Apparently

18 Jan

Apparently, I should scour Target’s clearance aisles more often. I found a new drink that I love and only 100 calories! Four pack for only $4.24!

Apparently, my co-workers think I am a vampire since I am bundled up in my scarf, hat and fingertipless gloves all the time.

I hate hot weather but I would rather be hot inside than cold but at least I can rock my new gloves while working!

Apparently, a lot more people love Gilmore Girls than I originally thought. Thanks for sharing on yesterdays post!

Apparently, my mouth was still craving flavors from this weekend. So to make said mouth happy, I made a Mediterranean salad with baby spinach, cucumbers, tomatoes, falafel  and tzaziki sauce.

 I also added extra parsley and mint to give it a little more pop. And pop it did! The flavor really came out with that along with the falafel and tzaziki sauce.

Apparently, my latest pet peeve is when people ask “How’s it going?” or “How are you?” and don’t even bother to listen to my response. If you want to be semi-cordial, just say hi! If not, I will give you a snarky response and continue to serve you.

Apparently, cutting down on Starbucks is a good thing. I didn’t run to my local Bucks when I heard about their new Trenta size they were rolling out today.

(source)

Do I really need 31 oz of coffee on top of my getting ready- in- the -morning coffee? The answer sadly is no (especially after seeing the picture above) but I still want to try it! Maybe one of these days when I don’t plan on sleeping anytime soon. Apparently,  I’m a glutton for punishment.

It reminds me of one of my favorite movies-Reality Bites and their love for the Big Gulp because I can totally agree…..just coffee instead of the Big Gulp

(source)

“I like the 44 ounce Big Gulp. I buy one in the morning and I have all the nutrients I need for the whole day.” Amen, Leilani.

Random fun fact-I sing “My Poohuahua” to Lincoln to the tune of “My Sharona”, apparently, I thought you all wouldn’t be able to sleep tonight without knowing that. Great soundtrack as well!

Apparently, I was craving bar food for dinner.

I had some wings from this weekend that I wanted to eat but that wouldn’t be enough. But I really wanted some bad, greasy bar food. Not wanting to go out or spend any money, I made a trio of wings, quesadilla and nachos.  Besides the wings, tried to lighten up the rest of the meal by using minimal cheese and shrinking the portions.

I started by cooking spinach, onion and corn on the stovetop with a spoonful of extra virgin olive and chile powder

Flippin fantastic meal! Exactly what I needed on a cold, rainy Tuesday night.

Apparently, someone beat me in my sleep since this is what tonight is looking like

I was supposed to go to a happy hour after work but my quadricep was thinking otherwise. I think I pulled or strained a muscle. It hurts no matter what-if I extend my leg, sit down, step down,etc. Times like this make me wish I had a bathtub again b/c this girl could use a long soak. This needs to go away soon.

Last but not least, apparently, it’s my blogs one year birthday! WOW , I cannot believe how quickly times flies when you’re blogging! I can’t even begin on how happy this past year of blogging has made me and how I’ve met so many great people along the way!  Thanks to all who have stopped along the way, read my ramblings, left comments along the way, offered me encouragement  and continue to read often–I really appreciate you stopping by my little blog 🙂

50 Responses to “Apparently”

  1. divasrun January 18, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Archer Farms has some great products! I love their pumpkin yogurt and maple vanilla coffee!!

    I WANT FINGERLESS GLOVES – WHERE DO I SCORE??? =)

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

      I havent tried either one of those but now I want!!!

      I got those gloves for free but don’t laugh, K-Mart has an awesome selection and super cheap as well 🙂

  2. This Italian Family January 18, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    Love me some Target discounts!

    Oh my gracious, the trenta?? That’s massive! o.O

    Wings are soooo good! Those look super tasty! And the quesadillas look delightful too! 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      Wings are one of my favorite things—if only they were good for you 🙂

  3. TheSceneFromMe January 18, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Oh geesh, that Trenta size is huge! I could definitely slurp one down though.
    Target is just dangerous all around, so many great things in that store!
    I’d love to be eating your quesadilla right now, I just had popcorn!

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

      Popcorn sounds yummy, I am completely out and that makes me sad.

      I can now only go into Target if I have cash on hand. For some reason when I go in, I like to think that because I am paying with a credit card it doesn’t mean I will actually have to pay it back!

  4. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) January 18, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Happy blog birthday!!!

    I’ll admit the Trenta size disturbs me. If I got something that size, it’d have to be either and iced tea or an iced coffee. Otherwise I think I’d die.

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

      I don’t know why but that last sentence made me laugh. Not in a haha way but a disturbingly funny way. Regardless, it was cute and made me smile. Not that your demise makes me smile…..I was complimenting you. Ugh, I will shut up now!

  5. Ashleigh January 18, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    That pumpkin spice drink looks yummy! I love doing what you did an making healthier bar food when I am really craving it. Saves money and calories!

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

      You know it–bar food has gotten me (and my waistline) far too much in trouble in the past.

  6. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 18, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    Aww! Happy birthday to your blog!

    I can’t believe Starbucks is coming out with that very large cup…it’s enormous!

  7. bigcitybabycarrots January 18, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    Trenta just sounds scary. But those pumpkin spice drinks are going on my shopping list. I was just holding a pumpkin spice milk today but put it back because it was almost 200 cal per serving. This one is worth a try.

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

      They make pumpkin spice milk? Funky. I would try it….if it werent that many calories!

  8. Lisa @ Fit in the Midwest January 18, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    Happy blog birthday!

    The new Starbucks size is crazy. When I lived in Europe, I realized that we like our coffee portions way too huge in America.

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      Thanks 🙂

      I remember going on a date with a guy who was stationed in Italy and he was telling me how horrible the coffee in America is compared to Europe. I thought it was very pretentious the way he worded it but kind of endearing since if you’re a hot man buying me dinner, you have my heart. In the long run, I prefer quality over quantity.

  9. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 18, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    Not gonna lie- I probably consume as much coffee as what the Tentra is. But I don’t pay for it… whew!

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

      Right there with you sister–mine just isn’t as strong!

  10. squigglefloey January 18, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    Happy Bloggy birthday!!! 🙂 Just started reading and think you are completely adorable! I’ll be baaaack.

  11. happytalesblog January 19, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    Okay so first things first… I hope your quad feels better sooon!

    secondly, that Trenta is REDIC!!! Who really needs that much coffee?!?!

    Thirdly (warning: this might make you laugh. Just thinking about it cracks me up every time. Especially whenever I read it on your blog). But whenever you type out “Poohuahua” I think in my head (and I’m sounding this out phonetically…) “pah-who-haa”, even though I know it’s supposed to sound like the dogbreed chuhuahua. Random, I know.

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

      Hahah, I am saying that aloud over and over again now!

      Quad is much better. It’s so freaky how much it hurt yesterday but is 90% better today. I am trying to get to the Y tomorrow 🙂

  12. nic - the auspicious squirrel January 19, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    The stomach picture scares me away from the Trenta… eek.

    I haven’t seen Reality Bites (or The Big Lewboski)… I seriously need to get on that.

    The quesadilla looks awesome… spinach and corn what a great combo!

    Lincoln is so cute… what’s that mommy? I must taste it! Haha! 🙂

    Hope your leg feels better.

    Congrats on your one year blog-iversary! 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

      Thanks 🙂

      Reality Bites is a great movie, I think you should see it. I havent seen the Big Lebowski either and feel like I’m the only one.

  13. dianacheung January 19, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    it’s amazing to see how much your blog has grown!! I was here since the beginning! Anyways, ice up lady and remember to stretch after you go all nuts on the elliptical!! Bar food=comfort!! BTW target has TONZA flavors of the 100 calorie coffee drinks!

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      Thanks for the tips on Target–I will have to look out! Thanks for being here for me as well 🙂 I RICE’d that sucker up last night and feel 90% better today.

  14. Carly January 19, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    That’s a great deal on those pumpkin spices! I love those little things.

    That Trenta size is a little ridic too. I normally opt for the grande, all I’m looking for is the caffeine, not the drink size. I’ll just put extra shots in my grande. 🙂

  15. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings January 19, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    Hell to the yeah!!! I should get the Tar-Jay logo tatted on my forehead. I love that store! Loaded with great find on the cheapski. Um your bar food has me drooling at my desk! LOL!
    xo
    Mindy

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

      Hahahah, I love the idea of a Target tattoo….just not on the forehead…or an ass lol

      Glad you enjoyed the bar food pics! It was delectable 🙂

  16. Erin January 19, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Happy Birthday to the blog!!!

    I don’t understand why people need a Big Gulp of coffee. That is insane!

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 I don’t think anyone needs it, I think more of it like keeping up with the joneses meets man vs food. I would get one but I would probably drink half then save the rest for the next day.

  17. Monique January 19, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    Apparently im starving now.
    Thanks.
    Happy one year!
    and dude, dont get the trenta! dont encourage them! lol.
    sending lusty mickey kisses for stinky linky. xoxox

  18. Joslyn @ missfitbliss January 19, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Congratulations on your one year anniversary!!

  19. genesis January 19, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    its like starbux is branching out and trying to corner the 7-11 big gulp market because seriously who really needs that much to drink.

    hope the quads feel better.

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

      It feels waaaaay better today. Like a 180 change. Still achey but I don’t have to jump down the stairs, I can actually step down.

  20. leashieloo January 19, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    Happy blog b-day! I’m with you girl, I rock my fingerless gloves at work because it’s so ridiculous cold! They are functional, hand warming, and fabulous.

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

      You know it–I think they add a little flare yes?

  21. April January 19, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Oh that looks so good!!

    I had a venti americano yesterday and it gave me a buzz 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

      Gangsta! I haven’t done an Americano in ages, I think I may need to change that soon!

  22. emily (a nutritionist eats) January 19, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Happy Blog Birthday!!! 🙂
    I want to come have bar food with you!!

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

      If you’re ever in NC let me know 🙂

  23. Monique January 19, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Mmmmm… Ethan Hawke…. 🙂 And I saw that Trenta graphic on twitter too haha. I maybe could get iced tea that large. Then again… maybe not…

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      I am thinking about getting it then saving the rest for the next day.

      Ethan is yummy, damn him for screwing over Uma.

  24. thefitacademic January 19, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    I love Target’s brand of stuff! It seems to be really high quality compared to some other store’s self-branded items. Plus, I always end up thinking their stuff is delicious!

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

      I know, how do they make it so delish? From their trail mix to coffee to frozen stuff–it’s all good!

  25. Kace January 19, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    Happy Bl-irthday (?)

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      I like the Blirthday phrase–good job!

  26. Whitney January 19, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    Wow, I love pumpkin everything. Good find!

    Also, happy blog-bday!

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      You just reminded me I have some pumpkin syrup sitting in my cupboard–must break into soon!

Leave a Reply

