And so I whimper.

22 Jan

Ok, I hurt. Like really, really, really hurt. I haven’t hurt this much in a long ass time and the next day is going to be rough. Don’t worry, it’s not an emotional hurt, it’s all physical, all over.

“Why are you hurting so much?”

The answer involves two words—CrossFit.

Yelp sponsored a Cross Fit/Kettlebell class this morning at the new, swanky Metro Fitness Club. This place opened in September 2010 and I’ve been curious to see what it was about since it looked top-notch from what I’ve seen on their website plus they offer a number of programs such as CrossFit, kettlebell training, athletic conditioning and personal training plus offer the standard machines for cardio and strength training. I RSVP’d for this class at the last-minute last night out of boredom and  was just hoping for a good workout.

And a good workout I got.

I heard many people rave about CrossFit but never knew what it was about. From Metro’s website

   
  CrossFit is the Sport of Training. It’s different, it’s fun and will get you results fast. The camaraderie of our group training builds friendships, self-confidence and character. Our program focuses on varied full body functional movements that will make you stronger, faster, leaner and more powerful. Just come in and get started. You don’t have to get ready for it, that’s where our expertise comes into play! Everything we do can be scaled. If you are deconditioned, have a tweaked back or bad knees, we modify or scale our exercises and work load, so that everyone can participate. Our goal is to insure that you are working towards your potential with maximum effort in a safe environment. That means that everyone has different goals and ways to achieve them. We’ll get you there with great coaching, encouragement and support. See what our clients have to say about Metro CrossFit.

Hmm, still not sure what that meant but guess I had to go to see. When I walked into Metro Fitness, I was overtaken by the aesthetics of the place. It has orange and brown hues with very modern lighting and decor. I went into the locker room to drop off my stuff and while small, the locker room was visually pleasing as well and super clean. I started talking with one lady in there since I was wearing a WVU hat and turns out her ex was from there. I love seeing Mountaineers and repping my school! Turns out she was the General Manager and we would be seeing a lot of her in the next hour and a half. I met up with the rest of the Yelp group until it was time for us to start. We all moved back to the CrossFit area, not really knowing what to expect

(source)

(source)

We did some warming up before getting started

 They started to explain what CrossFit was and how it worked.

(source)

We split up into two groups–one for athletic conditioning and the other for CrossFit, I was in the CrossFit group at first and they put 15 minutes on the clock and we did as many intervals as we could within the 15 minutes

*250m rowing

*10 shoulder press and dips

*25 box jumps (I couldn’t do this so I just did step ups)

*5 burpees

And repeat. Doesn’t sound hard right? No. It was difficult doing everything so fast repetitively and my the second round I started to feel it. I had my heart rate monitor on and it was looking quite effective at that point!

Next round was athletic conditioning which I thought would be easier but again-wrong!

We paired up and did intervals at five different stations such as mountain climbers, sprinting with backpedaling, single legged jumps, step ups and hurdling. Of course, all of these aren’t the technical names but the best I could remember them. This absolutely kicked my ass. I kept telling my partner that my knees were burning and could feel my butt jiggling and she laughed and told me then it was working and I just shot her a death look from all her enthusiasm!

Soon after, we did our cool down along with stretching and complimentary smoothie samples (absolutely delicious, the strawberry banana was my favorite).

I was cursing the workout while doing it but shouldn’t have because check out this calorie burn! 

Holy crap!! And my high heart rate was 197–absolutely ridiculous but it was really effective and have no doubt that it brings results. The staff at Metro Fitness was absolutely wonderful, supportive and friendly. I was expecting a bit of a Biggest Loser scenario  and if I heard a phrase like “We got some heroes up in this place!” like Bob always chants, I swore I would’ve gone ape-shit but no go. I definitely recommend this to anyone out there that wants to be challenged!

Thanks Metro Fitness and Yelp for sponsoring this challenging, sweaty event!

Afterwards, there was yet another Yelp event to attend-it was the day of Yelp apparently! This one was for lunch (much-needed after a 800 calorie burning workout) to try some pupusas at a local El Salvadorian restaurant-El Pulgarcito de America.

I had no clue what a pupusa was so I had to google it and this is what I found on Wiki:

A pupusa (from Pipil pupusawa) is a traditional Salvadoran dish made of thick, hand-made corn tortilla (made using masa de maíz, a maize flour dough used in Latin American cuisine) that is filled with a blend of the following: cheese (queso) (usually a soft cheese called Quesillo found in all Central America), cooked pork meat ground to a paste consistency (called chicharrón, not to be confused with fried pork rind, which is also known as chicharrón in some other countries), squash (ayote), or (pataste), refried beans (frijoles refritos), or queso con loroco (loroco is a vine flower bud from Central America). Pupusas are typically served with curtido (lightly fermented cabbage slaw with red chilies and vinegar) and a watery tomato salsa.

(source)

Slap me on the butt and call me intrigued b/c I was ready to get my pupusa on!

I ordered two pupusas

Under the hood shot…..

I also ordered a chicken tamale which wasn’t so good. It was too soggy and kept breaking apart

I loved the pupusas! I got mine filled with beans and cheese and they were hearty, tasty and full of queso. I loved it and had to stop myself from scarfing them down. Yay for trying new things! This place was super cheap. It was only $1.50/pupusa so I ordered two and $2 for the chicken tamale since that was the perfect amount of food for lunch. My bill? $6.60 for two pupusas, tamale and a diet coke. I will be coming back here fo sho-if you’re in the Charlotte area and want to take a chance on something new–try out El Pulgarcito de America. It’s in a bit of a sketch area on Central Avenue but worth a visit (during the day time at least)

Afterwards, another Yelper and I decided to check out  Central Coffee in Plaza Midwood. I follow them on Twitter and Facebook and they are a relatively newer company that I have been meaning to try.  We had coffee in house, served in a mismatching saucer set-just my style.  I’m not a saucer kinda girl at all but it was lovely and so was the Central Shorty (how cute of a name for a drink is that??)

 I kept looking for images of Jesus or the Virgin Mary in my coffee but no go.However, I think I saw a heart  which was appropriate because I fell in love with CC today.

It was nice to sit, enjoy a cup of coffee with no rush for time and talk. This is going to be my new go to spot for coffee and free Wi Fi access when I’m in the Plaza area.

When I got back home, Lincoln was super excited to see his momma and I wanted to take him out for a long walk but I was too achey too so we went out for a bit and tried to exhaust as much energy from him as possible. Then, all I wanted to do for the rest of the day was shower, get in comfy clothes and sleep on the couch. It was wonderful. When I woke up, I had plans on making pasta but really didn’t want to stand up or do anything that didn’t involve sitting so I ordered an individual sized pizza from Donato’s and it hit the spot!

Awwww yeah.

The rest of the night will be spent with little man.

 I just want to lounge, cuddle with him and whimper. Not asking for too much right?

And for those who asked about the marinade I used on the fail of a tofu the other night—it’s from Cloister Honey, a local company here in Charlotte.  I believe they deliver so you should check out their website, they also offer an infused vanilla honey.

Have you ever tried CrossFit?

 If so, what are your thoughts on it?

If not, do you have any interest in trying it?

33 Responses to “And so I whimper.”

  1. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 22, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    Ok so…how do I get involved with Yelp? I belong at these types of events. I’ve been wanting to try CrossFit for ever! I thought it was different than the bootcamp style you’re describing. That kind of makes it less interesting to me.

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

      Just sign up for Yelp in your city or biggest city near you and then they offer classes, events, etc. that you can sign up to do and are usually free or have at a discount. This was an intro class covering both athletic conditioning and CrossFit but I dont think either were bootcamp (sorry if I made it sound that way!) it was just go-go-go moving around in intervals so that appealed to me since my heart rate was consistently up there. No yelling or anything rude from the instructors though 🙂 I would like to do a class every now and then but not sure if I would like to do it 100% of the time.

  2. happytalesblog January 22, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    Daaaang, girl…that crossfit sounds super intense! And athletic conditioning? Now that would be the death of me… They have that class at the Y and I stay as farrrr away as possible from it!

    • simplyshaka January 23, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      Yeah, one of my coworkers goes to every morning before work and says how hard it is but I just thought he was being dramatic! That crap was tough~!

  3. Natalie @ While I Breathe January 23, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    I think crossfit would kick my big butt…

    I heard of something that was supposed to incorporate gymnastic type skills and aerobics and I thought about seeing if there was any of that around given my gymnastics background but as always might be something i’d be more comfy doing after dropping more initial weight…

    what types of things did you do when you were first losing weight?

    • simplyshaka January 23, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      It seriously kicked my butt but I’m happy I tried it out. I’ve heard so much hype about it, it was nice to witness it first hand.

      That gymnastic based class sounds interesting–I wonder what it is?

      Exercise wise, I was walking at first then I started doing more cardio like the elliptical, stationary bike, walking on an incline on a treadmill. Once I felt comfortable with those, I started incorporating more strength training into my routine.

  4. TheSceneFromMe January 23, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Oh cool, thanks for the Yelp suggestion, I am going to try signing up.
    I have never tried CrossFit. I have a few coworkers that do it and look wonderful because of it.
    I need a challenge. And that totally looks like it would knock me down!
    What a cool gym, I mean they even have turf in there!
    Don’t you wish you had a hot tub to soak in today with all those sore muscles! Maybe a heating pad will do 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 23, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

      I kinda want to go to my next door neighbors and see if I can rent out their hot tub for an hour. I will even clean it out after and everything!

      Definitely check out the Yelp, it’s great plus in my city they offer a lot of free classes and workout stuff. Crossfit was amazing, it was like nothing I’ve ever done before. Some people say it was like P90x but I would never be able to do P90x since I need tough love and someone yelling at me 🙂

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 23, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    I’m so jealous! I want to try crossfit sooo badly! But, if we’re being honest, I might have passed out half way through. Go you!

    • simplyshaka January 23, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

      I started laughing 10 minutes into it b/c I was in so much pain! You know I go by the motto “I laugh so I won’t cry”

  6. movesnmunchies January 23, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    WOW! ive never heard of CrossFit, but that is some great calorie burnage- dang!

    • simplyshaka January 23, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

      It is some good stuff-I just started to hear about it in the past few months!

  7. Nancy's Perfect 10 January 23, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    No pain no gain right?? haha u can punch me now 😉

    I LOVE pupusas!! Sucks that the little spot I used to frequent for them closed 😦

    I want your eats please. They all looked delish!!

    • simplyshaka January 23, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

      LOL riiiiiiight. Still in pain, this totally sucks.

      I hate when you have a solid spot to go to and then it closes. But cmon, you are in AZ, there has to be other places right?? 🙂

  8. lookingupwhileslimmingdown January 23, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    Hope you’re not too sore today. Did you have someone take a pic of you guys warming up? I’m still getting the hang of this blogging thing (i at least signed up for my profile!) I’ll start blogging soon.

    Hooray for Football Sunday Funday!!!

    • simplyshaka January 23, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      I like your tag line!

      Thanks for calling me, someone took the pictures from Yelp and I stole it.

      It hurts to sit 😦

  9. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 23, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    Wow! That class sounds INTENSE!! I hope your muscles are okay today!

    It sounds like you had a great day!

  10. Erin @ A Girl & Her Mutt January 23, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    I have several friends that are involved with CrossFit and swear by it! Talk about hardcore. Nice work!

    I’m heading to a YELP event on Tuesday. No working out. Just eating and drinking!

    • simplyshaka January 23, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

      Those are my favorite kinds 🙂

      I’m supposed to go to a Yelp yoga event tomorrow but I dont know if I’ll be able to move!

  11. Kelly Olexa January 23, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    OH Baby!!! I am so jealous that you’ve jumped into some Crossfit action before me!! But I’m glad you loved it….the more I hear about it from my bloggy friends, the more excited I am to get INTO it. 😉 And OMG that Mexican food goodness made me aroused in a food kinda way. Is this wrong? if it’s wrong, I don’t wanna be right….hahaha. Donato’s Pizza. We had that in Columbus OH when I lived there, and I haven’t heard someone bring up that name in forever!! Small world. 😉

    • simplyshaka January 23, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

      I hope it’s not wrong because I get aroused too hahahah. As for CrossFit-kicked my ass but I’m sure you will have no issue with it at all since it was a lot of plyometrics that you already do. But for an outta shape girl like me, wow, it hurts today!

      I love love love Donato’s, I forgot its from Columbus!!

  12. dianacheung January 23, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    WTF! yelp has WORKOUT events? I guess it’s all about balance..hahaha. anyways that gym looks too hardcore for me..I’ve never done crossfit or whatev but i’ve done the insanity videos at home…IT’S SCARY SH*T!!! Mmmm…loving the gooey cheese action in this post…great job on the workout..and ahahah about lincoln’s evil pic in the last post!! I’M SCARED!

    • simplyshaka January 24, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

      He tends to bark at ethnic people sometimes too 😦 But he likes latin folk–I think mostly b/c he is part chihuahua!

      Does your yelp not offer classes like that? I seriously want to nominate our community manager for an award!

  13. Ashleigh January 23, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    I have heard good thing about crossfit and it’s ass kicking-ness, I would love to try it sometime.

    • simplyshaka January 24, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

      Do it, girl! I’m still achey though 😦

  14. bigcitybabycarrots January 23, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    I want to try crossfit so badly. I hear its incredible and now that I see how many calories it burns, I’m sold. Just need to get the go ahead from my PT.

  15. Whitney January 24, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    I soooo want to do crossfit! Sounds intense and awesome at the same time. My kinda thing!

  16. jsutera654 January 24, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Whoa! Holy calorie burn!! Now I’m dying to try it too!!! Thanks for demystifying the whole Cross Fit thing for me, I always wondered what all the fuss was about 😉

    • simplyshaka January 24, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      Anytime–I never knew what it was either. I had people explain it to me but always thought “Oh, that doesn’t sound too hard” and wrong I was!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Frugal Friday-last one in January! « Simply Shaka - January 28, 2011

    […] the CrossFit class on Saturday, I came home and napped and couldn’t move. I had plans on making pizza but my body […]

  2. One down, 11 to go « Simply Shaka - January 31, 2011

    […] alright so far with this although I could vary it up some more. I made falafel for the first time, tried pupusas and am looking forward to more ethnic variety in my […]

  3. Frugal Friday–Yelp a sister out! « Simply Shaka - March 11, 2011

    […] *CrossFit at Metro Fitness Club […]

Leave a Reply

