What I’m Loving

16 Feb

After seeing “What I’m Loving” posts on Soak and Simmer and Big City Baby Carrots, I started to think about what loving this week….

*Color coordinated meals

I took this hummus (which I thought would be spicier,  it was very bland for chipotle pepper but I guess I should have noticed the mild part on the lid?) and mixed with chopped onions and crock pot chicken from Saturday to make a different kind of chicken salad and had sweet potato fries on the side

I loved this protein pack wrap! 

*New Trader Joe’s finds

I added half a can of tuna to it to give it a little protein umph

This was a huge portion and quite tasty for a frozen meal, I will definitely be buying this again!

I’ve never tried lentils before but read about them all on the time on Ashleigh’s Slice of Life so I was intrigued when I saw this. Add to the fact that I’m trying to add more ethnic cuisine to my line up, I had to try this.

Ok, so it kinda looks like poo but besides that it was very good. I was expecting more flavor but it reminded me of a vegetarian chili. I wish I would’ve had some naan to dip into it with!

*Old school jams

 Thanks Melissa for bringing this song up!

*$1 Taco Tuesdays!

I got to indulge in this yummy goodness from Qdoba for $3.24 plus I got to see my burnout cutie. I think my co-workers could tell I was checking him out while we were in line. I was just staring at him and licking my lips all LL Cool J style but then again, maybe they just thought I was really hungry?

Speaking of LL, he is someone I would buy a workout DVD from—I mean, cmon, DAYUM!

*Random searches they bring people to my blog

  • has anyone bought ocean ritz resort unit 401 off craigslist
  • fun clothes for the rocker chique girl on a budget
  • “tuna the wonderfish” commercial actress

Sorry I couldn’t help any of you there!

*That I don’t read Us Weekly religiously anymore

Ali whateverherfaceis from the Bachelor is one of the Top Transformations by losing 10 lbs. Really?

*Mint.com

As you all know, I am forever on a quest to save money and Mint.com is the perfect tool to do so plus keep my money and budgets in check!  It is similar to Quicken from what I hear and you can import your checking and savings accounts along with credit cards, student loans, car loans, investment accounts, 401K’s etc. You can create budgets for different things such as food, entertainment, healthcare, transportation and they will email you reminders of when your bills are do. I just discovered it this weekend and want to curl up with Mint.com at night because I love it so. Plus it’s free, how could you not dig that?

What are you loving this week?

43 Responses to “What I’m Loving”

  1. Natalie @will jog for food February 16, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    I wish I didn’t read US weekly, it’s like crack to me! hahaha. I heard the Trader Joe’s foods are really good! I read an article that their frozen stuff is one of the best things to buy there.

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

      I wouldn’t doubt it–I’m not a huge frozen foods person but have been consistently happy with their stuff!

  2. terri February 16, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    thanks for the info on mint.com! i am signing up now!!! the chicken hummus thingy looks so tasty! great combo! happy hump day!

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness February 16, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Gotta love the google searches. Someone searched “tequila is good for your hair” to get to my blog.

    If that’s the case, I’m doing shots of patron this weekend…

    And yeah- I hate when they do weight loss stories on how people went from a 4 to a 2. Seriously?

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

      Please do, I wanna know the results!

  4. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl February 16, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Have you ever noticed that they say EVERYBODY is a “size 2” in US Weekly?! I kinda want to be featured just so I can miraculously be a size 2 overnight.

    Love the old school music! I still remember singing the T Bird is my baby daddy song in 7th grade at a soccer tournament – my dad was not impressed 🙂

    Andddd Rapper’s Delight will forever remind me of the old lady in The Wedding Singer with Adam Sandler..and now it’s in my head again.

  5. Carly February 16, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    I cannot wait until we get a Trader Joe’s here! Also, Jennifer Hudson is definitely a much better transformation than Ali.

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

      Fo sho, that article still annoys me a bit.

      Ummm its gonna be complete madness when you get one!

  6. Monique February 16, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    Oh Diva, You crack me up. Love you!
    i am craving sweet tater fries like whoa!
    Love LL
    and i get random google searches too! so weird.

  7. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 16, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    Hello doll! I’m going to need a list of your favorite TJ items for my next road trip!!! I never know what to try! =)

    color coordinated meals? ahhhh noooo! needs mucho green =) ❤ I know tons of orange is soooo tasty though!

    xoxo

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

      Hey I’ve been green all week, I’m jyst switching it up for a night!

      Keep on me abt the list, I will definitely put something together. I heart TJ’s.

  8. Kristina @ spabettie February 16, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    hee! I love the random searches – a couple of my recent :

    uhh wut. <– yep, I have the same question, dude!!

    chocolate dachshund. <– yes, I want!!

  9. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident. February 16, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    I love Chipotle hummus too! I just bought some over the weekend from a local market (kinda like Trader Joe’s, but without the booze:\) and I made tuna salad with it instead of mayo. It’s great. The one I got has some extra heat.

    I’m waiting for an LL Cool J DVD too, haha. I actually really liked his Platinum 360 book.

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

      I could use the extra heat, I like mine spicy!

      I will have to try with tuna now. Conveniently I have lots of tuna and hummus on hand.

  10. bigcitybabycarrots February 16, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Those TJ finds look so yummy. Also, I appreciate the food color coordination.

  11. Kace February 16, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    That is insane. Losing 10 lbs is not a transformation. It’s more a tweak in your lifestyle. Ugh.

    I’m loving the new Gaga song. And the new Usher one.

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

      I like the new Gaga song but haven’t heard the new Usher song.

  12. christina February 16, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    i’m loving your face.
    i’m not loving the distance between your face and mine.
    ok woah that sounded creepy like i wanted to make out…..you know i just wanna hang out!! haha

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

      Hahahaha thanks for the laugh!! I need to come up one wknd, even if it for just one night una noche holla!

  13. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings February 16, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    As an ar t teacher, I am all for the color coordinating food! Hooray for that! Ummmm, LL CoolJ, yeah. I’d probably watch the workout dvd on the couch with popcorn hahahah

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

      Hahaha I imagine it would be a hardcore workout! Now that I think about it I can totally see you being an art teach!

  14. Stephanie February 16, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Get out of my head. I’m putting together a what I love post for tomorrow right now. 🙂

  15. genesis February 16, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    love all the old skool songs 🙂

  16. Ashleigh February 16, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Ok, I am seriously in love with Trader Joe’s. Everything they have/make (mins some produce) is pretty much the greatest thing ever. I recently decided that I could never live somewhere that didn’t have a TJ’s within a reasonable distance.

    Thanks for the shout out! YEAH LENTILS! I should pick some of that up the next time I’m there because I am trying to try more ethnic things too!

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Aren’t they the best? I want to have little Trader Joes babies and bring joy and tasty savings to the whole world!

  17. jsutera654 February 16, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Um. That wrap looks fabulous. I must recreate it asap.

  18. Erin February 16, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    I read all my celebrity gossip online. Much less expensive and doesn’t feel as naughty. 😉

    I’m loving Mint.com right now too!

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

      I used to be addicted to Perez Hilton and TMZ but weened myself off. Sadface.

  19. TheSceneFromMe February 16, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    I am loving that it is warm outside today, finally the ice is melting! And I am loving that you just warmed me up on the inside too after seeing that picture of LL Cool J’s washboard abs. Roar!

  20. This Italian Family February 16, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Color coordinated meals?? Brilliant! I love it!

    I am loving the SPRING TIME WEATHER! Erm… sorry about all the caps… I’m just so darn excited about it! 🙂

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

      I’m excited about it too, today was the first day in a long time I haven’t worn a sweater to work!

  21. leashieloo February 16, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    I’m loving those sweet potato fries! I went through I phase where I ate them like everyday and got sick of them. Methinks it’s time for a comeback!

  22. lookingupwhileslimmingdown February 16, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    I’m so proud of you for eating Indian…AGAIN! I had to laugh that you said it looked like poop though.

    I wanted to try Mint a long time ago but was worried about security. But I know a lot of people really dig it.

    LL was on Entertainment Tonight last night and I agree with you….DAYUM is right!

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      Me too, thats why I held off on it plus the fact that it is free, thats just sketchy to me. But I guess they have so many partners and users, they can do that!

  23. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl February 16, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    I’m going to go and look up mint.com right now! Awesome!

    And there is nothing better than dollar tacos! Fun!

    • simplyshaka February 16, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

      It’s wonderful….both Mint and $1 tacos!

  24. Shanna, like Banana February 16, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Oh I have a bit of a crush on LL Cool J 😉 Always have!

    What am I loving this week? Hmm, that it’s almost over and I’m closer to being in Kauai 🙂

  25. Katherine: Unemployed February 17, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    I love color coordinated meals! as long as the color is beta-carotene inspired. so really only orange meals. orange you glad I didn’t say banana? (sorry for being lame; I couldn’t resist)

  26. Lily's Health Pad February 17, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    I’m loving this warm weather surge! I got your comment on my blog about mint.com. Several people have recommended that to me. It’s just a matter of me sitting down and taking the time to register.

  27. dianacheung February 17, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    sorry I still read US Weekly but sick of how it focuses on weight loss on people that are already skinny!!! Anyways you and your dark men! stop it!! hahaha. What I’m loving this week is throwing up…better than being nauseous

Leave a Reply

