If there was a carbo, yo I’ll eat it

27 Jan

Check out my meals while I try to de-meat it!

(sang to the tune of Ice, Ice baby)

And sadly, yes, I sang that all day long yesterday since it was another meatless day. I was craving carbs all day long. I almost went downstairs on my break to get a “snack” of french fries because the idea of them seemed great but then I started to remember this trying-to-eat-healthy thing I’m trying out. And I had dinner plans but they were canceled in the afternoon and I had absolutely no contingency plan of making anything at home and almost opted for a bag of chips for dinner-wtf is going on with me??

For breakfast, I made a quick breakfast sandwich at work. The idea was to make an egg mc-muffin knock off but I forgot the eggs, kinda important component huh?

So, instead I settled for a Morningstar Mc-Muffin with Morningstar Veggie Sausage, cheese and ketchup on a whole wheat english muffin. Tasty but didn’t fill me up. Thankfully, I had two cups of coffee right after that since something major was going to happen……

The two most boring hours of my life.

I looked at my calendar and remembered we had a two-hour training session on financial statements and cash flow. Oh, just what a girl wants to learn on a Wednesday morning. Mind you, even though I work in banking, I am not a numbers person. I hate numbers and often get dyslexic with them so I have to triple check my work most of the time which is frustrating as is. That being said, learning how to understand tax returns and balance sheets was not high on my priority list. That’s what the other people on my team are there for-to help me! I tell them if they help me, I will cook for them or bake them goodies. This seems to work so why stop a fool-proof thing? To make it worst, I felt like there should have been a two drink minimum with the presentation. These guys were trying to make common stock and accounts receivable seem like a fun thing? Um, no. Sorry, not in my world.

However, I had to keep myself occupied and look like I was talking notes so I budgeted for my next paycheck, went through my “To Do’s” for the day but that was done within 10 minutes. So I started to look around the room since there were a lot of new faces in there of people who I don’t work with too often but in the same department as me. And I noticed a couple of doppelgängers!

One guy looked like a younger, beginning stages of balding Ed Burns. And no ring. Hello!

(source)

I’ll be your Christie Turlington, bitch!

And then there was a guy who looked like the character Greg Marmalard from one of my most favorite movies, Animal House.

(source)

Looked just as douchey and with that bad of hair.

So that helped pass time a bit but I was itching to get out of there. Especially since I had my phone and kept seeing responses to yesterday’s post about pets sleeping in bed with you. It seems like more of you than not are all for letting the dogs in the bed but it seemed like the ones who don’t let them sleep in the bed are bigger. Lincoln is only eight lbs and doesn’t take up a lot of space but I can’t imagine sharing a bed with a big dog! The worst is that Lincoln is a male. So he falls asleep then leaves me in the middle night…..but he always comes back in the morning before I wake, thinking I won’t notice or anything. That little scammer.

We finally got out of the meeting  then back to work but it was around lunch time and was already hours behind on work so I worked and scarfed down lunch at the same time–leftover whole wheat spaghetti with mushrooms, onion and parsley.

 

I could have had two more servings of that if it was up to me but soon it was done…….and then on the hunt yet again searching for carbs. I knocked out a bunch of shit in the afternoon since I’m off on Friday since that’s root canal day and have a ton to do today so I feel a little more at ease. But then when I was making a call to a customer, I got this song in my head since dude’s name was Rico.

Whatever happened to Gerardo??  And did he ever cut that dreadful hair off? Bad hair or not, I used to think he was such a hottie. I like how the You Tube caption says “One of his greatest hits from the 90’s”, he had more than this one? Maybe on the latin music world? On another note, I wish I could roll my r’s…..

When I got home, I still had no idea what I was going to have for dinner. I was in the mood for pad thai but didn’t want to drive to the ethnic area of town in rush hour traffic so I ended up at Zen Asian Fusion. I live near this place but never bothered to stop in since the prices seemed a bit high from the looks of its decor but once I checked out the menu it wasn’t that bad. I ordered Garlic Eggplant and Tofu with brown rice.

The meal was delicious but not as garlic-y as I would have liked it to be. Mind you, I’m Italian and garlic runs in my blood but the sauce was smooth and tangy. Plus the portion was huge so I have leftovers for this week. Carb craving =success! And can I just give some clicks to myself? I usually opt for some fried fest of chicken like sweet and sour chicken or general tso’s chicken when getting Chinese food so not ordering that is major.

Day 3-Your views on drugs and alcohol

My name is Tiffany and I’m a drinker. 

I didn’t drink too much in high school due to working, playing sports, volunteering and partaking in various clubs. I was too busy to drink! But when I went to college, all hell went loose, appropriately so b.c I went to one of the biggest party, drinking schools out there—WVU!

Just another typical Thursday night out on the town. The bars had ladies night specials and this bar had free wine and champagne until 11P so we would hoard as many as we could and then go to town!

The year I dressed as a pimp for Halloween, some alcohol may have been involved….

A memorable night during Greek Week with Neyal

Leila and I looking like ladies at the Panhellenic dinner. I believe we were there for the free booze though.

Hooray for hayride! Yes, I’m carrying a 2 liter of soda but there was major Captain Morgan action going on it.

Sitting pretty in Jamaica. Jamaica spring break deserves an entire post of it’s own…..if only I could remember it!

After college, I still drank a good bit but definitely not as much as my college days. As the years passed on, I kinda lost a taste for it. Maybe I had my fill of it and just didn’t want it anymore? But as always, it came back to me and I started drinking again frequently when I lived in Arizona and when I moved to Charlotte. This time period is when I gained a large amount of weight so go figure. Plus the fact that I crave bad food when I’m drunk doesn’t help, neither does it that Phoenix had a number of 24 hour drive through mexican places all ending in ‘berto–Alberto’s, Humberto’s, Filiberto’s, etc. I thought there were more but that’s all I can think of. Leila??

When I decided to start taking care of myself better my alcohol consumption went down…..alot. Almost to practically nothing but I would still drink every now and then but wasn’t a weekend warrior anymore.

Bonging a Natty Light since I’m classy like that.

I have nights that I still have fun, like this one, dancing with random old men at the bar but I just can’t imagine drinking as much as I did 10 years ago. My body seriously hates me for all the damage I’ve done to it via the hooch but you know what? I had some great time, some wonderful memories that I may or may not remember 100% correctly and wouldn’t trade my drinking life back there for anything. Best. Time. Of. My. Life. Now, I prefer to have a beer or three or a couple of glasses of wine and call it night. I like going to bars but not obnoxiously loud ones since my hearing is horrible in my right ear and in normal situations, it’s difficult to hear you (if I am ever with you, I will try to be on your right hand side so I can hear you better). So liquor, I like it, just not as much as I used to.

As for drugs, if you like the ghang-rock on. I am not a huge fan of it but if you partake, do your thing.

The coke, heroin, x, meth? Not so much a supporter of. Especially since one of my friends from childhood had a brain aneurysm from a bad Ecstasy pill.

Do you drink?

Are any of your co-workers doppelgängers? Have you ever been told you look like famous and if so, who? Not me, I’m unique looking like that!

36 Responses to “If there was a carbo, yo I’ll eat it”

  1. Meesh January 27, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    Sorry about the brutally boring meeting! One of the kids I work with looks like a mini Matt Damon, so adorable!
    I’m definitely a drinker, though I’ve slowed down a lot. I used to be able to out drink a lot of guys!

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

      Me too, it was my claim to fame of sorts along with our sorority, we were the sorority that liked to drink.

      MMMm…hello mini Matt Damon!

  2. dianacheung January 27, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    no dopplegangers…I use to work for someone who looked like miss piggy..no joke. she was a b*tch too. Anyways at least the boring 2 hours didn’t include YOU calling sad clients. Anyways, maybe you are craving carbs cause you are working out a ton now! Anyways I dont drink at all now. I use to go out thur fri sat in college but not anymore! i need my sleep!

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

      Sleep trumphs liquor fo sho.

      I went to high school who looked like Miss Piggy, eek!

  3. Carly January 27, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I love that you call it Hooch! Ha, people down here think I’m crazy when I say hooch. Everyone in Charleston just calls in Jungle Juice.

    Gah, I loved me some hooch back in the day. Except now that I think about it, it was so gross! Ha, we would straight up drink it out of the nasty ass cooler or someone’s bathtub. There could have been some serious nastiness growing in there!

    I don’t drink nearly as much as I did in college, but I still have a wild weekend here and there.

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      Hahahahaha YES! How nasty was it that they had the hooch in tubs and nasty stuff? We never thought of it since we were too preoccupied trying to get drunk!

  4. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl January 27, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    As soon as I saw the post title, I was humming Ice Ice Baby! When I was younger, I was told I looked similar to Britney Spears, but I haven’t gotten that since I college…around the time I put on 40 lbs and she went off the deep end. haha

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

      LOL thats funny, definitely don’t pull a Britney! Although, you never really hear much about her anymore-I guess she’s on the straight and narrow??

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 27, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    I love how you’re in banking and not a numbers person…
    Sorta like how I’m in real estate and almost had to retake my one and only real estate class in grad school because I did that poorly… someone clearly has a sense of humor to put us where we ended up, huh?

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

      Seriously! I walked in the December ceremony then the next day I found out I didn’t really graduate. The one class mising? Accounting. Yeah.

  6. LeilaQ January 27, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Eriberto’s, Roberto’s, Fiesta Burrito…

  7. This Italian Family January 27, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Never really drank much. I tried it for the first time when I was 12 with my family in Mexico. It was awful. Then I had wine once while living in China (probably 15? also with my parents present). Equally awful. I didn’t turn 21 until after I graduated college so I never drank in college (I’m very much a goodie-two-shoes, haha). Christopher and I tried champagne on our honeymoon and it was also awful. Then I found out that I’m not supposed to have alcohol because of my heart condition and I was suddenly VERY thankful for my distaste for it. It was much easier to “give up” alcohol (since I hardly had it) than it was to give up caffeine and sugar. In general, it seems like it’s like soda or black coffee – not many people like it the first time they try it. It takes some getting used to before you develop a taste for it. I just never had it often enough to develop a taste for it.

    Never touched drugs. They screwed up my brother’s life. When I was 12 he made me promise him that I’d never go near drugs. I kept that promise.

    I get told that I look like Anne Hathaway a lot. In the summer when I’m tan people are forever telling me that I look like Jessica Simpson. I find that kinda funny since Anne and Jessica look nothing alike. 😉

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

      I can see the Anne Hathaway!

      Hold on you gave up caffeine? You’re my hero!

  8. genesis January 27, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    please meet me in NOLA during Mardi Gras…PLEASE! youre my kinda party girl. oh and you can be my pimp anytime!

  9. livelaughloveandrun January 27, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    I can’t think of anyone at work that looks like a star, but there is this woman at my hair salon that could pass as J-Lo’s twin! As far as the drinking, I used to drink a lot more than I do now. I used to go out a whole lot more too. Now, I’d prefer to just have a drink with dinner on a weekend night. Those pictures are too funny.. oh the college days!!

  10. thefitacademic January 27, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    Good job on beating those cravings for chips & fries! Great accomplishment! I drink some, but not a lot. I used to be a big drinker when I was in college, too, but I’ve kinda calmed down (read: become an old fogey!) & now I only drink maybe once a week (or even every other week) and when I drink I usually only have 1 or 2 of whatever I’m being served. I’m just not that “into” it anymore…

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

      Good to see I’m not the only one, I feel some lame sometimes saying that but it’s true, just not as into it as I was years ago.

  11. christina January 27, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    my life is not complete until i indulge in an obnoxious amount of alcohol with you. you kick ass. lots of it.

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      One of these days I need to hit up Charlston!!

  12. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) January 27, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    LOVE the pimp costume on you. That is amazing. I love all of the flashback pictures, actually.

    I crave the worst food when I’m drunk. This is a big reason why I gave up fast food for 2011. Hangover food does me in everytime.

    I lost a friend to ecstasy too. I’m not a fan. I’ve actually never tried it and never will. It freaks me out too much.

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

      I was trying to eat at home before going out to the bar but then a value meal from MCDonalds sounds so good at midnight after some drinks.

  13. emily (a nutritionist eats) January 27, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Ay, I would NOT do well with all those numbers!!
    I used to party a lot. Kind of too much at times during high school and college. Now things are a little more low-key and I like to keep it to a few drinks. I can’t be hung-over, too much to do! 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

      I know, I just can’t handle wasting a day away being hungover! I have too much to do on the wknds and hungover at work is even worse!

  14. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 27, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    I eat very, very, VERY badly when drinking! UGH. Yes, I drink. Not nearly as much as I did in college…my body still hates me for what I did to it in college. Oy. And your tables at ladies night look just like ours did when the bar in our college town did nickel pitchers. Those were some fun times!

  15. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 27, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    I have a few drinks at home from time to time, but I can’t remember the last time I went to a bar for drinks. I drank Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night in college though. Sometimes Mondays too…. No wonder I miraculously lost like 15 lbs after college.

    RE: your Linx post…
    We are both such crazy pet owners. I tell my Link that he’s so handsome and that he’s “Marmie’s boy.” I frequently ask him, “How did Marmie end up with an orange boy?” OMG I’m so crazy!

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

      It’s crazy how much I drank back then. I don’t know why my body still wants to do its thing every day after all the abuse I put it through, ugh.

      We are crazy pet owners alright 🙂

  16. Ashleigh January 27, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    I work closely with someone who looks just like clark kent.

    Yay for being meatless and booze!! I can’t drink as much as I used to be able to either… I get SOOO hungover!

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      Me too, it’s just not worth it to waste a day. Ohhhh Clark Kent, me likey 🙂

  17. Katie H. January 27, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    LOL- Bailey can’t leave me in the middle of the night because he is scared to jump off of the bed. Otherwise he would be a typical male 😉

    Back in grad school (my blonder, tanner days, haha) a girl I didn’t know came up to me and told me I looked like Sienna Miller. That would be awesome but yeah, no.

  18. nic - the auspicious squirrel January 27, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Hey that’s cool… I’m hard of hearing on my left side… so you being on the right would be perfect 😉

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      I love when that happens. Seeing that other people have that but in the left ear, not loss of hearing, it just sucks!

  19. TheSceneFromMe January 27, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    Oh I love whole wheat pasta like that, kinda dry, but flavorful! Don’t get me wrong, I love all that goopy saucey stuff too. My mom used to make homemade pizza when I was little and I never ate it, so on pizza night, I always had plain pasta with parmesan cheese only on top!
    I’d rather EAT my calories than DRINK them, so I hardly ever have a drink. Unless of course I am on vacation in the Caribbean. And say NO to drugs. Being in healthcare, I see too much bad crap that happens to people who are addicted to booze and drugs.

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      I am not a huge sauce on pasta kind of girl so a little butter, red pepper flakes and permesan is my favorit way to eat it!

      A drink with an umbrella in the Caribbean sounds might fine right now 🙂

  20. Brittney January 28, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    I drink, but it’s getting pretty rare these days. Pretty much only at dinner on a weekend and I hardly ever have more than one drink. Probably because I’m a SLOW drinker!
    As for the doppelganger- the person I’m told I look like most often is Jodie Foster.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One down, 11 to go « Simply Shaka - January 31, 2011

    […] success! I’ve been toying with tofu, tempeh, even ordering veggie meals when I get Chinese take out and making meatless Monday a regular thing! With replacing meat with everything mentioned above […]

Leave a Reply

