Love my vitamin V

19 Jan

 I tried something new last night. Not a new vegetable, sauce, product or exercise. But something more fun than all four combined–the Valium.

And I liked it.

When I went to the dentist a few weeks ago, they were concerned about me since my blood pressure was high (Note, never have had an issue with high blood pressure). Along with that, I was very nervous about my upcoming procedures like root canals and crowns….even the teeth cleaning. So they prescribed me some good stuff–antibiotics for my tooth that I’m getting a root canal done on (one of two that need it), some drug to help me with nausea (must ask Diana what it is when I find the bottle) and Valium, my new vitamin V.

I’ve had all three sitting around for the past weeks but a bit afraid to open up the bottle. I don’t know if it’s fear of the unknown or fear that I may become addicted to the stuff but tried half a pill last night so I could get a good nights sleep along with hopes that my quad pain would go away. So I went into the kitchen, sliced that sucker in half, went back to the bathroom to put the other half back in the bottle and the bottom dropped and scat went the valium. I freaked out and was suddenly on my hands and knees searching for the valium since I didn’t want the precious babies to go to waste. It was like a scene from an indie film where a junkie loses her pills. Mind you, again, my quad was in complete pain but I didn’t care, I just needed my pills. Plus Lincoln was standing right there so I feared that he would eat one and god knows what would happen if little man digests one.

I took the half that I had in hand and felt good, really good. I watched Gilmore Girls (because I can’t stop and want to move to fictional Stars Hollow) and rested the remainder of the night. I fell asleep right away, didn’t wake up at 3A like I do every other night and woke up this morning energized and all that good stuff.  I was looking forward to the next time vitamin V and I would meet.

This morning floated by, I knocked out a bunch of work since I was leaving early for a dentist appointment. I brought soup for lunch but wanted something substantial since I would be having dinner later than normal. I remember a 25% off coupon from blynk organic that I swiped at the Yelp Holiday Detox this wknd (I may have swiped *ahem* five or six of them) and soon headed across the street to blynk to get some fresh, organic grub.

blynk has a variety of cold and hot sandwiches plus salads that are pre-arranged or you can create your own. Plus they have a lunch duo that includes half a sandwich plus soup or salad for $7. And it’s healthy, natural goodness so I don’t mind spending a few extra bucks for that. I love that you can go to their website and they tell you the calorie/fat content for all the items on their menu plus they have plus they have other nifty tools like a BMI calculator and links for green living, natural health,etc. After a few seconds of scanning the menu, I went with the Chicken Twist sandwich-grilled chicken, cucumber, celery, basil pesto yogurt, tomato and mesclon on a pretzel hoagie roll.

Hello lova! I was curious about what a pretzel hoagie roll was and it was absolutely terrific. It was full, fluffy, not terribly chewy with the perfect hint of salt. The chicken was cut into big chunks and the basil pesto yogurt sauce was absolutely tasty. I wish I could have bought a container of that alone!  I swore to myself I was only going to eat half but devoured the whole sandwich by the end of lunch. When I go back to blynk, ordering something different is going to be difficult since this sandwich has my vote!

Paired up with some carrots and Laughing Cow wedge, this meal filled me up and left me looking forward to my next visit to Blynk.

So I continued to work and then I looked at the clock. One hour until my dentist appointment. Per my dentists instructions, time to take two valiums so bottoms up-down they went. What does two valiums feel like? Effin fantabulous! I haven’t felt so laid back in a looooong time and while I usually get anxiety at work while making calls, I was totally at ease and probably sounded high or something. Mama felt good. My co-workers looked at me a little weird telling me that it was the most laid back they’ve ever seen me. I wish I could be like that all the time, I can totally see why people get addicted to the stuff! I refuse to become addicted to anything but it was perfect to take before my dentist appointment which usually stresses me out to the max but this time around I was all like “Hakuna matata bitches”

Dinner was delicious–I picked up some sushi from the supermarket–Ultimate Chile Roll. Sounds funky, I like the word ultimate (definitely don’t use it enough) and love chile anything. Look how gorgy it was!

The perfect roll. It barely needed any soy sauce to dip in since it had a lot of flavor and was fresh. The Perfect Roll. It kinda sounds like it could be a title of a movie, like “The Perfect Storm”. It could be about a kid from the wrong side of the tracks who wants nothing more in life than to be a top-notch sushi chef but no one believes in him or his abilities. So you watch the journey of him grow in his culinary skills along with growing emotionally and mentally and at the end, he creates the perfect roll and shows everyone how high he could fly. Must write Hollywood soon with this!

I also had a side salad with baby spinach, tomato, carrots, cucumber, red onion and avocado to get some veggies in for the day.

Especially after watching this segment on GMA this morning on how loading diet with veggies and fruits may be life saving. This salad along with my banana, kiwi and apple earlier on today leave me done for the day. Take that heart disease!

Christina from Hungry Meets Healthy posted a pic of what’s inside her purse. When it comes to my purse, I abide by the motto “Always be prepared”. If I were to ever go on a game show where they asked for a random item and if I had it in my purse, I would win. My purse is an absolute mess but better to have too much junk than not enough right (does not apply to junk in the trunk). So I figured I should venture into the depths of my purse to see exactly what’s in there. Here we go……

Sadly, this isn’t a lot for me. I’ve been using a new purse so I like to keep it somewhat clean and neat and this is little compared to how much crap I regularly hold.

Contents

*Planner and Journal

*Two Bath and Body Works sanitizers, one can never be clean enough

*iPod shuffle

*Phone charge (tangled with the iPod)

*Antacid -you never know when you’re going to need it

*Two wallets -I take one to the gym to carry my iPod, keys and gum

*Abercrombie & Fitch gift card that was given to me five or six years ago but have yet to use. I need to check if it has a balance still!

*Makeup bag

*Eye drops, nail file, brush, hair band

*Two rings and ghetto baby girl earrings. I thought I would love the earrings but they are too heavy for my delicate ears.

*Heart rate monitor strap. I’m now questioning where my watch is and why the stinky strap is in my purse

* Lollipop (probably from a bank), cough drops and gum

*Umm, soy sauce and buffalo sauce from Chick Fil A. I’m horrible about this. Not only do I swipe Splenda from Starbucks, I take extra soy sauce where I get sushi at the supermarket so I don’t have to buy it.

Now my question is–how the hell did the soy sauce get in my wallet?

What’s in your purse (or man bag)?

43 Responses to “Love my vitamin V”

  1. Diana@mymarblerye January 19, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Your texts today cracked me up! You know Valium is like Xanax so that’s probably why u weren’t stressed at work! Anyways I love calorie counts at restaurants! That’s why I love ny! That shit’s posted everywhere! Btw I heart me some pretzel bread! My bag has been down sized so ids, credit card, chapstick, cell phone, and oil blots!

  2. spabettie January 19, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    that sushi looks AMAZE.

    and your handbag… hee! that is FUNNY. on the today show they’ve been making fun of Hoda because she has this HUGE FAT wallet that will not close… she carries coffee creamers in it!! 🙂

    I have a friend who is a flight attendant… the only trip he makes is from Portland to Australia and back… they GIVE OUT VALIUM for the flights he doesn’t work… and he does not take aspirin, let alone drugs, so he gives them to me! sheets and sheets of them… I don’t use them anymore (side eye…) but when I traveled a lot (from PDX –> NYC) I would take a half for the flight. PERFECT for a nervous traveler like me!!

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:33 am #

      Hoda and I were meant to be friends. I am sure she understand where I’m coming from!

      That is ridiculous that they gave them out on flights like that. I would be on that like white on rice but can imagine how easing that must have been for you. I don’t mind flying, the take off is the part that worries me for some reason.

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 19, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    It’s like a sushi craze! ha ha…

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      Seriously, we were all about the sushi madness the other day huh?

  4. TheSceneFromMe January 19, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    You are hilarious and the “Hakuna Matata B*****s” comment made me laugh out loud! I’ve never had a V vitamin but give plenty of them to my patients. Melatonin helps me sleep at night or one Tylenol PM.

    I don’t have any condiments in my purse, but I have some snacks like cocoa almonds and sixlets!

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      Cocoa almonds? Sixlets? I’ve never heard of either!

      I’ve heard melatonin is great for assisting with sleep-is there a certain dosage to take?

      PS-Glad I could make you laugh 🙂

  5. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 19, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    Anything on a pretzel roll gets my vote!!

    Your story about valium was cracking me up!

    I’ll move to Stars Hollow with you….It seems like a perfect place to live!

  6. Ashleigh January 19, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    I need some Valium!

    I can’t believe you have that much stuff in your purse! I rarely ever carry a purse… just my wristlet which has my money and all types of cards like bank card and company cards. I also carry a book and sunglasses in my work bag but that’s about it!

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:28 am #

      I am envious of peple like you who don’t carry a lot. If I don’t have a surplus of stuff, I felt lost and like something is missing from my life.

      Valium is great 🙂

  7. Natalie January 19, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    The nausea pills are prob zofran (spelled wrong I’m sure) and it is amazing… The only stuff that allowed me to keep down food when I had throat ulcers earlier this year…

    I either carry my purse or backpack and once I clean it out of the trash and receipts I’m doing good if I can remember keys cell phone and wallet hehe

  8. suki @ [Super Duper Fantastic] January 20, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    Your soy sauce packets crack me up. I made kale chips today! Thought you’d be proud. Heh. Put too much oil though, but I’m learning!

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:24 am #

      Hey they are right there-so why not? The really sad time is when I am almost out 😦 Hooray for kale chips! I will have to check out on your site. It definitely takes some trial and error, mine were super soggy when I first made them. I found that one -two tbsp is just enough then toss or brush onto the kale.

  9. Meesh January 20, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    Thank you so much for the kind comment on my post yesterday! That sushi looks absolutely fabulous!
    I don’t really carry a purse, I usually just throw my wallet, keys, and ipod into my gym bag and lug that around. I don’t drive so I have to carry my big bag to work every day 😦

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:27 am #

      Anytime-things will get easier for you each day 🙂

      Thats how I am, except I drive. I think I’ve watched too many Dateline’s and fear getting stranded somewhere!

  10. adventuresofpretendcook January 20, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    I used to carry a lot in my purse and then I wanted to get rid of whatever I didn’t need. Somehow though, more crap just ends up in there. I do carry a lot of pens. I love a good pen. It’s weird, I know.

  11. bakebooks January 20, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Haha – you should be in US Weekly’s magazine – they have a section there titled “What’s in my bag” – and peek inside Celeb’s purses and (ginormous!) hand bags 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:22 am #

      Sounds saucy! I havent read US in forever but maybe if I ask them nicely?? 🙂

  12. christina January 20, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    haha omg please don’t become addicted to valium or i will drive to charlotte and slap you!! jk…but not really. that sandwich sounds sooooooooooo good. so so so so good. holy crap, your purse looks like mine on a typical day. what i posted on my blog was realllllly tidy for me. like weird tidy. i steal splenda from chickfila!!!

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      Me too, mine is usually way worse but I guess I decided to do it on a good day! And wtf—Chick Fil A started hiding the splenda’s so now you have to ask! But whenever I show some skin to the cashier who likes me so I can get FF honey Mustard, maybe he can hook me up!? Sandwich was amazing, you must try if you ever come to Charlotte!

  13. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings January 20, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Vitamin v! When I got my wisdom tooth out, I was on vitamin V for Vicoden. I swear I was receiving radio signals I was so out of it! LOL!
    xo
    Mindy

  14. Carly January 20, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Hahahaha Hakunah Matata Bitches!! I love it!

    Please be careful on those valiums, we don’t need you turning into a Real Housewife all doped up!

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:07 am #

      I already got the small dog, sass and books—Now all I need is sugar daddy, lipo and no limit credit card and I’m all set!

  15. thefitacademic January 20, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    I hate having dental work done! I’ve been lucky because I’ve only had cleanings and fillings (no crowns, root canals, etc.). Speaking of….I need to schedule a cleaning soon!

  16. This Italian Family January 20, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Hahaha! I love the imagine of you desperately searching for the valium like a junkie searching for a lost pill. 😉 I’m so glad it worked out so well for you! 🙂

    Oh, and that sushi looks sooo yummy!

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:05 am #

      Hahaha thanks. I wish I was hyping that up a bit but it’s all true! I was like “Let me find my damn pills!”

  17. genesis January 20, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    LMAO thats a lot of soy sauc to lugging around!

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:04 am #

      That’s how I roll. Get it, roll, sushi, soy sauce? 🙂

  18. Kace January 20, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    When you lost the pill did you have a Jessie Spano style meltdown? “I’m so…..SCARED!”

    Also good post idea. My purse is pretty big and cluttered but I have to wonder…christ…with all that stuff, do you carry a suitcase around?

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:03 am #

      Nope no suitcase but it could be a mini duffel bag. I actually just downsized and am bummed b/c I cant find anything in it since it’s so cramped.

      I almost had a meltdown like that…..almost. I love that scene sooooooo much!

  19. OliePants January 20, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Can I just say how jealous I am that you get to eat sushi so often?! And that sandwich………girl….don’t get me started!

    As for what’s in my purse – it’s a disaster! I have cords (IPOD/IPAD/IPHONE). I have receipts. And the occasional Polynesian sauce!

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:02 am #

      Awesome, so you feel where I’m coming from then!

      And I wish I could eat more sushi, it’s usually once a week right now but I would love to be able (and afford) to eat it three times a wk or more.

  20. leashieloo January 20, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    I have so much crap in my bag, it’s not even funny. The usual things like my wallet, chapstick, and lotion to the more random like plastic silverware and socks. Dude, I don’t even know.

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 10:00 am #

      YES!!! I found random pieces of silverware in my purse but unfortunately it was the real stuff and I was like where’s this clinking noise coming from?

  21. nic - the auspicious squirrel January 20, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Mmmmm pretzel bread sandwiches… I haven’t had one of those since I lived in the dorm. I loved it when it was pretzel sandwich night! I’m going to check out that restaurant and see what they have and if any are near me! 🙂

    I’m glad the dentist visit went so well… you crack me up with your valium haze. 🙂

    • nic - the auspicious squirrel January 20, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

      Oh well… it’s only a Charlotte restaurant… they do have some nice looking vegetarian options though.

      • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 9:59 am #

        Bummer about that. I will continue to post pictures from my future visits so you can enjoy the experience through me.

  22. happytalesblog January 20, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    Hope your r/c went okay!!

    So few things… I want to try out blyke!!! Looks SOO good!
    Can you drive while on valium? I’ve always wondered that…
    Oh, and I don’t htink I could ever be a guy. I am like you and carry SO MUCH STUFF in my purse!

    • simplyshaka January 21, 2011 at 12:30 am #

      Blynk is awesome I think you would like it! Let me know if you ever want to go!

      I’m not sure about the valium but luckily my dentist is only a few blocks away from my house so I lucked out!

  23. Kelly Olexa January 23, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    I am so LMAO at “man bag” hahahahhahaa

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A little glimpse into my personality… « The Auspicious Squirrel - January 26, 2011

    […] seen two things on other blogs recently that interests me. One is the question, “What’s in your bag?” The other is a 30 day challenge […]

  2. You can’t handle the tooth! « Simply Shaka - February 1, 2011

    […] hope my tooth doesn’t fall out between now and then. Plus my dentist prescribed me some more vitamin v without me even asking for it!  They want me to get a bunch of crowns and I know my teeth are bad […]

Leave a Reply

