Frugal Friday-reduce your grocery bill!

14 Jan

Happy Friday all! Another round of Frugal Friday is here-the focus for this week is you guessed it, reduce your grocery bill.

But before we get into that I just want to say a huge THANK YOU to everyone’s kind words, comments, thoughts on my last post about culinary school. I am psyched to look into something new that actually excites me. Even if I don’t end up going, I haven’t felt passionate about something that could actually result in a career im a very long time so this is revitalizing me a bit!

This past week Harris Teeter had super double coupons up to $1.98. I only shop at Harris Teeter if I know a specific item I need is on sale. Besides that, their prices seem to be on the higher side compared to Bi-Lo, Super Wal-Mart and other discount grocery stores. I wanted to see how much I could save so I googled Harris Teeter Super Doubles and found this Southern Savers site noting the specials, what coupons are available for the specials, what you end up spending and stuff you can get for a free. A few items had printable coupons that you could print at home and resulted in a bunch of savings for me. I looked through this list to see if I had coupons for any items that would be of any interest of me. Here are some highlights of my trip:

Two boxes Special K Cereal $1.50/box

Wholly Guacamole-Free! Click here for a $1 off coupon

Quaker Oats-$.69

Mueller Thin Spaghetti- On sale $.99 each with a $1 off coupon so…..Free!

Colgate Toothpaste-$.75 each. Reach dental floss-Free! Click here for a Reach coupon

Muir Glen Organic Diced Tomatoes-$.29. Get a $1 off coupon here

Alexia Sweet Potato fries-$.89

Dannon Light & Fit Yogurt 6/$1.92. $1 off coupon here (plus lots of other coupons to print out)

Truvia packets -$.99. This will keep me from swiping Splenda packets from Starbucks for awhile.

Footlong Meatball Sub-Free! Harris Teeter has sub points so for every six-inch sub you buy, you get one point. When you get 15 points, you get any footlong sub for free. I usually get a hot sub like meatball or philly cheesesteak so I can eat one half right away then heat the other half up at a later time.

Not pictured—Nasoya cubed tofu for $2 and Angel Soft 12  pack for $4. Before taking all the sale prices and coupons into account, my bill was $64. And after?

That’s right–$19.38. Don’t mess with a coupon packing woman on a mission to save!

Plus I got some coupons after checking out for Morningstar products that I will be using next time they go on sale.

Tips:

*Look through your coupons and compare to what’s on sale that week to get the lowest price possible

*If you have a coupon and after the coupon price, it’s still more expensive, buy the generic brand . Some times coupons aren’t the best value just for a name brand.

*That being said, just because you have a coupon for something doesn’t mean you need to buy it. If it’s an item I will be using in the future I will buy it if it’s super cheap but if you want to buy it just for sake of using a coupon, totally not worth it.

*Look into prices at your local wholesale club. For me, it’s not a value since I live alone however if I find a friend who has one or who wants to split one, it’s a great deal!

*Like an item but never see coupons for it? Go online! I will google it to see if a specific product has any coupons out there or write the company telling me how much I love their stuff

*Keep your coupons organized. I have my coupons organized in alphabetic order and when I research to see what I need, I put in order by section of the grocery store.

*Sign up for our local supermarkets online savings club. Harris Teeter has E-VIC specials that are custom for you and you can only find out about the deal via email.

What are grocery store tactics to help you save money?

 Happy saving!

41 Responses to “Frugal Friday-reduce your grocery bill!”

  1. dianacheung January 14, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    Since I’m now on a budget I try to buy seasonal produce…it’s disgusting: before this I would just buy whatever apples or other fruit I wanted without looking at the price!

    • simplyshaka January 16, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      Me too sister. It’s such a waste of food and money but it really opens your eyes as to where your money is going!

  2. happytalesblog January 14, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Wow. I need you to walk into a Teeter with me, hold my hand, and show me how to DO THIS! MMMMkay?! No but really, that’s amazing!!!!

  3. TheSceneFromMe January 14, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    That Special K Chocolately Delight is one of my favorite cereals! SO GOOD, love chocolate for breakfast!

    • simplyshaka January 16, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      I still haven’t tried it, I think it may become an addiction once I start!!

  4. erica @ fashionmeetsfood January 14, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Love this post! Definitely going to help me out when it comes to shopping.

    xo

  5. christina January 14, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    great deals! i am proud of you!

  6. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident. January 14, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    I’m really digging these Frugal Friday posts! You and I are a lot alike when it comes to our shopping habits. I’m always looking for good coupons and always read all of the local grocery store circulars to comparison shop. There’s a lot of money to be saved on food, you just gotta take the time to look for the right deals first. Good job!

    • simplyshaka January 16, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks, glad to see you like! I’m happy to see someone else is the same way, I figure it can’t hurt me to sit down for a half hour each week if it will save me money in the long run.

  7. Lisa @ I'm an Okie January 14, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    Those area great savings! I never look at coupons, but its something I need to do! Just cant ever find time.

  8. Morgan January 14, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    You got some great deals. I wish I was better about looking for a clipping coupons. I just don’t, and I don’t know why!

  9. spabettie January 14, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    dang, girl – that is something to be proud of!! and that sandwich looks GOOD.

    okay, my plan: you move to Portland, we go to culinary school together, and we GROCERY SHOP together!!

    😀

  10. Monique January 14, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    holy shit!
    come shop for me! here i am thinkin my bargaining is noteworthy- LOOK AT YOU! im impressed.

    although i will say its more challenging in NY becuase we dont have walmart or any real places to shop dicount. maybe target but idk.

    • simplyshaka January 16, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      Sure, I’ll be right up! Wal-Mart definitely helps me save some money but we also have some discount grocery places that are cheap as well. I just wish they were closer.

  11. Carly January 14, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    That’s so awesome you saved so much! Ahh I need to be better about coupons and looking for sale items. I know it will pay off in the long run, I just rarely think about it.

  12. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 14, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Google is one of my best friends when it comes to shopping.

    And I have price points for things. Like I would never buy a box of cereal over $3. So when Kashi goes on sale, you know I’m stocking up!

    And hell yeah for getting oats for under $1! That’s awesome!

    • simplyshaka January 16, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

      I have price points for many items–no cheese over $2.50 and 12 packs of diet coke only if under $3.50!

  13. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 14, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Now that is one successful trip! I love it when I have great coupon weeks like that!

  14. This Italian Family January 14, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    WOW! You go girl! I’ve been working on reducing our grocery bill lately. The website http://thirtyaweek.wordpress.com/ had lots of inspiration for me on this!

  15. Margie January 14, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    LOL about you swiping Splenda. My hubby doesn’t get it when I take A LOT of napkins from everywhere or condiments like fire sauce from Taco Bell. I feel if they don’t want us to have any, than don’t put it out there for us to take. 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 16, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

      Agree 100% Plus it’s not like I go in there without buying something, I feel like they are overcharging me for coffee the least I can do is get some splenda packets right?

      I do the same thing with napkins and ketchup. When I get gas station coffee, the best is when they have the single International Delights creamers-it’s like hitting the lottery for me!

  16. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 14, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    Oh this post is so fun! I LOVE Southern Savers. I used to use that website all the time but I’ve pretty much stopped since I rarely shop at the grocery store anymore. I’m all about deals and love using coupons, but I never end up with the deals you do!

    I think the biggest problem for me is produce doesn’t really go on sale. Well, I guess it does, but you never see coupons for fruit and veggies. And since 95% of my groceries is produce, I can’t really decrease what I spend. I also have a problem with coupons expiring before the items go on sale! It seems like each time I get a coupon, it expires by the end of the month.

    • Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 14, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      ummm subject verb confusion in the above comment….please ignore!

    • Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 14, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

      ignore subject verb confusion in the above comment!

    • simplyshaka January 16, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

      I know, I wish they were would be some way they could offer coupons for produce. I try to see whats on sale that week and plan my meals around it. I’ve been noticing a lot of veggie prices going up because of all the crazy weather we’ve had in the past month, ugh.

  17. VegFoodJunkie January 14, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    WOW! What a deal. Before going grocery shopping, I make a meal plan for 2 weeks…I end up just getting what I need and avoid the headache of not knowing what to cook for lunch/dinner.

    • simplyshaka January 16, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      Thats a great idea! I usually do one week of meal planning but will have to try two sometime. Buying produce is the hardest part since I hate wasting food when it goes bad.

  18. Jen January 15, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    WOW!!!! You are awesome!!!! I really need to start couponing more!!!!

    Jen

  19. Kace January 15, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    I always mean to coupon but forget. This is one of my goals now for the year!

  20. Katherine: Unemployed January 15, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    I coupon like nobody’s business. I’m a fan of wholly guac too! it even freezes well

    • simplyshaka January 16, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      Woo hoo for fellow savers! Thanks for the tip on the guac, I was wondering about that.

  21. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel January 15, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    diced tomatoes with no salt- me too!! haha we are canned tomato twins 😛

    wow and that sub! my god, that sub!!! INCREDIBLY YUMZZZ

    • simplyshaka January 16, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      Canned tomato twins hahahahah love it!

  22. Fervent Foodie January 15, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    WOW. That is seriously impressive!

  23. bakebooks January 16, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Okay – what is that guacomole like?! I picked it up but haven’t tried it yet, never really been into the guacomole before – totally a Hummus nut ;)…and the fries??

    Haha -your my reviewer 🙂

    Coupons! I should REALLY do that…

    • simplyshaka January 16, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

      The guac is actually pretty decent, it’s creamy and flavorful but I prefer to make my own still. They also have 100 calorie packets which I want to buy but are a bit pricier.

      The fries are great as well, I like to add spices onto them so they aren’t completely bland-you should check em out!

  24. Devon January 16, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Wow… you are SO much better than I am! I suck at grocery shopping on a budget 🙂

  25. Whitney January 17, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    I coupon like it’s my job!! I love it!

  26. Alex January 17, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    I f’n love your Frugal Fridays.
    Can you pleeeeeassee tell me how to reduce my shopping bill whilst still trying to buy mostly organic crap? I had to buy a new pair of underwear when I saw that the Organic Almond Butter was $17.99.
    Sprouts is killing my wallet softly…

    • simplyshaka January 17, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

      Glad to hear you dig! Have you looked into CSA’s (Community Supported Agriculture) in your area? It’s food from your local farmer and some may grow their stuff organically so you may want to check into it. Also, do you have Trader Joe’s? They have a lot of organic stuff at cheaper prices than WF, Sprouts, etc.

      Almond Butter for $17.99???!! That is pure ridiculousness. You could also attempt to make your own almond butter at home, I’ve seen it on many blogs but unfortunately not a huge nut butter fan. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

