Just call me Snots

2 Feb

Seriously.

This nonsense with my sinuses has to stop immediately. All day Tuesday I was blowing my nose, if not blowing my nose, I was sneezing multiple sneezes in a row. If not that, I was wiping my eyes since they were releasing  tears every other minute. If not that, I was walking around with no tissue in hand and it felt like the floodgates opened in my nose. Which resulted in me running into a door because I was trying to walk with my head pointed towards the ceiling until I could get to tissue.

That being said, you can just call me Snots McGee.

Don’t worry I don’t have a little Mississippi leg hound in me.

So what does a girl named Snots McGee eat?

Nothing too exciting unfortunately.

Lunch was soup because cmon, who doesn’t love soup when they’re sick?

I’m still perplexed why I bought this one. I am not a fan of chicken and dumplings. I blame it on working at Cracker Barrel for four years.

It was quite delicious especially with some crushed up Ritz crackers mixed in. I could have had two more bowls if I had it on hand. Maybe I am a chicken and dumplings fan after all? Or maybe Campbells Chunky just knows what they’re doing?

Speaking of which, how freakishly pretty is Matt Hasselback’s mom? Elisabeth is like her mini me, which is kinda creepy since he married someone who looks exactly like his momma.

(source)

The theme for dinner was Let’s-see-how-many-veggies-I-can-fit-in-a-meal

I had a salad with baby spinach, cucumber, mushrooms, sweet peppers, red onions, carrots, kalamata olives and tomato

I was going to have a baked potato on the side but decided to jazz it up and topped it with broccoli and cheese

Then I added a Laughing Cow wedge to the mix since there is no such thing as too much cheese. This was one of the best baked potatoes ever! The only thing that would have made it more tasty was if I had Velveeta cheese.

God help me if I ever become lactose intolerant.

Since I’m feeling a bit blah, hopefully these links will keep you entertained,

*I am so loving Taco Bell’s snarky side

(source)

*Beware Green Bay fans, Suffering a Super Bowl loss can impact heart health. Just sayin, my money is on Pittsburgh!

*Speaking of the Superbowl-anyone see PETA’s banned Superbowl ad??

And of course, some Linky Linx

Do you say “Bless You”? I got some bless you’s at the beginning of the day but by the end of the day, the bless you’s were non-existent. I don’t blame them though, I stop saying bless you after five or six sneezes of the day. You should know you are blessed by now. Plus in my old job, I could never say “Bless you” to anyone because Stinky would get pissed if someone said “Bless You” before he did. Seriously. This was a 50 something year old man, such a bab. He actually got laid off the other week. I guess our company finally saw how useless he was and how much he was scamming the system.

55 Responses to “Just call me Snots”

  1. dianacheung February 2, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    my nose has been runny as well due to my ALLERGIES. Sucks..I left work, looked into the mirror, and saw DRIED boogers…embarrassing. No wonder people stare at me with pity at work. Anyways I hate to say this but…I dont heart Dane cook…screams Dbag to me. BTW LOL at your lactose intolerant comment! hahahahahahah

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      Oh, he is a total Dbag, I just love that skit. Other than that, I cannot stand him. He just has this holier than thou aura about him. Dried burgers totally suck, ugh. Mine won’t even dry, there is so much flippin snot!

  2. This Italian Family February 2, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Oh girl, feel better soooon!

    LOVE Taco Bell’s response! I hadn’t seen that yet. Hilarious!

    That Dane Cook video… hilarious! I am sending it to my husband. He will love that!

  3. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl February 2, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    I love Taco Bell’s response! Too funny!

    Hope you feel better soon! First the tooth and now a cold? No fun

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

      Yeah, not a good week for me. As long I don’t pick up the flu or walking pneumonia it’s all good!

  4. Carly February 2, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    I love that Taco Bell is coming back fighting! I don’t eat there anyway (unless I’ve been drinking…) but it’s good that they’re fighting for their companies reputation.

    I usually say bless you. If someone is out of control sneezing I might skip a few here and there.

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

      Me too, it’s been too long since I’ve had Taco Bell. Now that I moved I don’t even know where the nearest one is!

  5. leashieloo February 2, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    BOO on being sick! I just got over a sinus infection myself. How do you feel about Neti Pots?

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      I’ve heard they’re great but never used one. I’m clumsy and think I will kill myself with it.

  6. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl February 2, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    I hope you feel better soon! I hate being sick! I always want soup when I feel yucky!

    Isn’t Taco Bell’s response hilarious?!

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      Me too, I wish my chinese take out plce provided a gallon size of hot n sour soup–thats my go to when I’m sick!

  7. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident February 2, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    I’m sorry, but PETA has been on my shit-list for years because of their horrible marketing tactics. They go for overtly sexist nonsense or insane associations (dressing in KKK outfits outside the Westminster Dog Show? Really?). I want to respect their mission, I really do, but they make it hard with the ways they choose to deliver their message. Ugh. Ok. I’ll end my rant there, haha.

    I had Campbell’s Chunky Chicken Noodle yesterday for lunch- so good! I keep a few of their varieties in my pantry.

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      I agree. I respect what they stand for as well but the way they go about it-more about getting attention and being outlandish-kinda turn me off to them.

  8. Kace February 2, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    I need to go to Taco Bell stat.

  9. Monique February 2, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Feel better my love!
    as an old time fan of the bell… i hope this lawsuit business gets squashed quickly

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

      I think it will go away pretty quickly. I havent had it in forev but could totally go for a nachos bellgrande right about now!

  10. terri February 2, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    feel better, sweets! xo

  11. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 2, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    OMG that T-bell ad is hilarious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Feel better love!

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

      When I saw it, I thought it was a joke or something. I am all for sarcastic companys!

  12. TheSceneFromMe February 2, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    I love Laughing Cow cheese and will have to try that on a potato sometime soon, sounds really good!
    Get better soon!
    PS, May want to invest some $ in Kleenex stock. HA!

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

      Hahahaha, I keep telling people I have to buy their stock–great minds think alike 🙂

      Try the LC-you will love it!

  13. Amy @ Second City Randomness February 2, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    I’m sort of loving Taco Bell’s response, too. The whole situation is sort of ridiculous. I mean… if I want to eat it, I’ll probably not think twice about it. Even after all the freakouts…

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      Me too, I really don’t care. The only thing I order there is the nachos and I am drunk when that happens. And drunk food doesn’t count as fat or calories right??

  14. genesis February 2, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    uh uh…that wacko elizabeth hasselbeck is not Maat’s wifey, its his brother’s wifey…poor guy. Sorry im very protective of my Matt…and yes my mother in law is cute 🙂

    crazy train here 😉

    hope you feel better soon chicka

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

      Touche!! I always get the two confused!

  15. bigcitybabycarrots February 2, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    I have been having major sinus issues myself! It’s so yuck. Hope you feel better.

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

      Thanks, hope you do as well. I took a shower after work tonight and stayed in there for what seemed like an extra 20 minutes just so I could humidify myself.

  16. thefitacademic February 2, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Ugh! I’ve been suffering from a cold for almost a week now! It’s MISERABLE! At first I was glad it wasn’t worse (wasn’t flu), but now I almost wish it was, because at least most flu strains are gone within 24-48 hours! I hate how allergies or colds can just drag on & on & on!!!

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

      I’m kinda feeling the same way. People are dropping like flies at work–one day you will see someone not looking so hot then they are gone the next few days. I am functional but just feel and look like death–yeech/ Hope you feel better!

  17. Lisa @ Fit in the Midwest February 2, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Hope you feel better soon!

    That taco bell ad is hilarious. I hadn’t seen it before and I read it out loud to my husband (who likes TB). He laughed out loud and thought it was creative.

    Your salad looked so delicious! I love kalamata olives.

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      Glad to hear he enjoyed it and thanks, just took some meds but feeling better 🙂

      I love love love kalamata olives but definitely dont indulge in them enough.

  18. Posky February 2, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Now that Taco Bell is all edgy, I’m probably going to go there all of the time.

    “I DARE you to give me a seven-layer burrito… if you’ve got what it takes.”

    “All that it takes and then some… sir.”

    Awesome.

  19. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad February 2, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    I gotta say, I think the whole Bless You thing is so weird. When someone sneezes, I relectantly say it, but only because its so socially expected. But seriously….WHY???

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      I wonder why it is expected of people to say it. Yet another thing I need to google….

  20. Katie H. February 2, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    I do say bless you, unless it’s awkward. The awkward bless yous are the WORST.

    Have you tried a neti pot? They are weird but apparently pretty legit!

    I love Matt Hasselbeck! I always thought he was married to Elisabeth too until someone cleared it up for me a few years ago.

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      I keep hearing great things aboout the Neti Pot but I am afraid of it. Add the fact that I am super clumsy to the mix and it’s a recipe for disaster.

      I love the awkward bless you’s. Like in public, saying it eight seconds after. Yeah, I’m that girl!

    • happytalesblog February 2, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

      My boyfriend SWEARS BY his netti pot!!!!! It totally freaks me out, but he says it works so well! I just can’t get over the whole liquid going in one hole and out another type thing… aaaaaaaack!

      • simplyshaka February 3, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

        Yeah, I am clumsy plus not so bright with simple things like that so I would probably drown myself haha

  21. emily (a nutritionist eats) February 2, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    HOpe you feel better, I’m just on the mend right now! 🙂

    • simplyshaka February 3, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

      Eek, it’s that time of year—hope you get better as well!

  22. happytalesblog February 2, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Booo! I hope you feel better soon!!

    And yes, soup is always delish during this time of year. Esp when you’re sick!!!

  23. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings February 3, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    LOL! I love Dane Cook! Actually when I hear the term “snarky” I think of him too. And when I drive by Burger King and say “oooh the BK Lounge” LOL! Taco Bell gots them some ‘tude huh?! Loves it!

    Feel better chica!
    xo
    Mindy

    • simplyshaka February 3, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

      BK Lounge, I forgot about his whole BK schpeal, I need to youtube that since I crack up when watching that.

  24. Jen February 3, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Feel better soon!!!!!

  25. Katherine: Unemployed February 3, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    always bless you; never gazunteight

  26. OliePants February 3, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    Hello there Snots McGee! 🙂 Love the name but I hope you get better soon!!! I say bless you once. Then, the remaining sneezes are on them! 🙂

  27. happytalesblog February 3, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    PS. Totally just updated my blog roll and put you on there b.c. i am OBSESSED with your blog! I love reading it every. single. day!

    • simplyshaka February 3, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

      You’re too sweet—thanks so much 🙂 One of these days we will meet, lady and Happy and Linx will live happily ever after!

  28. bakebooks February 3, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    LOL – I love everything about this post!! Especially the title 🙂

    Hope your feeling better soon and yes – CHEESE!!! We would so get along 🙂

    • simplyshaka February 3, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

      Cheese makes the whole world go round!

  29. Emily February 3, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    aww, your doggy is so cute!!

    I’m convinced colds/sinus infections are the worst! They seem to linger forever and you can’t think straight. I hope you feel better soon 🙂

    I usually say bless you out of habit… I don’t even think about it. I usually stop saying it though if someone is having a sneezing fit or sick because I think they just get annoyed, lol.

  30. Tori @ FIToriBLOG.com February 4, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    loving Taco Bell ad too! thanks for sharing!!!
    love Dane Cook also.

Leave a Reply

