, I am obsessed. A really good roll I hate recently had cream cheese, acorn squash, avocado, and mango. Covered in siracha, it was amazing.

  11. Valerie Furnas March 15, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Oh my goodness that looks so amazing! Beautiful, please tell me it was delish!

  12. Elin @andserenitytoo March 15, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Wow that sushi looks so delicious!
    I love sushi… sushi rolls are good, but one of the best sushi dishes I have gotten is Minke Whale sashimi (sounds weird but it’s really good)

  13. lookingupwhileslimmingdown March 15, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    You know I LOVE SUSHI!!!!

    I can’t remember the name of it, but the roll I had the other night in the pics I posted was good. It had spicy tuna on top of the rolls. Luckily there are a lot of great places to get sushi here. Now I want sushi for dinner. 🙂

  14. 40daykedge March 15, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    I LOVE SUSHI! My favorite spot for sushi in right here in Chicago, it’s called Macku. Hands down the best sushi ever!

  15. Natalie @ Will jog for food March 15, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    Now I’m craving the double down! hehe…I don’t know anyone that’s tried it but I have to say I’ve definitely been tempted!

    I LOVE sushi! One of my fav rolls has spicy tuna & mango, yum 🙂

  16. thefitacademic March 15, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    omg, this looks AMAZING! One of my favorite rolls is the Vegas roll – so yum! Oh, by the way – I got the car magnet in the mail today! So cute! I’m showing it off & giving you a shout-out today on my blog (it’ll be up soon!) Thanks, girl!

    • simplyshaka March 16, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

      The Vegas Roll is great! The first time I tried it was in Mesa and I’ve had it here but none have been as good as out west!

  17. Laury @TheFitnessDish March 15, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    Yuck. I remember seeing that double down a long time ago and gagging and I think I even wrote about how terrible it was for you (I had a friend who is protein happy that was excited about it, ewww)

    Your sush looks amazeamaze. Can’t wait til I can have raw sush again!

    • simplyshaka March 16, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

      All my pregnant friends say the same thing! Add another reason to the list why pregnancy and I would not mix well together.

  18. dianacheung March 15, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    i love the “house” rolls at every japanese restaurant!! i feel like if they name the roll after the restaurant it has to be good!! UGHHH can’t believe all the delish sushi you’ve had lately!

  19. Monique March 15, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Sick. The Double Down frightens me. But it’s actually not the worst thing on their menu.. I remember hearing a salad at KFC had more fat than that did… yikes.

    Anyways, I love me some rainbow or caterpillar rolls 🙂

    • simplyshaka March 16, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      Are you serious?? I wonder what that salad is packed with?

  20. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) March 15, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    YUM! I heart sushi. I only eat the veggie kind now but I used to rock the dynamite rolls!! Looks amazing!

  21. Krista @ Journey to a Healthy Berg March 16, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    haha wow sushi twice in one day! I love it 🙂

  22. Katie H. March 16, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    Damn now I really want some sushi! The best roll I ever had was called a Smokin’ eel roll at a sushi place in Buffalo (where I went to grad school). I never had sushi before and was somehow convinced to try eel and it was awesome- probably because there was a lot of cheese and it was deep fried. haha. Now my favorite is usually some version of a shrimp tempura roll. Clearly I go for the healthy sushi!

  23. Ashleigh March 16, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    I wish I liked sushi! I have tried veggie rolls a few times and they just don’t do it for me… something about the seaweed wrap- if thats even what it is!

  24. Amanda March 16, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    The KFC double down is so disturbing. So so disturbing.

    I’m just starting to get into sushi. So far, the best has been this little place in Santa Monica. I love it! I always get tempura shrimp in my rolls.

  25. Erin March 17, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I LOOOOVE Sushi! I could seriously eat it every single day. My fave roll is the typical spicy tuna. But I also really love this roll that is a house special that has cucubmer instead of rice. Mmm…

Leave a Reply

