Archive | 11:44 am

Snow day!!!

10 Jan

So for those of you under a rock, the Southeast is being hit hard with snow today through Wednesday morning. We are supposed to get six to nine inches of snow,  which may not seem like a lot to people up north but it’s the South and we like to freak out over it. I used to laugh at how they freaked out over a few inches of snow. I grew up in Indiana and Florida but went to college in West Virginia, where I learned how to drive in the snow. But I had an SUV and opposed to my compact car now so it’s a completely different ball game for me.

I woke up this morning like it was Christmas Eve. I looked out the window and saw snow plus a text message from one of my co-workers asking if I was going in to work. The answer? “Hell to the no” I don’t get many excuses to call in sick from work so if it snowing and I don’t feel safe driving in the snow, I am enjoying my day. I had to take Lincoln out so we went to explore and see how much snow had hit us overnight.

Beautiful! Lincoln was enjoying it as well :)

We came back in and sat around for awhile watching the news to see if the entire Charlotte area was bad. I called into work and settled in with a hot cup of coffee then tried to go back to bed but only slept for 45 minutes.

The cup was appropriate since I was celebrating a snow day for once! Lincoln was happy I was home, even if it meant he was doing his normal thing.

The plan for breakfast was to make an egg white omelet using leftovers of tempeh, onion, mushrooms and jalapenos with cheese

The plan didn’t pan out so well so hopes of omelet quickly turned to a tempeh and cheese scramble

Still delicious and still protein packed, works for me!

Speaking of tempeh, I had major success with it last night. I spent a good portion of Sunday afternoon watching season 1 of Gilmore Girls (which by the way, I loved as much as I thought I wouldn’t like it) and fell asleep for a good two hours. When I woke up, I was toying with the idea of making eggplant parmesan but wanted to make something easy. I broke into the package and broke pieces into little crumbles similar to ground meat

It didn’t look as scary as I thought it would so I proceeded with chopping up onions, mushrooms and jalapenos

Put them in a pan with extra virgin olive oil and Spike seasoning and cooked

Added the tempeh pieces along with some El Pato sauce to marinate the tempeh

Then spooned onto tortillas, sprinkled with cheese and done!

As skeptical as I was before, I really enjoyed the tempeh like this. It’s a nice change from tofu, has tons of protein and textural reminded me of Morningstar Veggie Crumbles and not spongy at all like tofu.

After breakfast today, I got my snow boots on yet again to see what the snow situation was.

All that snow makes me a happy girl.

A happy girl without any makeup on–eek!

Happy Monday all!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers