Springing Sunday

13 Mar

Sunday was a much better day than Saturday. I’m feeling back to normal now but still a little spooked by the driving incident. Thanks all for your kind words, I really appreciate and you know how to make a girl feel good! It was a good day, even if it was the day where we sprang forward (Arizona excluded of course, I didn’t like not changing time when I lived there and still get confused if they are two or three hours behind the East coast). When I woke up on sunday, I was groggy as all hell but was quick to get ready because I had plans for brunch at Terrace Cafe!

Terrace Cafe was voted best brunch in Charlotte and heard about it from Diana when she came to visit Charlotte and my sister. If out of towners are telling me how good this place is–I had to try it out! The thing I was looking to most was of course was the infamous Red Velvet Waffles but they also have S”mores french toast so I was conflicted on what to get. Sweets like those or savory like their breakfast casserole or Eggs Benedict? Sweet wins all the time and I went with the Red Velvet Waffle with fresh fruit (in an attempt to get some vitamins in at brunch) and a skim latte.

The waffle was out of this world amazing but it was so sugary and rich I could only finish 3/4 of it.  The drizzled sauce on it was a cream cheese sauce–yeah, you can only imagine how good that was. The fruit was amazing as well and I had a fully belly and a smile on my face when I had to be rolled out of there.

After the food had digested, Lincoln and I went for a 30 minute walk. It was the perfect day—70 and sunny and there were so many people out with their pups, Lincoln got some play time in there as well. I went to the gym shortly afterwards and had a good workout. I don’t know what’s up with my left knee but it’s starting to act up again and the front lower part of my knee has been killing me whenever I go on the elliptical. I finally found the right stride and resistance on the elliptical  that wouldn’t kill my knee and ended up doing the Precor crossramp with a 8-11 resistance going backwards. I did 30 minutes of that then did various leg strength training—leg press (240 lbs 13 reps x 4 sets), leg extensions ( 80 lbs 13 repx x4 sets), hip adductors (140 lbs 13 reps x 4 sets) and hib abductors (110 lbs 13 reps x 4 sets)

I did some cooking as well but not as much as I wanted since it was gorgeous inside and didn’t want to spend the day inside. I made cole slaw pasta salad with cole slaw mix, spaghetti, black olives, mushrooms, green onions, parsley, mushrooms and feta cheese. For the dressing, I kept it pretty sour with a mix of extra virgin olive oil, lime juice and red wine vinegar.

I’ll probably cook some chicken to add to the mix so I enjoy as a quick-lunch this week.

Dinner was leftover Chipotle BBQ Chicken with cole slaw pasta salad

That was the last of the chicken, le sigh.

I made cranberry walnut bread using the banana bread recipe I used this week. I just subbed out the bananas for dried cranberries and walnuts. And you know what? It was a HUGE fail.

I’d be lying if I said it didn’t take me a good five minutes just to pry that brick out of the pan.

Hmmmm, looks burnt and tiny. Does not look edible.

But when I cut it open, it was absolutely gorgeous on the inside. I guess looks can be deceiving and I shouldn’t judge a book by its cover…..

I texted Leila to tell her about my cooking fail and she said perhaps it was because bananas are wetter and it didn’t need to cook as long and that made sense to me. Any other thoughts on where I went wrong? I tried a slice and it was definitely edible but not the easiest thing to chew, I figure if all else fails, I can use as biscotti!

I really don’t want to go back to work tomorrow–where the hell did my weekend go? I had plans of going into work today to play catch up but that obviously didn’t happen and just hope this week goes by quickly. Pretty soon I am handing in my two weeks notice—cannot wait!!

Breakfast–sweet or savory?

40 Responses to “Springing Sunday”

  1. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 13, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    It looks FANTASTIC inside! You’re right! The outside is totally deceiving! =) I would eat it! yummmm!!

    your pasta salad looks great too! i made that for dinner tonight ❤

    hope you have a great week tiff! mwah!

  2. One Healthy Apple March 13, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    I was so thinking biscotti once I saw the bread. It looks good to me though 🙂

    And red velvet waffles? Holy moly. I am all over sweet breakfasts. I figure we’ve been sleeping all night and need all the carbs so why not?!

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 13, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    I just like breakfast in general. And will take it any way it’s given to me… lol. But omg, what was drizzled on that waffle??? It looks like heaven…

    • simplyshaka March 13, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      Oops, I forgot to add that part! It was a cream cheese drizzle–heaven!

  4. genesis March 13, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    hey i read your previous post and i am so sorry about that horrible experience. im glad youre doing better today.

    that loaf does look like a brick…lol. im sure it tastes great!

  5. thefitacademic March 14, 2011 at 12:41 am #

    omg – that waffle looks crazy amazing! I can go either way for breakfast – I LOVE both sweet AND savory! Sometimes I’ll go both within a single meal (like a sweet pancake/muffin/etc with a side of turkey sausage). Love breakfast – best meal of the day!

  6. April March 14, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    Can those waffles look any better? Seeing your HRM makes me wish I would have done cardio this morning. Oh well, there’s still after work workout 🙂

    I had 2 Venti American’s this morning. I think i’ll need another with this stupid time change.

  7. vixter2010 March 14, 2011 at 6:17 am #

    Waffle looks goooooodd! I’m usually savory for breakie, usually involving eggs but I’d make an execption for that 🙂

  8. dianacheung March 14, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    bfast start savory and end sweet…DUH! you know I have to have both! 🙂 Anyways can’t believe you had never been to terrance until now…how many years have you lived there? hahah i”m such a hater…I guess it’s kind of a long drive there for you no? anyways, bananas maybe make it more moist? next time add some greek yogurt to make up?

  9. tinkerbelle86 March 14, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    oh my goodness, amazing food!!

  10. TheSceneFromMe March 14, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    I definitely prefer a sweet breakfast. Cereal or toast with nut butter, oats or fruit. But I will surely eat savory breakfast food for dinner!
    The bread does look good, you could soften it up in the microwave before eating and spread with some jam. I think that is what happened, the cranberries were too dry and you needed more liquid in the mix, like the bananas added moisture to your previous loaf.
    The weekend did fly by and I am not adjusting to the time change yet. Indiana never did change until a few years ago.
    Have a great week! PS,thanks for the help on Yelp too 🙂

    • simplyshaka March 14, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

      Thanks for the tips, that makes sense. Now to find some jam to soften it up!! I keep forgetting that you all change time now, so weird.

  11. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle March 14, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Sweet all the way! I hardly ever crave savory things for breakfast.

    My thoughts on the bread was that it needed more moisture, maybe add in some applesauce next time and it might come out better. Just a theory though.

    • simplyshaka March 14, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

      I think you’re onto something. I used a small container of apple sauce in the banana bread but I didnt have any on hand this time. I need to stop up on that stuff!

  12. Kace March 14, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    I love a good waffle or stack of chocolate chip pancakes, but usually I go savory-cheese omelet, bacon, hash browns and toast.

    • simplyshaka March 14, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      OMG that sounds wonderful…..even at 1045P.

  13. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings March 14, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    I guess it depends on my mood. That waffle looks ridiculous!!! OMG! Today = sweet! Some days I love me some spinach & pepper omlettes though. Tough call.

    • simplyshaka March 14, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

      That’s very true, their eggs benedict florentine looked awesome but I knew I could probably get that at other places but not the waffle!

  14. Monique March 14, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    it definitely looks like biscotti.
    And your friend is right. the bananas are wetter and require longer baking time. I never set a timer on baking. I usually time it for 10 minutes and check it every 5 minutes after that. every oven is different and sometimes measurements are off making cooking times vary. iF anything I underbake LOL i like things moist and soft. (twss)

  15. OliePants March 14, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    I agree – sometimes the best tasting foods are not the most ‘pretty’. As for breakfast – I think I’m totally 50/50. I prefer either – depending on my mood! Can I say both?! 🙂

    • simplyshaka March 14, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

      Sure, I am down for the both answer 🙂

  16. Jen March 14, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    OMG that waffle…WOW!!!!!!

  17. Natalie @ Will Jog For Food March 14, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Sorry about your bread! I can see the banana factor coming into play.

    I would be ALL OVER that waffle! I usually like sweet & savory…one of my fav breakfast places has banana choc chip pancakes, and I usually will get one of those with a side of bacon. YUM!

  18. janetha @ meals and moves March 14, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Woah. Like.. WOAH. That waffle needs to be in my life.

  19. Euniece March 14, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    oh wow the cream cheese drizzle over the waffles seals the deal!!!!!

  20. This Italian Family March 14, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    I’m good with breakfast being sweet or savory – both make me happy!

  21. Briana March 14, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Breakfast is by far my favorite meal of the day. And I load up oatmeal with everything from walnuts to coconut to fruits.. so I’d say savory and sweet!

    Too bad the bread was a FAIL, it looked delicious!

    • simplyshaka March 14, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

      It wasn’t too bad today but it could have been better-oh well-I will keep experimenting! I haven’t had oats in awhile, I need to have a bowl soon….

  22. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) March 14, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    That brunch looks criminal! yum.

  23. MelissaNibbles March 15, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    I love a sweet breakfast. I even like sweet dinners. I’m a sugar whore.
    I would add applesauce to the bread recipe next time.

  24. Katie H. March 15, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I really want waffles now! It sounds like you had such gorgeous weather- I’m jealous! As for breakfast, I guess it depends on what kind of mood I’m in. I could go either way 🙂

  25. According to Gus March 15, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    I bet Lincoln was loving the warm temps!

    We received your magnet in the mail yesterday…we love it! We can’t wait to put it on the car. Your note was so sweet, too. 🙂

  26. nic - the auspicious squirrel March 15, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    Bananas can be used to sub out eggs… so keep that in mind when you omit them from the recipe. I agree with others, that you need to add moisture back into the recipe. If you google cranberry bread you’ll get lots of ideas, whether you want to omit the eggs, milk, or both (or none), you are sure to find some great recipes out there. I saw many with orange to enhance the cranberries, some with nuts… some even with pumpkin… it’s really up to your taste buds. 😉

    Sorry to read about your traffic indecent, glad you are ok.

    Squeeze and kiss Lincoln for me.

    • simplyshaka March 16, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      Thanks for the tips! I saw a few recipes with the orange juice but as always I forgot one key item at the supermarket and that was it. Next time, I just need to print out the list instead of trying to remember it by heart.

  27. Krista @ Journey to a Healthy Berg March 16, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    OMG that waffle looks amazing!! I definatley prefer sweets for breakfast. Pass over the chocolate chip pancakes and stuffed french toast!! haha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ain’t no bloggers like Chicago bloggers « Simply Shaka - June 5, 2011

    […] Red Velvet Pancakes didn’t I? Kelly mentioned these in one of her posts before and after having Red Velvet waffle at Terrace Café, I had to try the sister […]

Leave a comment