One down, 11 to go

31 Jan

Well, it’s the end of the month and that means time to check in on how I am doing with my goals for 2011:

*Pay off one credit card by 2/15/11.  

 Success! I paid off one credit card this past Friday so that’s one under my belt and now just one more with a larger balance I need to take care of. Luckily, it has a 0% interest rate until June so I don’t have to worry about the extra interest I’ll be paying but I am going to start paying down more on that.

*Quit my job. 

Oi. Ok, I am still not loving my job….it’s getting busier, I’m getting more accounts in my portfolio and I had to go in this weekend to play catch up. I want to quit and say eff it but the biggest reason I don’t want to is because I don’t want to dip into my 401K money to live off of. In the six years I’ve been with the bank, I’ve saved up a nice chunk of cash and I would hate to take out some of that. There is a potential 10% early withdrawal penalty and if I were to withdraw, there is a 20% federal income tax withholding. Eek. I’ve worked really hard to save up that money so I won’t have to work so hard when I’m older and would hate to see it go away so I could live off of but at the same, if it means I’m happier, who cares? Who knows if I will be around in 35 years, months, days, hours. I c0uld die tomorrow for all I know. Also along with that, I work for a good company (as much as I bitch about it). Alot of people are trying to get their foot in the door at the company that I work for since they offer amazing benefits, vacation time, compensations, etc. I’ve been there six years and in that I have more than doubled my salary and get hooked up with four weeks of vacation plus eight sick days and two personal days not to mention tuition reimbursement, 5% matching on 401K contributions, etc. I would really hate to leave the company but I think I am going to look at other cities still where my company is located.

I had a one on one with my manager last week and told him how I feel about this job…..but in a diplomatic way. When talking about subjects that I am passionate about (such as my life), I get emotional. I start to talk fast, turn red and usually end up crying. The last thing I needed was for my manager to see that so when he asked me how things were going, I kept my cool. I smiled and told him I was going to be honest and laud it out on the table…..

I told him I wasn’t a good fit for this job

I don’t like it

 I don’t want to be in this position long-term

 I’m looking at other fields and possibly leaving the industry/company

I really don’t sleep that much as night since I’m so stressed and that I have to take Valium just to be able to sleep (ok a little fib about taking Valium to sleep, I’m saving those suckers up for when I really need them but a little dramatic effect never hurt. I wasn’t lying about the sleep though, I have major sleep issues due to stress)

He thanked me letting him know all this and seemed to be a bit overwhelmed with all the information I just laid out to him. He asked if there was anything he could do to change my opinion about the place and I just said no, it’s just not the job that I thought it was. I almost threw in there how I wished I would have stayed in my old position since they did major lay offs the other week but didn’t want to get overly dramatic. I felt really good after I said all of this and have been in talks with people in other departments who are trying to help me out come April, when I can apply for other positions within the bank. So quitting is still a possibility but it just may not be as soon as I originally thought.

As for culinary school, I am still going to look into it a little more but don’t think it’s going to be a real option for me. Mostly due to cost and what my schedule would be like. I worked in restaurants for seven years between high school and college and I somehow seemed to forget that it was night-time hours for the most part. While I hate being stuck in a cube, I want to work when it’s light outside and be able to enjoy weekends and holidays with friends and family. So much to think about!

*Check out cities that could potentially be my new home.

 On the list to do still….this time of year is tough. I usually like cold weather but get a little sick of it by February so I’m trying to figure out if I want to move somewhere that is alot cooler than here or stay somewhere warm. Plus there is always the possibility of moving back to Phoenix. I wish I could find a company that will take my personality, goals, location desires, etc. and just tell me where to go, that would make things so much easier for me!

*Pay a little more on my car payment each month so I can pay it off quicker

Success! I’ve been paying $20-$30 more each payment, hoping it will add up over time and pay off the car a few months ahead of time.

*Cut down on  Starbucks and eating out.

I’m proud to say I’ve only been going to Starbucks two-three times a week, which is a drastic reduction for me. I used to go five-six times so this is definitely helping me keep some cash in my pocket. I’ve been eating out less as well and trying to use Groupons, Living Social deals and BOGO coupons whenever I do.

*No new clothes until March.

Still on track with this one! I haven’t bought any new articles of clothing but I have been hitting up the thrift stores and found some awesome finds this past Friday. Come back this Friday for a series on Thrifting!

*Plan a stay-cation instead of jetsetting all around the country.

I haven’t even had a chance to think about this one really but have trips to Arizona and Colorado in the works. Plus, it would be nice to go to Indiana to see my sister and nieces and to Florida to see my parents. My sister is going to Florida for a week to visit her timeshare so I may try to kill two birds with one stone there and knock out visiting both Indiana and Florida. I don’t think this goal is going to be attainable this year.

*Sell what I don’t need.

I haven’t sold anything yet but I am in the works of putting together everything I want to sell, take pics, put on Craigslist, etc. If anyone in the Charlotte area is looking for a Wine Refrigerator, let me know 🙂

*Try out new ethnic recipes.

Doing alright so far with this although I could vary it up some more. I made falafel for the first time, tried pupusas and am looking forward to more ethnic variety in my life.

*Be more consistent with taking my vitamins.

I suck at this. I give myself a C- since I haven’t been on the ball with this. I remember to take them every now and then at work—they are sitting right next to my phone so I can’t believe I forgot to take them! I also have a bottle at home to take some on the weekends and that hasn’t been happening at all. I like to think since I’ve been eating more veggies, it cancels out the multi vitamin but I still want to get into a consistent routine of taking them daily.

*Cut down on my meat intake.

Huge success! I’ve been toying with tofu, tempeh, even ordering veggie meals when I get Chinese take out and making meatless Monday a regular thing! With replacing meat with everything mentioned above plus various beans, quinoa, etc. it’s been a lot easier than I originally thought it would be.

*Use skim milk or almond milk in my coffee instead of half and half.

 Success! I am still not a huge fan of it but it’s been a success. When I do go to Starbucks, I will use skim milk plus a tablespoon or two of half and half to fatten it up (i.e. make it more tasty) but I haven’t bought any half and half for my house since the new year. This is big.

Day 5-a time you thought about ending your own life

I haven’t-sorry?! I like to think that life will never be so bad that I would consider suicide as an option. Plus, I have a little fear of death which is ridiculous since it all comes to us at some point or another.

How are you doing with your goals thus far?

45 Responses to “One down, 11 to go”

  1. vixter2010 January 31, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    I agree that I wish there was someone who could find the perfect job for you, it’s so hard to know what will fulfill you and make you happy!

  2. dianacheung January 31, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    i think you are doing amazing on your goals. Get rid of that debt and sh*t before quiting. I just wanna say thank you for being so honest about how you feel about your job!! I totally relate cause sometimes it seems like we are the only bloggers who have REAL jobs!! So I say this about moving…wait till I find out where I’m moving March then move with me? We can yelp it up 🙂 Hugs to you lady! You are doing well!

    • simplyshaka January 31, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

      Hahah, I love how you say that all the time! I am sure there are other bloggers who work out there, there has to be right?? 🙂

      • dianacheung February 1, 2011 at 8:26 am #

        no. none. bahahah okay I joke I’m a hater!

  3. terri January 31, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    i love that you are doing so well with your goals. you set really good ones, and all are definitely attainable! cant wait for the thrift store post! (from a true thrift store junkie!)
    i am scared of death as well……
    have a wonderful day!

    • simplyshaka January 31, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      And you work in healthcare right? So I hope you dont have to see it all the time 😦

  4. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg January 31, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    You seem to be doing really well with your goals! I love how you just put it all out there on the line with your boss– I know that must have felt pretty good. Honesty always feels good, even if it doesn’t necessarily alleviate the tensions of the situation.

    Happy Monday, girl!

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      It felt so wonderful after I told him all that-like a huge weight had been lifted off my shoulder!

  5. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel January 31, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    i really wish i made a 30 day challenge like this. i actually want to use yours and try it out for myself..especially in April since its my birthday month and would be a great treat to give myself!

    good job on knocking a lot of your goals out of the park! especially with regards to a lot of lifestyle changes and even cutting down on meat and subbing for vegetarian based proteins!

    i wish i could live in Arizona and i think if the opportunity exists to go out to Phoenix, it might be a great route to go. the warm weather would definitely be an asset!!! ❤

    xoxo

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

      You should totally do the 30 days challenge-do it in April or you could always do it now 🙂

      Phoenix is wonderful, I moved there after college since one of my best friends lived there but it was a tad too hot for me so if you can handle the heat go! There’s a lot to do there and only a four hr drive from Vegas 🙂

  6. Rachael January 31, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    I’m actually impressed at how many inroads you’ve made, especially when you consider that most folks let their intentions slide a week or two after birthing them!
    Paying off credit cards is the best feeling ever. I exorcised all of mine last year, and my life is infinitely better knowing I have no debt 🙂

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

      Thanks, I appreciate the encouraging words. Doing a check in each month is definitely helping me with them as well plus I have a list of them written down thats hanging in my bathroom so I see it every day.

      Go you for paying off your CC’s! That must be an amazing feeling!

  7. divasrun January 31, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    I’m definitely getting up early now that I have to be at the studio at 6 am! I think I’m on track with my run goals for the week. And I’m definitely on track for growing my CPT business although now that I’m working for a studio (they’re letting me keep the DIVAS Run identity for the running group) with the best of the best in this industry, I’m busting my arse to become better everyday.

    Congrats on paying of a CC! THat’s tough stuff. I have been tempted to dip in my 401K but the penalties to me are not worth it.

    Good luck with going to Culinary School and finding what you want to do.

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      Wow girl, you got a lot going on–that is awesome and you are a busy gal! Hope you are getting your sleep in there as well 🙂

  8. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 31, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Nice job on the credit card getting paid off! I wish I were as successful at chipping away a little more at the student loans… ugh.

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

      I feel like they will never go away, blah.

  9. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl January 31, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    Good job of telling your boss where you’re at! I know it’s not an easy thing to do, but there’s a definite freedom in not trying to be someone you’re not in your position.

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

      It felt great. I walked out and was like “Hold on, did i really do that?”

  10. Alex January 31, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    First of all, congrats on paying off the Credit Card! That’s a big one. I did that last month, but then got a little too happy, and already ran up $800 on that sucker. How the F did that happen??

    I’m right with you on the cutting out the eating out and coffee joints. It’s not that easy, especially with birthdays and valentine’s day this month…but i’m going to try to stick with the no eating out thing as well. We should hold each other accountable.

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

      Ugh, that sucks. But with tax season right around the corner you pay that bad boy down right away!

      Good luck with the no eating out thing–I can’t do it completely but I am definitely cutting down! Do you all do a chill V-Day or do the whole production like going out to dinner, etc?

  11. Carly January 31, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    You are really doing great on all of your goals! Don’t beat yourself up, it’s difficult to make lots of changes at once!

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      Thanks, I have to remember I can’t do everything all at once. I am gung ho what can I say? 🙂

  12. jsutera654 January 31, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Wow! Good for you for laying it out there with your boss…even tho it was probably a little bit scary at least now you and he are on the same page and the pressure comes off a little bit, right? I’m with you on the cube-life thing…if only I could make fitness my full time job, I’d be in heaven. But alas, it won’t pay the bills…at least not right now. So I feel your pain on the whole culinary school thing and following a dream…

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

      Thanks girl!! Isn’t it frustrating? Knowing it’s not your passion but it pays the bills and then some. I would love to do something that fits my personality better but unfortunately doesn’t pay the money. There is always the lottery tonight!

  13. Lisa @ Fit in the Midwest January 31, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    You are brave for talking to your boss so openly! I have done that before, but only when I knew I was quitting and moving away from the state I had been living in. It was hard enough to do that under those circumstances! Maybe because my boss was a bully.

    Anyway…love the header! Glad you figured it out. It complements your page nicely. 🙂

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      Thank you, I was up until midnight the other night figuring it out!

      I really wanted to go off some more but tried to keep it as diplomatic as possible while getting my point across.

  14. suki @ [Super Duper Fantastic] January 31, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    I don’t think I could approach my boss like that at my old job. It’s good that you can do that now. If you really are passionate about another job/career, you should definitely try to make it happen! But yeah, don’t dip into 401k as the penalties for early withdrawal are not worth losing the money over.

    Good luck!!!

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

      I was considering it at first and now I’m like No way—I worked too hard for that money.

      I’m very lucky that I have a boss I can talk freely though, doesnt happen too often.

  15. MelissaNibbles January 31, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    You’re doing amazing. I can only imagine how hard it must’ve been for you to talk to your boss and be honest. I bet he really respects your honesty though. Everything usually works out for the best in those situations.

    If you’re thinking of selling your stuff, I definitely recommend Amazon. I’ve sold a TON of stuff on there.

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      Thanks, I appreciate it. I was contemplating whether to say something or not and I figured in the past I kept my mouth shut and it’s gotten me nowhere, so lets try something new.

      I will check out Amazon, I’ve bought stuff from there but never sold–thanks for the tip!

  16. Karla January 31, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Good for you! It looks like your goals are going great! I like the idea of a monthly check in.
    Also, thumbs up for being honest with your boss! That kind of honesty is really admirable. I know I have a hugely difficult time in situations like that. Props to you!

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

      Thanks, I really had to plan it beforehand. Whenever I talk about something important to me, I get very emotional and start crying if I’m mad, sad, angry, etc.

  17. Natalie @ While I Breathe January 31, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    1. love the new banner!

    2. you need to move to Pittsburgh, cold schmold… its not as bad here as it is in NYC this year lol

    3. I’m envious that you’ve paid off a credit card… it seems insurmountable to me haha

    4. you’ll figure out the job thing… it seems you know more than you realize already and its just a matter of letting things fall into place…

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

      1) Thanks!
      2) It’s one of the cities I’m looking into b/c of the location–it seems central to a lot of stuff plus an hour away from WVU and a great airport
      3) Thanks, I feel like the cc thing is never going to end but at least I have one paid off now!
      4) Thanks for the vote of confidence, I hope you’re right 🙂

  18. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 31, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    You are doing amazing with your goals!! Wow! And good for you telling your boss how you really felt! That takes a lot of guts!

  19. Laury @thefitnessdish January 31, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Great job with your goals!!! Don’t beat yourself up with the vitamins. before I was preg I barely took vitamins. If you try to really get in your raw veggies, either with shakes, or snacks, meals…you are good. If you feel like you don’t get enough, then that’s another story. But I think the BEST source is FOOD!

    Good luck finishing out the other goals. i am very impressed with the financial ones. Those are the toughest ones or me to be disciplined with!

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

      Thanks girl. I feel like I have my days where I do great getting my veggies in then other days when I’m more meh but every bit counts right?

  20. Ashleigh January 31, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    You’re doing a great job so far!! I feel you on the job issue… it’s really SO stressful!

  21. Angela (the diet book junkie) February 1, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    great job on your goals, girl! i must say, i need to get on a list of my own. being on the othe side of the world and living out of a suitcase had put everything on hold but now, no excuses. hmmm…tackling sugar might be one of them…(or not, we shall see. :))

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 More power to you if you can do no sugar, that is a little too hardcore for me. I’m a believe in moderation 🙂

  22. Monique February 1, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    im so proud of you!

  23. TheSceneFromMe February 1, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Geesh gal, great job on your goals! I am with you on the no new clothes til March goal. I haven’t been to the mall since before Christmas and for everyone that knows me, that is totally NOT me, at all! My closet is spilling over and I have to stop my obsession!

    • simplyshaka February 2, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

      Thanks girl and that is awesome!!! Imagine how much cash and space you’re saving!

  24. Katie H. February 1, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    That was really brave of you to lay it out on the table for your boss like that. I would say you are doing well on your goals so far!

  25. nic - the auspicious squirrel February 2, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    Great job on your goals! You are an inspiration! 🙂

Leave a Reply

