Weekend reunion

16 Jan

Hi All! This weekend has been so fun and fabulous it’s a shame it went by so quickly! One of my best friends from college came into town to hang for a couple of days in Charlotte. She is in the Army and will be moving to Colorado this spring so it’s one of the last times we will get to hang out for an extended amount of time while she’s on the East Coast.

On Saturday, we went to Yelp’s Charlote Elite Event: Holiday Detox at the Breathing Room yoga studio. The fun included an hour-long yoga session, complimentary grub from Blynk Organic, tons of Vitamin Water (including a lot of swag!), champagne provided by Palm Bay International, free hand massages and manicures and mini massages. Yeah, it was awesome. Even more awesome that it was free just for being Elite ’11!

(source)

Vitamin Water Champagne Dreams!

I got my nails done in Luxedo by Essie

Plus TONS of free goodies courtesy of Vitamin Water!!

Tote
Yoga Mat + Bag
Grey T Shirt with Yelp and Vitamin Water logos
Lavender Eye Mask
Spa set

Such a fun time! Don’t worry, Lincoln wasn’t neglected at all. We got back home and watched the Steelers-Ravens game before we were to head out. Lincoln was showing his team spirit!

It was great to see her this wknd, it’s funny how you can go without seeing someone for a long time but then when we reunite, things are the same and not awkward at all. I like to think we haven’t aged that much either

Oh to be young again!

This afternoon, I hit up the Y and had an amazing workout! I did 35 minutes on the Precor Crossramp elliptical then did

* seated leg adductions (100 lbs 15 reps, 3 sets) 

 * seated leg abductions (140 lbs 15 reps, 3 sets) 

*leg extensions (65 lbs 13 reps, 4 sets)

*leg curls (50 lbs, 3 sets)

Of course I had some freak next to me when I was on the elliptical. This older guy was going ballistic on the machine next to me and he kept grunting and hitting the machine with his fists-wtf?? I turned up my music in an attempt to drown him out but it did nothing and he kept getting louder. Thankfully, he finished about 10 minutes into my workout but I was trying not to stare at him and say something. Don’t need to me burning bridges this early into my membership but yeah, he was a freak.

So happy to be back at the Y. Working out at home just wasn’t cutting it for me and unfortunately, my pants can attest to that as I’ve gained weight ever since I stopped running. I definitely need a consistent cardio routine in my life and am looking forward to more workouts.

My body was a bit confused with the 50 degree, sunny weather we had today. It’s been so miserable and dreary this week (which I am weird because I love that kind of weather) so I was surprised to see the sun again. I stopped by Dairy Queen after going to hood Wal Mart and picked up a cherry Artic Rush. But when I went, I ordered a Mr. Misty because that’s what I’ve known it as so it took a few seconds for us to communicate with each other as to what I wanted. When did this whole name change nonsense happen?

Dairy Queen, will you marry me?

Lunch was an oldie but goodie—nachos! I love love love nachos but haven’t made any in awhile, which makes me sad. So to happify myself, I whipped up a plate in no time! I used these chips as they are my latest obsession and way better than Baked Scoops.

I topped with black beans, fresh jalapeno and cheese for a simple meal then mixed plain greek yogurt and salsa in a bowl for dipping

Fabulous. So fabulous it left me in a mini food coma which resulted in a two-hour nap through episodes of RH of Beverly Hills and Atlanta.

I made Olie Pants falafel recipe for dinner tonight. I saved this recipe since it would be killing two of my resolutions in one—eating less meat and making ethnic meals. I didn’t have any wheat germ so I used ground flax-seed that I had on hand.

I have a small oven so I didn’t get to make the entire batch that I prepared but saved it for later use. Anyone know if the wet mix will freeze well or if I have to make it within the next few days?

I don’t have a food processor on hand so I used my Magic Bullet but it doesn’t blend stuff as well as my food processor, especially dry ingredients. I used some of the bean juice (ew, that just sounds dirty) when I blended it so my mix turned out wetter than expected. I ended up making them as patties instead of balls (hehehe, again, dirty)

I bought some kale earlier today and made kale chips for a healthy side dish. Plus I haven’t had them in forever which always happens with kale chips, I go in major spurts of eating it.  That needs to stop since they are delicious and remind me of actual chips just healthy and with more flavor! I tossed in extra virgin olive oil and sprinkled with Spike seasoning.

They turned out extra crispy-just the way I like!

While the falafel was cooking, I whipped up a bowl of tzaziki sauce. I love using mint however when I started chopping it, I was majorly jonesing for a mojito.

Holy patties (get it, holy balls normally but they were patties this time around, yes, no? Is this thing on??), such a fantastic meal! It was like there was an international flavor party occurring in my mouth and I loved it. So many flavors, so little time. I recommend trying the falafel recipe–it was fun to mix it up with trying different flavors!

Looking forward to a day off tomorrow–anyone else off or are you working?

PS-If you like Tastycakes (which, cmon, who doesn’t??), click here to win some!

And click here to win a Herbivore Prize Pack!

39 Responses to “Weekend reunion”

  1. Lisa @ Fit in the Midwest January 16, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I am jealous of that event that you got to go to! Yoga, hand massages, manicures and awesome swag…totally my thing. Your nails look beautiful.

    Your dog is so frickin’ cute. He makes me smile every time I see a picture of him on your site.

    I am working tomorrow, even though I am pretty sure we earn holiday hours for the day. Have a great day off though! I’ll be battling lots of snowy roads again on the way home, no fun.

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      Awwww thanks, I will let him know he has another admirer! I am jealous you get to earn holiday hours for working, we had that in my old department.

      The event was awesome, they usually have them at restaurants or bars so it was nice to mix it up a bit and have something that’s good for you.

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 16, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Love seeing old friends! My high school friends come to visit once a year and even though we don’t talk a huge amount during the year, once they get here it’s nonstop chitter chatter. :p

    I have to work tomorrow. Ugh. Booooo….

  3. Kace January 16, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Thank you darling!!!! Glad you’re amped about this!

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

      Tasty Kakes are evil but I still always go back to them…when I can find them that is :)

  4. Susan (Oliepants) January 17, 2011 at 12:21 am #

    I think Lincoln is SO freaking stylish!!! And adorable at that! I hope you liked the falafel and I love your additions!

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

      Thanks, he is a pretty happening dog!

      LOVED the falafel, I can’t wait to make it again :)

  5. TheSceneFromMe January 17, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    I’m working today. That’s one thing about nursing, it’s a 24 hour a day job.
    Umm, I love DQ too! Have you ever had their frozen hot chocolate? It’s like a chocolate slushy, so good!
    Your Luxedo nail color is tres chic!!!

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

      Um, I didn’t know about their frozen hot chocolate but I sure as hell need to try that ASAP!

  6. Whitney January 17, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    I love my HRM. I think its so much more effective for me than my Garmin. I put a lot of “pace pressure” on myself and end up burning out. With my HRM, though, I don’t find that to be the case…

    I love the Y!

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      Definitely, I can never rely on the machines to tell me my accurate heart rate, what I’m burning, etc. so it’s nice to look down and see it instantly and know its true, since it’s connected to you and all!

  7. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg January 17, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Wow– what a fun-packed weekend!! Meeting up with old friends is simply the best.

  8. Neyal Ammary-Risch January 17, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Looks like you and Sarah had fun. Sounds like an awesome event you went to! I love the side by side pic of you guys from college and now. Cute!

    OK..so your falafal. I was disappointed I didn’t see a falafal sculpture that looked like my face..LOL. Seriously, your FB note was hilarious!!! But it looks good. Sorry I missed your call last night, too. Was out in Annapolis. I falafal about not calling you back last night. Get it? :)

    Anyway, you need to tell me how to make Kale chips. Yum.

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      I need to make a collage of us. And the main picture that comes to mind for some reason is the one of us at the TKE house the night of Talucci!

      Oh no you did not just say “I falafal about not calling you back last night”, is that a joke from your relatives?? Regardless I LOVE it! ;)

  9. thefitacademic January 17, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Sounds like a fun weekend!! So good to hang out with old friends! Those homemade nachos look delicious!!

  10. suki @ [Super Duper Fantastic] January 17, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    I just bought kale too! :) I think I’m going to have to whip up some kale chips pretty soon. How long did you leave it in the oven for? What temp!?

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      I usually put them at 350/375 for 12-15 minutes (just depends on how cooked you want them) I like mine extra crispy and was making the falafel at the same time so I had to double time it!

  11. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 17, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Looks like you had a great weekend! I love seeing old friends…such a good time!

    Your falafel dinner looks amazing! I still have yet to try kale chips…I really need to get on that!

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      They are so wonderful and quick to make, I recommend!

  12. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 17, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Ok, so how do I become Elite ’11 or whatever it is? I want to attend free Yelp events! Lucky you. That swag is awesomeness!

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      Last year I got invited do join the Elite ’10 and then at the end of the year you could nominate yourself for the next year once you are in. It’s great, I look forward to the events each month :)

  13. emily (a nutritionist eats) January 17, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Your falafel turned out great! I would bake and then freeze myself…
    Also, I want to go to that fun event! I’m majorly jealous…about that and your day off today!

  14. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel January 17, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    IVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A NAIL POLISH THAT COLOR!! gosh its so pretty. i love how its super dark and almost pure black with a gorgeous hint of reddish maroon <3

    aweee and Lincoln! omg that is super sweet!! what a lil GQ model <3

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      Hehe, I love my little man :)

      The polish is great, I feel a little goth and a little hip-score!

  15. This Italian Family January 17, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    I just had kale chips for the first time ever last week and they were SO good! I am definitely going to try making them sometime! :)

  16. nic - the auspicious squirrel January 17, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Nice! Falafel and it’s vegan… spectacular! :)

  17. Laury @TheFitnessDish January 17, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Looks like you had a FAB weekend!!! Vitamin water champagne…looks so interesting!

    I LOVE that nail color. I will look for it when I get a mani. I love Essie polish!!!!

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

      Me too, it’s so much better than OPI in my opinion!

  18. divasrun January 17, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    OH, yeah! Haven’t thought about the Mr. Misty in a looooooooong time! Nice swag!

  19. dianacheung January 18, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    because of your yelp events I’ve been writing reviews like a crazy a$$…minus the elliptical. Anyways you look like such a good friend!! all your friendships always last!! Glad you joined the Y or are going…do they offer classes? Either way…I might hit up that falafel recipe since it’s a healthier version of what it usually is!

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      You should try it, I really liked it. Maybe this falafel will be nice to you :) I hope you get Elite status soon!!

      Our Y offers classes but I need to get back into my regular cardio routine then venture into that. But I effec up my quad yesterday and can barely walk right now. Sooooo. Much. Pain.

  20. Monique January 18, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    im uber impressed by the falafel! It looks amazing!
    and the again with the amazing kale!

    love when friends come to visit (hint! come see me and mickey- bring linky!) Happy TImes!

    • simplyshaka January 18, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      Linx and Mickey will see each other one of these days, they could be doggie bfs!

  21. Ashleigh January 18, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    That event looks like so much fun!

    I made nachos this weekend too… hits the spot every time!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Love my vitamin V « Simply Shaka - January 19, 2011

    [...] dinner later than normal. I remember a 25% off coupon from blynk organic that I swiped at the Yelp Holiday Detox this wknd (I may have swiped *ahem* five or six of them) and soon headed across the street to blynk [...]

  2. One down, 11 to go « Simply Shaka - January 31, 2011

    [...] alright so far with this although I could vary it up some more. I made falafel for the first time, tried pupusas and am looking forward to more ethnic variety in my [...]

  3. Frugal Friday–Yelp a sister out! « Simply Shaka - March 11, 2011

    [...] *Holiday Detox at The Breathing Room [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

