Frugal Friday-last one in January!

28 Jan

Happy Friday all! Today is a Saturday for me since I’m not at work …..but not for a fun reason- I have a root canal this morning. I’ve never had one and completely petrified about the process but gotta do what I gotta do right?  They assured me that I won’t be able to feel anything and that better me the truth (or should I say tooth?) Regardless, I still have a good number of vitamin V on hand so I am ready for this procedure!

But enough tooth talk, let’s get onto some deals of the week!

*Citipass book

I love my Citipass book. So much that some nights I ponder cuddling it with it instead of Linx, which is just crazy talk!

I got mine through the local Kiwinas club that was selling them for $25 and after two or three uses, it pays for itself. It has BOGO deals all around the Charlotte area for restaurants, shops, spas, sports, coffee and more! Anytime I meet up with a friend for lunch or dinner, I always suggest going to somewhere from the book so that we can save some dough.

With my Citipass book, I got a couple of good deals this week-

*Great Harvest Bread

Their bread is so fresh, fluffy and tasty (not to mention preservative free with no artificial ingredients) I wonder why I don’t stop there more often. Then I remember that loaves are around $5 a pop which isn’t horrible but I don’t like to keep bread at home since I can go to town on a loaf when having a craving for bread. But every now and then I like to indulge.

I got a loaf of their honey whole wheat and their rosemary garlic bread. Both can be frozen however on their site they say not to refrigerate it, perfect for me since it will be less accessible to my bread loving hands!

*Donato’s

After the CrossFit class on Saturday, I came home and napped and couldn’t move. I had plans on making pizza but my body didn’t want to do anything that involved standing so I flipped to my trusted Citipass book and saw a coupon for Donato’s.

I noticed it didn’t say a specify a size of pizza so I ended up getting two individual pizzas for the price of one. Perfect since I wouldn’t have cold pizza in the fridge to grab and go in the morning (I love cold pizza for breakfast!)

*Morningstar Products

I love Morningstar however buy it rarely since I don’t want to spend too much money on something processed plus rely on that as my main source of veggie friendly food. But I got these two coupons at Harris Teeter a coupon of weeks ago and I held on to them so I could use when Morningstar goes on sale so I could get more bang for my buck.

I saw all Morningstar products on sale this week for $3.33 each and used these coupons so I got a box of their “sausage” and new Sesame “chicken” frozen meal for $2.33 each

Also while at Harris Teeter, I went through their clearance carts and saw Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit for $.49.

I figured, why not try it out, it’s only $.49 and while I am trying to eat less meat I’m not giving it up completely so this can come in handy

*Qdoba voucher

I received this voucher last year when I bought my sister a gift card from Qdoba for Christmas. We have Qdoba downstairs in our building and feel like I go there all the time but a practically free lunch? I can get down with that!

 I got their naked chicken burrito with all the fixins and it was terrific. Why have I been getting the tortilla all this time when I could have deliciousness in a bowl and less mess? Plus I love how they say “GO NAKED!” or “GET NAKED” when you order a naked item!

*McDonald’s Fruit & Maple Oatmeal

I wrote to McDonald’s earlier last year regarding a really bad experience there and apparently, they are trying to win me back with sending me free coupons!

I don’t go to McDonald’s too often but I am willing to try their oatmeal for free, I don’t want to see those coupons go to waste . On a somewhat related note-did you know that McDonald’s makes their own apparel for their employees? I knew they did it for their shirts and hats but didn’t know they had an “Apparel Collection”. I wonder if there is a Mcdonald’s museum in Illinois that shows you the apparel through the years along with food trends, promotions, etc.

Seen at Value Village this weekend

I’m glad to see that Frugal Friday is getting such a good reception and want it to continue! That being said, if anyone wants to do a guest post for Frugal Friday–let me know! I love getting new tips on how to save whether it be on food, cutting down on bills, living expenses, bank accounts, etc. If you have genius ideas of you own, I would love for you to do a guest post–contact me at simplyshaka@gmail.com—let’s make this happen!

Do you have a Citipass or Entertainment book?

Happy Savings!

 

22 Responses to “Frugal Friday-last one in January!”

  1. Carly January 28, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Good luck with your root canal, hope everything goes well and you feel better soon!

  2. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings January 28, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Good luck!!!! Maybe you can get another order of vitamin V for this puppy so you’re stocked up!
    **hugs**
    xo
    Mindy

    • simplyshaka January 30, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 They were so nice to me I didnt even try!

  3. genesis January 28, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    great deals. if only i lived in a big enough metro area to have booklets like those.

    wow, McD’s is definitely branching out.

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 28, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    In one of my Marketing classes, I learned McDonald’s even has a McDonald’s University for managers. Supposedly it’s quite a “prestigous” thing. Who woulda thought?

    • simplyshaka January 30, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      I heard about that too! I wonder if they get class rings with the golden arch on it??

  5. This Italian Family January 28, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    We so have one of those for our city! I LOVE it! We got a buy one get one free Froyo last week and it was fabulous! Saved us $5! 🙂

  6. nic - the auspicious squirrel January 28, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Good luck on your root canal today! Take it easy this weekend and pamper yourself! 🙂

  7. bigcitybabycarrots January 28, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Hope your tooth is all better! I wonder if they have a book like that for NYC …

    • simplyshaka January 30, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

      Thanks, it went very well! I would look into it, you would think they would have that or an Entertainment book.

  8. Alex January 28, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    T- I could totally be using some of your Vitamin V. Does it pair well with a red or white wine?

    • simplyshaka January 30, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

      Surprisingly well with red. I just make sure to take out Lincoln before drinking that concoction.

  9. TheSceneFromMe January 28, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Qdoba naked burrito is a favorite of mine too! And I wish there were a Great Harvest around where I live. Their bread looks to die for!
    I hope you are doing swell post root canal. Have a restful and pain free weekend!

    • simplyshaka January 30, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

      I don’t know why I haven’t tried it before but it’s definitely going to be my new go to when going for quick Mexican food!

  10. dianacheung January 29, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    omg. I WISH i lived in a big city with a citipass cause I’ll be BOGOing my a$$ off. Anyways, I think Great Harvest is actually a good “splurge” cause it’s FRESH HEALTHY bread. It’s a steal!

    • simplyshaka January 30, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

      Hahahah, it’s wonderful. I don’t know why more people don’t buy them!!

  11. emily (a nutritionist eats) January 29, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    You know I love these posts! I have a coupon book that I don’t think we have even used….need to check it out immediately! Not sure if I told you this last week or not, but I just wrote to all of the food companies and requested coupons. Most of them will send you some coupons!

    • simplyshaka January 30, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      Glad to hear 🙂 I will have to start writing all of my favorite companies!!!

  12. Simply Life January 29, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    oh that bread looks so good!

  13. thefitacademic January 29, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Ick! Root canals are never fun! I don’t have a citipass. My mom used to always buy them, but I never really ended up using the coupons so it was never worth the money (to me).

    • simplyshaka January 30, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      My parents have one for where they live in Florida but it kinda sucks compared to our places. It seems to get smaller and smaller each year with a crappier selection.

Leave a Reply

