I’d like to buy the world a Linx

26 Jan

 I love my dog. I think you all know that from all the stories about him, the pictures and his own page on here. The boy just makes me happy….especially when I come home from work. He is so damn happy to see me every time no matter what and he never lets me down with lack of enthusiasm. I walk through the door and he starts to hyperventilating while jumping around and attacking me with his halitosis puppy kisses (don’t worry, working on getting him into a normal dental regime, we do things as a team here!) Then he sniffs me to see if I’ve been out with another doggie and once he is done with his assessment, he can breathe again.

When his breathing is back to normal, we finally go outside and he sashays down the street, hopping around like a deer and one would think he is the happiest dog ever. I live off of a major street so when I get home from work, people are stuck in traffic and just look downright depressed. Then they look at Lincoln hopping around without a care in the world and smile and some people even roll down their window to tell me how cute he is (Tell me something I don’t know people)

Seriously, how could you not love this face?

I always tell Lincoln that everyone loves him and he is so cute but it never goes to his head. I like to believe that his enthusiasm and general happiness make others feel good and smile. When we get home, he gets a treat if he goes potty and then we play. His favorite game is the dead game. I drop down on the bed face down and he hops over me like I’m a hurdle. It’s more fun that you would imagine. Then he burrows under my body trying to get to my face so he can give me kisses and will dig into my hair so I look like I have JBF hair. Fun. I’d like to buy everyone a Linx so he could bring them joy every day.

But then I saw this on GMA yesterday and was sucked in watching it (which made me a little late for work), sleeping with your pet can be bad for your health?

Mama, I’m tired. No way I’m leaving this bed!

He is my little portable heater and my cuddle bug, no way that’s stopping. I don’t care if it does make me sick, there have been numerous studies that pets are good for your health. Then to make it worse I perusing the news online and saw  a SC woman was charged with killing “ devil dog” because the dog chewed her Bible. Check out the article, she doesn’t look deranged or anything.

Regardless I was in a super happy mood yesterday morning and actually excited to go to work—what’s up with that? I was smiling from ear to ear and had no clue why. Maybe it was laying the best of my worst dates out on the table or delirium from lack of sleep but this girl was in a great mood! My co-workers must have thought I got some the night before but sadly, not true. I was just in a good mood and didn’t even have a sinking feeling in my stomach like I always do on the way to work. Unfortunately, that changed towards the end of the day in a meeting. I won’t go into details but I basically got called a moron and a spazz all in one. The banking world doesn’t like spazz’s (spazzi?) Again, tell me something I don’t know regarding the spazz part.

I’m glad you all enjoyed the post on Monday on the bad dates, 30 day challenge and all that. It’s nice to know that some of you can relate with me on the bad dates. The sad thing is that’s just some of them! I think I’ve pushed all the other bad dates into a corner of my mind I don’t wish to revisit. But maybe one of these days…..

So let’s go over the eats now…….

For breakfast, I mixed it up with nut butter. I don’t like nut butters and don’t go ga-ga for them like many other bloggers do. I just don’t get the appeal of it unless it’s covered in chocolate of course. I am trying to like it since it’s packed with protein and you can vary up a lot of different things with it but still not a fan. I used half a packet of Justin’s Honey Almond Butter that’s been sitting in my snack stash drawer for awhile, spread on an English muffin and topped with bananas. A simple breakfast, can’t go wrong there.

Lunch was leftovers of my last bowl of chili. Always delicious and this one had my mouth on fire! Love it!

When I got home from work, I was spent. But I kept on truckin and made the dinner I planned on making–Greek stuffed chicken with sweet potatoes.

I pounded one chicken breast until thin (very good release after a frustrating day)

I mixed hummus, kalamata olives and red onions in a separate bowl

I spread one wedge of Laughing Cow on the chicken then spread the hummus mix on it

Then folded over and toothpicked that sucker up. Lots of cussing was involved as always since the chicken was not too keen on cooperating with me

I massaged with extra virgin olive oil and black pepper then let that bad boy cook!

I don’t know if it was because the stuffing wasn’t solid enough but the chicken didn’t hold too well together but still turned out tasty.

It was good but not as good as the stuffed chicken I made a couple weeks ago.

Afterwards, I was feeling meh. I was full, cuddling with Lincoln and the last thing on my mind was the gym. It was cold and raining outside and I just wasn’t feeling it. But I made the mistake of posting on Twitter, I was going to the gym and I had some ladies call me out on it, so yeah, to the gym I went.

I had a decent workout, I did 25 minutes on the Precor AMT with a resistance ranging from 7-13 then did 10 minutes of rowing. I had a calorie burn of 400 and felt great afterwards! All I needed was a little push to get me there and even though I didn’t go balls to the walls, I had a nice workout.

And now for Day 2 of the 30 Day Challenge-Where you’d like to be in 10 years

10 years? Wow, I have absolutely no clue. All I know is I will be 41 (ay effin chihuahua) I would like to have traveled to Europe at that point. I want to have my student loans paid off and have a nice retirement nest egg by then (which I am well on my way to the way my 401K is growing!) I don’t even know where I will be in six months so 10 years is hard to say!

On a fun note—another one of my closest friends has joined the blogging world! She popped her blog cherry Monday night so please stop by and say hi at Looking Up While Slimming Down! While you’re at it, check out my best friends blog–she ran her first half marathon over MLK weekend in the PF Changs Rock N Roll Half  and wrote a wonderful (and inspiring) recap!

*If you have a pet, do they sleep in bed with you?

*Do your close friends blog?

Happy hump day everyone!

52 Responses to “I’d like to buy the world a Linx”

  1. TheSceneFromMe January 26, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    I have two pups and they do not sleep with us. That’s all I need is their dog hair in my bedroom too, NOT!
    They shed alot and we don’t allow them to go upstairs.
    But when they stay at Grandpa and Grandma’s house, they do allow them to sleep with them and they love it!

    None of my friends blog. And none of them care that I blog either.

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

      Thankfully Linx doesnt shed, that would drive me nuts!

  2. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl January 26, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Both of my dogs sleep with me! Kinda makes for a full bed, but they do a great job of keeping my feet warm!

    My sister had a blog for a year to document her life in South Korea, but not that she’s back, the blog has stopped. Several of my college friends blog about their family which is cute!

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

      I love that but it sucks in the middle of the night when I get too hot! Your sis’ blog sounds like an interesting read!

  3. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 26, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    We have a dog and a cat….our dog does not sleep with us, but the cat does! The dog still has to sleep in his crate…if he stayed out all night he would bark at every little noise and no one would get to sleep!

    My sister had a blog for the longest time…she’s hilarious. She hasn’t been as active, but I’ve been trying to get her to start again!

  4. dianacheung January 26, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    stop making me want a dog!! i want a mini furry best friend who loves me unconditionally!! Anyways, get chocolate pb then!!! Get the pb&co dark chocolate dreams..you’ll thank me…until you eat the whole jar. Anyways, good job on working out…I was gonna tweet for you to go also but some days you need a break too! And none of my close friends blog. they think I’m crazy for having blog friends..cause…I am…crazy that is.

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      Dude, my ass does not need to get bigger so I will pass on that. But then again, maybe I could control myself around it??

      You so need a dog. Maybe a little little one like a teacup chihuahua?

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      AHHHHH then you can dress it up in a pharmacists coat and take it to work and he can help dispense!

    • happytalesblog January 27, 2011 at 12:02 am #

      ohmigah. I loooooooooove pb&co dark chocolate dreams! That stuff is like CANDY! it’s so freakin’ good!

  5. This Italian Family January 26, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    Lincoln really is just so adorable! I love the image of him hopping around the front yard, so cute! 🙂

    Oreo doesn’t sleep in bed with us for lots of reasons, but a big one has to do with the fact that he has to know who “Alpha” is. Since Oreo is a pit/boxer/dalmatian mix, it’s part of his personality to want to be “the alpha” in the family. We did a lot of research on his breed combination before we adopted him and learned a lot about him. He’s happiest when he knows that we are the bosses and he knows his role in “the pack” (I hope all of this doesn’t sound ridiculous, haha!).

    We really have to be careful with him because while he is a real sweetheart, lots of people are petrified of pit mixes thanks to the media. So if he were to jump up at someone in a friendly greeting, we could end up losing him just because that person felt threatened. Because of that, we work hard to keep him well trained so he doesn’t do anything that might scare someone.

    All of that is to say, some of the things you have to do to teach a dog “his place” (please don’t think we beat our dog, it’s nothing like that!) include making him sit before he gets ANYTHING (food, attention, toys, going outside, etc), he’s only allowed on furniture when invited up and he never gets to sleep in bed with us. I do snuggle with him on the couch all the time though and we often have “family nap time” on the couch on Sunday afternoons with all three of us. 😉

    So there is your incredibly long answer to such a simple “yes” or “no” question, haha!

    All my friends in high school had Xangas back in the day. It was great! None of my friends blog now, though. 😦 However, several friends and family members do read my blog, they just never comment. Usually I get a text or a FB message saying, “Hey, just read your update and blahblahblah” 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      Haha, that was long, yes, but I loved reading it! It’s interesting to see peoples different approaches to their pets.

      alot of my friends do the same thing!

  6. Carly January 26, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    I don’t have a pet in Charleston, but my parents have our family dogs in Kentucky. No way do I share the bed with those boys – Yogi is a golden retriever that weighs about 115 pounds. That boy stays on the floor!

    And nope, none of my close friends really blog. They all think I’m a weirdo. 😉

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      Some of mine do too, don’t worry, I got ya back!

      And yeaaaaah, a 115 lb dog? I cannot see that in my bed-he would take up the whole bed!

  7. Ashleigh January 26, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    I want a Lincoln for myself! I have two cats and I let them sleep with me every night. I just love to cuddle with them!

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

      We can replicate his DNA so you can have one! If only that didn’t cost thousands of dollars….

  8. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 26, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    I don’t own a pet, but when I dog sat for a couple weeks, I had no issues with the two little pups sleeping in the bed with me. Until one sat on my head every night. That was unacceptable.

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

      HAHAHAHAHA. That? Is great. I can totally see that happening to you.

  9. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings January 26, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Yep yep! Rocco AKA Wee Dog ( http://fisilis.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/introducing-rocco/ )sleeps in bed mith my husband and I. He wedges himself right between us.

    My old friends don’t blog. But my new online friends I met though blogging.

    xo
    Mindy

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      New bloggie friends rock!

      Rocco looks totally cuddable, how could you not invite him into the snuggle fest?

  10. adventuresofpretendcook January 26, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    My dog generally doesn’t sleep in the bed with me. However, when my husband is out of town I do break down out of loneliness and let her sleep with me. It just makes me feel better. 🙂

  11. genesis January 26, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    no pets but if i did i would probably not let it sleep in the bed with me.

    my bff blogs for sure.

  12. Brittney January 26, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Yup, Clyde sleeps with me, and I don’t see that changing. I totally agree with you, he’s my space heater and cuddle partner 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

      Ain’t no loving like little dog loving, they are tops!

  13. leashieloo January 26, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    I couldn’t imagine not cuddling my cat at night 😦 She even goes under the covers and “spoons” me. I heart it.

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

      Lincoln does the same, I love it!!!

  14. bigcitybabycarrots January 26, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    What a wonderful post! I love that your love your dog as much as I love mine. They really are wonderful. Of course, Hadley sleeps in bed with me. It is particulary awesome when he is willing to let me cuddle him like a stuffed animal.

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      Thanks! I do the same thing when I get in bed, Lincoln likes to go undercovers and I like to hold him for a few minutes. It’s a nice way to fall asleep 🙂

  15. LeilaQ January 26, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I saw the thing about not sleeping with your dog, not kissing your dog on his/her lips, etc. NO WAY DUDE! I have Percy trained to give me a kiss before I put her food in her bowl, whenever I leave for work in the morning, etc. And there’s no way I’d kick her out of my bed (at least not while I’m sleeping alone! Hehe!) One doctor was quoted saying something like, “It’s rare, but if you get sick from your dog, who cares how rare it is, you’re still sick.” Whatever!

    I’m gonna keep on kissing my dog’s lips AND letting her sleep with me! And, for the record, unless it’s a super nasty public restroom, I usually still sit on the seat too! I have skin for a reason.

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

      AMEN SISTER! Doggie kisses are the best, how and why would we stop a good thing? I had Lincoln giving me kisses on demands but haven’t tried it with putting food in the bowl, maybe I should try that?

      I was going to text you this but its too long so here we go…..I call your Snuggle Buggle thing Snuggle Buggies. Thats what I always thought it was! So, stinky bleu cheese and ass guy at work-aka Stinky got laid off. I ran into one of his smoke buddies that he would go out with and have 7 or so cigs a day with today as I was leaving and I said to him (a little snarky) “awwww, what are you going to do without your snuggle buggie” and he was like “Huh?” and wanted to know what I was talking about but just walked away really quickly. They were total snuggie buggies.

      • happytalesblog January 27, 2011 at 12:08 am #

        LOL omg this comment has me cracking up all over the place and yet I have no idea what a snuggie buggie/ snuggle buggle is. Buuut whatever it is.. i love it!!! And I think i want one?? (as long as it’s safe?)

      • LeilaQ January 27, 2011 at 11:16 am #

        After reading this I realized that I didn’t explain HOW he got that nickname – will update today!

        @HappyTales – The short of it is that this guy I dated texted me one night saying he wished he could come over over a “snuggle buggle” before he left town for a long weekend to visit family. That was all but a year ago and every still calls him Snuggle Buggle – even my guy friends. Heheheee

  16. Morgan January 26, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Everyone needs a Linx (or a Rufio). They are too darn cute!
    Rufio absolutely sleeps in the bed with us. I don’t care what anyone says, he’s not going anywhere (not like he would sleep in his bed no matter how hard we tried).
    And none of my friends blog, and I’ve only become real life friends with one other bloger. Maybe that’s why I’m not so so into it anymore

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

      Agreed-plus Rufio is such a cutie, how could you not want to cuddle with him??

      I would hang with you if I lived near you 🙂

  17. Natalie January 26, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    Miss Minnie the great dane used to sleep with me because she was spoiled… when I my bf moved in he put an end to that immediately… and i have to admit there is a lot more room in that bed now… i felt bad at first but she sacks out on the couch and comes up at 6-7am to wait at the door for us to wake up…

    That chicken looks fantastic, never thought to use hummus as stuffing!

    • simplyshaka January 26, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

      I can imagine how much more space you have no! How much does she weigh?

      Hummus is wonderful, either that or I will coat with hummus!

      • Natalie January 27, 2011 at 11:23 am #

        she’s about 120 lbs and 6ft tall stretched out end to end which is how she sleeps usually hahah

  18. thefitacademic January 26, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    My dog ALWAYS sleeps with us! I know we should have “boundaries” and I’ve heard all about how that can be bad because they can track germs into the bed, blah blah blah…. I don’t care. I wouldn’t have it any other way! : )

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

      I’m the same way–I should be more authoritative with him but he is so cute and only 8 lbs. I’m not his owner, that dog totally owns me.

  19. Monique January 26, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    You’re right, that woman looks TOTALLY sane. And I think I know why sleeping with your dog is bad for your health…

    Mine raises my blood pressure all the time!!! haha, even though we play a lot of stupid games like you described (Woody sometimes licks my toes for hours on end — what’s weirder that he does it, or that I encourage it?!). Lately, he’s picked up this super weird habit that PISSES ME OFF!!! He’s wetting the bed hahaha SICK. I’ve washed my sheets, matress cover and comforter three times in the last two days 😦

    I’m about to make him sleep in his damn cage. I don’t know if I’ll ever follow through there, but I thought about making him do it.

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

      WOODSTOCK??!! What the hell is going on with him? I feel bad for you but I’m kinda laughing also, maybe he doesnt like the the hoe weather in AZ?

  20. happytalesblog January 27, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    WHAAHHHH I seriously love your blog. So much. You always have me cracking up and Ryan just gives me these looks wondering what I’m laughing about. And then THAT cracks me up. Anyyyyway… I am such a fan of you!!!!!!!!

    Okay so to answer your question. We totally let happy sleep with us! except we didn’t at first (or at least Ryan didn’t.. I snuck her in bed and had her sleeping with me when Ryan traveled for work a few times back in the fall hehehe). THen Xmas came and we went down to my mom’s place in FL.. and we had to keep happy’s crate in our room. And I was like “Why don’t we just let her out of the crate and let her sleep with us?” And he was like “ohhhh fine…” and so she has been ever since! Ryan has also taught Happy how to “kiss” on command, it’s pretty stinkin’ cute! And yep, I saw that article… but I don’t care. Happy will continue to sleep in our bed. I laugh in the face of danger.

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

      Awwww Happy. I love that you scammed him into letting her sleep in the bed hahahah. How could she not sleep with you, she is just too cute!!

      Thanks for the love, I appreciate it–glad to know I can make you laugh!!

  21. nic - the auspicious squirrel January 27, 2011 at 1:53 am #

    Little-bit isn’t much of a snuggler (he wants to be near, but not necessarily touching)… plus I had to do some of the same leadership/ alpha things with him like your reader This-Italian-Family… so he is no longer allowed on the furniture. He was allowed when he was a pup, though.

    Floofy was a submissive dog, so we didn’t have the same issues with him, so he was allowed on the furniture, and I often snuggled with him on the couch. He was allowed on the bed too. At some point though, the queen size bed just wasn’t big enough for the three of us… Floofy would sleep in the middle and then somehow push us off to the sides throughout the night… Eventually, I bought the cooleroos (puppy hammocks) and started having him sleep on that.

    I kinda miss the snuggling… oh and my cat that I found when I was in the 5th grade (who lived 16 years)… she was allowed on the bed… she slept just under the covers and in my arms like a doll. 🙂

    I don’t know anyone who blogs… except bloggers that I’ve met through the internet. I don’t tell many people (in person) that I blog either… just a select few.

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

      I always took Little Bit for a snuggler. Thats interesting though that he just likes to be near but no snuggling. I need to look into cooleroos-I’ve never heard of that. Lincoln is very skiddiish so he would never go on there but it sounds like a cool concept.

  22. Jen January 27, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    My Mom has a Shih Tzu that thinks she is a baby and sleeps in my mom’s bed, on her own pillow every night. She is the diva of the house.

    You don’t like nut butter? I don’t think we can be friends anymore. I kid I kid!

    The chicken looks AHHHHMAAAZING!

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

      Her own pillow? Thats very divalicious! Lincoln has his own blankie though so I cant really talk!

      • Jen January 31, 2011 at 11:11 am #

        Yep! She is pure diva…all 4lbs of her 😉

  23. Katie H. January 27, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    Dead game sounds awesome. Aw, I love Linc. Bailey definitely sleeps in bed with me! I think it is a requirement that if the dog is under 15 pounds they have to sleep in bed with you. Not really but it works. My best friend started a blog and that quickly faded out. Sad.

    • simplyshaka January 28, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

      It does work, they are the perfect size to share a bed with and cuddle up! Dead game is so much fun, Lincoln goes crazy over it 🙂

Leave a Reply

