Around the World!

9 Mar

Last weekend, I got to attend yet another fabulous Charlotte Yelp Elite Event-Around the World at Fran’s Filling Station.

And around the world we went. There were stations set up throughout the restaurant representing different continents full of souvenirs, cuisines and of course, Yelp swag!

Oh slap bracelets, you bring me back to my fifth grade days but animal print slap bracelets connect with my current self.

The first “location” we tried was North America-with mini burgers and bacon wrapped tater tots

Bacon and tater tots living together in harmony? Some had a sweet maple syrup glazed, others had a jalapeno glaze with just the right amount of spice to make your taste buds come alive. And the Fran’s employee told me they have bacon wrapped sweet potato tots on their menu which I will definitely be back to try! Once I heard bacon wrapped tater tots, I knew where I was going to be parked the rest of the night!

The next stop was Europe complete with mini meatballs, polenta and eggplant parmesan.

Hooray for berets!


Hooray for berets and beer-courtesy of Olde Mecklenburg Brewery

After Europe, we roamed  to Asia

Tandori salmon with lentils

Seared Tuna-ummm-yeah I wanted this whole tray for myself! The tuna was seared to perfect and had a hint of wasabi.

We got back to the mainland and went to South America after Asia

Mini Latin Wedges

Carnitas-ay yi yi yi

So succulent and delicious, this melted right in my mouth.

The last stop of the evening was naturally for dessert—for some bread pudding in Antartica. Who knew?

I got mine all the way with ice cream, berries, caramel and whipped cream. It was a perfect end to a short adventure around the world! The names isn’t a lie at all, Fran’s Filling Station really did fill me up! I love the variety of dishes they offer and this was only a sampling (the only thing not offered on their regular menu is the tandori salmon)

Suffice to say, I left with a full belly and a smile on my face.

(source)

Thanks Yelp for yet another fantastic event!!!

What continent represents your favorite cuisine?

22 Responses to “Around the World!”

  1. Vixter2010 March 9, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Looks yummy! I like Italian 🙂

  2. christina March 9, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    this looks like so much fun! i want the tuna!

  3. 40daykedge March 9, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Looks like you had a great time, but you always look like you’re having a blast. If I’m choosing from the continents from the event then I choose Asia, that tuna looks amazing.

    I think I would choose Asia and South America for my favorite cuisines of the moment. I’ve been loving experimenting with Indian spices and I am obsessed with guacamole… who am I kidding I love all food from all over the world!

  4. Carly March 9, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    All of that food looks incredible. Bacon tator tots? Yes, please!

  5. Monique March 9, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    oooo soooo coooooool!
    I am loving this post! you look so cute in your plaid shirt!

  6. OliePants March 9, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Around the World with food?! Sign me up Yelp! I am biased but my favorite food is Indian, but of course – so Asia. In addition, Asia has a HUGE variety of cultures and dishes – so Asia is a hands down winner for me.

  7. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 9, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    Looks like a decent weekend! With bacon in the mix, how could it not be?

    I think it’s become quite obvious I’m one who appreciates the Mexican/Latin food. nom nom nom

  8. Natalie @ Will Jog For Food March 9, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    WOW! Bacon wrapped tater tots looks awesome! I would be so on that.

    I guess I would pick Europe if I had to choose 1 continent. A girl needs her pizza!

  9. Angela (the diet book junkie) March 9, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    oh wow. wish i was there! we have the “Taste of Sydney” festival this weekend with all the biggest chefs in town…i’m suddenly more inspired to go! Asia would probably be my favorite continent for food. Thai and Japanese and Vietnamese rock!

  10. thefitacademic March 9, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    What a fun event! I wish there was something like that where I live!

  11. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 9, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    OHMYGOSH! Around the world IN FOOD!?!?!? sign. me. up. NOW! ❤

  12. Valerie@ Life 4 me by me March 9, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    That looks too fun. You had me at bacon wrapped tater tots…yum

  13. Amanda March 9, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    I need to become yelp elite so I can go to fun events like this. I would be all over those tater tots. YUM!

  14. euniece March 10, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    woooooo i never knew anarctica had its own type of cultured food but hey im not complaining from the looks of the bread pudding!

  15. dianacheung March 10, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    i dont want to sound cocky but asian is full is FLAVAHHHHH. Anyways, I can not believe these yelp events..if I move to a bigger city I’m REQUESTING that I become an elite member! F*CK IT!

  16. Kace March 10, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Slap bracelets were banned from my school. True story. They said it was because they were “dangerous”, but as a teacher now I can see that they were just annoying and the staff wanted them gone. I totally understand.

    I think I’ll eat off any continent.

  17. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings March 10, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    OMG! There is such thing as sweet potato tots?! My inner Napolean Dynamite is doing a happy dance! I need to find these things.

    Bacon wrapped tots sound like a nice appetizer idea. Hmmmm, thanks for the ideas & sweet food pics!
    xo
    Mindy

  18. leashieloo March 10, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Omg, so jealous. I want all of those things at once, on the same plate. I love the idea of hopping around different continents!

  19. Callie March 10, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Awe, I just discovered your blog! How fun! I love yelp, they always put on great events 🙂

  20. This Italian Family March 10, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    This looks so great!! What a fun idea!

    Definitely Italy (no surprise there, haha!) 🙂

  21. Lily's Health Pad March 10, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    I read this entire post and I’m still stuck on the bacon wrapped tator tots with jalepeno glaze. I can’t remember the last time I ate bacon, but gosh those sound good!

  22. lookingupwhileslimmingdown March 10, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Bacon wrapped sweet potato tots? You def. need to try that and tell me how it is!

    You know Arabic food is the way to go! Leleleleleeeee

Leave a Reply

