Slap me on the butt and call me Miss Productive

7 Mar

For many people, Sunday is a day of rest but for me, it never is. I feel like it’s a day to get everything that needs to be done, done and I prefer to have my Saturdays as my rest day. On Sunday, I started the day with a cup of coffee and went to work for three hours. I hate going into the office because I am already working a good 45+ hours week but sometimes I just need to go without any distractions and knock out a bunch of stuff. Plus the fact that I can listen to The Killers Pandora station and do yoga poses in between files printing out doesn’t hurt.

I met up with a friend at the Y afterwards and did 35 minutes on the elliptical then did lateral pull downs (70 lbs, 13 reps x  3 sets), row (80 lbs  13 reps x  3 sets),  chest press (35 lbs  13 reps x  3 sets), overhead shoulder press (40 lbs  13 reps x  3 sets)

Great workout! No sign of douchey men who can’t handle when they get spray on them either-score!

I got home and was ready to get my grub on!

I had a late lunch of mini pizzas with vodka sauce, feta cheese, black olives and mozzarella cheese

 

Then, it was time to get to some real cooking!

First thing on the agenda was 3 Ingredient Muffins I saw on Will Jog For Food and again on Peas and Crayons. Many of you know, I am not a baker so I try to stay away from adventures in baking but three ingredients and none of them are eggs, water or oil? This has to be fool Tiffany proof! The cake that was supposed to be used was Devil’s Food Cake mix but I didn’t see any at the store and wasn’t sure if Angel’s Food Cake would do so I just stuck to the standard yellow cake mix and also added 1/2 cup of shredded coconut that I wanted to use up and used peanut butter & milk chocolate morsels.

I filled up the cups and still had a good portion left of batter so I went ahead and stuck that in the freezer to use at a later time

Baked for 20 minutes at 400 degrees and came back to these beauties!

So, they didn’t out the color that were supposed to thanks to the Devils Food Cake mess up but I love my Oompa Loompa muffins–they were absolutely fantastic! I really like the pumpkin flavored, it was overpowering but it kept the muffins moist (eww, sounds so naughty) and the coconut was a great addition to give it a little texture. A perfect snack and food to take on the go for breakfast!

The next recipe on the list was supposed to be Pizza Pasta Salad but those plans soon diminished after I got home from Wal-Mart and realized the deli guy didn’t give me salami, he gave me pastrami and no–I’m not adding pastrami slices to a pizza pasta salad. That’s just nasty and too salty for my taste. I also forgot to get mozzarella, basil and sun-dried tomatoes and realized this as I was checking out. Since it was a Sunday at Wal-Mart, I  wasn’t in the mood to go back and fight the masses. Wal-Mart is horrible but they are cheap and a one stop shop and they also offer wonderful people watching. I saw a 40 something year old woman sucking on a pacifier–wtf? If she would’ve had glow sticks in hand I could understand but a pacifier, really?

But back to the pasta salad, I improvised when starting to prepare it. I cooked a package of mini shells and let cool in the fridge. Then I chopped up some onion, black olives, parsley and mushrooms

Added the shells and feta cheese to the mix

Then added slices artichokes, extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice, black pepper, red pepper flakes and oregano then let chill in the fridge

Apparently, I was thinking of summer because I made bbq chicken with a side of pasta salad for dinner

After that I cleaned, did laundry and felt like I had a very productive Sunday.

Do you rest on Sunday or do you go crazy getting stuff done?

44 Responses to “Slap me on the butt and call me Miss Productive”

  1. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) March 7, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    I’m a rester on Sunday. I don’t even make dinner. It’s my day to relax. Saturday on the other hand…
    🙂

  2. One Healthy Apple March 7, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    I had to laugh at your title 🙂 I am a pre-cooking machine on Sunday. I figure the more I can get done, the less hectic my week will be.

    Those muffins look really good- I love how pumpkin adds a great texture without extra fat. Almost makes the muffins healthy and stuff.

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

      *Almost* 🙂 I am going to be making these again, they were fantastic and perfect for a quick breakfast.

  3. leashieloo March 7, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    LMAO at your Walmart experience! I never see anything that wild at my Wally World, though I do some ridic outfits. And strippers. Lots of strippers. Lol all over again.

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

      Wow, interesting Wal Mart you have!! I go to the hood one but never seen strippers before haha

  4. vixter2010 March 8, 2011 at 5:40 am #

    Wow working on a Sunday, I don’t know how you do that 🙂 I like chilling on a Sunday, good food and a good movie is usually what it consists of.

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      Lots and lots of coffee, luckily there is a Starbucks in our bldg 🙂

  5. Elin @andserenitytoo March 8, 2011 at 6:30 am #

    Seriously, a pacifier?!? And not even a candy one?
    I usually take it rather easy on Sunday, but still try to get something of the chores done (cleaning, laundry etc). Like you, I’ve been to work as well quite a few Sundays but that is never lots of fun:S But lying in the sofa reading or watching TV, meeting with friends or going for a walk when the weather is good are my favourite things to do on Sundays 🙂
    I want that pasta salad…

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      I’m serious, I really wanted to take a picture but feared what they would do to me. Make me suck on the pacifier?? GROSS!

  6. Whitney March 8, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    I try to get everything done on Saturday, for some reason. I feel more productive. I very much enjoy sitting around and watching Real Housewives on Sunday!

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

      OMG wasn’t it great??! I can’t wait to see the rest of this season of OC!

  7. MelissaNibbles March 8, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    I hate Walmart too, but sometimes you gotta go there. Sorry they F’d up your stuff.
    The pasta looks fab anyway!

  8. Natalie @ Will Jog For Food March 8, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    The muffins look great!! I’m gonna try using yellow cake mix one of these days. They are perfect for a grab & go breakfast.

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

      Thanks–and thanks for providing the recipe–it is going to be life changing!! You try yellow and I will try the Devils Food Cake and make the correct ones! I’m winning co-workers over with them as well 🙂

  9. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings March 8, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Those must have been super moist from the pumpkin! YUM!
    xo
    Mindy

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      They were–I can’t wait to make them again!

  10. Kace March 8, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Actually I usually don’t–at least not in the am. I usually get up, go to mass, and then do the food shopping. By the time that’s done its around noon and then I still have to run, and I prep lots of dinner stuff. This week, however, I did the food shopping and mass on Sat. night, and it made a WORLD of difference! Lazy Sundays are the best!

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

      I haven’t been to a Saturday mass since I was a little kid–memories!

  11. This Italian Family March 8, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    That BBQ chicken looks amazing!

    I feel the same way about Walmart. It’s cheap so I continue to shop there even though there are lots of strange people, haha!

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

      We are gluttons for punishment but at least we’re getting stuff for cheap!

  12. According to Gus March 8, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Ugghhh…I’m starved and should not be looking at your blog right now!

    We’re always busy bees on Sundays. We normally make a bunch of meals and divide them up for lunches for the week!

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

      Sorry sorry! I love cooking on Sundays, I do the same exact thing. It saves so much time and I somehow feel more rested and relaxed knowing I can grab n go throughout the wk!

  13. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle March 8, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Sunday is my errand day…I go to Target, the grocery store, etc. I also get my long run in that day, so it’s a busy day. In the afternoon and evening though, that’s my time to just sit and RELAX.

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

      I’m the same way, I like to have evertything done by 5 so I can come home, make dinner then veg the rest of the evening.

  14. Erin @ A Girl & Her Mutt March 8, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    I’m a get things done on Sunday kind of gal. Saturday is usually my day of rest!

  15. Monique March 8, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    damn diva! i never wanted feta cheese so badly in my life LOL

    everything looks great!

    and i love days like that when i get so much stuff done.

  16. OliePants March 8, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    I like your oompa loompa muffins! 🙂 Feta does make almost everything taste better. I have to say this Sunday I was on my feet getting things done (house work, yard work, work work, etc). I’m looking forward a calm Sunday soon.

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

      I know, it’s just so creamy, salty delicious dairy goodness. And now it’s 10p and I want some feta!! Hope you get a relaxing Sunday soon 🙂

  17. emily (a nutritionist eats) March 8, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    I like to be productive on Sunday too…but then still be able to relax in the evening with some wine and tv. 🙂

  18. Jen March 8, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I’m a Sunday rester, we always go to my mom’s house for family dinner, take naps and just hang out 🙂
    I love feta cheese on pizza, it’s delicious!

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      Thats awesome, I need to find a family whose house I can crash for Sunday dinners 🙂

      • Jen March 9, 2011 at 6:35 am #

        If you’re ever in Michigan, you’re welcome to crash 🙂

  19. Katie H. March 8, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Walmart is the worst! That salad still looks awesome though! I used to treat Sundays as a day to get all my ish together. Lately I’ve just been a lazy bum.

  20. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 8, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Ohmygosh yay!!! They came out sooooo orange!! Of course oompa loompa muffin is the perfect name for these =) and they look delicious! What a fun variation!!!! ❤

    Gold star for your productivity miss thang! ❤

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      I love it–thanks for reposting it and showing your version! These are going to be my new go to!!

  21. Amanda March 8, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    How funny, I am the same way! I relax on Saturday but get all of my lesson planning, grading,cleaning and errands done on Sunday. I like it that way.

    I have the oompa loompa song in my head now.

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      Sorry girl, I had it in my head on Sunday night so I feel your pain.

  22. Laury @thefitnessdish March 8, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Damn, you’re STRONG! I have make clients that only do 60lbs on lat pull downs. I better make them step it up!!

    Most Sundays I am super lazy. Recently I have been getting stuff done though. It all depends on my mood..and the weather.

    • simplyshaka March 8, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      I’m happy I have the Laury Seal of Approval 🙂

  23. 40daykedge March 9, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Good for you hon with getting stuff done on Sundays. Maybe your productive vibes passed on to me because I had the most productive weekend of my life. Between Sat and Sun, to name a few things I:
    • worked out twice, including a swim workout
    • hung up shelves, a painting and other art
    • cooked 4 new recipes
    • Went to the container store
    • went to 4 differnt grocery stores
    • went to a poultry co-op
    • paid bills
    • talked with friends
    • planned my week
    • spent the night at a friends house

    • simplyshaka March 9, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

      Wow, you got a whole bunch of stuff done! All of a sudden, I’m feeling unproductive….

  24. dianacheung March 9, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    I stay the f*ck away from grocery stores on sunday if I can!! I rather run errands on saturday and have sunday to try new restaurants! I am doing work from home as well. Since I’m salary it doesn’t matter but it’s mentally healthier for me to do certain things here than cram it in at work!

  25. lookingupwhileslimmingdown March 9, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Those muffins do look good! I will try! And I’m sorry the guy at the deli didn’t give you his salami…lol.

    Have a great day and don’t worry about a thing! Life will all fall together one way or another. Be excited, not scared! 🙂

  26. Stephanie March 9, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    I tend to get pretty lazy on Sundays. It’s my way of stomping my foot in Monday protest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

