Frugal Friday

21 Jan

So unlike the past few weeks, this Frugal Friday has no theme. Just some of the cheap finds, deals and things I’ve run into this week!

1) Coke Rewards

I’ve been collecting Coke Rewards from Coke products for the past few years. With them, you can go online and get a variety of things like DVDs, magazine subscriptions, gift cards, etc. I’ve gotten at least five or six magazine subscriptions through this, one for my sister for Christmas and got  a Chili’s gift card for my parents with my points. I try not to drink as much caffeine as I used to but my friends and family give me theirs (like I am 12 years old again)

2) Shroomies

Instead of buying a bin of pre-sliced mushrooms for $3, I like to buy out of the mushroom basket in the produce section. Especially if I have a specific recipe in mind. As much as I love the shrooms, some times it’s difficult incorporating them into meals before they go bad.

3) I checked my mail this week  and found two interesting things:

Dunkin Donuts coupons out the ying yang!

Totally set for the rest of the month! And don’t worry, it didn’t come with one coupon missing, I cut it before I could even get a picture.

Then when looking through what I thought was junk mail, I saw this cheap offer

I like food. And I like wine. And what do you know, I like magazines so six issues for only $6? I may have to take part in this. I figure $1 for some form of entertainment isn’t bad at all plus I could stumble upon some new-to-me recipes!

4) Adios prepared breakfast sandwiches! During the work week, my breakfast usually consists of oats with fruit, greek yogurt with fruit or granola or an occasional sandwich from establishments near work.

This past week I have been bringing in egg whites with Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat english muffins to make an easy and quick meal to start my day off right!

5) Going to the library

I got  an email from my local library branch letting me know that I had some cd’s and books that I requested ready for pick up. So I booked it over there (pun intended) and saw these jewels.

Don’t laugh, I have a slight obsession with the 70’s. I have been in a Bee Gee/Barry Manilow loving mood lately and I think I ever sang an emotion filled rendition of “Mandy” to one of my co-workers yesterday. I am happy about the cd’s but I am most happy about the Brandon Flowers solo cd “Flamingo”. Although, it’s more of a bittersweet happy. Flowers is the lead singer of the Killers (AKA one of my top three favorite bands) and him putting out a solo cd doesn’t sit well in my stomach because in the past when this has happened with bands, has left the band splitting up so I definitely hope this isn’t the case.

Plus he’s a babe.

(source)

I’m a little ashamed to admit, but I picked up Skinny Italian at the library as well

And even more ashamed that I am diggin it so far! But what do you expect from someone who loves all things RH (except Atlanta and Orange County)

Many” Juicy Bites from Joe”, don’t worry none are dirty or anything. Besides, I’m a sucker for a guido so I am happy to see his face.

Throughout the books there are “Teresa’s Tips”, not sure if these are actually her tips or not but some of them are amusing.

Some of the RH make an appearance through the book. No Danielle though–I was secretly hoping for a table shaking and flipping picture though.

LOVE IT!

Since it’s a “skinny” cookbook, they offer the nutritional value of everything in the back of the book.

I may actually have to buy this book, I am really enjoying it so far plus I already have a quite a number of recipes dog earred already!

6) Text messages

Because I had today off, I had plans on sleeping in but I woke up around 730A to a text message. Who would be texting  me this early when friends know I have today off?

 The answer?

Chick Fil A!

I had plans on going uptown to hit up a Panera that just opened so I could get my free Wi-Fi on so I stopped at Chick Fil A along the way and apparently, I wasn’t the only one who received the text message.

7) My Panera rewards

The reason I was going uptown on my day off was to hit up Panera. I will stop by Panera but I don’t have cravings for it unless I have a coupon that is. Plus, I can sit there, clear my head, catch up on blogs, bills, etc. with no distractions from Lincoln or anything else so it’s relaxing for me. I checked My Panera rewards the other night and looks like I had a free espresso drink waiting for me.

I went with the caramel latte

And if you didn’t think I would chow down on my free Spicy Chicken Biscuit at Panera, you would be wrong.

Plus they have Tabasco packets!  I just ran out so a perfect opportunity for me to stock up!

The place is very pleasing on the eyes however the acoustics are out of whack. I’ve had to move three times now just to find a spot where I don’t have to listen to either the staff members gossiping or the way too loud classical music.

So, that’s what I got for today-hope your Friday is off to a great start!

Do you take advantage of free Wi-Fi when out?

Do you check books out from your library or buy them?

Happy savings!

34 Responses to “Frugal Friday”

  1. Lisa @ I'm an Okie January 21, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    mushroom basket? I’ve never seen one of those in grocery stores here!

    lots of great tips!

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 8:42 am #

      Yep, just a little basket full of shrooms in the produce section near the lettuce. I just discovered them!

  2. Carly January 21, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Oh man, your post got me craving some Chick-fil-a real bad. At least spicy chicken isn’t a stripper name, right? 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 8:45 am #

      I hope not-maybe in Georgia(where Chick Fil A is from) or Arkansas (I think thats where Tyson Chicken is from?). I say do it, Chick Fil A is always a good meal 🙂

  3. TheSceneFromMe January 21, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    “Avoid Stripper Food” is hilarious! I’ve never thought of it that way before! But Lord knows I still gotta indulge in a little candy and cupcake once in a while 🙂

    I usually just buy books. I have a stack of books now on my coffee table just begging to be read! And they are all about dogs!

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 8:47 am #

      I love doggie books! Have you read one called “Inside the Mind of a Dog”? I think thats the name but it was semi interesting.

  4. Natalie January 21, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    I rent books from booksfree.com which is great when you have time to read its pretty affordable but library’s are obviously even better I just never get near my local one.

    and I always have 3-4 books on my xmas list every year for the ones I know I’ll read more than once lol…

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 9:04 am #

      Thanks for sharing that link, I’ve never heard of that website!

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 21, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    The Killers are totally in my top 5. Probably top 3 if I think about it really hard. (Gotta love Spaceman, right??? ha ha)

    And I got the Dunkin’ coupons, too. Not that I often go out for breakfast, but I go enough to keep them handy in the car (just in case!).

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 9:06 am #

      You and that Spaceman song! I think of you every time I hear it now since you have a three day bender with it.

      I usually dont go there during the work wk but they are perfect for the wknd when I either want a quick bite or want a coffee. I tried their raspberry ice team yesterday and was disappointed 😦

  6. Erin January 21, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Ha! Avoid Stripper food! I’m going to have to check out this book!

  7. genesis January 21, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    i shudder just thinking of that cookbook…sorry. RHNJ is not my favorite. its right up there with Atlanta.

    I wish we had a DD in the area. But then again my hips and ass are glad we dont 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 9:07 am #

      Yes, you’re a lucky girl. I have to make sure I dont fall to the siren calls of the donuts when I walk in. Which RH is your fave?

  8. OliePants January 21, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    I LOVE LOVE your Frugal Fridays! Flowers is a total hottie! I saw him in person at the Killers concert and I think I was drooling. For shame!

    I’m excited to see how her recipes are! Make sure you post some! 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 9:08 am #

      Doesn’t he have an awesome stage presence?? I saw them twice last yr and he is just dead sexy 🙂

  9. Katherine: Unemployed January 21, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    I try to avoid wifi on untrusted connections but use it when I need to; I love frugalness though!

    *GREAT* tip about stripper food. I love it!

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 9:09 am #

      Luckily, I havent had any issues with it so lets hope it stays that way!

  10. This Italian Family January 21, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    Hahahaha! I love the “avoid stripper food” thing! I definitely need to check this book out!

    As for Coke Rewards… our friend, Tony, used his reward points to buy a set of plates for his dad for Christmas. His goal (that he accomplished) was to not have to buy a single coke for the points. He begged for everyone’s coke points and I kid you not… he actually dug through trashcans (in public places!!) to find them. Yeah, he was dedicated to his task, haha!

  11. Kace January 21, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    I’ve been frequenting the library. Unless its a book I know I’ll re-read, then I just purchase!

    And check my blog for a happy surprise… 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 9:11 am #

      I have a few like that—Sophie Kinsella dn Ken Lancaster for the most part. Those I can read over and over again.

  12. divasrun January 21, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    There is absolutely NOTHING wrong with loving 70’s music. I’m a child of the 70’s and 80’s. Have you heard Ambrosia? I LOVE THEM. THey’re my guilty 70’s pleasure.

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 9:12 am #

      I’m too a child of both decades but haven’t heard of Ambrosia! I am going to look them up soon though…. thanks for the tip!

  13. leashieloo January 21, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    Don’t be ashamed! I checked out Skinny Italian from the library and some of the recipes were actually very good!

  14. emily (a nutritionist eats) January 21, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Ahhh, so much to comment on!
    1) your couponing and frugal tips – LOVE. Have you seen TLC extreme couponing? I contacted every company I know to get coupons after watching that
    2) for some odd reason MN has no DD. Makes me very very sad.
    3) I’m cracking up over the “stripper food”!!!! So funny. I love all RH.

    Have a lovely weekend!! xo

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 7:01 am #

      1) I’ve heard of that show but haven’t had a chance to check it out. Everyone tells me I would love it so I need to jump on that!
      2) NO DD?? I’m sad for you. That’s just downright depressing, especially since you live somewhere so cold. You need a hot cuppa DD’s joe to warm you up
      3) Isn’t it funny?? But true, I never thought it before but what about the name Ginger? I think thats good for you!

  15. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident. January 21, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    I love the library! In fact, I have the 4th season of The Wire waiting to be picked up today! I adore the Bee Gees as well. When I first met my boyfriend, he laughed when I told him how awesome the Bee Gees are (along with Saturday Night Fever), but he finally came around and thinks they’re pretty bad-ass now too. You just can’t deny those grooves. Can. Not. Deny.

    I like The Killers too, but didn’t know Brandon had a solo album out- you’ll have to let me know how it is!

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 9:14 am #

      I havent seen the Wire but everyone tells me I would love it. Maybe one of these days I will add it to my netflix?

      I am happy that someone else appreciates the Bee Gees as much as I do. How can someone NOT like the Bee Gees is my question? It’s just their jive talkin I guess…..

      Will let you know how it is for sure, I am excited to listen to it but also scared b.c what if it sucks?

  16. Meesh January 21, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    I’m very impressed with this list! 😀

  17. Diana@mymarblerye January 21, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Damn u! Such a coupon queen! The library here sucks but back home I use to check out tons!! Free wifi? No! I don’t take my laptop to eat!

  18. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings January 21, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    I think I only crave slutty food.

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 6:58 am #

      I love this comment!

      My ex boyfriend only craved slutty girls.

  19. Ally @ Sweet & Savory January 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    I took advantage of that same Food & Wine $6 subscription – so cheap!

    I also check out books from the library:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Frugal Friday-Random savings! « Simply Shaka - March 18, 2011

    […] got the subscription for free  with my Coke Rewards I’ve been collected. Often I forget that I have magazine subscriptions so when I get it in the […]

Leave a Reply

