Snow day!!!

10 Jan

So for those of you under a rock, the Southeast is being hit hard with snow today through Wednesday morning. We are supposed to get six to nine inches of snow,  which may not seem like a lot to people up north but it’s the South and we like to freak out over it. I used to laugh at how they freaked out over a few inches of snow. I grew up in Indiana and Florida but went to college in West Virginia, where I learned how to drive in the snow. But I had an SUV and opposed to my compact car now so it’s a completely different ball game for me.

I woke up this morning like it was Christmas Eve. I looked out the window and saw snow plus a text message from one of my co-workers asking if I was going in to work. The answer? “Hell to the no” I don’t get many excuses to call in sick from work so if it snowing and I don’t feel safe driving in the snow, I am enjoying my day. I had to take Lincoln out so we went to explore and see how much snow had hit us overnight.

Beautiful! Lincoln was enjoying it as well 🙂

We came back in and sat around for awhile watching the news to see if the entire Charlotte area was bad. I called into work and settled in with a hot cup of coffee then tried to go back to bed but only slept for 45 minutes.

The cup was appropriate since I was celebrating a snow day for once! Lincoln was happy I was home, even if it meant he was doing his normal thing.

The plan for breakfast was to make an egg white omelet using leftovers of tempeh, onion, mushrooms and jalapenos with cheese

The plan didn’t pan out so well so hopes of omelet quickly turned to a tempeh and cheese scramble

Still delicious and still protein packed, works for me!

Speaking of tempeh, I had major success with it last night. I spent a good portion of Sunday afternoon watching season 1 of Gilmore Girls (which by the way, I loved as much as I thought I wouldn’t like it) and fell asleep for a good two hours. When I woke up, I was toying with the idea of making eggplant parmesan but wanted to make something easy. I broke into the package and broke pieces into little crumbles similar to ground meat

It didn’t look as scary as I thought it would so I proceeded with chopping up onions, mushrooms and jalapenos

Put them in a pan with extra virgin olive oil and Spike seasoning and cooked

Added the tempeh pieces along with some El Pato sauce to marinate the tempeh

Then spooned onto tortillas, sprinkled with cheese and done!

As skeptical as I was before, I really enjoyed the tempeh like this. It’s a nice change from tofu, has tons of protein and textural reminded me of Morningstar Veggie Crumbles and not spongy at all like tofu.

After breakfast today, I got my snow boots on yet again to see what the snow situation was.

All that snow makes me a happy girl.

A happy girl without any makeup on–eek!

Happy Monday all!

46 Responses to “Snow day!!!”

  1. Laury @thefitnessdish January 10, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Enjoy your snow day!!! I am sure you love being home from work, and with your Lincoln! Sure he is LOVING playing in it too!!!!

    We are getting hit with it tomorrow night. I am kind of annoyed because I really need to work this week. No work= no pay. I have early morning clients too, and I know I wont make it. Oh well. It will be fin to be home with Munchkin all day 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

      If I got paid per client, I would have definitely gone in but this is what sick days are for (knock on wood I don’t get majorly sick soon) Give hugs to Munchkin from me and Linx!

  2. Nancy's Perfect 10 January 10, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    What a beautiful scene to wake up to! Enjoy your Snow day 🙂 Have a great week.

  3. This Italian Family January 10, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Enjoy your snow day! I’m glad Lincoln enjoys the snow… Oreo is hating it! We practically have to toss him outside to get him to go potty and then he makes a mad dash back in the house to his comfy chair as soon as he is done. Poor guy.

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

      Ok so I know it’s wrong but I laughed aloud at the tossing Oreo outside part. I got a visual of Oreo in mid air 🙂 Lincoln just went out and while he enjoyed it, he is all snuggled next to me now 🙂

  4. thehungryscholar January 10, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    I think you look great without make up on. I usually look like a crack whore.

  5. Dr. J January 10, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    LOL! It’s been pretty cold in Florida, but no snow yet!

    I went to school at IU in Indiana, but Florida is home to me! Glad you have done such a nice job becoming who you really can be!

  6. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 10, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    Enjoy the rest of your day off! :p

    I just bought a jar of jalepenos and have used them much less than I thought I would. Can you believe it?!?!

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      That is ridiculous, you need to get to using those bad boys soon!

  7. Carly January 10, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Oh I’m jealous that y’all got snow! We just got a mix of nasty rain and ice. Gross!

  8. shelby January 10, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    So strange – we don’t have any snow here in Raleigh! At least not yet. I don’t think we’re supposed to get more than a couple of inches, but people are still freaking out. As a newcomer to the South, it’s hard for me not to roll my eyes, but I’m keeping my lips zipped (for the most part). 🙂

    Glad you got to have a snow day! Enjoy!

  9. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident. January 10, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Looks like your snow dance did the trick! We got just as much snow as you did, maybe more, and not even a delay… But that’s Colorado, of course.

    I’ll have to give tempeh another shot. I tried a couple of quick recipes via Healthy Tipping Point and Kath Eats Real Food and didn’t care for either of them. Simmering it in veggies and some kind of spicy sauce sounds like it might be a better option though.

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

      It was fantastic, it wont let you down 😉

  10. Monique January 10, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    AGH! you put ketchup on your eggs!!!! the agony! lol
    love you ketchup lover.

    we are getting snow too… hopefully the city doesnt shut down like it did the other day. smh.
    the tempeh looks like it worked for you. Happy to hear it. 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

      You dont put ketchup on eggs?? GAH! I can’t eat eggs if I dont have it on there. Deviled eggs are an entirely different story though…

  11. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) January 10, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    I am totally one of those live under a rock type people. LOL.

    I wouldn’t have driven in that snow either. Insanity!

    You look so cute in that snow picture! LOVE IT!

  12. Kace January 10, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Pretty sure that snow is heading my way…. but I’m sick of the white stuff already ha.

  13. nic - the auspicious squirrel January 10, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    I like snow on the first day, when you don’t have to go anywhere and it’s all white an pretty… even peaceful. It’s the next days where the snow plows add all the black gunk from the streets and ruin the serenity that I don’t like. Snuggling up with a hot cuppa, and blankets… nice.

    I like what you did with the tempeh and am glad you enjoyed it! The baja taco I was trying to find the recipe for online, had you marinade the tempeh just a few minutes and it really added to the flavor. The marinade consisted of beer, garlic, peanut oil, soy sauce, lime juice, chile powder, & cumin. It has you marinade for an hour after par-boiling the tempeh for 10 minutes. Now you have me craving baja-style tempeh tacos! Hey, I just happened to have bought tempeh the other day… hmmmm. 😀

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

      You have me craving the baja tacos as well. You had me at beer!

      It is absolutely disgusting today, everything has iced over so you can barely walk outside without slipping every other step and the black gush is making an appearance.

  14. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun January 10, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    Haha! I can relate to the snow freak out. Peter had to work from home today and likely tom as well. It sure is pretty though!

  15. April January 10, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    That mug makes me smile 🙂

    We’re getting more snow tonight…ugh. Our state will NOT shut down though LOL!

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

      I know, I hear it all the time from my sis. She will say they are snowed in and she actually means it. Stay safe!

  16. Rachael January 10, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    I relished being snowed in today – baking, blogging and a long walk around mostly-unpaved Asheville. We had eight folks around too, so it’s been an extended party!

  17. leashieloo January 10, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Talk about a snowpocalypse! We’re supposed to get 3-5 inches tonight/tomorrow and I’m getting nervous about work. I am also in the school of thought that I’d rather use my personal time than risk my life to get to the office! If I’m lucky, I’ll work from home.

    …watch it not snow at all.

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      Hopefully you got your snow! I was talking with some coworkers yesterday and they asked if I would be driving in and replied with someone along the lines of “I don’t care about our company enough to risk my life or get in an accident”

  18. Meesh January 10, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Awe I’m so jealous of your snow day! When the schools are closed here I get a paid day off, I’ve been praying for a snow day since winter started!
    I want to try tempeh but I’m not sure where to get it around here!

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      Thats awesome, you gotta love paid days off!

      The tempeh is in the produce section of my supermarket so maybe check there?

  19. bakebooks January 10, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Cheese! Love the snow pics! It’s always so glorious when you can relax in it – and not drive in it or get all messed up. Even better is being inside and staring out at it with cocoa and movies 🙂

    Tagged you for an award – check it out on my blog 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      You know it 🙂 I need to make a hot cup of chai very soon for it is snow day part deux

  20. Tori @ FIToriBLOG.com January 10, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    Great pics! I love snow days. We had a bit down here and a snow day but I work from home SO no snow day for me! 🙂 Love your community also!

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 7:07 am #

      Lucky girl! And thanks–I love walking around my neighborhood. It’s nice to see older homes instead of cookie cutter ones like you seem to see everywhere else.

  21. TheSceneFromMe January 10, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    L U C K Y ! ! ! ! ! ! I love snow days and wish I could have one tomorrow. We are suppossed to get alot of snow tonight and throughout tomorrow. I’ll be at work, digging my SUV out to get home tomorrow night probably!
    Does your dog just love the snow?

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      Oi, that just sucks. But I am sure you are used to it! To make it worse, I don’t have a shovel or a snow scraper so tomorrow will be interesting.

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      Oh and Linky loooooooves the snow!

  22. emily (a nutritionist eats) January 10, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Happy Snow Day! (We don’t get them because we are supposed to be used to driving in the snow!!)

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      I was going to say–if you all have snow days you would never be at work!

  23. dianacheung January 11, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    okay! it is pretty bad!! Looks like you enjoyed it though! sooo coozyyyy looking! i’m scared of tempeh!

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

      Don’t be scurred, embrace it, love the tempeh.

  24. Ashleigh January 11, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Tempeh is the best! I like it way more than fake meats and tofu + it’s so versatile!

    I love this winter pictures!! Yay for snow days!! Hoping for one myself tomorrow..

  25. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 11, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Wow, you got a lot more snow than we did! But somehow I’ve managed to get THREE snow days out of it.

    • simplyshaka January 11, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      Go Girl, I’m hoping for day #3 tomorrow.

  26. janetha January 12, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    mmm i love the duck!

    • simplyshaka January 12, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      I think you did this before and totally confused me with the duck comment. So I went scouring to see if I mentioned a duck and was like “Ahhhhhh, El Pato!” Touche!

Leave a Reply

