Gilmores and Kale

17 Jan

Ok, so I don’t know how this day has gone by. I feel like I just woke up and felt like I did alot of stuff but really didn’t do too much. I was thinking about going into work for a few hours to get stuff done without interruption but yeah, that didn’t happen. I slept on the couch last night, falling asleep to Gilmore Girls. I’m really digging sleeping on the couch after this past weekend–I don’t wake up at all around 3A like I do when I sleep in my bed and feel like I’m getting better sleep. On the flip side, I have a mean kink in my neck from sleeping on the throw pillows. Nice little catch 22 I have going on.

And I’m currently addicted to Gilmore Girls-I’m a little bit behind if you can’t see. So many questions….

*Is Sookie’s boyfriend Jackson gay and she later finds out? He is very dramatic yet passionate about his fruit (which I find endearing) just a little confused on that. *

* So Tristan (Chad Michael Murray) left–when he leaves,  is One Tree Hill a spin-off from his character on Gilmore Girls or is that someone else completely?

*When will Rory get bangs?  She has a very big forehead that’s driving me nuts

*Why doesn’t my town have a troubadour?

*What is up this brat Paris’ butt?

*Do Lorelei and Luke ever get together?

*And how the hell do those Gilmores talk so damn fast?

Since I had nothing on my agenda for today, I started the day off with a big breakfast-one egg, egg whites, Trader Joe’s Uncured Turkey Bacon and an english muffin.

I was excited to buy their turkey bacon since Trader Joe’s almost always satisfied me but it sucked. Taking it out of its packaging, none of the pieces were staying together as one and they were stringy. It was still edible but not whole so I could still eat it broken down and all. And typing this out, I am realized I didn’t have a meatless Monday. Oh well!

Lincoln and I went to Freedom Park to get our walk on. It was a dreary day from the start, a complete 180 from yesterday with its sunny weather.

I love Freedom Park but hate how busy it gets at times and today it was dead with the exception of a few runners, families and dog owners. Pet peeve of the day? Dog owners who are rude and won’t let their dog socialize with Lincoln. And I’m not talking big dogs or anything, little dogs like Lincoln size but the owners are too preoccupied with getting their workout in or they are just snobby. All Lincoln wants to do is say hi and maybe sniff a butt-totally normal dog protocol.

When I got back home, I wanted to sit down and relax with Eat Pray Love that I got from Netflix this past week. I’ve hesitated on watching it b/c I’ve heard it’s pretty bad and I hate when Hollywood completely changes the story of a book. But I loved the book and hoped for the best that it wouldn’t be as horrible as everyone has said it was. And you know what? I turned it off before she even got to Indonesia, it was bad. I can’t wait to pop it in the mail box and send it away!

I had a salad and soup combo for lunch–black bean soup and a baby spinach salad with cucumber, tomatoes, corn and  cheese topped with Ken’s Lite Raspberry Vinaigrette

I also started to press my tofu for dinner tonight, I love my crappy fake tofu press.

I also tried a new green tea this afternoon-from my luvah Trader Joe- of course. Trader Joe’s Organic Cranberry Green Tea

Even though clove was pretty far down there on the ingredients list, it was the first thing I smelled when I opened the box. I despise the smell of cloves. It reminds me of college because there would always be one creepy person smoking a clove cigarette and the smell doesn’t sit well with me. I think I would die if I had to smell curry and cloves together-blech!! I liked the mesh-like bag that it came in and tastewise it was ok. I was expecting more cranberry flavor to come out and of course, less clove. I wasn’t overly impressed with it but I won’t be throwing it out either.

And this afternoon consisted of just about nothing. I hung out, cleaned, caught up with my best friend Leila on how her first 1/2 marathon went yesterday and soon it was dinner time. I was attempting to do meatless Monday but kinda killed it with my first meal but still kept up with the original plan. I made BBQ tofu and onions over egg noodles with kale chips on the side.

Some of you asked about the kale chips. I rip off the stem then break into bits, throw in a bowl with extra virgin olive oil and spices, toss then spread on a baking sheet and bake at 350-375 for 12-15 minutes (depending on how crispy I want them) and that’s about it. They are very easy to make, loaded with beta-carotene and vitamin C  so why not give kale a chance?

I chopped up 1/4 onion and tossed into a pan to cook while I covered the tofu pieces with bbq sauce

Then added to the onion mix on the stovetop to let cook then I popped the kale chips into the oven to bake

I cooked egg noodles yesterday so I warmed those up then added the tofu mix on top along with pieces of parsley and voila-a big, green meal!

A seriously delicious, green meal….and healthy for the most part. I was completely satisfied after this yet didn’t have a heavy feeling in my stomach which is always nice since I don’t like that heavy feeling at night.

 

Gilmore Girls-Love it, hate it, never seen it?

42 Responses to “Gilmores and Kale”

  1. TheSceneFromMe January 17, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    I’ve never seen Gilmore Girls. I’m missing out huh!?

    Kale…hmm, I’ve never had it, but it looks good. Is it the sister to kelp from the ocean?

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      I have no clue but that’s a good question. I will look into it. I only tried it for the first time this year and love it whether it be baking it, sauteeing, adding to soups, etc.

  2. divasrun January 17, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    LOL – I LOVED GG when it was on. =) One day I’d like to own the series in DVD. I could watch it over and over again – and I’d have nailed Luke ASAP if I’d been Lorelai. heehee

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

      I think I have five or six seasons sitting around here. When I told my friend I’ve never seen it, she packed up a bag with all of them for me!

      And AGREE on Luke 100%, he is super hot and very bangable!!

  3. squigglefloey January 17, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Girl I LOOOVE gilmore girls! I practically know all 7 seasons by heart haha. I don’t want to spoil the fun for you by answering all your questions! Just keep watching the series and you’ll see what happens 🙂 What season are you on?

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

      No fun–jk 🙂 I am in the middle of Season 2 right now so I feel like I have alot to go through until the end!

  4. janetha January 17, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    link is my favorite. and i am obsessed with your scarf! so cute. i ALWAYS fall asleep on the couch and i hate it. i am the opposite of you. i call it “couch sleep” and don’t consider it real sleep.. so if we fall asleep on the couch and dont go to our room til like 3 and then get up at 7, i complain about how i only got 4 hours of real sleep and that the rest was couch sleep. i am a freak. anyway, the tofu and kale looks good! i have only ever had kale in a smoothie. i need to cook it sometime. have a great tuesday!

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

      Thanks, Links loves you back!! That is so weird how people relate their sleep to where they are. My friend used to fall asleep at the library (for hours at a time) and he would be all ready to go and refreshed afterwards while I would tell him that wasn’t real sleep he got. I am all about the comfort factor. Another opposute–I never tried kale in a smoothie but am curious about it now!

  5. happytalesblog January 18, 2011 at 1:33 am #

    I actually have never seen GG. Except for one episode when the dark haried check (Rory?) goes off to college.

    Oh! And that soup looks really, really good.

    So glad you had a relaxing day off!

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      Well if you ever want to watch an episode, I have pretty much all of them right now!

  6. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 18, 2011 at 7:11 am #

    I’ve never watched Gilmore Girls. I feel at this point, it’s best I stay as far away as possible… the last thing I need is to be sucked into another show!

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      It’s addictive. Trust me. I am going on hour four tonight alone!

  7. dianacheung January 18, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    dude. I own ALL the seasons! It’s damn addicting cause the writing is so good!! Also don’t I look like Laney? Hahaha. Anyways loving the bbq tofu action! And I loved freedom park when I went too!! So peaceful!

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      Dork, you don’t look like Lane~ Don’t worry, you are not token asian chick to me. Freedom Park is so great isn’t it?? I love going in the summer time, bring a blanket, some food, a book and get my tan on!

  8. Carly January 18, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Lincoln is so cute! Adorable!

    I love Gilmore Girls too! It’s such a fun, cute show. 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

      Thanks 🙂

      I cannot stop watching!!

  9. christina January 18, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    you look cute in a hat! haha i fell asleep during the indonesia part! booooooooring.

  10. bigcitybabycarrots January 18, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    I also hate when other dog owners won’t let their dogs play with mine, especially when the dog is friendly and clearly wants to play. I am a GG addict – it’s my favorite show ever and I have seen each episode more times than I care to admit. Here’s answers to any of your questions that won’t be a spoiler:

    * So Tristan (Chad Michael Murray) left–when he leaves, is One Tree Hill a spin-off from his character on Gilmore Girls or is that someone else completely? Someone else completely.

    *When will Rory get bangs? She has a very big forehead that’s driving me nuts – Hah and at some point in college.

    *Why doesn’t my town have a troubadour? I know! They actually had some where I lived in upstate NY, as well as kooky all town events, so I used to call it my own Stars Hollow.

    *What is up this brat Paris’ butt? This one is your guess as well as mine, but she turns into one of the best characters.

    *And how the hell do those Gilmores talk so damn fast? The creator actually makes them talk like that because she originally was trying to pay homage to old movies where that is more the style. That and it’s awesome.

    See, I’m a little into the show …

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Wow–thanks for the 411! I am envious of your town, it does sound like Stars Hollow. I grew up near a big city so I never got to experience the whole small time feel of things.

  11. This Italian Family January 18, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    I LOVE Gilmore Girls! I had a roommate in college who was addicted to the show so we would watch it together. It’s so great!

    Sorry the other pet owners aren’t letting their doggies meet Lincoln. Oreo would LOVE to meet Lincoln… though he might accidentally sit on him. 😉 That’s one thing I really love about the dog park here, everyone expects their dogs to play together so no one minds letting the doggies socialize. 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Lincoln would probably try to take on Oreo–he thinks he’s a big boy!! 🙂

  12. Monique January 18, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    the dog owners in my hood are moronic. This morning i got into it with someone whos pitbull kept jumping on my mickey. Micks was scared shitless so i stopped walking to let the pitbull walk by and the owner was laughing and just stood there. so I kept doing the friendly “OKAY, BYE NOW” and she stood there thinking the playing was mutual and i snapped. “seriously, we have to go, so can you either move ahead or hold your dog so i can finish walking mine?”
    SCOFF
    she told me to relax. Easy for her to say. her dog weights 95 lbs vs mickeys 25 lbs. bitch.

    Look at all the yummy eats! I love kale chips! love em!i had tofu yesterday too. come to think of it- it was totally a veggie day! chickpeas, tofu, and mushrooms all day.

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Woo hoo for veggie day!!

      I hate when big dog owners are like that. If their dog is friendly, good. But when you can tell the dog is being aggressive, I drag Lincoln’s little booty away.

  13. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun January 18, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    I love the Gilmore Girls! Makes me want to watch old episodes too. And I think its funny you mention them talking so fast – people compare my sis & I to Lorelei and Rory all the time. That’s exactly how we communicate. LOL

  14. Kace January 18, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Re: Gilmore girls: Was very into the first couple seasons, but then the never-ending puns and “witty banter” and insanely fast talking went from endeering to “i want to shoot my brains out put on anything else” quickly. That and I found out my sister liked it and therefore I had to hate it haha.

    Eat pray love: loved the book, too, but the movie was crazy disappointing. She seemed way more whiney, selfish, and stupid…and I love Julia, but idk. I watched it right after SATC2, not my best couple of choices.

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      I actually enjoyed SATC2. I thought it would be really bad from reviews and peeps who had seen it but didnt think it was unbearable.

  15. Jen January 18, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    I love Gilmore Girls! It’s on every day on ABC Family, so I have been recording it. I have no idea what season I’m on, but Rory is at Yale now and OMG there is so much good stuff happening now, I’m going to let you catch up and I’m not going to ruin the seasons for you…so keep watching!!!! I really wish this show was still on though instead of repeats 😦 I wish I would have gotten into it when it was on TV years ago.

    Jen

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      Me too, everyone told me it was great but I never believed them. I am always stoked to find a new show to obsess over though!

  16. thefitacademic January 18, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    weird – I’ve had the same thing today…where it feels like the entire day just flew by! What’s up with that? I guess the first day back after a 3 day weekend will do that to me! : )

  17. Meesh January 18, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Awwe Lincoln is so cute! Seriously adorable.
    I didn’t mind the theatrical version of Eat Pray Love, I found it pretty long but it was pretty accurate to the book. Nothing compares to the book, though!

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 It was too long for my taste. I think 100 minutes is my threshold for movies.

  18. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) January 18, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    I had to crack up at “How the hell do the Gilmores talk so fast?” That’s always made me nuts!!! I love the show though.

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      Seriously! I talk fast but I got nothing on them.

  19. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 18, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    OMG!!! Gilmore Girls is my favorite! I own all the seasons…it’s so addicting! I will not spill the answers to these questions….you gotta keep watching! I’m still sad the show is off air….I loved their wittiness and miss it!

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

      I think it’s going to be occupying me for sometime. I sit down to watch it, then start to blog, read, etc then I have to replay the entire disc and actually pay attention!

  20. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 18, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    I loved Gilmore Girls back in the day. But I thought it got a bit lame a few seasons in and I never finished out the series. It’s been sitting in my Netflix queue for awhile.

    That is a handsome pic of Linx! I’d let my dog sniff his butt!

    I didn’t realize your tweet yesterday was saying you liked EPL the book. Oops!

  21. nic - the auspicious squirrel January 19, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    As for the dog’s owners who don’t stop… it might not be rudeness or snobbishness… I for one got wary after my boys kept getting bit by clueless owner’s dogs… for sometime, I wouldn’t let them meet anyone. Floofy’s nose bled once from a bite. 😦 I’m still cautious with Little-bit, but now I ask questions of the owners and make sure everyone is aware of the situation… dogs that just run up to me, I’m yanking the leash like crazy trying to protect my baby.

    Oooh corn on your salad… what a great idea! 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 19, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

      Good point. I think more of it with me is with little dogs and I usually try to ask them if we can say hi and they look at me like I’m speaking Japanese. That is horrible about poor Floofy 😦 I call Linky floofy sometimes b/c he is fluffy but not completely fluffy, if that makes any sense? When a dog attacked Lincoln this past summer, I totally went into protective mama mode so I know where you’re coming from.

      I’m on a bit of a corn kick if you can’t tell:)

      • nic - the auspicious squirrel January 20, 2011 at 10:25 am #

        Floofy is a nickname, as is Little-bit. Floofy was a long-haired basset hound, kinda rare, and he was so soft and kind of clydesdale-like… it started out being fluffy butt… but at some point it turned into something sounding more like ‘floofy boot’. We are weird. I posted pictures of my boys some months back… http://theauspicioussquirrel.wordpress.com/2010/02/15/floofy/

        On leash, I’m much more protective… because people are just out doing their business… but in the dog park, I ease up a bit… I still hover over Little-bit, because he’s been bit twice at a dog park… but in both cases he was the one that overstepped his bounds (he likes to mount) and the other dog just reacted. Granted, it would have been better if their dog just let it roll but some dogs react with teeth. 😦 Luckily, in every situation where teeth were flying… and it’s been more times than I’d like… it was just the one warning shot… nothing like a ‘dog fight’. It is scary just the same.

        By the way, did you know that if you take your dog to the vet for a dog bite, he gets a record with the city as having been in a dog fight? Yeah… I have a basset who got a record at 13 years old… sheesh. He’s a bad ass.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Apparently « Simply Shaka - January 18, 2011

    […] Apparently, a lot more people love Gilmore Girls than I originally thought. Thanks for sharing on yesterdays post! […]

  2. One down, 11 to go « Simply Shaka - January 31, 2011

    […] been toying with tofu, tempeh, even ordering veggie meals when I get Chinese take out and making meatless Monday a regular thing! With replacing meat with everything mentioned above plus various beans, quinoa, […]

Leave a Reply

