Frugal Friday–Yelp a sister out!

11 Mar

 As many of you, I am Team Yelp all the way. I’m sure you’re sick of hearing about my love for the Yelp and if so, you can stop reading now.  I joined this past summer after a bad experience at a local Mexican restaurant and have been addicted ever since! I love that you can go on there and voice your opinion, read reviews, create lists of places you love or want to try and connect with others in your city. Yelp has also saved me a lot of money as well which is why I’m featuring it on Frugal Friday!

This past Monday, I got free tickets to the Charlotte Bobcats vs. LA Clippers basketball game.

We had to get there early so I left work, came home to take Lincoln out and get to the arena by 530P. I was curious why we had to get there so early but soon found out we were going to the watch the Bobcats warm up court side!

Yeah, we were sitting that close for a 20 minutes. I was kinda afraid I was going to get their sweat on me but it turned out fine and I stayed dry.

Soon we moved up into the Executive level in the party suite complete with snacks, beer and pizza!

It was such a fun night and nice to see the game from the suite instead of the nosebleed sits where this frugal girl usually sits. Just one of many fun and mostly free Yelp events I’ve attended…..

I popped my Yelp event cherry at Charlotte Elite’s first Yelp event  at Custom Shop

Soon after, many other Yelp events starting filling up my calendar. All have been terrific and have given me a chance to try out new establishments in Charlotte. Some others ones have included:

*A rockin’ evening at Mattie’s Diner

*Chili Cookoff

(source)

(source)

*Brunch at Bisto La Bon

*Wine events like the one I attended at Petit Philippe

Yelp has not only held food events but fitness based ones as well…..

*CrossFit at Metro Fitness Club

 

*Holiday Detox at The Breathing Room

(source)

And festive events like the Ugly Christmas Sweater Party!

(source)

So yeah, you could say I love Yelp. It’s not only introduced me to new people and establishments in the area but has also  saved me a lot of money while doing so! 

Do you Yelp? If not, do you review restaurants and business on other websites?

31 Responses to “Frugal Friday–Yelp a sister out!”

  1. vixter2010 March 11, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    Sounds great, I need to check if there’s a UK one. Always useful to read reviews, I use Trip Adivsor a lot.

    • simplyshaka March 13, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

      I believe they have Yelp for London but not sure about other parts of the UK….

  2. According to Gus March 11, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    We LOVE Yelp. San Antono’s official Yelp squad just got started last year, but we always look forward to the Elite events. Free food, drinks and entertainment? Yes please!!!

    • simplyshaka March 13, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

      You know it–how did I live before the wonderful Elite events??

  3. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle March 11, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    I don’t know how I existed before Yelp. How did I know where to eat without strangers giving me their opinions via a website? Yelp rules.

  4. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 11, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    I’m gonna look into my area and see if there is as big of a yelp community as there is by you! ❤ thanks for this post girl! too fun! and omg drooooling!

    • simplyshaka March 13, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

      I’m sure there will be, you would think so at least since you all have a pretty big population–let me know how it works out!

  5. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings March 11, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    You + cat-eyed 50’s glasses = A-frikkin-Dorable!!!!

    xo
    Mindy

  6. Monique March 11, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Big fan of your Ode To Yelp! I too am a huge fan 🙂

  7. Kace March 11, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    I may have to give this a try…

  8. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 11, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    I actually am not a member of Yelp, but definitely use it when looking for places to go/eat. It’s sort of awesome.

    Happy Friday, lady!

  9. 40daykedge March 11, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    I don’t yelp, but have used it to find restaurants when out of town and don’t know anyone in the city I’m in.

    I really enjoy reading your reviews though. 🙂 That bball game was so cool, box seats are the best way to watch a game. Have a fantastic weekend!

    • simplyshaka March 13, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

      Thanks, I appreciate it!

      I fear I won’t be able to do the cheap seats anymore after being in the box

  10. suki @ [Super Duper Fantastic] March 11, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    Drank the Yelp Koolaid way long ago. In fact most of my circle of friends now are people I met through attending these events. 😉

  11. Jen March 11, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    Never even heard of Yelp before, I’m going to have to check it out!!!

    • simplyshaka March 13, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

      It’s super fabulous….and addicting.

  12. TheSceneFromMe March 11, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I signed up for Yelp and get emails weekly. What else do I need to do?

  13. terri March 11, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    i do not yelp, but now i want to! you look so cute in so many of those pics! thanks for sharing the wealth!!xo

  14. Nicole March 11, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    Oh Tiffany Yelp loves you back! Fab homage to Yelp in Charlotte!

  15. MelissaNibbles March 12, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    I’ve been Yelping for a long time now. I want to be an Elite member, but they don’t love me enough…yet. Wait until I give them a handy…

    • simplyshaka March 13, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      Hooray for another Yelper! Did you apply to be on the Elite? Not sure how it works since I got invited the first year but then the second year I had to apply to be on it again.

  16. Amanda March 12, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    I just started yelping. I love it. I’m a little addicted actually.

    • simplyshaka March 13, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

      It is addicting! I will have to look you up on there 🙂

  17. Natalie @ While I Breathe March 13, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    I just signed up today! i’m excited to see what hot spots in the burgh it alerts me to… not like i have time right now but non the less lol would be fun if i had some free time sometime soon…

  18. dianacheung March 14, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    i’ve always USED yelp but hadn’t written a ton of reviews…UNTIL YOU!!! Now I want to be an elite member to go to events! I’m such a dork but when we move I wanna make foodie friends that way!

  19. Katie H. March 15, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    I haven’t yelped but your posts make me want to get involved! I always check groupon and sites like that but haven’t taken the plunge and bought anything yet.

  20. nic - the auspicious squirrel March 23, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Hey, I’m new to the whole clipping coupons thing… could you do a post on how you keep it all organized? Thanks 🙂

    • simplyshaka March 24, 2011 at 5:58 am #

      I can definitely do that, will start working on that for FF in a couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

