Return of the Sinii

9 Feb

Is it weird that I’m 31 years old and have never seen Return of the Jedi?

(source)

I keep meaning to watch the original Star Wars but just haven’t gotten around to it. Whatever happened to Billy Dee Williams?

However, Return of the Sinii is in full effect and unfortunately, I am all too familiar with it. I thought my sinus problems went away but they crept back up on me Sunday afternoon and I have been miserable ever since. I finally went to the doctor tonight and he doesn’t think it’s an infection and I tested negative for strep. He prescribed me some zyrtec (so my company would pay for it with my health reimbursement card) and nasal spray which I’ve been having a ball with.

Not really, I seriously feel like crap.

I was calling people today and sounded like a sick 5-year-old valley girl….and I think I even got some symphony from some people which was a nice change of pace. Too bad I can’t remember the conversations though since I  was drugged up. We have to document every conversation we have so I am looking forward to reviewing those notes when I’m in a better state of mind. As long as I didn’t call anyone a f**tard, I think I’m clear.

I would love to show you all exciting, food creations I’ve made but this is all  I got, so enjoy.

Yeah, nothing exciting.

I think this is the most boring post I’ve ever posted so apologies but I’ve got nothing……just sinus problems.

That being said, I’m going to enjoy some new tea I got on sale at Target

LOVE individually wrapped tea bags. Celestial Seasonings-I’m giving you the stink eye. You trying to save the earth but not individually wrapping the tea bags is the main reason I don’t buy your product. I’m a hippie on the inside and everything but cmon, I need it so fresh and so clean clean

I’m going to cuddle with this little love

And see if this vaporizer is worth the money

I just want to be able to breathe again

Sing it Toni. Such a good yet forgotten song.

This one is my favorite though

Must download soon.

And her and her sisters have a reality show now? Has anyone seen it and if so, is it actually watchable?

While we are taking a trip down memory lane with songs that remind me of my glory days in college

What songs takes you back to college or your early 20’s?

51 Responses to “Return of the Sinii”

  1. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl February 9, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Try Afrin! It always helps me short-term…but a couple days on antibiotics really does the trick.

    Those songs cracked me up! Usher’s Yeah! was my junior year of college – and that Go Shorty, It’s Your Birthday was sophomore-ish year. Ohhh memories!

    Hope you start feeling better soon – until then, I’d suck up all the sympathy from clients you can get!

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:51 am #

      Thanks girl, I’m trying. When they ask me why I’m working, I tell them that I am too busy to call in sick and that gets even more sympathy! 🙂

  2. Erin @ A Girl & Her Mutt February 9, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    I just saw the movie last year. No worries. Its almost like something you can put on your resume at this point!

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness February 9, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    I feel like everyone is down and out this week! What’s the deal? Are you guys all hanging out without me?!?!?

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:44 am #

      Want to be one of the cool kids? Go get a sinus infection, it’s awesome. Meh. I need this to go away stat!!

  4. lookingupwhileslimmingdown February 9, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Hope you feel better soon! How was that green tea? I got some blueberry green tea at Marshalls and I love it.

    Stutter totally reminds me of spring break in Negril! I still have that spring break CD. Good stuff. Other songs that remind me of college? Return of the Mack (a la Speedy’s), Back That Ass Up, We Like to Party by the Vengaboys…i could go on…lol. Now I miss college. Thanks.

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:46 am #

      Hold on, you still have that cd?? You must burn it for me. I think Living on a Prayer was on it also?

      The green tea is really good, not too green tea-y.

  5. christina February 10, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    godddd i love all this rap. at the gym the other day we were joking about that song “tootsie roll” by 69 boyz. what a freakin classic right!? i haven’t had the athenos greek yogurt but i must go find it! i believe i saw it at my walmart…

    • simplyshaka February 10, 2011 at 8:20 am #

      That is REALLY old scholl! And they do have it at Wally World only $1!

  6. Whitney February 10, 2011 at 5:44 am #

    I have a nasal plague, too! Finally decided to break down and buy some cold medicine (which I never do, I just let it run its course) but its not helping!

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:51 am #

      Hope you get better-the way I feel right now, I feel like there is no light at the end of the tunnel.

  7. TheSceneFromMe February 10, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    Did you like that acai tea? My mom found the Republic of Tea, chocolate, for me yesterday but it was $13, so expensive for tea, so I told her to not buy it.
    She did buy me some chocolate mint tea though.
    Have a good day and feel better ASAP!

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:53 am #

      I love chocolate mint tea! I may have to suck it up and buy the $13 tea, we all need to indulge right?

      I did like the acai tea, I have a couple cups yesterday. It is light and fruity but doesn’t taste too green tea-y (if that makes sense?)

  8. dianacheung February 10, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    told you zyrtec! hahaha hope you feel better! hydrate up a storm and don’t use that nasal spray for more than 3 days if it’s afrin. Anyways, your songs are shakalicious but my songs were definitely usher’s “yeah” and high school jam was “THONG SONG”…woo hoo!!! Thighs like what what what baby move your butt!

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:54 am #

      OMG Thong Song brings back memories!! I have no clue what the nasal spray is but I will text you when I look, it seems to be working but don’t think I would like being addicted to it…..it’s uncomfortable spraying it up there!

  9. Natalie @ While I Breathe February 10, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    oh no! feel better!!! use a netty pot!

    since i’m in my mid twenties I will say what songs take me back to HS… the original Usher songs, old school puff daddy, the boy bands (who’s cd’s I STILL listen too), some hanson, nelly!… ahhhh loved that stuff

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:55 am #

      Oh gosh, I remember all the boy bands that came out–I always loved N Sync and 98 degrees! 98 degrees had the hotter guys though, in my opinion 🙂

  10. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle February 10, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    Even though I am probably the only person in the world…Return of the Jedi was my favorite Star Wars movie. I loved the ewoks when I was a kid, and I still love them just as much now!

    Hope you feel better soon…zyrtec works like a charm for me(I have really bad allergies) but watch out for the nasal spray, that can be addicting. I mean like crack. It took me 6 months to wean myself off after getting addicted to it. Yeah.

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:43 am #

      Wow about the nasal spray. I’ve heard people joke about it being addictive but never knew it could actually be? I will limit myself to once a day for now. The zyrtec seems to be working slowly but surely. But then again when I go into work it’s horrible, there’s something in the vents there that makes unbearable to breathe normally. All I do is sneeze non stop but when I get home I’m a bit better.

      The ewoks are adorable 🙂

  11. Carly February 10, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Get Low and Yeah were two huge songs my freshman year of college. They always remind me of dirty dancing in basements with coolers full of hooch. Ha!

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:42 am #

      Hahahha, love that you mentioned the hooch! Get Low was the big song by last yr in college.

  12. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 10, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    awwww sorry love! I’m prone to chronic sinus issues so I feel your pain! I hope the vaporizer is well worth the investment and makes you feel glorious! Hotter than hot bubble baths with menthol-y “cold and flu” bath salts help a little! I’ll usually try to steam it out any way I can!

    Hope you are 100% better each day ❤ xoxo

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:41 am #

      Thanks for the tips, I can tell a difference the past two nights with the vaporizer and it seems less dry in my bedroom so let’s hope this goes away soon!

  13. bigcitybabycarrots February 10, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    Feel better! Nasal spray seems to always really help me when I have a sinus infection. That and steaming in the shower until you turn into a prune.

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:40 am #

      I’ve been doing the shower thing lately just standing there and it feels so good and I’m cleared up…..then I have to step out.

  14. Monique February 10, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    awww pumpkin! feel better!

    thinking of you and sending you get well vibes! xoxox

  15. genesis February 10, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    fuctard…love it.

    anything early beyonce and destiny’s child definitely is throwbacc for me.

  16. This Italian Family February 10, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Ick! Girl, I hope you get feeling better SOON!

    Hard to believe you haven’t seen the original Star Wars! I grew up watching them because my brother was such a huge fan. 🙂

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:38 am #

      Thanks! I have tried to watch them but just fall asleep, it’s horrible!

  17. Katie H February 10, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Boo for return of the sinii! I haven’t seen return of the jedi either. It’s okay.

    Omg these songs are bringing me back! Ludacris and 50 cent always bring me back to college 😀

  18. OliePants February 10, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    Oh my word! You just really had 2000-2004 come crashing back to my ears!! You really hit the nail on the head with this one. PS Hope you feel better soon!

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:37 am #

      hahah, it’s what I do. It feels like it was just yesterday so I can’t believe it’s been that long, sigh.

  19. markp427 February 10, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    U Can’t Touch This and Smells Like Teen Spirit. Those two always remind me of my college days.

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:36 am #

      I need to go download Can’t Touch This! Or at least watch the ideo, that is a blast from the past!

  20. leashieloo February 10, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    Big Pun! Omg, I haven’t heard that song since high school. Memories! And I hope you feel better soon, I only recently got over my sinus issues. It sucks!

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:36 am #

      Seriously, it’s horrible. I feel like I’ve been out of it for the past two wks and I just want to be able to resume life as normal and not feel miserable. Meh.

  21. Kace February 10, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    One that ALWAYS takes me back to freshie year of college is That RKelly Ignition Remix. “sippin on coke and rum im like so what i’m drunk its the freakin weekend baby imma bout to have me some fun” was EVERYONE’s away message on AIM. Also In Da Club, Times Like These (foo fighters), and Crazy in Love.

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:34 am #

      All of those take me back to senior yr in college. That R Kelly song was the jam on spring break in Cancun!

  22. happytalesblog February 10, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Awww girl I am so sorry that you’re still feelin’ icky! This has got to change, soon!!! Maybe with the nicer weather around the corner you’ll get better?!

    BTW, for some odd reason, I totally was thinking of that stutter song the other day. I loved that one! What a small world that you just brought it up…

    Oh, and I haven’t seen ANY of the starwars movies…

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:33 am #

      Let’s hope so, the cold weather doesn’t bug me at all it’s just when it goes from 30 to 65 then back to 30—killing me here!!

      Stutter is a random song to think of hahaha, I need to download it asap!

  23. Katherine: Unemployed February 10, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    where did you get that yogurt? I’ve been looking!

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:31 am #

      I found mine at Walmart–only $1 each!

  24. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl February 10, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    Feel better soon! All those songs make me want to go and get out all of my burned cd’s from college! Awesome!

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 6:29 am #

      I wish I could find mine! I’ve moved so many times I have no clue where any of them are!

  25. Amanda February 10, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I have had Toni Braxton in my head all day. I hope your sinii let ya “breathe again” asap.

  26. Wendy Irene February 11, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    It was great seeing your blog today featured on Legally Fit. Katie is right, you are one funny girl! Hope you feel better asap. Happy Friday 🙂

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by and well wishes!

  27. Jen February 11, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    F*** Tard is one of my favorite words…love it! So sorry you are still feeling crappy, I hope you feel better soon! I’ve never seen any of the Star Wars movies, so don’t feel bad 😉
    As for the vaporizer, I put that in the kiddies rooms when they are sick and it works wonders!!

  28. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel February 11, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    nothing exciting? ur kidding right..i mean the burger and the pasta and meatballs!! OMG! that right there made me ravenous!!!

    aweeee and i wanna cuddle with ur doggie too ❤ ❤

    • simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

      I’m haopy it made you hungry. Well not happy if you’re starving over it or anything, I just haven’t been cooking as much which saddens me since I’m trying to save money and all but glad you liked 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The little Frugal Friday that could « Simply Shaka - February 11, 2011

    […] I am. And apparently, I like to talk backwards like the Yoda….even though I’ve never seen Star Wars somehow I know […]

Leave a Reply

